GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Universal Afterglow AG40 Headset

Average Customer Rating:
7.6
7.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
4
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 1070%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Universal Afterglow AG40 Headset
Review 1 for Universal Afterglow AG40 Headset
Doubtful at first but sweet surprise!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/14
JamesA
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When I was looking for a really cheap headset I browsed around GameStop until I found this. I made sure it was refund ready just in case and bought it. For the first five mutes of using it there may be a problem. The volume would come through the tv or people couldn't hear you. But in a little bit it seems to correct itself and work phenomenally. It may not be to the same extent of quality of turtle beach or triton but it was only $50 so just flat out amazing for its prize. But one reason why it didn't get 10 stars. It's actual mic is super sensitive. If you nudge it a bit too much no one can hear you. It has to be in a perfect spot for anyone to hear you. And judging by how you have to but the ear muff part on the actual over head band it doesn't seem very secure nor strong. I have not dropped it yet but just by looking at it. It would probably break easier than a turtle beach. Just saying. Other than that fantastic product! I am not disappointed in buying this in fact I'm happy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
19 of 22 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
JosephBaransky
Winter Haven, FL
 
Please wait while more information about JosephBaransky is loaded.
Additional information about JosephBaransky could not be loaded.
Not very impressed.
Posted 3/30/14
This is a pretty descent headset, but I am not very impressed by it. It said that it is fully functional for PC, X-Box 360, and PS3. I do not have an X-Box 360, but I do have a PS3 and it will not work. I read the instructions and followed them (to hook my headset up to the PS3) all until it says, "Next, unplug the Red and White cables only (RCA cables) from your PS3 to your TV. Take the Red and White cables (RCA cables) attached to the end of your headset into the RCA cables' spot." I do not see Red and Whit cables (RCA cables) anywhere on my headset nor in the box!
Customer Avatar
Kthahir
 
Please wait while more information about Kthahir is loaded.
Additional information about Kthahir could not be loaded.
Nice Look, Nice Product
Posted 3/13/14
Great product, comfortable on the ears smooth quality, and over all amazing for its price.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 2 for Universal Afterglow AG40 Headset
It also works on PS4!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/14
MX200394
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I use to have a Sony brand headset for my PS3 but I had a lot of my friends and other teammates tell me my headset was bad and they could hardly hear me. So I decided to buy this headset to see how it works out. When I started using it it was easy to put together and was plug and play. I never hear anyone complain anymore about the quality of my mic anymore. Recently I bought a PS4 and decided to see if it would work on it because nothing really said if it can or cannot. IT DOES WORK ON PS4. You just need to plug the USB part into the PS4 and tell it to play everything through the headset. No more muting the TV to play shooters. My only complaint is if I wear them for longer than 2 hours it starts to hurt my ears. You Can remove the foam cover so I am going to try to modify it to go around my ear not rest on top of my ear. Sound quality is decent too. I would suggest buying these.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Universal Afterglow AG40 Headset
A fantastic headset for the price.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/14
UnbiasedGamer
Location: North Andover, Massachusetts
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The Universal Afterglow AG40 headset will give you your fifty bucks worth, and then some. SOUND: Don't listen to the Turtle Beach fanboys that say the speakers are bad, because they sound excellent. The sound is crystal clear, and it has a very hefty amount of bass. After playing both Battlefield and Call of Duty with it; I can tell you that you get a hightened awareness of what's going on, and it immereses you really well. DESIGN: The speakers are detachable from the spine of the headset, and they are adjustable for a smaller head. It has the standard cushioning you'd expect, and it does feel comfortable. My left ear personally had to adjust to it for some odd reason, though! Overall, it's a basic and cheap design, but the build quality is good enough. Another thing, I REALLY dig the glowing lights from my green model. It looks KILLER in the dark. MICROPHONE: The mic is where you see where the cheap price take effect. It's not bad, but it is not the best by a longshot. It is detachable, and it works well, so good enough. I should note for 360 users like myself, set your voice chat preferences to speakers only, otherwise your mic won't operate correctly. Overall, the Mic works well for voice chat. VERDICT: This headset gets a 9/10 from me. You get a fantastic sounding, comfy fitting, and glowing awesomeness for a measly 50 bucks. If you don't want to pay over 200 bucks for turtle beaches, this is the way to go.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Brickster01
Nashville
 
Please wait while more information about Brickster01 is loaded.
Additional information about Brickster01 could not be loaded.
What does it work with?
Posted 6/9/14
Does it work with original wii? And what about a ds? can someone plz tell me how it hooks up to consoles. Is it usb or aux? I would just like to know how to set it up and what it comes with before I buy it in a couple of days. A reply would be much appreciated.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Universal Afterglow AG40 Headset
Horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/14
ballintiger99
Location: Indiana
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset is just terrible. I bought it brand new and the mic does not work at all. I was very very disapointed. Don't bother wasting $50 on this.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Universal Afterglow AG40 Headset
Sound is Great but...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/2/14
Edgez
Location: New Orleans
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
everything about this headset is pretty good except the speaker part 1 it has detachable speakers which is nice i guess but that means there are also 2 cords for each one and they are always attached second problem i have is they are super uncomfortable tight on my ears and at a weird angle so they dont even sit on my ears right i have to wear them pretty much on the side of my face im used to wearing headsets all day long and i want my gaming ones to be comfortable these are not if the band it came with was curved slightly it would be perfect but since its made out of hard easily breakable plastic im afraid to try and put pressure on them to lessen the angle of the speakers I have big ears tho so this might just be a problem for me other than that its a good headset i gave it an 8 becasue if its detachable microphone and the long cable with the adjustable chat and game volume and the sound quality is pretty good not audiophile good but pretty standard overall i like this headset im hoping it will break in soon tho or i wont be able to use it
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Universal Afterglow AG40 Headset
So Long Turtle Beach!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/14
NickDriver
Location: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have gone through two pairs of Turtle Beach X12's in the past year and a half. Don't get me wrong, the turtle beach x12 sound great and are very comfortable. However, they have a design flaw they are cheaply made and with both sets i had the same exact problem. However this review is not about Turtle Beach. Where do i start? Afterglow! amazing sound, very comfortable light weight, the microfiber head phones make it very comfortable. Totally customization head band and ear cups. It seems like it has a very sturdy design. very solid. and to top it all off, they glow and look pretty cool if you ask me! I am by no means putting down TB. However the price was just so right on this. great bass, very loud the whole nine! i guess it goes to show you don't have to pay a lot of money to get a good product!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Afterglow AG40 Headset
Decent headset.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/1/14
Youtuber
Location: Chicago,Il
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Okay so i'm sixth months in. Let me start by saying this headset has great quality in sound. I used this for call of duty ghosts and it did me perfect. now the features you get with the headset are nice you have the options to increase the game sound or decrease it as well as chat volume. You also are able to mute your microphone. Now the cord is pretty long but it gets tangled easily. Now about last month my sound started acting weird like it blows in and out on the right speaker. But other than that this is an alright headset.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universal Afterglow AG40 Headset
This product is worth buying.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/14
GAMERKK
Location: NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This has great sound quality. The design is nice and small. It's comfy. I like how you're able to adjust them to your fitting size. I also like how there is separate volumes for the chat and gaming. Overall it's a great headset worth buying.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Universal Afterglow AG40 Headset
perfect sound
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/14
pepa365
Location: Bllingham,wa
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
my overall rating for this is a 9/10 because it has 2 9/10s on performance and value but a 8/10 on design I would recommend this.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Universal Afterglow AG40 Headset
It's ok for single player only.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/14
Titanfall05
Location: Donna,TX
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the sound is faded sounds like im deaf get the X12's they sound so clear idk whats with these 2 ^...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 7 found this review helpful.