GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc

DanganRonpa: Trigger Happy Havoc is a revised and revamped edition of a title originally released on the PlayStation®Portable in Japan in 2010. You'll take on the role of Makoto Naegi, a desperately average teenager who somehow finds himself accepted into Hope's Peak Academy, a prestigious high school normally reserved for the nation's "ultimate" students. But when he arrives, he and the other students soon find themselves trapped in a battle for survival against a twisted mastermind who has taken them all prisoner. You'll have to unmask the villain and uncover the secret of the school...or die trying!
Average Customer Rating:
7.778
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
4
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 978%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc
Review 1 for Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc
I LOVE THIS GAME SO MUCH
Posted on:11/18/13
Naegi
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
this game is one of my favorites EVER. i've read let's plays of this one and the second game (which was just as good if not BETTER than the first one like wow), i've played the first 3 chapters of it, and i've watched the anime version of it. the character development is wonderful, and it's great to see more facets of the characters as the game goes on. i love the characters so much. i've noticed for me that the gameplay could get slightly boring when nothing exciting was happening, but that was only because i've read it before. it plays a lot like an interactive murder-mystery novel, and you take the place of the protagonist, who has to figure out who was the murderer each chapter. when someone dies, you have to conduct an investigation with the help of the other characters, and you collect evidence on the murder. after that, a "school trial" begins, and you have to listen to the statements of all the students to figure out the culprit. it's mostly a giant cutscene, but is peppered with various minigames that take a lot of thought and analyzation of the evidence. it's the highlight of each chapter, and very exciting and interesting!! sometimes, when you think you have it figured out, you may find out you were completely wrong. if i had to rate the game, i would rate it 9.5/10 or so, probably! the only things i don't like about it are that it doesn't have too much replay value (unless you like things like rereading books or rewatching movies,) and there were two small inconsistencies that i can think of. it also has free time events, where you can choose which characters to speak to when everything is calm and happy. you get to see more of their personalities, as well as get special abilities to use in the trial minigames. however, if you want to see all of them, you have to replay an ENTIRE CHAPTER. it's very foolish, and i don't like it one bit. it was changed in japan when the first and second game were rereleased together just a month or two ago. thats probably the biggest issue, and it really bothers me. however, the game's story is AMAZING, the characters are very intelligent and easy to fall in love with, and the gameplay is interesting and thought-provoking. i love it, and i can't recommend it enough!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc
Buy pls
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/14
SlowLikeTurtles
Location: Spartanburg, SC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is just awesome. There are very few bad things about it, however the trails can get a little difficult so pay attention to details! The story is great, the characters are funny and weird, and the investigating is top notch. This is a great game for anime fans, courtroom fans, and people who like DESPAIR.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc
Masterpiece
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/14
BlazingSoul29
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
What makes Danganronpa immensely satisfying is how it consistently toys with your expectations. With excellent writing, well-developed characters. It’s exciting and has an uncanny ability to leave its players slack-jawed at the sights of the unraveling plot points. After all, this is a game about a maniacal teddy bear forcing high school students to kill each other; how could it not be good?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc
Super High School Level Fun!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/14
shellybean
Location: Maryland
A really interesting game done in the Visual Novel style! Dangan Ronpa [Which means bullet refutation in japanese, it will make sense when you play it!] is a fun romp full of mystery and mayhem! If you own a PS Vita it is definitely worth a try. The gameplay is rather simple, as it is a VN, but the story more than makes up for it in my opinion. Also the music, done by Masafumi Takada, is absolutely spectacular! This version of the game comes with School Mode which gives the player more things to do after beating the main story! If you like games like Phoenix Wright you will more than likely love this!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc
Rent it or watch the anime
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/14
xXxcamperXslayerXproxXxxx
I read all the reviews of other people thinking the game would be much better than it actually was. I enjoyed the heck out of the game untill I beat it in less than 4 days of playing of about 5 hours a day. I do not recommend buying this game at its full price, or for half price at that matter because once you beat the main story you only unlock "school mode" which allows you to finish filling out the character's report cards and get two hidden trophies. I found that in school mode the character interaction was very basic and lackluster. It felt worse than grinding in a midrange budget western rpg. Overall, I would say the best way to play this game is to rent it or get it used so you can take it back within a week of buying it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc
awesome game!
Posted on:11/11/13
VongolaGearX
Location: OH,
as some who played the psp game, this game is awesome! the story is cool and the characters you meet really grow on you
the investigation scenes are pretty cool but the trials are way cooler cause you find info in other peoples word that dont match yours that you found from the investigation and you "refute" it
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc
YOOOOOO
Posted on:11/26/13
Airy
I've watched/read the Let's Play of this game by orenronen on the Something Awful forums and have nothing but positive things to say about this game! I am thrilled it is having a US release! The game is full of twists and turns and can be hilarious. It definitely pokes fun at itself sometimes, but it can be serious as well. All around it's a really wonderful game I would highly recommend to anyone!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc
awful ripoff of phoenix wright
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/14
kikiki
Location: maryland,maryland
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game terrible its like if you took persona 4 and phoenix wright ( both fantastic games btw) and added a bucket like of diarahea and boom you get this game the story is about how kids are stuck in a school and they strt killing each other the graphics are awful the just spritees that signify laziness the only thing i can gave this game is that the music is awesome
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc
Must buy for JRPG fans
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/14
AssassinAlchemist
Location: Anaheim, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a great game. Anyone that owns a Vita owes it to themselves to play this game. Any fans of the Phoenix Wright series will enjoy this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc
PLEASE BUY THIS GAME
Posted on:12/7/13
dannieru
Location: Richmond, VA
i've played dangan ronpa and sdr2 in the original japanese psp versions, and they're both masterpieces. i held back on buying RE:LOAD since it was getting localized, and my wallet is burning a hole in my pocket right now just to preorder it. this game is a MASTERPIECE, and i definitely recommend it. like if i had to give a score it would be 1000000/10 PLEASE buy this game oh my god
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc
Whodunnit?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/14
Pandoracle
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Basically this game is like the board game "Clue" taken to the extreme. A game of cat and mouse trying to figure out who is the murderer. Excellent soundtrack combined with investigative research to present the evidence in a class trial. If you own a Vita, just buy it, no regrets. Monokuma is quite the character and more!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc
Absolutely Incredible
Posted on:12/30/13
Togami
This game is absolutely flawless in my opinion. It has a fantastic story, well written characters with diverse traits and personalities, and wonderful gameplay that just about anyone could enjoy. I've read Oneronen's let's play of the game, as well as watched the anime adaptation and played the game myself, enjoying the story and going deeper into the characters and plot with each run. It's a sad, but also flawless story but also has funny moments throughout the entire game so you won't feel too depressed playing it. Many of the characters in the large cast are also very relatable, and you can understand how they feel in any given situation. It's a wonderful game; make sure your favorite characters don't die.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc
Persona 4 and Phoenix Wright's baby
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/14
Ciccoslovakia
Location: Washington DC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you like either of these games, you will find the perfect mix here. Even if you haven't played them, if you like visual novels it's perfect. The social aspect of this game is simple and satisfying. The trials are done with so much more finesse than they should be. Plus the story is probably one of the best ones I've seen in a video game. The only problems with this game are minor things. If you have a vita and don't have this game then why do you have a vita?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc
Shatters Expectations
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/14
LL98
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is really amazing. It starts off really cliche (well, as cliche as a game this crazy can be), but it shatters your expectations when roles you imagine people will have switch. Please buy this game so we can get the second one localized.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc
This Game Is Going To Surprise You
Posted on:1/10/14
MonoKuma
Location: Miami, FL
DanganRonpa is an anime game of 16 students trap in a school and must escape the school by killing someone without being caught. when a murder has accured, a school trial will commence after you investigate the crime scenes.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.