GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Playstation 4 500GB System Black - (GameStop Premium Refurbished)

The PlayStation®4 system opens the door to an incredible journey through immersive new gaming worlds and a deeply connected gaming community. With an astounding launch lineup and over 180 games in development the PS4 system offers more top-tier blockbusters and inventive indie hits than any other next-gen console. Developer Inspired, Gamer Focus. PlayStation 4. Greatness Awaits
Average Customer Rating:
8.13
8.1
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
10 stars
14
9 stars
3
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
18 out of 2378%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Playstation 4 500GB System Black - (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Review 1 for Playstation 4 500GB System Black - (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Refurbished does not include Mic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/14
Location: Minnesota
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
For being only $20 or so cheaper, It's almost not worth it at all. Buy new. ~Gamestop does not even include the Mic that came with the PS4 in this package. My controller also had a worn left analog when I opened the box. I'm going to swap for another controller.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
39 of 47 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Playstation 4 500GB System Black - (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
UNDERSTAND THE VALUE
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/14
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This console is great... Especially used (looks gently used). The reason I got a used system is because you get a 2 YEAR WARRANTY VS A ONE YEAR SONY WARRANTY. It's a smart move to get a used because If something is wrong in the next 2 YEARS you can go replace it for another one at a GameStop, instead of. Sending it to sony. And waiting for It for who knows how long. This system is great and is very well worth it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
136 of 145 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Samsj
SJ
 
Please wait while more information about Samsj is loaded.
Additional information about Samsj could not be loaded.
2 Year Warranty?
Posted 12/26/14
I don't see any mention of warranty. Where do you see a 2 year warranty?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Playstation 4 500GB System Black - (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
I'm satisfied
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/16
Location: Bloomington, CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I could barely afford this price. I don't care about headsets and microphones and playing online all the time I just got it to play games one player.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Playstation 4 500GB System Black - (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
pre owned rocks
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/14
Location: Bloomington, IL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I went with preowned so I could put the difference towards a second controller for my mom to use and I have to say the pre owned system works better then any new system I have ever had and for those of you who say just spend the extra $20 for new your not realizing that the more you spend the more tax there is so it would be more then 20 and not to mention that the money you are saving you could put toward a second controller if you need one you could put it towards a playstation plus membership card you could put it towards a game or you could even put it towards a game stop warranty. If you buy a pre owned one and have problems with it when you get home then all you have to do is take it back to the store and switch it out for another that's what I did and this one works perfect.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
14 of 23 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Miaclockman
Florida
 
Please wait while more information about Miaclockman is loaded.
Additional information about Miaclockman could not be loaded.
NOT REALLY ON TOPIC
Posted 11/21/14
I understand that you are trying to explore a pre-owned console, but the purpose of these reviews is to tell customers what you liked (or didn't like) about the system itself. I want to know about the graphics, ease of use, and comparisons with Xbox One. That's the type of review that I'm looking for when I come to this site.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Playstation 4 500GB System Black - (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Just Buy A New One!!!!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/14
Location: Madison, Indiana
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If you are in the Madison, Indiana or really any where in general, the best thing you can do is buy a new PS4. Why would you spend the money on a used system that someone else has already messed with when for twenty dollars more you can buy a brand new system that comes with a warranty. Not only that but keep in mind that it's a used system and gamestop is charging brand new system price for it. Please be smart and buy a new one. Don't allow Gamestop to rip you off. When you sell a used game and they only offer you twenty dollars and then turn around and resell it for forty to fifty bucks just goes to show how big of a fraud that gamestop is.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
43 of 80 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
evilgoldranger
Pennsylvania
 
Please wait while more information about evilgoldranger is loaded.
Additional information about evilgoldranger could not be loaded.
PS4
Posted 10/28/15
Just to tell you I bought a used PS4 system and have not have any problems with it have it a year yes it does have flaws but have no problems.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Playstation 4 500GB System Black - (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
PS4 THE BEST CONSOLE OUT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/14
Location: Boston,MA
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought my PS4 from gamestop the service was great. I cant believe how awesome the ps4 is I would recommend any ps3 owner to upgrade to ps4. Best console for the money.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
18 of 26 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mastercheifkid
 
Please wait while more information about mastercheifkid is loaded.
Additional information about mastercheifkid could not be loaded.
does it come with 500 gb ram disk ?
Posted 7/21/15
does it come with 500 gb ram or does it come with a pitiful 8 gb ram ?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Playstation 4 500GB System Black - (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Great console worth the price
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/16
Location: Wichester, Ca
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Has a few scratches but works like a brand new ps4 console but just a little bit louder and heavier otherwise has great gameplay graphics and performance
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Playstation 4 500GB System Black - (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
A good test
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/14
Location: NC
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was torn between PS4 and Xbox one, being able to try out a pre-owned one and take it back within 7 days with no risk is what appealed to me.
If you aren't completely sure on if you want to get it, i recommend buying pre-owned, especially when $400 is not chump change (well for most of us). It helped someone like me who gets buyers remorse if I am not 100% happy with a product
Will be taking it back and paying the extra $20 for my brand new one today :)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
13 of 20 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Playstation 4 500GB System Black - (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Too expensive for used
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/14
Location: Olney, IL
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The used one costs too much. $20 is not a good enough discount for this to be a good deal. The PS4 is an incredible piece of hardware, but your used prices are terrible.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
53 of 93 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Playstation 4 500GB System Black - (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Price Sucks
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/14
Location: RVA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
not even worth buying a refurbished ps4. for 20 dollars extra, i get a brand new one. its a no brainer guys.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
39 of 71 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Playstation 4 500GB System Black - (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Overall just buy a new one for $20 more
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/6/14
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i bought ps4 in early January and was forced into bundles but i enjoyed the games which were fair. After a couple of months it started to auto shut down and was bs because i would be in the middle of a fifa game and it would start to blur the gameplay, make the screen go dark and self shutdown. Useless of a PlayStation just buy a new one with warranty overall it was a waste of my time and money to get it repaired dont buy this bs product
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
26 of 60 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
joker818
 
Please wait while more information about joker818 is loaded.
Additional information about joker818 could not be loaded.
So it Comes With a Controller
Posted 7/13/15
Just gotta make sure before i buy
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Playstation 4 500GB System Black - (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Pretty good overall
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/31/14
Location: Thompson, CT
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So I bought the pre-owned version of this simply cause it was a money saver. And its overall performance is great however the only issue I see at the moment is how some controllers can't seem to handle headsets in order to use em. Despite this one drawback soo far it doesn't seem to really take away the fun I have on this machine.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AspieGamer
 
Please wait while more information about AspieGamer is loaded.
Additional information about AspieGamer could not be loaded.
?
Posted 12/30/15
I don't understand your comment about some controllers not being able to use headsets? Can you explain that in more detail, and not be so vague about it?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Playstation 4 500GB System Black - (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
LOVE!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/14
Location: Palermo, NY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I absolutely love it. I went with the pre-owned console because it fit my budget and was basically brand new. Very slight scratches that you can't even notice. First PS4 I bought was defective, but returned it to the store near me and the manager gave me a replacement with no problems. And this one works wonderfully! I honestly recommend going with a refurbished PS4 if you cannot afford to buy a new one with a game and PlayStation Plus membership. After buying my console and BF4 and PlayStation plus 3 month membership, it was still a lot, yes. But still cheaper than buying new! This is a deal! Believe me. I tossed back and forth between PS4 and Xbox One. PS4 is more powerful and better. And I've been a huge Xbox fan since the 360 was released. After switching to PS4, I must say, I am happily never ever going back to Xbox.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Playstation 4 500GB System Black - (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
AWESOME SYSTEM!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/15
Location: BROOKLYN,NY
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It is a great system you should buy it now!!!!!!it works perfectly I recommend it and it looks real for nba 2k16 wwe 2k16
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Playstation 4 500GB System Black - (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
i loved ps4.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/15
Location: Glassboro, NJ
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
when i bought a ps4 (back in may 2014) i really liked it.i bought metal gear solid ground zero. then i bought call of duty ghosts,and infamous second son. i really loved how my friend got me games,he got me the last of us,destiny,battlefield 4,ufc,call of duty advance warfare,black ops 3 and dying light in 2015.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Playstation 4 500GB System Black - (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
ps4
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/15
Location: mars pa
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I think that everybody should go by the xbox one because ive had my system for 4 months and it does not work ive sent this into sony and when it comes back its still broke i think overall its not a good system
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Trickypat72
mount Vernon, mo
 
Please wait while more information about Trickypat72 is loaded.
Additional information about Trickypat72 could not be loaded.
xbox one is inferior
Posted 3/17/16
I've had both. The ps4 downloads faster, has better graphics, better controller and the xbox one i had wouldn't load some games. I had to take it back for an exchange. Then i got rid of it. Ps4 is the better console.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Playstation 4 500GB System Black - (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
It's awesome!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/14
Location: Los Angeles, CA.
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is the best Playstation so far. It's a powerful machine and it's a beautiful thing to look at! I downloaded three games on it already and it does everything they said it would, flawlessly I might add!? The games look awesome and sound awesome also... I can't find anything negative to say about it... except that I wish there were more games available for it... But that's going to change very soon... So all I can say is that you must buy it and experience it for yourself... You won't regret it!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 39 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Playstation 4 500GB System Black - (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Great system, bad memory!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/1/15
Location: Clinton, Ut
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this for Christmas last year and I love it! The only downside for me was the system memory. As a hardcore gamer I buy a game at least once or twice a month but now I'm constantly having to choose what games to keep and what to get rid of. I have read you can change the hard drive to get double the memory. So I'll try it. Right now I'll back up my data on a USB drive and keep deciding what to keep and get rid of. But still, it's definitely worth the money and minor inconvenience.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for Playstation 4 500GB System Black - (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/15
Location: Texas
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the playstation 4 is easily the best console yet! The graphics are AMAZING with amazing games and a great console over all i reccomend this to anyone
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Playstation 4 500GB System Black - (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
AMAZING!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/14
Location: Ohio
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I think that the playstation 4 is a very good system in fact I think it the best system that I have ever played. I love the new controllers and their designs but there is one thing I think that you should change about them is the brightness of the light on the back of the controller because it kills the battery very quickly. But other then that it is a great system with no flaws. I would recommend this to every gamer.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 2 next>>