GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mario Kart 8

Feel the rush as your kart rockets across the ceiling! Race upside-down and along walls on anti-gravity tracks in the most action-fueled Mario Kart game yet! Take on racers across the globe and share videos of your greatest moments via Mario Kart TV.
Average Customer Rating:
9.169
9.2
(114 Reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (114 reviews)
10 stars
47
9 stars
16
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
67 out of 7194%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mario Kart 8
Review 1 for Mario Kart 8
Awesome and the best Mario kart game ever!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/14
Location: Rumford, ME
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The most Best Mario kart game ever!! beautiful Graphics, Awesome design on tracks, Hi-Def game play, customizing you're karts, new characters to play, the bring back with older Mario kart game courses that you enjoyed before on the older versions, new power up's, slow down replay so you can watch you're self beat up others or watch you're self pull off tricks to be in complete awe. The music is so pretty and memorable you just want to hear it again and again. I love this game and i am glad its out now. I was dying for this game to come out and now its out!! This is worth the money i am serious!! It is a MUST!!! BUY!! with the Wii U. You feel you have got you're money's worth. So i really do recommend this game for anyone Mario Bros fan and even Mario kart Fans. This is just my Opinion on this game i adore this game so much and the Luigi death stare is a new hit meme!! So get out there and start racing!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Mario Kart 8
The Best Mario Kart?
Posted on:1/27/14
Location: Aurora IL
Yes this is Nintendo's 8th installment of Mario's go kart game If you are not counting the two arcade Mario Karts. Just like Mario Kart 7 Mario Kart 8 has hang gliding and under water parts of the track but now the game has anti-gravity parts that put you upside down or side ways. This is why I like to call the game Mario Kart Zero. As far as we know the game will consist with 4 cups with all new tracks and 4 cups with retro tracks just like priviest games. Mario Kart 8 will run at 60 frames per second even during 2 player mode and will support online play. It's unknown if you can customize your kart again but I think it will return. Is Mario Kart 8 the best Mario Kart well we will have to see this Spring. Enjoy Nintendo's latest video for Mario Kart 8.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Mario Kart Wii
9.2 out of 10(415)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AssassinsCreedFan132
 
Please wait while more information about AssassinsCreedFan132 is loaded.
Additional information about AssassinsCreedFan132 could not be loaded.
Posted 2/13/14
this needs a pre-order bonus
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Mario Kart 8
Amazing Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/14
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is the best Mario Kart game I have ever played and the new features are awesome. This game has awesome graphics and LOTS of replay value. You can hop online for free and race and battle or run some time trials. Did I mention Mario Kart TV? Well basically that allows you to upload your Mario Kart race/battle to youtube or share it on miiverse. My only disappointment is battle mode. Instead of a battle course now battle takes place on the tracks. This game gets a 10/10. I will also show you some footage of the track shy guy falls uploaded to youtube by Mario Kart TV.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Enjoy the footage
 
My Product Recommendations
Nintendo Wii U 32GB Deluxe Set
9 out of 10(236)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Mario Kart 8
Best Game Ever!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/14
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Race on land, under water, in the air, and even upside down. With incredible HD graphics and incredible display, Mario Kart 8 is stunning! I've never been able to say that before about a Mario Kart. Almost all music in the game was created with a live orchestra. The interface of the game is overall smooth and easy. The character selection is huge, but only three characters are the fastest. The Kart Selection is awesome. I love how you get to customize your vehicle. The track selection is pretty awesome. The tracks look beautiful and for the most part are fun to play on. But if your a hardcore gamer like me, you'll find it frustrating that there really aren't many useful shortcuts are glitches. This is because Lakitu (The cloud that picks you up when you fall off the track) picks you up almost immediately after you go out of bounds. This prevents exploring and unique shortcuts. Overall, the courses are awesome. New courses, tracks, characters, and vehicles will be coming in DLC. DLC pack one has already arrived bringing eight new courses, four karts/bikes, and three new characters. DLC pack 2 comes out in May 2015. Game play is pretty great. If you're a pro, you'll learn how to do strategies like Fire hopping and hop sliding. The bikes in this game do not wheelie though. The items are fun, but the item mechanics stink. You can now only hold one item at a time even if you are holding one behind you. It warns you there is a red shell even if it's hitting the person behind you. It gives you the coin item way too much. You can get any item in any place except items are limited in first. I got a banana once in dead last (twelfth) place. And I got a golden mushroom in second. Other than that, game play is awesome. This game is for everyone. From party to hardcore gamers, this game is right for everyone.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Here's some online races with funny annotations.
 
My Product Recommendations
Nintendo Wii U 32GB Deluxe Set
9 out of 10(236)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Mario Kart 8
3....2....1.....PREVIEW!
Posted on:12/19/13
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
It's everyone's favorite karting game. It's what you grew up with. It's what might've got you into gaming in general. It's the almighty Mario Kart. After the last 3ds hit, Mario Kart 7, we haven't seen a new game in a couple of years. The all brand new Mario kart 8 is almost here in Spring 2014 and it's gonna be a blast. Exclusively on the Wii U, Mario Kart 8 will feature brand new tracks, that look very good, Returning racers, and never before seen so far in a Mario Kart, HD graphics! Also there is a new anti-gravity feature that will allow you to drive upside down, side ways, and inside out(okay maybe not inside out)! I can't even describe how excited I feel about this game, other than it looks absolutely incredibly fun! This game might just be the reason you should buy a Wii U. I'm sorry if this preview isn't as good as they usually are. It's just their not much that can be said about the game since it's going to follow the path that made all of the other games in the series so great. Well until the game comes out and my review is up, stay karting everyone!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Mario & Luigi Wii U Deluxe 32GB Console
9.2 out of 10(33)
 
 
 
 
 
34 of 49 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gamemasterproducts
 
Please wait while more information about gamemasterproducts is loaded.
Additional information about gamemasterproducts could not be loaded.
a game that can save the wii u
Posted 1/26/14
I have already had an amazing wii u experience but this just makes it even better if youre not going to buy a wii u for anything else get it for this game. oh and almost forgot get it for this game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Mario Kart 8
Another Reason to Buy a Wii U!
Posted on:3/15/14
Location: Pollock Pines, CA
I have always loved the Mario Kart games. They are extremely fun, and they make excellent multiplayer games. Many of Nintendo's games are great for local multiplayer. The Wii U has had some excellent games come out for it so far, but I haven't felt the need to buy one until now. Now that Mario Kart 8 is coming out for the Wii U, I will have to buy a Wii U. To me, Nintendo games like Mario Kart 8 are the best multiplayer and party games out there. I always enjoy playing Nintendo games like Mario Kart and Super Smash Bros with friends and family, because they are games that everyone can enjoy playing together. This is why I now feel the need to buy a Wii U. I have a PlayStation 4, but there has been a lack of great local multiplayer games for it. The Wii U, however, like many Nintendo consoles in the past, has many fun multiplayer games, such as Mario Kart 8. This is why more people need to give the Wii U a chance. I will be buying a Wii U soon, because I know that Nintendo's games provide some of the best multiplayer experiences available. Mario Kart 8 will be amazing, It will have incredibly fun single and multiplayer modes, like other Mario Karts before it. I am very much looking forward to this game as well as other games from Nintendo that will come out for the Wii U, such as Super Smash Bros. For these reasons, I will buy a Wii U. I also hope that more people decide to give the Wii U a chance because of the fun games it has.
 
My Product Recommendations
Mario & Luigi Wii U Deluxe 32GB Console
9.2 out of 10(33)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
54 of 65 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mario Kart 8
Racing goes in air, underwater, and upside down!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/14
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Mario Kart 8 brings a wild, new racing adventure that defies the laws of physics. This game brings some big improvements to the Mario Kart series, but there are a few aspects in the game I felt like Nintendo could have done better with. Gameplay: The racing itself is almost perfected upon in Mario Kart 8. The new anti-gravity feature really ties in with and completes gliding in the air and the racing underwater features from Mario Kart 7. Another thing that the anti-gravity allows for is wild course design. Now courses can have you racing on walls and going upside down, so naturally this lets Nintendo be creative with course design. Speaking of courses, the retro courses are beautifully redone and feel brand new. For the first time, I don't mind racing a retro course rather than the new ones. Also the new items are really great and I think they add a really strategic game play. Other than just racing itself, battle mode is an important aspect I feel worth mentioning. This time there is only one type of battle mode: Balloon battle. And there are no battle mode courses this time. Nintendo just decided to use the courses you race on as battle mode courses. This is definitely a flaw that needs to be fixed in the nest game. Other than that I really wish Nintendo would go back to using the good old elimination style of balloon battle. This time its based on time and you try to get the most points, but its nice that elimination can still happen. Music: Music is absolutely gorgeous for this game. Nintendo decided to have the music orchestrated with a big band which sounds great for Mario Kart surprisingly. Graphics: The graphics are just as impressive as the music. Mario Kart 8 is the first Mario Kart to be in HD, and the graphics are smooth. Lasting Appeal: Mario Kart 8 is great because its one of those games you can always go back to and play with friends or play online. The online features are well done in this game and are, for the most part, smooth. Mario Kart 8 is truly one of the best games in the Mario Kart series that even defies gravity.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
18 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mario Kart 8
Console Savior
Posted on:3/11/14
Mario Kart 8 and Super Smash Bros 4 will come along to save the Wii U. It's going to be the best Mario Kart to date.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Mario Kart Wii
9.2 out of 10(415)
 
 
 
 
 
 
69 of 82 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NowhereMan37
 
Please wait while more information about NowhereMan37 is loaded.
Additional information about NowhereMan37 could not be loaded.
Other good games for Wii U
Posted 4/16/14
Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze is also pretty good. And the Wii U has the best version of Batman: Arkham Origins.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Mario Kart 8
Almost Perfect!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/14
Location: Richmond, VA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Finally get Mario Kart for Wii U and its awesome although has few downfalls, its still great game. I will start with the pros, the graphics and soundtrack is great, its looks wonderful in HD and the music is outstanding. The anti-gravity is fun and very easy to get ahold on if its your first time playing. New items work out just well. There is only few problems I have with the game, one main problem is character roster they could have done better and add characters like Birdo, King Boo, dry bones, and many more instead of replacing them with babies and metal characters, but rumors are going around saying DLC is coming soon so hopefully that will change it. They also took away wheelies and automatic drift from the Wii version. But other than the game is awesome and I would recommend getting for you, family and friends.
9.5/10
Pros:
+Great Graphics and Music
+Fun alone or with multi-players
+Great Tracks with or without anti-gravity
+Awesome Online Play
Cons:
-Character Roster
-No Wheelies or automatic drift
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Mario Kart 8
Mario Kart Will Always Rule the Kart-Racing Genre!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/14
Location: San Antonio, Texas
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I have to admit that I was pretty excited about Mario Kart 8 long before it was released. When Nintendo first announced the game, my reaction was "Yes! A New Mario Kart!" I think a lot of people had that reaction. As the months went on, Nintendo announced more details on the gameplay mechanics of Mario Kart 8. They soon announced that Mario Kart 8 would feature anti-gravity racing. I have to admit that I was a bit skeptical about this idea of racing on walls and ceilings. I thought that it could change Mario Kart for the worse. However, I reminded myself that there have been many times in the past that Nintendo has announced ideas that people were skeptical of, only to prove those worries and concerns to be wrong. Time and time again, Nintendo has proven that they know what they're doing, even when the rest of us were skeptical. When the release date for Mario Kart 8 finally came, I picked up a copy of the game and immediately went home to play it. As I began my first race I was relieved to experience that familiar Mario Kart formula and those familiar gameplay mechanics. I soon found that racing in Mario Kart was as good as it has always been, with some fun and unique new touches to enhance gameplay. As a fan of the Mario Kart series, I can say without a doubt that Mario Kart 8 is just as good as each Mario Kart before it. The same fun and exciting gameplay elements are all there. Like Mario Karts before it, there is a large and varied lineup of characters who you can play as in races. Like Mario Karts before it, there are fun experiences for both newbies and professionals. Like Mario Karts before it, Mario Kart 8 is a game everyone playing together can enjoy and have fun with. The best part of Mario Kart 8 is, unsurprisingly, the racing. Whether it's the Grand Prix, just for fun, with friends and family, or playing online, Mario Kart 8 has a racing mode for any kind of occasion. Time Trials are also fun, because they give you a way to race on your own and relax, or practice and get better at the game. If there is one thing about Mario Kart 8 that is a downgrade from previous Mario Karts, it would have to be the Battle Mode. While fun can be found in the battle mode, it is very different from before. Different doesn't necessarily mean worse, but the battle mode takes place on race tracks, instead of battle arenas. With a little practice, and effort, the battle mode can be fun. However, it is very different from before, and it is hard not to miss the arenas. Aside from gameplay, the graphics are vivid, colorful, and realistic, while still maintaining the same feel as previous Mario Kart games. The music is also incredible. I loved listening to the music for every track, my personal favorites being the music for Bowser's Castle, Mount Wario, and Rainbow Road. While not everything about Mario Kart 8 is perfect, I can safely say that Mario Kart 8 is worth your time and money. Mario Kart 8 is one of the best kart-racing games available, and Nintendo has proven that the Mario Kart series will always rule the kart-racing genre!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mario Kart 8
FINALLY!!
Posted on:2/22/14
Location: Murrieta, CA
This and Smash Bros were the main reasons I bought a wii u. Bringing in the best of the old and adding in the awesome new antigravity feature, Mario Kart 8 is definitely going to be a must have. Especially with all of the new Koopalings being added, not to mention the 100% HD graphics!! Now all they need to do is add in the double driver mechanic from Double Dash and I'll die a happy man. Already got this one preordered.
33 of 41 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mario Kart 8
Best. Racing. Game. Ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/14
Location: Earth
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is SOOO much fun. A big selling point of the Wii U. You are racing on the ground, a shell hits you. You rage, to the point you're determined to get revenge. You get a golden mushroom, and zoom past that toad that hit you. You hit a ramp and go gliding through the sky. You see Bowser, and you manage to land farther than him. You now realize that the finish line is right in front of you. You're in 5th, with Lakitu Warning you there's only two laps left. You collect a box, and get a bullet bill, passing and destroying all opponents. You enter an anti-gravity section, and loop back around. You pass the finish line, this time in 1st place. You're not gonna let anyone pass you. You are about to cross the finish line the last time, and a blue shell comes your way. You were lucky, and happened to have a super horn. You used it, and passed the finish line. You get rewarded your gold trophy. It's very fun, and I highly recommend Mario Kart 8.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Mario Kart 8
Nintendo Does it Again
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/15
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is amazing. The graphics are stunning and the controls are smooth and responsive. This is the best racing game hands down. My entire family sits down to enjoy playing this game together. We all have our favorite racers and favorite vehicles. You can easily get to the "end" of this game within a few hours (around 8 or 9), but the ability to replay this game over and over and have fun every time is astounding. Nintendo will always have some of the best games out there and this game is one of the reasons we bought the Wii U!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Mario Kart 8
Best Mario Kart to Date?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/15
Location: Columbus
This game is perfect for: party gamers
New mechanics, characters, and items, combined with the best music and graphics of any Mario Kart game to date make this the obvious choice for any type of gamer. This game gives gamers another reason to buy a Wii U.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Mario Kart 8
Back and Better Than Ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/14
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
Mario Kart never grows stale. Nintendo is always finding new ways to keep the Mario Kart franchise fresh and appealing.Mario Kart 8 is a prime example of this. For any of your Crash Team Racing and Crash Nitro Kart fans out there you may have noticed that Nintendo has dipped their hands into a couple of Team Racing and Nitro Karts features. One of which is object collecting. For CTR and CNK you collect u to ten wumpa fruits. The more you had the faster you went. Mario Kart has replaced the wumpa fruit with its own signature collection item, the gold coins. Also, from Crash Nitro Kart we see the anti-gravity racing which I believe Mario Kart 8 has perfected. New items allow the Random Boxes to stay fun and mysterious. New tracks of MK8 which incorporate the anti-gravity feature do it excellently and in a way that is fun every time. There isn't one track I dislike thus far. Along with new tracks return some classics; some classics are remixed to include the anti-graity feature. The visuals are distracting in al the right ways: they look great, new lighting capabilities add more realism to Mario and his friends (and enemies), tracks are well designed. The ability too swap out different wheels and gliders is also a wonderful touch. There is so much more that can be said about this game. I guess that mean's you need to go out and try it for yourself! Prepare yourself for a game that never has a dull moment: Mario Kart 8! Highest recommendations!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GreatAether
ravenswood west virginia
 
Please wait while more information about GreatAether is loaded.
Additional information about GreatAether could not be loaded.
i object
Posted 10/19/14
actually bub mario kart 7for 3ds featured the ten coin speed up.. before the other mentioned kart racers.. so i have to say they copied nintendo .. for nintendo is always fresh with the ideas
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Mario Kart 8
Finally!! Mario Kart in HD!!!
Posted on:4/9/14
Location: Livingston Manor, NY
Man, am I looking forward to this Game! It's the first high definition Mario Kart! I have been a huge fan of this series ever since I first played it on the SNES. I was never a big fan of racing games, but I absolutely love Mario Kart! Using items to take out your opponents makes for a fun experience and also levels the playing field for gamers of all skill levels. I have been playing Mario Kart Wii a lot lately in anticipation of this game. Love that Wii Wheel control scheme! I am so glad we will be able to use them with the new game! There will be little to no learning curve which is great. The new Wii Wheel they're making for 8 looks real cool! I'll definitely be buying one! I hope they make the limited edition Mario Kart 8 available here in the United States. I'd love to have that blue shell statue on my game shelf! May 30th is just around the corner. Hope to see you all racing online! I know that's where I'll be!
 
My Product Recommendations
Mario Kart Wii
9.2 out of 10(415)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 17 for Mario Kart 8
Can't Wait For This Game To Come Out
Posted on:12/23/13
Location: New York, NY
This looks like a great Mario Kart game. I am excited for the game to come out. Can't wait to get a Wii U and this game and other games. I hope Bowser Jr is in this game. :D
 
My Product Recommendations
Mario Kart Wii
9.2 out of 10(415)
 
 
 
 
 
 
16 of 23 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mario Kart 8
This Game Is Awesome! One of the Best Games Ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/14
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing, the graphics are insanely good and run at 60fps! When the slow motion in the instant replays takes effect, it still runs at 60fps. So the game must actually double that frame rate. It must be around 120fps. That's insane for a game of this graphical quality! The Gameplay is the best on the Wii U Gamepad, the gamepad makes it a whole lot easier to control the kart, bike or atv your driving. The choices of karts are awesome. There are three basic types of vehicle, standard karts, bikes and atvs. But you can unlock special ones the more coins you collect while racing. Every hundred coins or so you unlock another vehicle or upgrade. You can choose tires and sails as well (for flying!). The single player is epic with 32 different tracks to choose from! 16 classic and 16 new! The tracks are expertly designed and really make the game more fun. Also there are different modes like time attack and balloon battle. You can customize those even further as well. If you complete all of the grand prix modes than you unlock mirror mode, which I haven't tried out yet. It's a real challenge as the game gets harder the more you play! But it is still great for beginners because it's sectioned off into three main game modes. 50cc (the slowest). 100cc (medium), 150cc (the fastest). In every mode you start out with the regular characters that appeared in the previous Mario Kart games. You unlock more by doing well on each grand prix cup. The new koopalings are very fun to play as and I enjoy playing as Lemmy the most.
The Multiplayer is also epic. You get all the upgrades and characters you've unlocked in single player in Multiplayer as well. You can vote for the tracks you want in a lobby and then when the race track is chosen it begins. There is no lag at all when I was playing online, and I have my Wii U connected wirelessly through a router three rooms away with walls in the middle. You can play worldwide, regional, with friends or in a tournament. The tournaments are like a grand prix single player race but scored.
Mario Kart TV is a great feature that lets you share your videos of your races with the world. The game automatically captures highlight videos of your races while you race in single player. You can then edit your video the way you want it and post it to Youtube. It's really simple and viewing video is really easy as well.
The gameplay is great, there are many different items that you can collect to win the race. There are coins that you can collect to increase your speed, and there are powerups like the star that makes you invincible and when you bump into people they will crash while you just keep on going. These powerups can turn the tide in a race, which is why there is never any time where you are sure you are going to win or lose. Sometime when you think you're going to win, you are kicked back all the way to sixth place. But other times the opposite takes effect, I was in ninth place when all of a sudden I picked up a golden mushroom that let me burst into the lead and I took the win. It is these moments that you'll remember forever! Playing this game was rediscovering what it means to play Nintendo games.
The game is super fun and exciting and I've been playing it all week. It's one of the best games I have ever played.
Can't wait until Zelda and Smash Bros Wii U Come out they are going to be awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mario Kart 8
A great addition to the mario kart series
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/15
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game surpassed beyond my expectations. Its a great game with great music, great graphics, and the anti gravity is a nice addition. the only problem i have with this game is the item balance, the only items you will get in this game are mushrooms and coins. The game even does great DLC with 16 courses, 6 characters, and 8 new karts all for 12 dollars! this game really is good and you should definitely pick it up if you have a wii u
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Mario Kart 8
Console seller!
Posted on:5/2/14
Location: Oregon
This will be a must-buy for the Wii U! Games like Mario Kart are exactly why I bought a Wii U and it's almost out now! I'll be purchasing it on release day and I hope to see you all online!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Mario Kart 8 Wii U Deluxe 32GB Console
10 out of 10(12)
 
 
 
 
 
14 of 21 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>