GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset

The Gold Wireless Stereo Headset delivers amazing depth and audio clarity, elevating your gaming experience with customizable game modes created by developers exclusively for PlayStation®. High fidelity 7.1 virtual surround sound breathes new life into the urban jungles and alien worlds you explore, while the hidden noise cancelling microphone makes it easy to connect with your friends and teammates. When you're on the move, use your headset with your favorite mobile device via the included 3.5mm audio cable or fold it up into the included travel pouch until the next round. This is how games were made to sound.
Average Customer Rating:
9.246
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
10 stars
41
9 stars
18
8 stars
5
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
65 out of 6994%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Review 1 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Very Little Bass
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/14
Mikhael
Location: Burbank, CA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
These headphones are great for the price. Sound quality is very good, ear cushions and head strap are extremely comfortable, and battery lasts for hours on end. The wireless adapter it comes with works on both PS3, PS4, and even PC. Does not have to be turned on when using with mobile devices connected through the included 3.5 mm jack audio cable. Works while charging. The hidden microphone works well. Ear cups fit comfortably around my comparably larger ears. Build quality is decent enough (the hinges that allow it to fold are a bit loose on every unit). Sound bleeds through when volume is at a reasonable level. Sound quality is very good even when compared to wired headphones HOWEVER there is very little low frequency response. Don't expect to amazed by the booming of explosions or the punch of a gunshot that you'll get with other headphones.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AxelaKIdd
Adelanto , CA
 
Please wait while more information about AxelaKIdd is loaded.
Additional information about AxelaKIdd could not be loaded.
New update!
Posted 3/5/14
Hey there was a new update on the headset companion app that lets you customize the sound to your liking. You can change your lows, mids and highs. Maybe that will solve your bass problem. See ya
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Most Convenient Wireless Headset Out There!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/14
VideoGameDunkey
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Pros: Most headsets use a wireless router to connect it. But for this, all you have to do is just pop in a little USB stick and it charges through the same charger as your controller and most phones. The integrated microphone and audio cable makes it very easy to use as headphones for your phone or laptop. Very, Very, comfortable, and easily adjustable. The mute, volume and game:chat audio buttons are conveniently located. The Bass Boost is as simple as switching it on. An app on your ps4 lets you choose sound presets to give you "the best sound quality for that game". Cons: This is fine for only $100 but the sound quality is pretty bad, the "surround sound" they put in there isnt very good and it just sounds stuffy most of the time. There is less base than the standard apple headphones, and so far the app hasn't worked for me. Trust me VERY good for the price, but just think about the fact that you will have to use another pair of headphones for your xbox, so keep that in mind when you are choosing a headset.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
What can I say
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/14
Lover
Location: Cary, IL
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset is worth everypenny. Look I love Turtlebeach but when I can get a wireless headset for only $100 bucks compared to others that charge twice as much for wireless. Its easy to set up just plug it in and your ready to go. Also PS4 has a companion app that makes it even better for any genre you want from gaming, music to movies. This is a win win for all PS4 gamers. Oh yeah you don't have to plug it into your Ps4 controller!!!! Have fun guys
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
15 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
An upgrade based on feedback
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/14
GrindheadJim
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA, USA, Earff
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
These are exactly like the Pulse Elites, but with three exceptions: There's no rumble/bass impact motors on the headset, which will lengthen battery life (and keep you from getting a headache), the build quality is much higher than the Pulse Elites, and the charging port is now micro USB instead of mini USB. At $99.99, you get a feature-packed headset that should last a long time.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
30 of 33 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Amazing Headset!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/14
MrNintendo007
Location: Pocahontas, AR
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Let me start off by saying I own a set of Astro A50s, Triton Ax Pros, and Turtle Beach DPX21s. All top of the line head sets for sure. But for the money these are second to none. Now granted they don't have that full dolby surround sound where you can literally close your eyes and tell what direction the sound is coming from like the before mentioned headsets. For a stereo two channel headset they come pretty darn close. Sounds are loud, crisp, and clear. Comfort is amazing. And the simplicity of hooking them up with the wireless usb adapter is a major plus. Tried them on the vita with the included cable jack and they did not disappoint either.
Also with the headset app which can be downloaded from the PS store you can customize the bass, mid, and treble level. Or you can choose from the different presets available as well. Take it from someone who has owned numerous headsets, both stereo and dolby digital. For a $100 you won't find a better set on the market right now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Good Headset
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/14
Hooyah
Location: Connecticut
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I recently purchased this headset to try and find a new replacement for the Tritton Kunai wired headset for the PS4 and while it originally did everything I wanted and even sounded great the cord died on me. So...on to these which also did everything I wanted plus were completely wireless when connected to the console. The only drawback ( and this is really just me) is that it didnt have enough bass. It did have some....but not what I was looking for. Otherwise they are fully compatible with the PS3, PS4 and mobile devices including any device that used a USB connection like a laptop. So the overall sound is excellent and I recommend these very much if strong bass isnt a concern for you.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
For the heavy gamer
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/14
turboG
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Got these day of launch, used my gamestop points and got 25$ off (save your points!!!). This replaced my turtle beach p11 headset. I expceted this headset to be bluetooth wireless, meaning it would be compatable wirelessly for my phone. That is not the case, and one of my complaints. MY other complaint is that the headset is huge. With that being said, if you buy this product for the intention of using it as a heavy gamer, you will not be disappointed in sound quality for Price$. The headset will blow your ear drums should you choose to put it on full volume, which I dont recommend. The headset does come with a aux cable, which allows the use of phones and MP3 players. The sound quality for music is good. The size of the headset is big, so dont expect to wear them in public lol. I use a headset every time I play, to me it makes my game experience more enjoyable. Overall, for what I paid Im satisfied and the sound quality is better than the tutle beach p11. First time headset buyers should start with this headset!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
good headset
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/14
drew275
Location: Hampton, Va
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
These headsets are really good. game sound and chat sound are both great. setup is easy and the fit well on any size head
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
19 of 22 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dremanz
Detroit, MI
 
Please wait while more information about Dremanz is loaded.
Additional information about Dremanz could not be loaded.
Well worth the money!
Posted 2/17/14
The headphone are amazing. The noise cancellation, built-in mic inside the ear cup and comfort works well with the price. The design aspect of the headphone make you feel more comfortable wearing them out in public when you are listening to your music or on the phone. Along with the much needed accessories, these headphones is absolutely worth the purchase for gaming and then some!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Worth every Penny
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/14
NeverDeadly
Location: New Jersey
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I upgraded to these today from my Turtle Beach Px22 for the Ps4 use. I have to say, the sound quality on these headsets are phenomenal. For the price it is well worth it. The comfort is good, only thing is the head phone speakers should have been padded a little more but other than that everything is perfect!. My friends say that my voice comes out crystal clear. You can control voice chat and game audio volumes and the Battery life is 8 hours, it takes about an hour to fully charge the headset. Sony, you've done it again!. Success!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Must have headset, couldnt be better for price!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/14
Alex159777
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset is virtually flawless and works stunningly on the PS4. It has great highs, mid, and lows. While this headset may not be Astro quality, your are SURELY getting what you paid for. For a first headset on PS4 this is a must have if you are not in the position to shell out $200-300 for a high end headset. Now I must say this PLEASE! DON'T EXPECT MUCH FROM THE VOICE MONITOR! It is terrible! If you can't talk without voice monitor go find a new headset! This is not the one for you! But the MIC quality on your friends end is crystal clear. Thats my only problem with the headset I could think of. The surround sound is OK. But it could be better in my opinion. But you have to remember this is only a hundred dollar headset. Anyway, I would have to give this headset a 9/10. Only because of the voice monitor. It doesn't pick your voice up well on any of the settings. This is a bit of a deal breaker for me just because its very disorienting not being able to hear myself speak. But if side tone/voice monitor isn't a worry or problem for you this IS A MUST HAVE 10/10 HEADSET! :)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Great product
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/14
jwizard
Location: Ohio
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was unsure at first whether I was actually going to buy these or not. I wanted a headset since in my dorm i have a roommate and dont want to disturb them while I am gaming. So i wanted a headset (I have both PS4 and PS3). So i began looking into this headset due to it being specifically for Sony and I saw the things for it with Infamous Second Son. I spoke with a Gamestop employee about them and decided it was a good choice to try them. I love them. Not only is the sound quality nice, there is plenty of bass(enough to where I had to turn it down). Also, the fact that you can use them on any device with a headphone jack is awesome. Would highly recommend.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Great value, and great preformance
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/14
Raven8331
Location: California
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Overall this is a great headset. The sound is really nice for only $100 and the mic works surprisingly well considering it's a small hole hidden under another piece of its self.
What it doesn't mention on the description is that it also comes with a carrying case that it fits into after the ear pieces fold in, which is nice, but I can see them snapping at the joints if I'm not careful.
Pros would be that mics great quality, it's ease of use, and the fact that you can install a custom setting via a free app provided by Sony on the Playstation Store, and switch from that to default easily. Battery life is up to 8 hours for regular gameplay, and that's held true for me, though despite being warned that initial charge could take 3.5 hours, it only took 1.5 to 2.
Cons would be that The set itself is thin plastic and a lot of padding up top, which looks nice, but it's not that sturdy. Please don't leave it on the floor. One mishap and I fear it's all over. The charging cable that comes with it is very short, but you can use the same cables that come with your controllers and or smart phone. Also, to make it work you have to plug in a USB, taking up one of the precious two ports.Other than that, there's just the joint thing mentioned earlier.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Gold Wireless Stereo Headset
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/14
StormxNights
Location: Cleveland, TN
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have used this headset on my ps4 and on my PC. Works great on both systems with great sound.
When it's connected to the PS4 wirelessly, you get the crisp sound of 7.1 virtual surround sound. There is also a button on the left ear cup to turn it off. ( but who would want to do that?)
You can also connect the headset to the ps4 using the 3.5mm connector. This allows you to use the headset without using the battery on the headset. But, if you use this method, you will not get the 7.1 virtual surround sound. Either way has great sound. But the wireless method is a little better.
You can also adjust the sound / chat ratio on the headset as well. By adjusting the chat sound higher, the game sound will lower. ( Think of it as a teeter-totter. )
If your looking for a good gaming headset for your Ps4, but don't want to spend a ton on the other brands, buy these. They are very good for the price.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Works Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/14
HalfCooked
Location: US
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Very comfortable, and work well. Nice to have when you can't have your TV turned up loud when playing video games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Wow Unbelievable
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/14
Legendarythug
Location: NH
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When I was ordering this headset i wasn't sure but this headset Sounds amazing and is so comfortable' also its really well over worth the price that i paid for it. Its completely wireless while your using it on ur Ps4 or Ps3 then it comes with a cord you can use with vita or mp3 players this is the best headset ive owned in a long time. Great job sony
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Best That Money Can Buy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/14
DillWeed
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When buying a new headset , you'd want style, durability, and a good price. These Look Like The Future And Feel Like Beats Audio. What more could you ask for in a headset !?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
About Time!!!!
Posted on:2/4/14
Lover
Location: Cary, IL
I have tried turtle beaches stating that they are compatible which they are not. I had bought the px22 for the ps4 and could not use the amplifier at all. Don't get me wrong I tried them on my PS3 and they sounded amazing. I am just glad I can have a headset that I can hear everything and chat without plugging the headset to the ps4 controller.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KySky
KY
 
Please wait while more information about KySky is loaded.
Additional information about KySky could not be loaded.
It's Here!
Posted 2/7/14
I wasn't expected to soon. Have to explain to wife now! Looking forward to trying it out when I get home tonight on Lara Croft!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Impressive!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/14
Hayadakin
Location: Farmington, MO
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have never written a review in over 20 years of gaming. So the fact that I am doing so speaks volumes about the quality of this headset for the price. First off let me say that I am very hard of hearing due to hearing loss in the military. However, I can hear everything from every angle while using this headset on full blast. While this volume may be to loud for some its just about right for me. I can destroy people in Battlefield with ease now that I have an extra sense to help not just my eyes but my ears are now a weapon thanks to this wonderful headset.
Even while playing Thief, I found my heart pounding at the sudden boom of volume when one of the primal touched would spot me, or a guard might catch me out of nowhere, It was exhilarating to be fearful of getting caught and the boom of noise would make me and my heart jump a beat.
I can't wait for exclusive sounds to see what Sony has in store for us for games like Infamous. I'm excited and happy with this headset it's simply amazing for the price.
If you are looking for a good headset that won't break the bank don't look any further Sony has given amazing value with the new Gold headset.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Best headphones ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/14
Hunterboy566
Location: New York
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
These headphones are amazing the best I've ever gotten HIGHLY RECOMENDED to all people who may want to get these headphones
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
You really can't do better for 100 dollars.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/14
GrimDarkness
Location: Connecticut
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Plusses:
+Sound quality is excellent for gaming.
+The positional audio effect is excellent, especially for games that have been designed to support it, like Infamous: Second Son.
+Lightweight and comfortable, with good balance on the head and earpads that breathe well while keeping the sound in.
+8 hour battery life
+Surprisingly long range
+Easy to set up
+Free PSN app for fine-tuning the sound is intuitive to use
+Microphone works well, even without a boom.
+Excellent value, especially at that price point.
Minuses:
-Construction seems fairly flimsy, and unfortunately the flimsiest parts are the hinges, which make them feel like they could break if you aren't very gentle when handling.
-Sound quality is very much geared towards gaming, and offers mediocre sound quality for music listening or movie watching.
-Using the volume buttons on the side make a very loud beep, right in your ear, and the audio from that overrides any other audio coming in.
-Only one title has been given an official sound mix for the headset.
Overall: The combination of features and performance is unmatched at 100 dollars. I just wish the money Sony spent on that carrying bag was spent on reinforcing the hinges instead.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>