GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset

The Gold Wireless Stereo Headset delivers amazing depth and audio clarity, elevating your gaming experience with customizable game modes created by developers exclusively for PlayStation®. High fidelity 7.1 virtual surround sound breathes new life into the urban jungles and alien worlds you explore, while the hidden noise cancelling microphone makes it easy to connect with your friends and teammates. When you're on the move, use your headset with your favorite mobile device via the included 3.5mm audio cable or fold it up into the included travel pouch until the next round. This is how games were made to sound.
Average Customer Rating:
8.662
8.7
(140 Reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (140 reviews)
10 stars
69
9 stars
30
8 stars
13
7 stars
3
6 stars
4
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
1
114 out of 13386%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Review 1 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Amazing headset
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/15
Location: VA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this headset about two years ago when I got my PlayStation 4 .The headset was recommend by an friend of mine even though he did have a pair at the time .So I tried them in love them ever since there very comfortable on your head they last for about maybe 4to6 hours depending on the volume you have set you the headset . But when it dies don't even worry there no need to wait for them to charger you have 2 options after that you have the choice too either plug in the wire adapter in side the 3.5mm jack port on the headset in plug it in the 3.5mm port in the controller or if you like me lol charger it in still have it wireless your choice .The design is great to me I have thrown my headset into the wall on the floor even laid down with them on in they are still kicking in are good condition. But all in all wonderful headset give them a try you wont regret it .
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Very Little Bass
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/14
Location: Burbank, CA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
These headphones are great for the price. Sound quality is very good, ear cushions and head strap are extremely comfortable, and battery lasts for hours on end. The wireless adapter it comes with works on both PS3, PS4, and even PC. Does not have to be turned on when using with mobile devices connected through the included 3.5 mm jack audio cable. Works while charging. The hidden microphone works well. Ear cups fit comfortably around my comparably larger ears. Build quality is decent enough (the hinges that allow it to fold are a bit loose on every unit). Sound bleeds through when volume is at a reasonable level. Sound quality is very good even when compared to wired headphones HOWEVER there is very little low frequency response. Don't expect to amazed by the booming of explosions or the punch of a gunshot that you'll get with other headphones.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
13 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AxelaKIdd
Adelanto , CA
 
Please wait while more information about AxelaKIdd is loaded.
Additional information about AxelaKIdd could not be loaded.
New update!
Posted 3/5/14
Hey there was a new update on the headset companion app that lets you customize the sound to your liking. You can change your lows, mids and highs. Maybe that will solve your bass problem. See ya
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Amazing Headset!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/14
Location: Pocahontas, AR
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Let me start off by saying I own a set of Astro A50s, Triton Ax Pros, and Turtle Beach DPX21s. All top of the line head sets for sure. But for the money these are second to none. Now granted they don't have that full dolby surround sound where you can literally close your eyes and tell what direction the sound is coming from like the before mentioned headsets. For a stereo two channel headset they come pretty darn close. Sounds are loud, crisp, and clear. Comfort is amazing. And the simplicity of hooking them up with the wireless usb adapter is a major plus. Tried them on the vita with the included cable jack and they did not disappoint either.
Also with the headset app which can be downloaded from the PS store you can customize the bass, mid, and treble level. Or you can choose from the different presets available as well. Take it from someone who has owned numerous headsets, both stereo and dolby digital. For a $100 you won't find a better set on the market right now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
58 of 64 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HardcoreCasualGamer
 
Please wait while more information about HardcoreCasualGamer is loaded.
Additional information about HardcoreCasualGamer could not be loaded.
good headset for the price
Posted 8/2/14
It has Virtual surround sound 7.1 so it cannot compare to astro a50s or any high priced headset but I heard its better than pulse elites or turtle beach. Pretty comfortable and looks stylish. All for under a 100 bucks it is a entry level headset. I prefer Astros because of the mix amp but if I was on budget I'd definitely go with these!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Best bang for your buck!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/15
Location: Virginia
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
so I recently got a PS four and decided that I wanted to get a headset for it, now I usually don't do reviews on products that I use but I took a lot of time researching headsets and prices and deciding which set I wanted and to be honest it took me a while so I hope this review helps some of you out. Now I originally went to GameStop to get a pair of these but instead I got the afterglow kral headset, long story short that was a mistake and I was not happy with the headset at all even though they were on sale for $60. So I took them back to game stop and exchanged them for a pair of Sony gold, and that was an excellent choice. for the price of $100 there is no way you can go wrong with this headset. I'll start with the overall design of the headset. The headset is a little bulky or I guess you could say awkward in comparison to other headsets and the sides don't rotate or move much like a turtle Beach headset, but after putting the headset on it is very comfortable, even for those that have big heads and larger ears. It has a hidden mic feature which is pretty neat and at first different not having a mic boom sitting in front of your mouth but I will touch on this a little later on. You can control all of the sounds, volume for the game and volume for chat on the sides of the headset, it also has a mute button a surroundsound button and jack to hook up to other mobile devices. The headsets also fold up and come with a carry bag so you have something to transport them in. They are very light in weight and at the top of the headband is a foam like feeling substance that sits softly on top of your head, overall a very comfortable and neat headset for hours of nonstop gaming with all your volume control buttons easily accessible. There is also a mini USB port on the headset for charging and a button to switch between standard sound and custom sound. So far so good, now on to where these headsets really deliver, the sound. The first game I played with these headsets was call of duty, and when I got into action the sound was amazing. The 7.1 virtual surroundsound definitely delivers as I could easily tell where opposing players were coming from. The only drawback is the bass does lack a little, not to the point to where it's a dealbreaker by any means but you can download the free companion app and customize your equalizer to your liking and that does help in my opinion, though I have heard other reviewer's say that it is a pretty useless app. Battery life is pretty solid, you can expect to get anywhere from 8 to 10 hours of gameplay and a full charge taking about three hours. Now I'll be honest, the mic isn't as clear as say a pair of turtle Beach headsets, well I won't say that it's not clear but you kind of sound like you are in a tin can a little bit although I have not had anyone complain about it but again definitely not a dealbreaker here. I have not heard any distortion in these headsets just crystal clear sound even at full blast, I honestly had a hard time taking them off the first time. So in closing are these the best headsets out there? No, if you want to spend upwards of 150$ for a headset you would more than likely get a better experience, but for $100 these headsets in my opinion are definitely the most bang for your buck. They deliver a solid and enjoyable gaming experience with The 7.1 virtual surroundsound definitely not disappointing and at a price that any gamer can appreciate. I would definitely recommend these to anyone who is trying to get a solid gaming experience at a bargain price. Hope this review helps some of you out.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 5 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
An upgrade based on feedback
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/14
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA, USA, Earff
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
These are exactly like the Pulse Elites, but with three exceptions: There's no rumble/bass impact motors on the headset, which will lengthen battery life (and keep you from getting a headache), the build quality is much higher than the Pulse Elites, and the charging port is now micro USB instead of mini USB. At $99.99, you get a feature-packed headset that should last a long time.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
45 of 52 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
eaglefan129
 
Please wait while more information about eaglefan129 is loaded.
Additional information about eaglefan129 could not be loaded.
Works great, but longevity issues
Posted 4/13/15
Once I guess it was my fault that it broke, but a second I made sure not to make that mistake again. The right ear headphone has cracks and I'll be forced to get a new one soon. Which is a problem because I'm dorm living and I'll need a headset pretty soon. I wanna say it hasn't been a year yet since a purchased the second one.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Totally worth the money
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/14
Location: Sterling CO
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I replaced an older set of Turtle Beach PX3 with this headset. I had purchased the necessary cables and such to connect my PX3 to my PS4 and thankfully had not been forced to use the ear bud that came with the PS4. When I saw this headset announced I figured it would be my next purchase. Honestly the sound is better than the PX3's the comfort level is better. They are lighter, more comfortable, cheaper, and exceed the PX3 in every way possible. There is no boom mic. The sound is crisp and it's overly simple to connect and use. I will be putting my PX3's in a drawer as an emergency back up but won't be looking back. A must have if your looking for a gaming headset. The price is fantastic.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Love the surround sound and the design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/15
Location: denver
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset has great sound and stylish design, but it is not comfortable at all :/ my ears start hurt after about 1 hour of gaming. Overall though everything else is perfect.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Most Convenient Wireless Headset Out There!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/14
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Pros: Most headsets use a wireless router to connect it. But for this, all you have to do is just pop in a little USB stick and it charges through the same charger as your controller and most phones. The integrated microphone and audio cable makes it very easy to use as headphones for your phone or laptop. Very, Very, comfortable, and easily adjustable. The mute, volume and game:chat audio buttons are conveniently located. The Bass Boost is as simple as switching it on. An app on your ps4 lets you choose sound presets to give you "the best sound quality for that game". Cons: This is fine for only $100 but the sound quality is pretty bad, the "surround sound" they put in there isnt very good and it just sounds stuffy most of the time. There is less base than the standard apple headphones, and so far the app hasn't worked for me. Trust me VERY good for the price, but just think about the fact that you will have to use another pair of headphones for your xbox, so keep that in mind when you are choosing a headset.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Worth every Penny
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/14
Location: New Jersey
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I upgraded to these today from my Turtle Beach Px22 for the Ps4 use. I have to say, the sound quality on these headsets are phenomenal. For the price it is well worth it. The comfort is good, only thing is the head phone speakers should have been padded a little more but other than that everything is perfect!. My friends say that my voice comes out crystal clear. You can control voice chat and game audio volumes and the Battery life is 8 hours, it takes about an hour to fully charge the headset. Sony, you've done it again!. Success!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
26 of 33 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Good but not great
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/14
Location: Rhode Island
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've been looking around at the reviews for this product and I'm alittle confused. I have owned a few Turtle Beach products in the past and all though their microphone and speakers react well and sound crisp, I left them because of reliability issues. A $150 product should not break down within a year. I had purchased the PS3 wireless headset and loved it. I confidently walked into Gamestop to purchase the new redesigned headset. It's trial run would be with Destiny. The new headset is comfortable, sound quality is good. The only issue I have is the microphone. I adjusted the settings both with the app and in the PlayStation. I was playing with friends and they all agreed that I sounded as if I was speaking from across the room. The redesigned headset looks really cool and having the integrated microphone helps aesthetically but if it makes it so nobody can hear me...I'll take the original design if it means I'll sacrifice looks over functionality.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Must have headset, couldnt be better for price!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/14
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset is virtually flawless and works stunningly on the PS4. It has great highs, mid, and lows. While this headset may not be Astro quality, your are SURELY getting what you paid for. For a first headset on PS4 this is a must have if you are not in the position to shell out $200-300 for a high end headset. Now I must say this PLEASE! DON'T EXPECT MUCH FROM THE VOICE MONITOR! It is terrible! If you can't talk without voice monitor go find a new headset! This is not the one for you! But the MIC quality on your friends end is crystal clear. Thats my only problem with the headset I could think of. The surround sound is OK. But it could be better in my opinion. But you have to remember this is only a hundred dollar headset. Anyway, I would have to give this headset a 9/10. Only because of the voice monitor. It doesn't pick your voice up well on any of the settings. This is a bit of a deal breaker for me just because its very disorienting not being able to hear myself speak. But if side tone/voice monitor isn't a worry or problem for you this IS A MUST HAVE 10/10 HEADSET! :)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
For the heavy gamer
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/14
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Got these day of launch, used my gamestop points and got 25$ off (save your points!!!). This replaced my turtle beach p11 headset. I expceted this headset to be bluetooth wireless, meaning it would be compatable wirelessly for my phone. That is not the case, and one of my complaints. MY other complaint is that the headset is huge. With that being said, if you buy this product for the intention of using it as a heavy gamer, you will not be disappointed in sound quality for Price$. The headset will blow your ear drums should you choose to put it on full volume, which I dont recommend. The headset does come with a aux cable, which allows the use of phones and MP3 players. The sound quality for music is good. The size of the headset is big, so dont expect to wear them in public lol. I use a headset every time I play, to me it makes my game experience more enjoyable. Overall, for what I paid Im satisfied and the sound quality is better than the tutle beach p11. First time headset buyers should start with this headset!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Turtle Beach wired headset beats these.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/15
Location: Wa
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Really nice when I first got it the wireless feature and customization is nice but the flaw the charging and the USB stick itself overtime. Over time the charging isn't as efficient, the USB loses connection and when you use the AUX for the PS4 controller it isnt as good quality. I didn't even have it for a year and it is having issues. Sure I use it every day but i'm careful with it and such. Overall i'm not impressed with this $100 product. Turtle Beach is the same but at least the sound is allot better then these. I would not recommend these the wired headsets are better.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 14 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
What can I say
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/14
Location: Cary, IL
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset is worth everypenny. Look I love Turtlebeach but when I can get a wireless headset for only $100 bucks compared to others that charge twice as much for wireless. Its easy to set up just plug it in and your ready to go. Also PS4 has a companion app that makes it even better for any genre you want from gaming, music to movies. This is a win win for all PS4 gamers. Oh yeah you don't have to plug it into your Ps4 controller!!!! Have fun guys
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
17 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Johnny1000
Pittsburgh, PA
 
Please wait while more information about Johnny1000 is loaded.
Additional information about Johnny1000 could not be loaded.
This is must have headset!!!
Posted 7/2/14
This is the best headset I own, the only weird thing I have say about it is Do NOT play a zombie game with this headset, it feels like a zombie is really behind you, it scare me. You guys can try it if you want. I'm just warning you guys. overall the headset is perfect it works on the PS4, PS3 and the vita.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
good headset
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/14
Location: Hampton, Va
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
These headsets are really good. game sound and chat sound are both great. setup is easy and the fit well on any size head
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
22 of 28 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dremanz
Detroit, MI
 
Please wait while more information about Dremanz is loaded.
Additional information about Dremanz could not be loaded.
Well worth the money!
Posted 2/17/14
The headphone are amazing. The noise cancellation, built-in mic inside the ear cup and comfort works well with the price. The design aspect of the headphone make you feel more comfortable wearing them out in public when you are listening to your music or on the phone. Along with the much needed accessories, these headphones is absolutely worth the purchase for gaming and then some!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Great performance, not so great quality.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/14
Location: VA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this to go along with my PS4 in FEB and it was really, really impressed with the quality of the sound for a pretty reasonable price. I used it on my PS4, XB1, and my PC and was really pleased with my purchase, until today that is. I only use my headset at my desk and I am the only one who uses it. I do not allow my kids to use it. Today I removed the headset from my head and the left earpiece fell off. I looked closer and the small cheap tabs that are there to hold in the pin on the hinge broke. I inspected further and noticed all four spots were cracked really badly. I decided to call Playstation to get help since it is only JUL and it is under a year warranty. They proceeded to tell me that I was out of luck because the warranty only covered internal parts. I would not recommend this headset if you don't want to have to replace it in 5 months. It performs great but is built with cheap material.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Well Designed Set of Muffs
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/14
Location: Evansville, IN.
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
From a 5+ year user of Tritton headsets this pair from Sony holds its own. Simulated 7.1 surround is pretty darn good for a stereo headset. I am impressed with the clarity of sound that came from them once I realized you had to go to the device manager and allow all sound to the headset and not just the chat. The optional switching between two settings (Stereo and 7.1) is nice. I tried the headphone app on PS4 and it was easy and intuitive when it came to selecting and loading a sound preference from the list of presets and the mixer allows for endless options for those tweakers. These things are light and comfortable especially for a wireless set. The ear muffs cover my large dumbo ears with room to spare and the pockets in the muffs are deep enough they allow my ears not to be presses against the speakers. I got these on sale for $79 instead of the $99 but now that I have tried them the $99 tag is appropriate.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
About Time!!!!
Posted on:2/4/14
Location: Cary, IL
I have tried turtle beaches stating that they are compatible which they are not. I had bought the px22 for the ps4 and could not use the amplifier at all. Don't get me wrong I tried them on my PS3 and they sounded amazing. I am just glad I can have a headset that I can hear everything and chat without plugging the headset to the ps4 controller.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KySky
KY
 
Please wait while more information about KySky is loaded.
Additional information about KySky could not be loaded.
It's Here!
Posted 2/7/14
I wasn't expected to soon. Have to explain to wife now! Looking forward to trying it out when I get home tonight on Lara Croft!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Not the best Sony mic, but still nice. Pros/Cons..
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/14
Location: Streetsboro, OH
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have owned all 3 generations of the Sony Stereo headsets now. So I can say that this headset takes a few steps forward from the last headset as well as a few steps backwards.
The Pros:
- It's lighter than the second generation headset. It might even be lighter then the first generation headset.
- The sound is really nice. I noticed it almost immediately between taking the second gen headset off an putting this new one on.
- It's much more comfortable than the last headset. The ear cups are similar the first generation headset, where the go all the way around your ears. Un-like the second generation headset that had smaller ear cups. The strap that sits over top of your head is very similar to the first gen headset. The second gen headset strap that went over your head was horrible and would leave 2 lines/indents in your skull after extended periods of playing.
- The headphone jack is on the actual headset so it would be much easier to use in other applications such as an ipod. The second gen headset had the microphone jack on the usb stick so it had to be powered by a usb source to use it.
- This could just be because it's a new headset, but the battery does seem to last a little longer than the last headsets.
The Cons:
- It has no external mic like the first generation headset. It also has no holes in the ear cup for the mic like the second generation headset. It has an internal mic, and I have been told by people I normally play with that I sound like I'm talking in to a can while using the headset.
- It lacks the features of the past headsets.
- It has up or down buttons for volume control and game/chat volume control. Which is not as good as having the sliders like the past 2 headsets because you can't tell when you are in the middle. The sliders would click in the middle and the buttons up or down are just a guessing game.
- There is no separate control for bass volume like the second generation.
- The second gen headset brought the feature of different sound profiles. You could have a bunch of different sound profiles on the headset and scroll through them with a button. On this headset you have a toggle switch that goes from 1 to 2 and sound profile 1 is the default one and sound profile 2 is the one you can change. So you can only add 1 custom sound profile to your headset.
- The range is much worst than the past headsets. I think the range got worse and worse with every version of the headset and this one is definitely the worst. I would deduct around 10-15 feet from the range compared to the past headset. Give or take depending on how many walls your going through.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
13 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Works Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/14
Location: US
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Very comfortable, and work well. Nice to have when you can't have your TV turned up loud when playing video games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 16 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>