GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset

The Gold Wireless Stereo Headset delivers amazing depth and audio clarity, elevating your gaming experience with customizable game modes created by developers exclusively for PlayStation®. High fidelity 7.1 virtual surround sound breathes new life into the urban jungles and alien worlds you explore, while the hidden noise cancelling microphone makes it easy to connect with your friends and teammates. When you're on the move, use your headset with your favorite mobile device via the included 3.5mm audio cable or fold it up into the included travel pouch until the next round. This is how games were made to sound.
Average Customer Rating:
9.235
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
10 stars
40
9 stars
18
8 stars
5
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
64 out of 6894%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Review 1 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Great value, and great preformance
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/14
Raven8331
Location: California
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Overall this is a great headset. The sound is really nice for only $100 and the mic works surprisingly well considering it's a small hole hidden under another piece of its self.
What it doesn't mention on the description is that it also comes with a carrying case that it fits into after the ear pieces fold in, which is nice, but I can see them snapping at the joints if I'm not careful.
Pros would be that mics great quality, it's ease of use, and the fact that you can install a custom setting via a free app provided by Sony on the Playstation Store, and switch from that to default easily. Battery life is up to 8 hours for regular gameplay, and that's held true for me, though despite being warned that initial charge could take 3.5 hours, it only took 1.5 to 2.
Cons would be that The set itself is thin plastic and a lot of padding up top, which looks nice, but it's not that sturdy. Please don't leave it on the floor. One mishap and I fear it's all over. The charging cable that comes with it is very short, but you can use the same cables that come with your controllers and or smart phone. Also, to make it work you have to plug in a USB, taking up one of the precious two ports.Other than that, there's just the joint thing mentioned earlier.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Good Headset
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/14
Hooyah
Location: Connecticut
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I recently purchased this headset to try and find a new replacement for the Tritton Kunai wired headset for the PS4 and while it originally did everything I wanted and even sounded great the cord died on me. So...on to these which also did everything I wanted plus were completely wireless when connected to the console. The only drawback ( and this is really just me) is that it didnt have enough bass. It did have some....but not what I was looking for. Otherwise they are fully compatible with the PS3, PS4 and mobile devices including any device that used a USB connection like a laptop. So the overall sound is excellent and I recommend these very much if strong bass isnt a concern for you.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Most Convenient Wireless Headset Out There!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/14
VideoGameDunkey
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Pros: Most headsets use a wireless router to connect it. But for this, all you have to do is just pop in a little USB stick and it charges through the same charger as your controller and most phones. The integrated microphone and audio cable makes it very easy to use as headphones for your phone or laptop. Very, Very, comfortable, and easily adjustable. The mute, volume and game:chat audio buttons are conveniently located. The Bass Boost is as simple as switching it on. An app on your ps4 lets you choose sound presets to give you "the best sound quality for that game". Cons: This is fine for only $100 but the sound quality is pretty bad, the "surround sound" they put in there isnt very good and it just sounds stuffy most of the time. There is less base than the standard apple headphones, and so far the app hasn't worked for me. Trust me VERY good for the price, but just think about the fact that you will have to use another pair of headphones for your xbox, so keep that in mind when you are choosing a headset.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Great sound
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/14
CUS4CK
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Headset is perfect for playing games with no TV sound. A great Value for parents with young children that can play only at night, or during their nap times.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Great product
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/14
Jelly95
Location: Tampa, FL
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is the first headset I have purchased for gaming. Ive always just had the one ear bud for chat. I wanted to be able to game without interrupting my wife and son. You won't find a better headset for the money
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Best money can buy....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/14
Loveitorhateit123
Location: Brooklyn
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
What can I say they are amazing the sound the design and it's very comfortable 10 out of 10.... Love them 4 call of duty ghost and infamous second son.....
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/14
DeadRevolution777
Location: westfield, ma
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
first off the design. its so sleek and looks nice. and its crazy how there is a mic i n it, which happens to work rest. apparently your voice sounds a bit muffled but thats not an issue. and the speakers are insane. it could easily smash your eardrums. and its nice how long the battery life if you plan on gaming or watching something for a while. that reminds me, it works for anything on the ps3/4. youtube, netflix and all games. definitely buy this.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Awesome headsets
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/14
StarTrekGuy1701
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
had the first original wireless stereo headset from sony and thought they were great. they still work after 2.5 years but the synthetic leather is completely peeling off and looks horrible, so decided to upgrade to these since i have ps4 now. very nice upgrade from the first ones,sound quality is definetly better with 3 custom programable settings, 3.5mm input, sturdy build quality, super comfortable. only flaw i see is that the same synthetic leather material is used in the earcups and headband, so i guess in another 2.5 years theyre going to start to peel as well. but for the price you really cant complain
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
You really can't do better for 100 dollars.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/14
GrimDarkness
Location: Connecticut
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Plusses:
+Sound quality is excellent for gaming.
+The positional audio effect is excellent, especially for games that have been designed to support it, like Infamous: Second Son.
+Lightweight and comfortable, with good balance on the head and earpads that breathe well while keeping the sound in.
+8 hour battery life
+Surprisingly long range
+Easy to set up
+Free PSN app for fine-tuning the sound is intuitive to use
+Microphone works well, even without a boom.
+Excellent value, especially at that price point.
Minuses:
-Construction seems fairly flimsy, and unfortunately the flimsiest parts are the hinges, which make them feel like they could break if you aren't very gentle when handling.
-Sound quality is very much geared towards gaming, and offers mediocre sound quality for music listening or movie watching.
-Using the volume buttons on the side make a very loud beep, right in your ear, and the audio from that overrides any other audio coming in.
-Only one title has been given an official sound mix for the headset.
Overall: The combination of features and performance is unmatched at 100 dollars. I just wish the money Sony spent on that carrying bag was spent on reinforcing the hinges instead.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 10 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Great product
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/14
jwizard
Location: Ohio
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was unsure at first whether I was actually going to buy these or not. I wanted a headset since in my dorm i have a roommate and dont want to disturb them while I am gaming. So i wanted a headset (I have both PS4 and PS3). So i began looking into this headset due to it being specifically for Sony and I saw the things for it with Infamous Second Son. I spoke with a Gamestop employee about them and decided it was a good choice to try them. I love them. Not only is the sound quality nice, there is plenty of bass(enough to where I had to turn it down). Also, the fact that you can use them on any device with a headphone jack is awesome. Would highly recommend.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Affordable Surround Sound
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/14
BatMuffin
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've been in the market for a new headset these past few weeks when I bumped into these. I wanted something wireless and of high quality but still managed to remain budget friendly. This headset was just what I was looking for. When I tried these on for the first time I was immediately impressed and relieved I hadn't purchased a flop product as has been the case with a few other headsets. Even better when I messed around with the free app you can find in the Playstation Store on your PS4. Car explosions had deeper impact accompanied with deafening booms. My game so a boost as incoming and surrounding footsteps where easy to pinpoint. They were so easy to 'install', literally plug in the micro USB, turn on the headset and you're good to go. Although some may argue that the headset's material seems cheap I strongly believe the simplicity was key, something reinforced by the fact that you can connect it to other devices using the included audio jack cable. The simple design of the headset protects you from looking like a complete tool while listening to your phone or mp3 if that's how you roll. Needless to say, there are better headsets out there, but none in it's price range can match the level of quality and functionality.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Great Value,Very Comfortable
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/14
daddyed
Location: NorCal
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this headset because my Pulse hurt the top of my head after awhile. I trust Sony for they're products and was not surprised at how well this performed.The sound Quality is better than I expected. I have a better headset by Turtle Beach I've adapted to my PS4"s but this is now my go-to setup. Don't think twice, you cannot beat the value
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
NO BASS AT ALL. THIS, MY FRIEND, IS BAD.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/14
DM0NEY
Location: DENVER
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
VERY ATTRACTIVE AND COMFORTABLE, BUT NO BASS. AT ALL. THE SOUND IS ALL EAR PIERCING TREBLE. THE PS3 PULSE ELITE HEADSET IS THE BEST OPTION. ALTHOUGH THEY'RE NOT COMFY LIKE THESE NEW GOLD WIRELESS HEADPHONES, THEY SOUND A MILLION TIMES BETTER. WHY DO YOU WANT HEADPHONES?? LOOKS OR SOUND QUALITY?...
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Must have headset, couldnt be better for price!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/14
Alex159777
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset is virtually flawless and works stunningly on the PS4. It has great highs, mid, and lows. While this headset may not be Astro quality, your are SURELY getting what you paid for. For a first headset on PS4 this is a must have if you are not in the position to shell out $200-300 for a high end headset. Now I must say this PLEASE! DON'T EXPECT MUCH FROM THE VOICE MONITOR! It is terrible! If you can't talk without voice monitor go find a new headset! This is not the one for you! But the MIC quality on your friends end is crystal clear. Thats my only problem with the headset I could think of. The surround sound is OK. But it could be better in my opinion. But you have to remember this is only a hundred dollar headset. Anyway, I would have to give this headset a 9/10. Only because of the voice monitor. It doesn't pick your voice up well on any of the settings. This is a bit of a deal breaker for me just because its very disorienting not being able to hear myself speak. But if side tone/voice monitor isn't a worry or problem for you this IS A MUST HAVE 10/10 HEADSET! :)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Best That Money Can Buy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/14
DillWeed
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When buying a new headset , you'd want style, durability, and a good price. These Look Like The Future And Feel Like Beats Audio. What more could you ask for in a headset !?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Impressive!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/14
Hayadakin
Location: Farmington, MO
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have never written a review in over 20 years of gaming. So the fact that I am doing so speaks volumes about the quality of this headset for the price. First off let me say that I am very hard of hearing due to hearing loss in the military. However, I can hear everything from every angle while using this headset on full blast. While this volume may be to loud for some its just about right for me. I can destroy people in Battlefield with ease now that I have an extra sense to help not just my eyes but my ears are now a weapon thanks to this wonderful headset.
Even while playing Thief, I found my heart pounding at the sudden boom of volume when one of the primal touched would spot me, or a guard might catch me out of nowhere, It was exhilarating to be fearful of getting caught and the boom of noise would make me and my heart jump a beat.
I can't wait for exclusive sounds to see what Sony has in store for us for games like Infamous. I'm excited and happy with this headset it's simply amazing for the price.
If you are looking for a good headset that won't break the bank don't look any further Sony has given amazing value with the new Gold headset.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
great value
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/14
mcdaion
Location: virginia beach,va
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
lighter easy to store and they sound great like the blue lining soft over the ear extra bass is to connect
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Just awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/14
ffx2freak
Location: Saint Pauls, NC
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought these after I had bought a pair of px4's that were just horrible, And I have to admit I was skeptical at first. I am glad I looked up the reviews for these. I would recommend these to anyone who has a ps4. The value is awesome for 100 bucks you get good sound and good mic quality. You can even hook them up to your computer for use as well. The feel of them are comfortable and the battery life is pretty good. A must buy if you don't want your wallet to implode on money. Get these before you waste money on px4's.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Simply amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/14
Greenwood
Location: Texas
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset has been absolutely fantastic. Not without a couple of flaws which include sometimes hard to find out chat features, and losing the PS4 signal, but overall, this headset is fantastic! I have never had a surround sound headset before, and this pair makes me want to only start buying surround sound in the future. The games sound real. I just picked up the Atlas Titanfall Headset today for the Xbox One, and that set, although it sounds very good, they hurt like heck to wear. This Gold pair is very comfortable. I can wear them for hours. Great headset!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Really great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/14
jbh86
Location: Lufkin TX
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So far I have used the headset for gaming only, and the only problem i can foresee is the battery life. It comes with the smallest USB cable I think that was ever designed, but at least it charges relatively fast.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>