GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset

The Gold Wireless Stereo Headset delivers amazing depth and audio clarity, elevating your gaming experience with customizable game modes created by developers exclusively for PlayStation®. High fidelity 7.1 virtual surround sound breathes new life into the urban jungles and alien worlds you explore, while the hidden noise cancelling microphone makes it easy to connect with your friends and teammates. When you're on the move, use your headset with your favorite mobile device via the included 3.5mm audio cable or fold it up into the included travel pouch until the next round. This is how games were made to sound.
Average Customer Rating:
8.897
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (103 reviews)
10 stars
56
9 stars
21
8 stars
7
7 stars
2
6 stars
4
5 stars
0
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
86 out of 9789%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Review 1 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Very Little Bass
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/14
Mikhael
Location: Burbank, CA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
These headphones are great for the price. Sound quality is very good, ear cushions and head strap are extremely comfortable, and battery lasts for hours on end. The wireless adapter it comes with works on both PS3, PS4, and even PC. Does not have to be turned on when using with mobile devices connected through the included 3.5 mm jack audio cable. Works while charging. The hidden microphone works well. Ear cups fit comfortably around my comparably larger ears. Build quality is decent enough (the hinges that allow it to fold are a bit loose on every unit). Sound bleeds through when volume is at a reasonable level. Sound quality is very good even when compared to wired headphones HOWEVER there is very little low frequency response. Don't expect to amazed by the booming of explosions or the punch of a gunshot that you'll get with other headphones.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AxelaKIdd
Adelanto , CA
 
Please wait while more information about AxelaKIdd is loaded.
Additional information about AxelaKIdd could not be loaded.
New update!
Posted 3/5/14
Hey there was a new update on the headset companion app that lets you customize the sound to your liking. You can change your lows, mids and highs. Maybe that will solve your bass problem. See ya
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Amazing Headset!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/14
MrNintendo007
Location: Pocahontas, AR
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Let me start off by saying I own a set of Astro A50s, Triton Ax Pros, and Turtle Beach DPX21s. All top of the line head sets for sure. But for the money these are second to none. Now granted they don't have that full dolby surround sound where you can literally close your eyes and tell what direction the sound is coming from like the before mentioned headsets. For a stereo two channel headset they come pretty darn close. Sounds are loud, crisp, and clear. Comfort is amazing. And the simplicity of hooking them up with the wireless usb adapter is a major plus. Tried them on the vita with the included cable jack and they did not disappoint either.
Also with the headset app which can be downloaded from the PS store you can customize the bass, mid, and treble level. Or you can choose from the different presets available as well. Take it from someone who has owned numerous headsets, both stereo and dolby digital. For a $100 you won't find a better set on the market right now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
18 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Great performance, not so great quality.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/14
ChiefReed
Location: VA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this to go along with my PS4 in FEB and it was really, really impressed with the quality of the sound for a pretty reasonable price. I used it on my PS4, XB1, and my PC and was really pleased with my purchase, until today that is. I only use my headset at my desk and I am the only one who uses it. I do not allow my kids to use it. Today I removed the headset from my head and the left earpiece fell off. I looked closer and the small cheap tabs that are there to hold in the pin on the hinge broke. I inspected further and noticed all four spots were cracked really badly. I decided to call Playstation to get help since it is only JUL and it is under a year warranty. They proceeded to tell me that I was out of luck because the warranty only covered internal parts. I would not recommend this headset if you don't want to have to replace it in 5 months. It performs great but is built with cheap material.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 4 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Better than Turtle Beach
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/14
ColdFlame
Location: California
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Wireless and 99 bucks plus it has a 5.1 surround sound and if you get the companion app in the PS4 market you can set the equalizer to the settings you prefer, Overall the best PS4 Headset till they make better!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Amazing Headset worth Every Penny.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/14
Ricard0
Location: Raleigh, NC
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I usually don't write reviews about headsets, but this headset is worth it. Let me start off on the positives. First off, the headset is very comfortable, has great sound, and great sound modes to use on Ps3 and Ps4 systems. This is not a true surround sound headset, but it does have 7.1 Virtual Surround sound modes and It sounds spectacular by the way. The bass is great as well. I also use this on my Xbox One via the audio adapter that came with my XO Fours headset and the 3.5mm to 3.5mm cable that comes. I truly believe that this headset is better than any of the xbox one headsets out that I've tried. It comes in a nice pull string bag to place the headset in. The wireless works very well via a wireless usb dongle that you connect either to your ps3 or ps4. Otherwise, if you want to use it on your PS Vita or Xbox one you will need to use the 3.5mm cable with it. Now on to the negatives which to me is only one thing. The headset is rather large, I tried using it for my laptop and Ipad and it just looks too big to walk around in them to use outside of the home. It doesn't degrade in anyway the sound quality. If your looking for a good headset for $100 or less this is the best one to buy for the money, best bang for your buck.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Most Convenient Wireless Headset Out There!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/14
VideoGameDunkey
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Pros: Most headsets use a wireless router to connect it. But for this, all you have to do is just pop in a little USB stick and it charges through the same charger as your controller and most phones. The integrated microphone and audio cable makes it very easy to use as headphones for your phone or laptop. Very, Very, comfortable, and easily adjustable. The mute, volume and game:chat audio buttons are conveniently located. The Bass Boost is as simple as switching it on. An app on your ps4 lets you choose sound presets to give you "the best sound quality for that game". Cons: This is fine for only $100 but the sound quality is pretty bad, the "surround sound" they put in there isnt very good and it just sounds stuffy most of the time. There is less base than the standard apple headphones, and so far the app hasn't worked for me. Trust me VERY good for the price, but just think about the fact that you will have to use another pair of headphones for your xbox, so keep that in mind when you are choosing a headset.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
An upgrade based on feedback
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/14
GrindheadJim
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA, USA, Earff
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
These are exactly like the Pulse Elites, but with three exceptions: There's no rumble/bass impact motors on the headset, which will lengthen battery life (and keep you from getting a headache), the build quality is much higher than the Pulse Elites, and the charging port is now micro USB instead of mini USB. At $99.99, you get a feature-packed headset that should last a long time.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
34 of 37 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Best Headset I've ever bought.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/14
OGBJ
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I originally purchased the PX22's for my PS4 (Terrible decision) as they are only "compatible" with PS4 long story short don't get the PX22's if you want a headset for your PS4 any last gen console would be perfect. Furthermore, i bought these for $100.00 and they were worth every penny. They are the ONLY headset on the market at this time made specifically for the PS4, and the best part is they are 100% WIRELESS. What's better than that? The sound quality is tremendous and you can effortlessly change the loudness between chat and game. I would recommend these to any gamer.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Worth every Penny
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/14
NeverDeadly
Location: New Jersey
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I upgraded to these today from my Turtle Beach Px22 for the Ps4 use. I have to say, the sound quality on these headsets are phenomenal. For the price it is well worth it. The comfort is good, only thing is the head phone speakers should have been padded a little more but other than that everything is perfect!. My friends say that my voice comes out crystal clear. You can control voice chat and game audio volumes and the Battery life is 8 hours, it takes about an hour to fully charge the headset. Sony, you've done it again!. Success!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
17 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
What can I say
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/14
Lover
Location: Cary, IL
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset is worth everypenny. Look I love Turtlebeach but when I can get a wireless headset for only $100 bucks compared to others that charge twice as much for wireless. Its easy to set up just plug it in and your ready to go. Also PS4 has a companion app that makes it even better for any genre you want from gaming, music to movies. This is a win win for all PS4 gamers. Oh yeah you don't have to plug it into your Ps4 controller!!!! Have fun guys
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
17 of 20 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Johnny1000
Pittsburgh, PA
 
Please wait while more information about Johnny1000 is loaded.
Additional information about Johnny1000 could not be loaded.
This is must have headset!!!
Posted 7/2/14
This is the best headset I own, the only weird thing I have say about it is Do NOT play a zombie game with this headset, it feels like a zombie is really behind you, it scare me. You guys can try it if you want. I'm just warning you guys. overall the headset is perfect it works on the PS4, PS3 and the vita.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
not impressed
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/4/14
Shablam420
Location: Kentucky
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I purchased this headset for one reason, league races. Our season of formula 1 is starting soon and my turtle beach headset has a short in the wiring. So I buy this head set. I wanted to keep everything SONY. So much for that. Easy set up. Worked great for chat on ps4. Played no game so no comment there. Hooked up to ps3, again, easy setup. Loaded formula 1 2013, went online with a few friends to practice and all seemed good. As soon as I got to track the sound starts skipping. Looked on Sony's website and this is know problem on PS4. Must unplug a usb device to use headset. This is not an option. My steering wheel is causing interference apparently with the headset. So I ended up back on a dutchy set of turtle beaches. Headset is comfy. Really like them but not working for what I need them for. I mostly race online and if I cant utilize the headset its a waste ok money. I am taking the gold back and getting the px4.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
For the heavy gamer
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/14
turboG
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Got these day of launch, used my gamestop points and got 25$ off (save your points!!!). This replaced my turtle beach p11 headset. I expceted this headset to be bluetooth wireless, meaning it would be compatable wirelessly for my phone. That is not the case, and one of my complaints. MY other complaint is that the headset is huge. With that being said, if you buy this product for the intention of using it as a heavy gamer, you will not be disappointed in sound quality for Price$. The headset will blow your ear drums should you choose to put it on full volume, which I dont recommend. The headset does come with a aux cable, which allows the use of phones and MP3 players. The sound quality for music is good. The size of the headset is big, so dont expect to wear them in public lol. I use a headset every time I play, to me it makes my game experience more enjoyable. Overall, for what I paid Im satisfied and the sound quality is better than the tutle beach p11. First time headset buyers should start with this headset!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Sounds good but
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/14
LegendaryT0ad
Location: gadsden, Al
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The Headset is comfortable and light, the battery life is ok and the sound is good but the headset has zero bass compared to my turtlle beach and astro headsets the sony gold just don't compare .
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
good headset
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/14
drew275
Location: Hampton, Va
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
These headsets are really good. game sound and chat sound are both great. setup is easy and the fit well on any size head
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
19 of 22 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dremanz
Detroit, MI
 
Please wait while more information about Dremanz is loaded.
Additional information about Dremanz could not be loaded.
Well worth the money!
Posted 2/17/14
The headphone are amazing. The noise cancellation, built-in mic inside the ear cup and comfort works well with the price. The design aspect of the headphone make you feel more comfortable wearing them out in public when you are listening to your music or on the phone. Along with the much needed accessories, these headphones is absolutely worth the purchase for gaming and then some!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Horrible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/14
Jaws17
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It sucks. My friends can never hear me clearly and the fit always hurts my ears and it gets really irritating after playing with it. I would never recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
AMAZING Headset
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/14
Josierosie
Location: Thornton, CO
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought these just a few days ago and let me say that I am exhilarated to have these! I am so glad to have gotten these, they are truly one of the best ways to game. I don't think they'll be a time of me not using them.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Great all around
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/14
BigBone830
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Just got this today and love it. The main selling point is that i'm able to use on my ps4, xbox one, and my pc. The only down side I think is, I wish it could be a little lounder.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Affordable, Comfortable, and Customizable!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/14
Drave
Location: So Cal
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is hands down the best headset for Playstation to date. From removable faceplates and 7.1 virtual crisp surround, to auxiliary port for wired use when needed, this headset is simply a must have for Playstation lovers like myself.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Good Headset
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/14
Hooyah
Location: Connecticut
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I recently purchased this headset to try and find a new replacement for the Tritton Kunai wired headset for the PS4 and while it originally did everything I wanted and even sounded great the cord died on me. So...on to these which also did everything I wanted plus were completely wireless when connected to the console. The only drawback ( and this is really just me) is that it didnt have enough bass. It did have some....but not what I was looking for. Otherwise they are fully compatible with the PS3, PS4 and mobile devices including any device that used a USB connection like a laptop. So the overall sound is excellent and I recommend these very much if strong bass isnt a concern for you.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PlayStation Gold Wireless Headset
Great Headset, Great Price, What More Do You Need?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/14
PS4Fanboy
Location: AR
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I'm going to start off by saying that I owned a pair of Turtle Beach Px4's. They were fine besides the fact that they were not completely wireless, and had no mute mic, or chat volume control. I seen the Gold headset and bought them instantly. As soon as I had them paired to my PS4, I quickly fell in love. I can game for long hours, feeling nothing, hear everything with the virtual surround sound, and actually control the chat volume, as well as mute the mic. I would recommend these to anyone looking for a quality headset. Great quality and sound for only $99. Also has custom sound control for different types game styles and movie genres. BUY THEM!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>