GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Alien Syndrome

Take control of Earth Command Lieutenant, Aileen Harding, as she adventures through intense sci-fi battles against hordes of unique aliens and huge bosses. With an array of special abilities and combat powers, you'll draw on quick reflexes and skill plus a wide choice of weapons, armor, and items to defeat increasingly formidable opponents.
Average Customer Rating:
2
2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
0 out of 30%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Alien Syndrome
Review 1 for Alien Syndrome
Classic Example on Why Remakes are Bad
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/11
figment1988
Location: Kissimmee, FL
When i bought this game, i was lulled into believing that this was a good re-incarnation of the Sega classic which hit arcades back in 1987. But what i got instead was a shameless re-make which takes place 100 years after the events of the original Alien Syndrome, and to top it all off, it's more of a hack-and-slash like the 3D Gauntlet games (Legends and Dark Legacy). As if that wasn't enough, you'll find yourself waving the wii remote frantically trying to figure out what to do.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 2 for Alien Syndrome
This game is GARBAGE!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/09
BlueJAY21
I love my Wii more than all of my other things combined. Alien Syndrome made me rethink this statement. When I first bought this game I was so exited to go home and play it. The game description was very well done and would trick even the most hardcore gamers into getting this game. I soon realized that the game would make a better pizza cutter than a Wii game. It was seriously, the worst game I have ever played. I was truly disgusted. This was the easiest game in the world. I had no trouble beating the enemies. The only thing that made it a challenge was the camera. The camera was directly above the player and you couldn't see anything around you. The graphics were LAME! I could hardly tell what anything was. As far as I was concerned, it was a pathetic attempt at making at making a computer generated alien. They all looked like square blobs! The producers were too lazy to add a decent story line. Your stuck on a ship with some poorly animated monsters. Big deal! The controls just didn't feel right. I would have changed the entire layout. In the weapons menu, it was all so complicated. I couldn't figure it out. Everyone knows that the Wii speaker on the Wii remote sounds like a child's blaster. Imagine that, only ALL of the sounds had that kind of quality (Or lack of it). There wasn't even background music. You can't even finish the game because it's so bad. You will play this game for thirty seconds, at max, and decide that this game is worthless. Alien Syndrome was by far the worst game I have ever played. If you have some spare money and you want to buy this game, burn it instead. You will get more enjoyment out of lighting your hard earned cash on fire than wasting it on this piece of garbage!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Alien Syndrome
A complete waste of money
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/09
culixstar
ok i thought this game would be pretty sweet but soon...and i mean very soon i found out just how wrong i was. camera first of all the camera is as if on the ceiling looking nearly straight down on you, so your vision is pretty limited. you can zoom in...but why would you zoom in so close you cant see 10feet all around you. the ant army method is used heavily here too. i.e. making 1000 of the same monster and send them against you. you never see them pop, only a minor, small text, very easily missed message in the corner says when enemies are around and about to attack you. weapons weapons in the most part are fine, only ones i found useful in the long run were energy weapons since the only way to run out of ammo is to run out of energy that comes from your suit.which, if you put points into the rite places can never happen. there is one model for the melee weapons that i saw but many many colors to separate each type from another. also there are bombs, flamethrowers, and automatic guns, but no shotgun oddly enough. controls and interface very simplistic, push button to pick up items and open doors, point wii mote to fire and look in certain directions. the personal menus can be very confusing at first glance. the robot buddy that comes with you on your journey not only helps you fight but also makes items for you at times. most of the time the stuff is total junk but a ruby pops up every blue moon. challenge i gave this a 2 for a very simple reason.....you point and shoot til whatever you want dead is dead.....that's it.... most enemies in the game are insanely slow so as you fire you just back petal til they go pop. same with the bosses. point, run, shoot, and heal when needed. graphics and animation the animation in this game is very smooth, running, swinging your melee weapon, moving your gun in a direction your point your wii mote thats different from where your running from is all well done. but the graphics suck. the main character model, the stages, everything about this visuals was lazily done. final thought this game was so awful that even though i tried to play it, i ground the final boss to the first area for the best energy weapon i could get, which took about 2hours since i kept getting everything but what i wanted. and forced myself to play this game to get my moneys' worth. i can only say now that it'll be never worth it. do not buy this game.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 4 for Alien Syndrome
Remakes
Posted on:7/17/07
OldBay
This a remake of the old Alien Syndrome from the old sega console days. It was a awesome game then... and if Sega plays the rpg/action elements right. They could have a hit game. Either way I see it this game is going to be a hit rather a sleeper or fly off the shelves.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Alien Syndrome
i don't know.....
Posted on:7/16/07
A Customer
This game DOES have potential, but as has already been said, so far Wii shooters havn't been all that great. It could end up being an amazing, must-buy game for Wii owners, or it could end up being a total waste of money, i'll at least rent it, ans see if it's good enough to buy. Definetly not worth a pre-order, rent when it comes out then decide. I'll post a review after playing it
Review 6 for Alien Syndrome
Rip off
Posted on:7/15/07
Tomoo
this is just a rip off of an awesome UT2K4 mod called Alien Swarm is suggest you play that instead because it has better graphics and is likely a much much better game. Its really a sad thing to see people stealing mod makers ideas and then selling them as their own new game play types.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TheDonk
 
Please wait while more information about TheDonk is loaded.
Additional information about TheDonk could not be loaded.
Ummm...no
Posted 9/8/12
The original Alien Syndrome was made in 1987. This is a remake. Alien Swarm (though a good game) is the thief here as it was made in 2004.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Alien Syndrome
Nope
Posted on:7/3/07
Cageddog
Well... ok well last time nintendo released a re-make of an old game it was Excite Truck. Which i guess ok to good. But in this case im not to sure. Nintendo hasnt done to good on shooters this season. So i guess all we have to do is wait for the in-game preveiws to come out then we cross our fingers. Good Gaming, Cageddog
Review 8 for Alien Syndrome
Yeah..
Posted on:6/28/07
NinSick
I agree with shooteriswrong.... don't post fakies. One thing though. It doesn't matter how many good previews a game gets, especially this one, because it looks like a Nintendo stab at Outerspace Shooters. They did good with Metroid, but any other games of the genre from them... I think it will be pretty much the same. Different characters, of course, but it will all be utilized on Nintendos single deciding factor: the remote. That motion sensor is what makes it all happen. Take away that, its gonna be a horrible game. We'll just have to see. SC
Review 9 for Alien Syndrome
lies
Posted on:6/28/07
wii fan
people that give this game a bad preveiw they do not have a wii this will be a good game. if you have a wii this will be one of the wiis best games. aliens and humans lets just say a alien movie but you are the main star. if you like guns and aliens you will really like it, who really cares if it was made 10 years ago they made alot of improvements since then. it WILL be a big hit.
Review 10 for Alien Syndrome
10 years ago!!!
Posted on:6/27/07
Atarian
Ahhh ten years ago 1997. Junior in college playing; I know those times can be a little hazy but I am sure I was playing Goldeneye for the N64 and not Ice Climber for the NES. So lets make it about 20 years ago huh 1987. Thats more like it.
Review 11 for Alien Syndrome
Read About It
Posted on:6/27/07
XKO TITAN
Just read some articles on this game and as I can see by the videos and the interviews and opinions this game has potential. Dont expect game of the year of course but if you play with friends or alone this is a great run and gun game. Just mindless shooting to aliens and you can play with up to 4 ppl on the console. So i say give it a shot people stop being so negative
Review 12 for Alien Syndrome
No games ever came out for the NES 10 years ago
Posted on:6/20/07
shooteriswrong
This is a blatant contradiction of facts, Gamestop needs to stop posting fake customer reviews, if someone is already looking at buying the game, do you really think fake ass, poorly written, horrible grammar inclusive, badly disguised marketing ploys are going to be the deciding factor in a customers purchase? Get a clue, pigs.
Review 13 for Alien Syndrome
Looks Good so Far
Posted on:6/3/07
NinjaRooster
I've been following this game since it was announced and it looks like its going to be any interesting shooter on the Wii. It reminds me alot of Champions: Return to Arms only its a shooter game. Graphics need improvement but all screenshots avaliable on currently are of the pre-alpha version. Hopefully graphics will be improved and then it'll be an even better game.
Review 14 for Alien Syndrome
Cool
Posted on:5/28/07
shooter
This game looks alot like the game that came out for NES about ten years ago. So Im proboly going to get this game
Review 15 for Alien Syndrome
looks good
Posted on:5/12/07
A Customer
This game looks like it could be a really good game. it's not going to be the best game that will come out during the summer, but it defianately looks good. When I saw a trailer for this game, it reminded me a lot about the untold legends games for the PsP. It is a lot like untold legends but in the future.
Review 16 for Alien Syndrome
Wow a classic revived
Posted on:4/27/07
Jay Dee
Wow truly a classic. This sounds like an awesome game, it was pretty sweet back in the Sega Master System days. I hope to see this game rise to success.
Review 17 for Alien Syndrome
50-50% chance of a good game
Posted on:4/26/07
Critic
This game looks good but I don't like the way the video looks and I'm not so sure exactly what they mean by customizable Power Ups or Actual Visual Changes The website can be found at www.sega.com/aliensyndrome I also don't really like the main character. If she looked more like the famed Samus Aran (A.K.A. Metriod Prime) then I would think of getting it more The graphics are good and not anything to worry about but a slight factor on the overall gameplay (Not the shooting, the shooting is good) By that I mean the powers/ enemies/ story/ Multi-Player/ Co-op/ etc. Don't forget to write your thoughts on the game here at Gamestop (Not in anyway related to gamestop)
Review 18 for Alien Syndrome
took long enough, remake time
Posted on:3/17/07
HamburgerBun
GMR did a preview for the import PS2 version of this action game back before they were still published. It's somewhat of a remake of an old sega action game, arcade-ish shooting, with somewhat mushy and sloppy graphics but excellent action. Recommended for shooter fans worldwide, 12 of which live in America.
Review 19 for Alien Syndrome
Has to be good!
Posted on:3/17/07
Shadowrunner
For me, the graphics don't matter when it comes to this game. If it's at all similiar to the original that I played on the SEGA Master System about 20 years ago then it's going to be an awesome game.
Review 20 for Alien Syndrome
well aint so good
Posted on:3/9/07
silent swordsman 26
this game looked pretty amzing when i saw with all the weapons and co op and all. but when i saw the screenshots of this game you might want to think twice about it. the game s graphics arent so great either. but still it may be worth getting ya know since i dont have it yet. it might be fun but the graphics still suck!
1 2 next>>