GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NBA Live 08

When the game is on the line and the ball is in your hands, what will you do? Will you penetrate, drive the lane and rise above the rim for a monster dunk, or find an opening on the perimeter and sink a game-winning three? Take control of the game with a full arsenal to win the one-on-one match-up from every spot on the floor with NBA LIVE 08.
Average Customer Rating:
5.833
5.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
2 out of 633%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NBA Live 08
Review 1 for NBA Live 08
It's ok
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/10
tacos5920
This game doesn't really have good graphics and doesn't live up to the wii's potential. This game's controls are all right but noot the best. When I first got the game i was trying to shoot like you would with a regular basketball and shot a lay up every single time from three point land. Once you get used to it it's all right. One of the negatives that this game has is when you go up for a lay up or dunk and hits off the side of the hoop and goes out of bounce. EA really needs to fix that. Another negative was that there was no starting lineups in this game. I wanted to see how it would come up but there wasn't any. Also when you call a timeout you will realize that there is no coach. That didn't ruin the game but it was weird. It was pretty awesome to see that you could hit almost every three you took though. If you like basketball then go out and get this game right now. You will love the older all-star teams that you can play with and you will like the season mode even though there is no dynasty. Once you catch on this game is really fun.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NBA Live 08
The best nba game for the wii
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/10
prluis14
Location: new york
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Nba live 08 is a great game.Is way better then any nba game for the wii
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NBA Live 08
It's OK...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/11
AllStar001
Location: North Carolina
It's OK, but far from the best. The running confuses me. I don't get how you're supposed to run. If it does it for you it doesn't do any good. Other than that, the controls are good.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NBA Live 08
never
Posted on:7/1/07
A Customer
never buy a sports game racing game or a game like the godfather or splinter cell for the wii because the graphics will be horrible and probably the controls i told my brother to get resident evil 4 wii edition and he came out with transformers horrible choice crappy graphics you should only play nintendo games on nintendo consoles thats how super smash brawl and metroid 3 will look good because nintendo made it
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NBA Live 08
Please Be Better than 07
Posted on:9/7/07
Dulani
I am a huge Nintendo fan so I was a little disapointed when Live 7 didn't come out for the GC. I have just gotten my Wii and am waiting on this new NBA Game. I did play 07 on PS2 and hated it. The gameplay and graphics were awful. I am just hoping that Live 08 is more like Live 06 than 07.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NBA Live 08
super good game
Posted on:8/16/07
A Customer
i tried it out already its so good u have to get this game my uncle works for ea sports and i tested it out and man, that game is the best game i've ever had the controls are so real for example, use the remote to shoot and driblle betwwen the legs crossover with the nunchuck man its crazy
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NBA Live 08
pretty bad /but for the first wii basketball game
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/08
nba fanatic
I sencerly don't like this game, but it is the first game for the wii. The shooting is so fake i was shooting 3 pointers and i made every single shot.The stealing its pretty cool but it only steals when it feels like it. The blocking is impossible. I guess the passing is ok, but it gets intercepted a lot. To make it worse it dosent have dynasty mode, or create a player; and the slam dunk contest is so overrated and boring. And for last but definetly not least the graphics are like nba live 05 for the ps2. I really think sincerly that this game is definetly not worth what it costs. If you want a basketball game for the wii badly, and this is the only choice right now i suggest waiting for nba live 09 it may be way better, remember nba live 08 is the first basketball game for the wii.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 8 for NBA Live 08
Where's the in-depth sprts game for we? NOT HERE
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/11
Pickles
Location: Connecticut
EA Sports really slacked off with the Wii version of NBA08. The key game modes are missing that are in the other systems verions, the create a player is missing, and EA thinks that sports fans that want motion want a party game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Overall, this game is average, and I'm being nice saying it that way. I'm a big fan of sports games that involves the Wii motion system, but trading 90 percent of the games features for it is stupid and unacceptable EA. And now EA has stopped making NBA games for Wii. Go figure!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NBA Live 08
Cool
Posted on:7/15/07
wiifreak
This game could be great. I think so because well they didn't make NBA 07 for Wii because they didn't know what they should have done to make it a great game. They're probably taking their time to make it a good game like they should. If they made 07 for Wii that probably would have sucked. And for the guy who said that sports games suck on the Wii they don't. I have Madden 07, sure the graphics have problems like the coaches forehead looks whiter than the rest of his head, but the gameplay was GREAT. I watched this online game rating show, simialr to X-Play, and they said despite the graphics it's diffenitly a better deal than the Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 version.
Review 10 for NBA Live 08
Nba Live 08 too hard for Wii players?
Posted on:6/3/07
Andrew
Will Nba Live 08 be too hard for some Wii players if they just have the Wii mote? For some people, it will be easier because they have the Wii classic controller. I think it will be harder just with the Wii mote because you might have to move around just to pass or shoot. If you have the classic controller you can just sit down and play normally. I personally think if you get Nba Live 08 for the Wii, you should get the classic controller. Maybe they won't let you use the Wii mote for Nba Live 08. Not that many sports games will be for the Wii. The ones that are probably should have players use the classic controller.
Review 11 for NBA Live 08
Sorry, I hate myself
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/12
Pickles
Location: Connecticut
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I just realized that I dissed the game, then gave it a six. This is what I really meant. P.S. Buy this game for 360, PS3, or PC. It's actually good on those.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NBA Live 08
NBA on WII
Posted on:6/28/07
daasramu54
NBA live 08 will be great if the controls are good and the graphics. My guess is the A button will be to shoot and the B button will be to pass. Dribble is the analog stick on the nunchunk. And like C button will be steal and Z button will be like block. also I was thinking another way to shoot could be taking the willmote and swing making a shot or dunk. Always I hope the players will be updated since the draft is tonite also the uniforms. The graphics might be good since now HD has arrive but not much in the wii but hopefully EA uses 480p in this game like pirates of caribbean and scarface.
Review 13 for NBA Live 08
could be good
Posted on:6/17/07
cavs fan
I personally think this game could be good on the wii or bad. it all depends on the controls. the controls have a potential to be very cool if your actually dribbling and have to shoot and stuff. dynasty mode is very fun. if this has online it would be sweet. past nba lives have been great so i expect this one to be too. P.S. u got to give LeBron the cover. he took the cavs to the finals when he is only 22. it took jordan till he was 27 before he got to the finals. LeBron is the next Magic Johnson. Gilbert Arenas hasn't even got Washington to the eastern Confrence finals.
Review 14 for NBA Live 08
First Wii NBA Game!
Posted on:7/17/07
A Customer
This is the first time that I've actually bothered to look at an NBA game for a nintendo system because they really only make it best for the Sony systems. I'm wondering how they'll make the controls for it. I hope it's really great because I'm a big fan of basketball and I have the Wii. It won't be as great as the PS3 NBA games (of course) but I hope they make it at least better than the other NBA games on the gamecube. I watched the videos on the official website. How they dress the players into these special uniforms and their go-to moves. It's all pretty cool.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NBA Live 08
Hopefully good
Posted on:6/16/07
A Customer
The only thing is that you probably wont be able to play it with the camera as press box, but behind the player, because how are you gonna use the remote to pass to certain players unless its behind the player with the ball. Its the same thing as with Fifa 08. I dont know if it will be a good game, but when i see how its played, hopefully soon, i'll think about getting it. basketball games are sick, so lets hope the wii can make it good.
Review 16 for NBA Live 08
Maybe Good maybe bad?
Posted on:5/31/07
Mohammad Cheetany
I think this game might be actually pretty good. The controls can be good maybe for shooting u actaully guide the wii remote up which might actally be cool other then that I don't know how it will be possible to make this game so good. IGn said that it was The 2007 game of EA's hoops sim, designed with a new development philosophy that drives gameplay and feature innovation. Soo It may be pretty good.....
Review 17 for NBA Live 08
Only cuz of Gil
Posted on:6/8/07
A Customer
personally, i like the 2K bball games a lot more, but since it has gil on it and it is going to b different on the wii, i am going 2 get it. Gil has been one of my gfav NBA players since his days at Arizona, since im a Wildcat fan. Gil deserved to b on the cover since most of the nba fans have noticed his greatness this yr. i hear hes also helpin EA make the game better, so gotta try it out
Review 18 for NBA Live 08
Online? Please!!
Posted on:7/3/07
Byron
I hope this game has online play, because Madden and FIFA will have it. I want to be able to play random oppenents not having to use friend codes. Wikipedia has it listed on unrealsed wifi games, so I hope it will. The gameplay and grapics should be good, and you should be able to use classic or the gamecube controller. If this game has online play or not I'm still getting it.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NBA Live 08
This will be great!!!!!
Posted on:7/14/07
A Customer
The first basketball game for the wii, this is going to be awesome, and i cant wait for it to come out, Im so gonna buy this game..I mean all the other NBA lives, have been great, so this one will most likely be great as well, also im anxious to see how you can use the wii remote on this, but however you will be able to use it, Im sure its going to be great, good Job NIntendo!
Review 20 for NBA Live 08
cant wait
Posted on:5/12/07
lilmike134
this game is going to be amazing i mean the rest were ok but 2008 plus on wii i cant even imagine what the controls are going to be!!!! if there what i think they are im going to dunk, shoot , and pass like crazy and win. i hope soon ppl will get nitento wii and relieze that u can play online with it itill be so much fun!!!!!
1 2 3 next>>