GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Zack & Wiki: Quest for Barbaros' Treasure

Players will explore a variety of wondrous environments and stages, solving puzzles and interacting with the world in search of a legendary pirate ship and the ultimate pursuit of becoming the greatest pirate the world has ever seen.
Average Customer Rating:
9
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
4
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Zack & Wiki: Quest for Barbaros' Treasure
Review 1 for Zack & Wiki: Quest for Barbaros' Treasure
Sadly underrated game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/08
Cloud-9
Seriously, if you haven't played this game shame on you. The islands you go to are puzzles within many puzzles and are quite complex as you move on.But, it is "barrels" of fun (Har, Har!) and worth buying especially with the new price tag. How you interface with other objects with the IR does not feel "gimmicky" at all if that's a worry, for the challenge the length is perfect and you can play it longer if you so choose, and the story line is not as fleshed out as I wanted it, but there really isn't much need for an in depth tale. It's more about finding treasures while solving very inventive puzzles as you progress through island to island with new objectives with some story line in between more for reasons to continue on your quest. Plus, there is a cool feature where you can shop for items to help you along the way and there always is the fortune teller to give you helpful hints ( for a price, of course). Give this game a go-around if it peaks your interest, other wise you know what to do.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Zack & Wiki: Quest for Barbaros' Treasure
A smart, charming game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/11
ieatatsonic
Location: Granite City, IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Zack and Wiki is a point-and-click adventure game similar to things like Monkey Island. Your character, Zack, is a young pirate seeking a legendary treasure. Zack must travel through the world collecting items in order to find his way to it. Of course, this wouldn't be fun if the game didn't pull it off, but luckily this game did it excellent. You use the wiimote to move around and to investigate objects. It isn't always clear what you can take a good look at. Like you'd expect, objects interact with eachother in ways that make a lot of sence. The only obstacle is your logic. There's more to that, though. By shaking the wiimote, you can turn enemies into useful items and tools. These are used very cleverly throughout the game, and they're used in many different ways. The graphics are excellent; a cell-shaded masterpiece reminiscent of "The Legend of Zelda: Wind Waker". The music is strikingly fitting; adventurous music plays while on the map, xylophones play in the ice area- it all fits. So, to sum it up, this game is a great, imaginative, and unique puzzler that many people can enjoy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Zack & Wiki: Quest for Barbaros' Treasure
SUCH A SHAME IT DID'NT SELL
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/08
G-FRESH
Zack and Wiki is such a tremendously good but sadly underrated game. I have to admit I didn't really want to try this game because it looked VERY kiddish but just like the old saying, looks can be deceiving. DO NOT let this game's cutesy anime graphics fool you, this game starts out pretty easy but get insanely challenging as you go on. The whole point of the game is trying to figure out how to get to the treasure in each and every level. Believe me when I say that once the level's start getting very complex (and it gets complex pretty early in the game), once you figure it out and obtain the treasure it feels EXTREMELY rewarding. This game is also such a FANTASTIC example of how to utilize the Wii remote to great potential. You'll need to flip, twist, spin, turn, shake, etc to get through all the mind bending levels/puzzles. You really need to try it yourself to truly see that with a little effort, developers can come up with ways to use the Wii remote for more than just shaking. Zack and Wiki is also one of the best looking games on the Wii. Beautiful cel-shaded visuals bring all the characters and levels to life. The music, while not really that great, fits the mood of the game perfectly. If you own a Wii I strongly suggest that you at least give this game a chance (I'm sure glad I did), and at this price there really is no reason not to. One of the very best third party games available on the Wii, and an exceptional game in its own right.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Zack & Wiki: Quest for Barbaros' Treasure
Hard but fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/08
Total Nintendo fan
This game is awsome! I love the cartoon styled graphics in this game. When you look at it the graphics make it look like it's for little kids but it's actually pretty difficult. Some levels are can be frustrating but don't worry about getting stuck at the same place for months because it has a hint system in it. The controls are pretty simple, just point and click to move or move the remote the same way you would use the item you're carrying. Depending on how smart you are or how many hints you use this game can last a long time and even after you finish the last world there is still more to the game. The story is pretty good not the best I've ever heard but it's still good. I don't want to spoil it but I'll say it involves a lot of bell ringing and treasure collecting. This is my favorite wii game and I recomend it to most people.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Zack & Wiki: Quest for Barbaros' Treasure
Wonderful game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/08
Chez Rubenstein
This game is excellent. I am an adult with 3 small children. The game is challenging for everyone. The game does have some very complicated puzzles that would no doubt frustrate anyone, especially young children. My 9 year-old and I give each other hints back and forth to get us through without giving away the whole thing. Puzzles are on par with Zelda games and can get quite intricate. Especially with the price drop, this game is worth every penny. Check out online reviews at places like ign or gamespot. They LOVE the game. I don't think it has sold nearly what it deserves! P.S. My 3 year-old loves to watch us play and imitates Zack, the pirate's signature move while yelling, "Y-y-y-ya!" The controls use about every possible orientation for the Wiimote, which adds variety to the game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Zack & Wiki: Quest for Barbaros' Treasure
Capcom has done it again!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/11
Patman75
Location: Washington Twp., MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Its such a shame that this game didn't sell. i once had a choice between this game and some other bad game but i bought the bad one. My brain must have been messed up then, this game is worth every penny! I would have bought this game but looks can be a little odd on the outside and they were. the graphics, gameplay and the way you use the wii remote bring this game to life! i love the twisting, turning, shaking, pulling, throwing, and shooting that make this game amazing! i love this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Zack & Wiki: Quest for Barbaros' Treasure
Finally, an original 3rd Party Game
Posted on:9/7/07
MovieBooze
From it's announcement, I've been following previews of the game. The boards contain puzzles ranging from minutes to hours, and is sure to be a fun game for people from age 5 to 95. It's a throw-back to the old point-and-click adventures like Monkey Island and King's Quest, yet uses the Wii-mote in totally original ways throughout the story. Support this sleeper hit and pre-order right away!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Zack & Wiki: Quest for Barbaros' Treasure
Puzzling is a Good Thing
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/08
mariofan36
This game is genuinely difficult and worth a look no matter your age or gender. Also, ignore the graphics and generic title if those things genuinely offput you. Oh, and if you don't like tough puzzles and headscratchers, you move along too. All right... who we got left? Anyone? Anyways, here we go on quite the odd journey. So you're an up and coming pirate, and you like chocolate. What do you do? Search for treasure! But there are bigger, badder pirates out there that don't want you to have any of it! So, dodge around enemies with the help of your trusty flying monkey pal that turns into a bell when you shake the Wii-mote (seriously) and gather up as much treasure as you can get your hands on. But how? Well, you look at the screen, and use the Wii-mote to point at things and use the A Button to click on them. Now that you have this item in hand, go point at other things and press A at them. That's all there is to it, and the simplicity of it makes the gameplay top notch to anyone with enough patience. Pointing and clicking sound too simple for you? Lemme tell ya, there's a reason I rated this a 10 in the challenge department. There are some VERY difficult puzzles in there. A friend and I spent over an hour on one specific level (you die a lot too, and start over from the beginning... but I don't wanna dwell on the negatives) and only after finding the perfect series of things to do with each and every item did we finally solve the level. It sounds horrible, I know, but the feeling of figuring something like that out without an online guide (which we did) is pretty amazing. I've already touched on the storyline, which only really ramps up at the end, but is still kind of just a means to an end. Forgettable but understandable. The graphics are... well... kiddy, but they're easy on the eyes. The sound is forgettable as far as I remember... which isn't much. You'll be at it a fair amount of time if you stick it out until the end (around 20 hours) and don't cheat your way through levels. Afterwards you can go for higher scores on levels, and find more secret treasure, but it seemed a bit tacked on and I didn't really need the added length anyways. I only have one piece of advice on the interface, don't freak out about finding the "save" feature. I couldn't find it mentioned anywhere, and it turned out that it autosaves whenever you go back to the main menu. These mental calisthenics might be too difficult for the crowd that the game seems to be aimed at (though the possibility remains that I just wasn't a smart kid), but if you like point and click adventures, puzzles in general or just like to shake a monkey (seriously, what is UP with that?), try this game out.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Zack & Wiki: Quest for Barbaros' Treasure
i love point and click !
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/11
jake345
Location: mcallen
one of my all time point and click games is strong bad cg4ap beacuse of the simple point and click but this game is great but has it draw backs . first the dificulty increses ssecond by second and the tips get very expensive . second it is weird that wiki is a flying monkey that looks like a pokemon with a ability to turn stuff into other stuff . like turning frogs ito bombs that makes no sense . plus this is the first time i saw a point and click game that has boss fights . this game should be in wiiware it would be great too se it their but still point and click fans will probally love it .
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Zack & Wiki: Quest for Barbaros' Treasure
No Words (or Titles) to Describe
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/12
4Clover
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game's title does not do it justice. For a game that started out with the Wii system, the motion controls are fair, but for playing it now, the controls are very bad and have 75% chance of really working. If they combined Wii Motion Plus to this, it would be a perfected game. Some sounds are annoting constantly, but are ignorable. The game cover also doesn't do it justice. It makes the game appear childish and trivial. The game's story, gameplay, puzzles, characters, side-goals, and comedic deaths for the protagonists make a puzzle game that makes for hours of play.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Zack & Wiki: Quest for Barbaros' Treasure
Amazing
Posted on:9/1/07
Jeff
I have read a lot about this game. Its a point and click adventure. There are tons of puzzles that are crazy and unique These puzzles are throughout the game and are always different. When fighting a boss you need to figure out how to defeat him in a unique way.
Review 12 for Zack & Wiki: Quest for Barbaros' Treasure
not bad
Posted on:9/3/07
bballchamp
This game looks extremely interesting.It looks like the graphics will be pretty good for the wii.The game however doesnt look AS promising, it could still be great but my instincts just tell me it will be an ok game. The low down-rent it.
Review 13 for Zack & Wiki: Quest for Barbaros' Treasure
Pretty nice
Posted on:8/13/07
v-man
I've read a column in nintendo power, and it looks promising. The graphics also look very next generation like. This is a game that I am going to get a pre-order on.