GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams

The critically-acclaimed franchise that gave gamers the freedom to fly in a world of dreams is coming to the Wii! As a fantasy jester called NiGHTS, you will experience a heightened sense of gliding, spiraling, and looping through seven extraordinary worlds of Nightopia where the ocean resides in the sky and glass-formed cliffs overlook a castle of mirrors. When the "Nightmarens" from the neighboring dark world of Nightmare infiltrate the idyllic Nightopia, NiGHTS must defend the dream world to keep it safe for all dreamers. NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams will take you in a voyage filled with courage, hope and inspiration.
Average Customer Rating:
6.118
6.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
6
8 stars
2
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
10 out of 1759%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams
Review 1 for NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams
NiGHTS, flying freak.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/10
Zarvanis
'NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams' is a stupid game, and has a stupid hero. First of all, take a nice long look at the cover. The first thing you think is, "NiGHTS is a girl." BUT NOPE! NiGHTS is a GUY. I'm not kidding. When I first got this game I though it was okay. It took a while to get use to, but it seemed alright. But after a while I realized how ungodly stupid this crap is. Who wants to play a game about little kids in a dream realm with an owl and a flying she-male. The controlls are a pain, and the rings are so hard to go through. The characters are really bland and cheesy. The animation is too over exaggerated, but the graphics aren't bad. The music was annoying, and the voices are really stupid too. A lot of the bosses and challenges were a huge pain in the bunny, and took 3-10 tries to beat. The final boss was lame. Sometimes it was super easy, other times it was hard. It's weird how that worked. Overall, this game isn't horrible, but it's not good either.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams
Come not for the mechanics, but for the experience..
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/08
Gyrosash
While it may not be the NiGHTS we've been waiting for, it's still worth the play-through. This title excels in an aspect mostly forgotten and sometimes deliberately ignored by critics, the fun. This game allows the player to feel the freedom and joy of flight without worrying about where to go or what to do. Unfortunately the method of flight is viewed as 'outdated' by newcomers (the 2.5-D concept), and longtime fans may not view the Wii controls as amiable to a game of this caliber. In all honesty, this game would have been much better on the 360, or even the PS3 with the SixAxis. The Wiimote controls horribly and the nun chuck is only a slight improvement. In order to even begin to really enjoy the game, you need the Classic Controller. I can't emphasize this enough. This game really works off of nostalgia, classic sound effects and memorable characters add to the experience and trust me when I say it feels good to be back at the controls of that flying jester. The game REALLY 'takes off' with the sound and the overall interface. The voice acting is mostly well done, and the sound effects are top notch. Unfortunately that's where the good parts end. The multiplayer feels, looks like, and even plays like an afterthought. I wouldn't even bother giving it a try. The story was unnecessary but a nice addition. Visually speaking, the graphics are last gen quality. It feels like the Wii's hardware wasn't really pushed this time around.Overall I'd suggest this game only to die-hard fans of the original. Other than that, this game is rental quality for people trying to get into the series. Personally, I enjoyed the experience, but I'm sure not everyone will agree with that.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams
A true Sega classic.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/11
Diddy645
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The NiGHTS game on the Sega Saturn is a classic Sega game and NiGHTS: JoD is a great sequel to the original. The unique gameplay is easy to master after a just a few levels.
The graphics on the cutscenes are amazing and the backgrounds and character renders are not that bad either, especially for a wii game. The music is outstanding as well. Just listen to the song from the Bellbridge stage.
The story, while a little childish, may not be for everyone, but the gameplay is so great that it shouldn't matter. The final boss battle is epic, though.
The game is cheap, so it is definitely worth it. I still come back to play this game some times even after I beat it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams
AMAZiNG!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/13
SecretSnake98
Location: Earth
NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams is absolutely one of my favorite games on the Wii. Not only does it have really pretty environments, but an amazing soundtrack as well. Although the game could be a little longer it gave me something to do for about a week, and later on I found myself coming back to it. It has splendid fully voice acted cut-scenes. The game also has a nice, colorful cast of characters. You can play the game in either Will or Helen's story, which are two children who have terrible nightmares. They then find themselves in the magical world of Nightopia where they find NiGHTS. NiGHTS is like the key for the children to overcome their nightmares... Yeah, it's a little confusing to explain! Although the story it tells does not always make complete sense, I still found it very interesting. For example, why the heck does NiGHTS have to collect keys for cages that have nothing in them? And then there's Reala, one of the main villains. He just traps NiGHTS in cages and then leaves, totally allowing one of the children from the game to save him! Anyways, I gave this game a 9/10, only because it could have been just a little longer... I do have a question though: Why have all these other reviewers given this game 1/10's? It certainly does not deserve that.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams
I got to get a Wii
Posted on:11/28/07
SuGamer
For those that say the screenshots are from the original game, you're totally wrong! I still own a Saturn and a boat load of games, including Nights and the analog controller made for it and can tell you that those are NOT screenshots of the Saturn game. Nights was NEVER intended to be a totally 3D game, so let's put that straight. It was created by the Sonic Team to be a sort of flying Sonic type game. This was way before Sonic went totally 3D. Nights helped show off the power the Saturn had and sold extremely well considering the Saturn's lack sales compared to the Playstation's. I loved the first one and will probably eventually pick up a Wii system so I can play this one. BTW, if anyone still owns the original Saturn game, you can pop it into your PC's optical drive and view some CGI pics. I had one as my wallpaper for a long time.
Review 6 for NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams
Glad to see NiGHTS not forgotten
Posted on:12/17/07
Vinsanity
Like everyone else here, I'm glad to see Sonic Team actually make this requested sequel a decade after the original game came out. A game that few have played, but everyone who has loved. NiGHTS: JoD looks awesome - not "classic" like it's prequel, but real fun, very pretty and has some great music. Which is what we all want from our SEGA games, and what they used to be able to produce without even trying. Can't wait for NiGHTS!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams
good game, hard bosses....good enough for me
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/10
rolando
Location: Maryland, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is fun and easy to control over the first 5 levels it's really simple to play i bought this game in a buy 2 get 1 free deal and that was four days ago, lucky that i got this free because it was worth it, and this game is also good for coordination cause i barely controlled . 70% recommendation to a friend
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams
hmmmm...
Posted on:12/7/07
hey i know that guy
hey i know that elf!! he was in sonic adventure during the pinball level. remeber sonic fans? he was the purple pinball game. this game looks interreasting bc during that pinball level i never really understood what the world was after u came back down from the secret room
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams
Oh man Thank you God!
Posted on:4/26/07
A Customer
I can't believe it the Wii! gets A comeback for Nights and its all new! Journey Of Dreams! Sweet! its been like 11 years since a new one has been talked about for America and the rest of the world! And for those of you who don't know what was Nights it was game where you had to use a specially designed controller made by Sega ! Well you didn't have to use it but it helped alot! Anyway the game was like Sonic The Hedgehog mixed with the Upcoming SuperMario Galaxy Wii! The game was a platform game you could/Fly/ stop flying or gliding and explore getting Coins like a Mario game..But it was more then that Bosses yes there was.Wow 1995-96?..Anyway Buy it! Its going to sell quick! Now I can only hope Sega remakes the Streets Of Rage Series/Or Part 4! on the Wii or PS2,PS3,Xbxo360!
Review 10 for NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams
Spectacular Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/13
Blades252
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Nights: Journey of Dreams is one of my personal favorite Wii games ever (Behind SSBB) and I'd honestly recommend this game to any casual gamer.
Controls are very strange, Story is a little on the short side, and some of the missions get extremely repetitive. But all around it is a fun game.
And to those who are confused on Nights gender, Nights is genderless. They only refer to Nights as "He" is because they cannot refer to Nights as an "It".
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 11 for NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams
Simply amazing.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/11
WisemanEpsilon
Location: Houston, TX
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Yes, the game is kiddie. No, the voice acting isn't that great. This doesn't change the fact that the game is simply amazing, creative, and, most importantly, FUN! Remember that? Remember when gaming was about fun instead of calling people names over Xbox Live? You get to play as a purple, androgynous (NiGHTS is neither male or female, stop arguing) jester thing where you fly around playing, basically, classic Sonic The Hedgehog but flying. You get a rank at the end and there are four endings, 2 for each kid, so you always have a reason to come back to the game and try to do better. The music is pure happiness. A full orchestra playing some of the most memorable music you will hear in a game. Buy this game. Worth the money.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams
The Game is Scarey? I Dont Think So...
Posted on:7/20/07
A Customer
I have played the original Nights Into Dreams, and I do not recall anything being creepy enough to cause any kind of nightmares. I dont know what was so horrific. I remember it being a totally awesome game with pretty colors, awesome music, and great controls. The story was very cool also. Every person has different likes and dislikes and is allowed to voice their opinion, but Im just baffled on this one. All I can say is, dont let some of these comments deter you from enjoying the sequel. If you have a really young kid, then maybe be a little cautious. if you have or are a teenager or older, I would think you should not have a problem with anything being found scarey. Pleasant Dreams! :)
Review 13 for NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams
A must-buy for fans of the original
Posted on:11/16/07
KAISERKONG
The original was released in 1996 for the Sega Saturn and despite the paltry system sales, Nights managed to be a huge success for the Saturn and Sonic Team. The game followed the dreams of two children who took control of their dreams through the "Nights" suit and battled the Nightmaren who were bent on destroying their dreams. The flight mechanics of the game were unmatched for any Sega game at that time and there have been no other games to compare Nights to since it was released. It's great to see that Nintendo recognizes an incredible IP such as Nights and is willing to give it a chance. Just give this game a try and you will see what all the hype is about. You won't be disappointed!
Review 14 for NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams
NiGHTmare
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/10
Gameinator210
I bought this game because it was from Sonic Team. I love Sonic games! I went home, popped it in my Nintendo Wii and played it for at least 5 hours straight. I had beaten it in 5 hours. The whole game was complete! But not satisfying. This game was way to easy and short. The gameplay was horrible. The missions were the same thing over and over. And you didnt even have the liberty of exploring the worlds. You just fly around in circles transforming and killing creatures! I was very displeased by that. And the dreams of the 2 kids hardly made since. For example, one of the kids had a water world in their Dream Land. The boss? You guessed it, a giant fish. And the kids are a violenist and soccor player. What does a giant fish have to do with either of these? NOTHING! The storyline was simple. A dream travling purple creature was trying to get rid of nightmares even though he happened to be one himself apparently. The graphics in the worlds were pretty good. But like I said before, you cant run around the worlds! Waste of great graphics. The controls were pretty simple and easy. Which is good for any begginer gamer. There was no challenge after the first world beccause everything else was basically the same thing. The biggest challenge was the final boss, Wizeman. He is the creator of all the Nightmarens, including NiGHTS himself. If you are a fan of Sonic Team products, do not buy this product. For if you do, prepare to be dissapointed. It is nothing like the recent Sonic Team games. That's all I have to say about this product.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams
It's very rare to find a promising sequel, this is one
Posted on:12/13/07
NeoKnuckles
After more than a decade, one of Sonic Team's biggest and most requested sequel is here. I loved this game so much when I was 14, and i actually went through the pain to find another Saturn and copy of the original NiGHTS into Dreams, last year just because I missed the game so much, so far what I've been hearing this game is going to be epic! Naofumi Hataya, one of the composers from the original game, is working on the sequel's music. Also, twenty-six Sonic Team staff members have been involved in the game, of which the original core members from the first game. While Sonic Team USA is developing the game, the music and CGI movie production is being made in Japan.
Review 16 for NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams
Only one word and one word alone....
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/10
BinaryCode
Location: Kansas
Awful. Worst game ever! I finished it in 2 days. No replay value. Bash religions like crazy. Hard to control and just plain stupid. waste of time and money. More ticked off about the 30 bucks I shelled out for this piece of junk. Take my advice and invest in a good game, like Paper Mario or Metroid Prime Trilogy. Quality entertainment. NiGHTS belongs on it's own little shelf, called the city dump. Just sayin.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams
finally
Posted on:12/18/07
wii owner
i used to play nights on the sega saturn when i was little. i wasnt very good cause i was four but i loved the game, i hope this one has all the same bosses like that jack in the box guy. from the looks of the screen shots on here it looks like itll have the same beggining as the old one, which i also loved. cant wait to get this game
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams
Nights: A Sega classic!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/13
Homeboy12
Location: North Carolina, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is a very refreshing experience! There's nothing like it! The graphics are nice and colorful, the voice acting I have to admit isn't bad at all, and the game play and story are a nice new experience. And since you can get it really cheap these days its is worth the price and I think anybody who likes video games should give this game a try.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams
Screen shots are old?
Posted on:10/28/07
Player911
Those screen shots were from the original Sega Saturn system. I hope this is a new game and just not a port. Plus Nights on the Saturn was a big let down. All the screen shots and videos made one believe that it was a true 3D environment that you can explorer. In reality it was basically a side scroller with some nifty special effects. You could only fly up, down, left or right. I think I remember that hitting a switch would change your course. Again if this is a remake that has a true 3D environment to explorer then I might consider picking this up; otherwise I'll rent it.
Review 20 for NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams
Thank the good Lord Satan!!!
Posted on:4/26/07
Belmont
Finally I shall have control of Nights, no longer will I be tormented by memories of my friend Xavior holding his saturn controller just out of reach, saying "You can play when you buy it yourself." I have been dying to play the original for a decade now and this one looks ten times better, if I was you I would buy it as soon as it comes out or preorder it, whatever. This game will surely be a must have. And if you're too young to buy it yourself start being extra nice to your parents now, mow the lawn, clean your room, sell your ps2, whatever it takes.
1 2 3 4 next>>