GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Guitar Hero: Aerosmith - Game Only

Guitar Hero: Aerosmith brings these quintessential rock legends to the interactive realm to create the ultimate gaming experience. As fans progress through their careers in the game, they can rock out to scores of Aerosmith's greatest hits, as well as songs from celebrated artists that the band has either performed with or has been inspired by in some way. Venues from historical moments during the band's illustrious career offer the experience of "sweet emotion" and further capture the essence of the band's rise to fame.
Average Customer Rating:
7.4
7.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
0
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 580%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Guitar Hero: Aerosmith - Game Only
Review 1 for Guitar Hero: Aerosmith - Game Only
Fun, but feels like GH3 repackaged
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/08
LB
While I'm a huge Aerosmith fan & am enjoying the game so far, I have a feeling that the novelty is going to wear off very quickly. The game plays exactly like GH3, hell they didn't even change the tutorial - it's identical. Even if they'd simply taken the same how-to and had Steven giving the instructions instead of "The God of Rock" I would've been satisfied with that, but Activision made that area very lame. Also, in order for this game to stay fresh we're going to need to see some bigtime DLC - how much they'll make available remains to be seen, but my feeling is that if they don't add additional content this game will go stale before it's predecessor GH3 does. One thing that is very cool about this game is the backstory videos that you get during the career mode - actual video footage of interviews with the band about their experiences through the years & some cool old photos packaged in. Interesting stuff for any Aerosmith fan.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Guitar Hero: Aerosmith - Game Only
Not nearly as good as gh3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/08
C.B.M.
Guitar Hero aerosmith was a big disappointment because of how short it was. There were about 20 less songs than on guitar hero 3. Also, there wasn't much variety. About 10 or 15 songs weren't Aerosmith songs. This game would be fun for someone that likes aerosmith a lot more than other bands. I wish they would've added more songs even if they weren't aerosmith. Guitar hero 3 seemed to me to be a lot more difficult. A lot of the guitar hero aerosmith songs were not difficult. Most of the things didn't change from guitar hero 3 to guitar hero aerosmith like the star power meter and the home menu was exactly the same except for colors. On this game there were exactly the same characters except for aerosmith members. At least in Guitar hero 3 there was a variety of characters.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Guitar Hero: Aerosmith - Game Only
Good, However not very challenging
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/08
Mr. A
Guitar Hero aerosmith is a great game, However I will agree that it does have a GH3 feel. The game is a lot shorter than GH3 but makes up for that with the kool interviews before you get to play at each new place. I noticed that Hammer ons and pull offs seem to be a bit harder to hit in this game than in GH3. The song selection is excellent (if your an aerosmith fan obviously). I thought it was definatly worth the buy. The interface is the exact same while playing as GH3. The unlockable characters are kool. I beat it on expert hours after getting it and thought the unlockable guitar was really kool looking. I heard there is no downloadable content comming out for it tho so it will get old fairly quickly :-(. Worth the buy if you have GH3 but i wouldnt buy this as my first guitar hero game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Guitar Hero: Aerosmith - Game Only
To Clarify...
Posted on:4/2/08
JediGameFreak
O.k., for those of you who don't have GameInformer or haven't done your research, here's the deal. Yes, this game follows the carreer of Aerosmith. However, you DO NOT only play Aerosmith songs. At the beginning of each set, you play two songs as a guitar hero character (i.e. Judy Nails) to warm up the crowd. These can be a variety of songs, and span many different bands. After completing these, you take control of one of Aerosmith's guitar players and play a couple of their songs. The set's, from video and screenshot, look amazing, and the animation is vastly improved. Also, be careful before you buy. This game does not come with another guitar. It is only for people who either have a guitar or will buy one seperately. So don't shoot this game down if you're not a big Aerosmith fan.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Guitar Hero: Aerosmith - Game Only
Aerosmith: Game looks like a legend
Posted on:2/19/08
bsonline
This game should be pretty tight. I'm excited to see a Guitar Hero career mode with a little substance. It's kind of ironic... "Legends of Rock" didn't include Aerosmith, but this is the legend they are focusing on. Better than killing gangstas and zombies in a shooter, I must say. I'm a little saddened by the fact that we aren't seeing a custom Aerosmith guitar package. I'm hoping they will make up for that with a faceplate, but it still wouldn't be the same. I would have preferred to buy a package just to get a second guitar. I wonder... will there be a 3 player co-op? No matter how you look at it, this game will be awesome. I just gotta start using my pinky.
Review 6 for Guitar Hero: Aerosmith - Game Only
To bsonline
Posted on:2/24/08
Aerosmith
To bsonline, Have u gotten to the 5th set in legands of rock? the fifth set includes: Holiday in cambodia, rock you like a hurricane, SAME OLD SAME OLD DANCE(which is by aerosmith) as for the game not a bad idea, i would prefer to play as acdc or led zeppelin but that isnt likely so y not van halen or jimi hendrix. dont get , me wrong aerosmith is a great band with great songs so im lookin forward to this game alot imma bout to go out and pre-order it, get it on the 29th and beat it two hours later on xpert just like 2 and 3. a great game it wil be and i honestly cant wait
Review 7 for Guitar Hero: Aerosmith - Game Only
Im not so sure bout this 1
Posted on:3/21/08
Rigmeister
Im not so sure about this one, ive never really been a fan of aerosmith (im a metal head) the only reason i may buy this is because i need another controller, and because ive been so impressed by guitar hero 1-3. other than that, i heard a new gh was coming out and when i heard it was aerosmith i was really disappointed, and no i dont think they should do a guns n roses one because I think having a mix of music styles keeps everyone happy. actually if they made like guitar hero metal tracks or rock even alternative tracks that would be cool.
Review 8 for Guitar Hero: Aerosmith - Game Only
A very good game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/08
wicked_phoenix
I have never been much of an Aerosmith fan, and when I heard that Guitar Hero was coming out with an Aerosmith game I was very skeptical. The only real song that I knew from Aerosmith was "Dream On". For my birthday, I went to Best Buy and they had GH:A set up, career mode and everything. I grabbed a guitar and started playing, and at that moment I realized something: I LIKE THIS GAME. For someone who is decent on Hard mode, the game gave me quite the challenge, and I really liked the overall presentation of the game. Of course there should have been more songs, even if they weren't by Aerosmith, but that really doesn't change how fun the game can actually be. The biggest drawback of the game, for me, was the guitar that came with the bundle. Every so often I will be playing a song and I hold down a button and it doesn't register, or I'll be using the whammy bar and suddenly the entire chord goes out. As frustrating as that is, it still doesn't bother me that much. Guitar Hero: Aerosmith is a very fun game and while it may not be as challenging as GHIII, I am very happy with it. In fact, I welcomed the lowered difficulty, as hard on GHIII can feel like expert on GHII and I, for one, am unable to play on expert. So I will close this out by saying that if you want to try out some new songs and learn some interesting tidbits about one of America's greatest bands, get Guitar Hero: Aerosmith. If you don't, then that is fine. It's your loss.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for Guitar Hero: Aerosmith - Game Only
not sure wut to expect
Posted on:2/29/08
ghostpoo331
i donno it sounds pretty cool . i mean i like aerosmith but its just not the band i would have picked for this game to revolve around and plus i think its a very stupid idea to only have one band in it aerosmith is ok but how many good song do they really have? 5?6? im not sure i dont no to many good ones anyway i will by the game and ill probobly like it but please next time i wanna play some good music three days grace? foo fighters? everyones into the stuff ... peace out
Review 10 for Guitar Hero: Aerosmith - Game Only
Guitar Hero will still rock, but...
Posted on:2/26/08
Steve Ward
I think that Guitar Hero Aerosmith is still going to be good, but in the previous Guitar Hero games I liked the variety of artists. I feel that the game will lack in replay value, but will be a fun game to try and master. I think that a different band may have been better. Kiss may have been a good band for the game to be based around, but I will still buy this game and enjoy it just as much as I enjoy playing the other Guitar Hero games.
Review 11 for Guitar Hero: Aerosmith - Game Only
Concerned
Posted on:3/11/08
A Customer
I just and way to worried they are slapping new songs into the same old guitar hero 3 engine and calling it a new game... Cough Rock the 80's.... Doesnt mean I dont own all the versions of this game. But I wanna have exclusive things from game to game and not pay full price for half a game.... Im really worried this is gonna be another 7 setlists without any bonus tracks and bam game over
Review 12 for Guitar Hero: Aerosmith - Game Only
guitar hero mettallica
Posted on:6/4/08
CALJr_8760
To all the people who think this is a bad idea I have a few things to say. First most of the bands stated are either someone is dead or the band is broke up. Secondly this isn't going to be the only band guitar hero. They're already making a guitar hero mettalica. If you don't believe me go to gameinformer.com and go to news although it might still be on the home page at the top.
Review 13 for Guitar Hero: Aerosmith - Game Only
Im not sure but I think its good
Posted on:3/16/08
A Customer
Im not sure about this one but i am going out to pre-order it right now i love guitar hero and ive beat all of them. i cant wait till this one comes out . i think they shouldve made one for guns n roses i would have deffinently bought that one. maybe do one where you have to make money and buy a home or something idk but i cant wait tilll it comes out
Review 14 for Guitar Hero: Aerosmith - Game Only
Not Sure If I Will Be Satisified
Posted on:3/2/08
xXLunyTunes09Xx
I think this game might be good in the sense for a person who is a real big fan of Aerosmith. But as for me I like that various bands that they have. I think they should've made one of Metallica. But is this the 4th installment of the series? Or is this just a spin off? Because I heard the 4th one is supposed to be set as Guitar Hero: Road To Rock.
Review 15 for Guitar Hero: Aerosmith - Game Only
yea!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:3/21/08
Beerman
I think this is gonna be great because i love g hero and i love aerosmith but i think this will be like the 80s there just gonna put new songs into the same backgrounds same guitars but just the aerosmith band members but I think they should make a LED ZEPPELIN one because they are the best band ever no doubtbut im gonna get this one it seems good
Review 16 for Guitar Hero: Aerosmith - Game Only
Aero who?
Posted on:2/25/08
Stewart
Ok dont get me wrong great idea for the game but they could have used a better band like Metallica. I love guitar hero and so does my wife and we will still buy this one but I think it's a great idea that they are putting other bands in the games as well and not just Areosmith. Who knows this could be the best guitar hero ever
Review 17 for Guitar Hero: Aerosmith - Game Only
i dont know!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:3/1/08
wes-man
ok, when i first saw this new game i was like sounds cool.but,one thing what about other bands that have better guitarist like Eddie van halen from van halen or Angus Young from ac/dc. i must say though aerosmith is one of the best depending on who you talk to and some is putting hard work into making this. So Thanks!
Review 18 for Guitar Hero: Aerosmith - Game Only
Aero Awesome
Posted on:2/27/08
The Beardawg
As one of my top 3 all-time favorite bands, I think it is awesome that Guitar Hero has come up with a game based on Aerosmith. I don't get all the disappointment from other previews I have read. If they are willing to do this for Aerosmith, it only stands to reason that games for other top bands will soon follow.
Review 19 for Guitar Hero: Aerosmith - Game Only
I disagree gamerboy
Posted on:2/19/08
gamerMAN
They should indeed make a GnR chapter for guitarhero but KISS? Negative. KISS may have been a bid deal in the '70s but so was the bay city rollers. most kiss songs sound like Rock and Roll All Night clones. What they should really make is an update so that Guitarhero and Rock Band can share peripherals.
Review 20 for Guitar Hero: Aerosmith - Game Only
Sweet Emotion I'd say!
Posted on:3/2/08
Steph
I LOVE this idea! Aerosmith is way more talented and well known than ANY other band anyone could have picked. I didn't even like the other Guitar Heros. But, since an Aerosmith one is coming out I will be buying it! GREAT IDEA! Couldn't have possibly picked a better band.
1 2 next>>