GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Donkey Kong: Barrel Blast

Thrill to intense racing action in Donkey Kong: Barrel Blast. Join Donkey Kong and his friends as they use high-powered barrel rockets to see who'll be the next king of the jungle. To earn this prestigious title, familiar characters speed through wacky races, using anything at their disposal to win. Unleash explosive attacks, wield killer weapons and take out your racing adversaries to be the first across the finish line. There's plenty of frenzied, fast-paced fun to be had with your friends from the Donkey Kong crew.
Average Customer Rating:
8.25
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 475%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Donkey Kong: Barrel Blast
Review 1 for Donkey Kong: Barrel Blast
too much work for a video game
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/12
DKandDK
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was o.k. The fact that you constantly have to shake the remote to accelerate tires you after one race. If you take that out it still is just an average game maybe a 7 or 8. Only if you are a die hard Donkey Kong fan or racing fan might this suit you.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 2 for Donkey Kong: Barrel Blast
Favorite Wii game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/11
100000000000man
Location: US
great game, the best Wii game i had on Wii. Active, really fun and Very addictive. Get the game and you won't be disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Donkey Kong: Barrel Blast
Cool Game!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/23/11
dolphinboy
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is awesome the controls are amazing and I love unlocking courses and players. I totally recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Donkey Kong: Barrel Blast
Why does everyone hate it so much? This game ROCKS!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/09
Wenewe 46
When I saw the reviews for DKBB I was a bit worried that this would not be any good at all. Now I can't get enough of Donkey Kong and thought it can't really be as bad as the critics say. So time passes and I just couldn't help myself. I bought it. And let me tell you, I was 246% satisfied. The game has you choose your favorite DK heroes (Monkeys) or villans (Crocodiles) such as Donkey Kong, Diddy Kong, Kritter and Kass with many others to be unlocked. The controls couldn't be more clever. Each character is wearing a jetbelt with rocket barrels sticking out of each side. Now here is the neat part: Utilizing the unique usage of the Wii remote and nunchuk, you flick the nunchuk to bang the left barrel making you go left while flicking the Wii remote to bang the right barrel will allow you go head right. You need to pound both barrels one after the other to build up speed and when you've pounded them long enough you'll reach "Max Speed" where you will go faster and would not have to bang each berrel one after the other to accelerate. Powerups and items scattered around the track will also help you against other players who will stop at nothing to beat you to the trophy. That's practically all there is to it. It's simple enough to understand, yet it's challenging enough for people looking for... well a challenge. So ignore what the critics say about DKBB. Go out, pick it up, play it, and enjoy it!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Donkey Kong: Barrel Blast
I miss DK64....
Posted on:9/23/07
halo fan :D
I loved DK64 and ALL Nintendo products. I got jungle beat for gcn, thinking it would be like dk64-2. It was pretty bad. When will Nintendo see this? BRING BACK DK ADVENTURES! I hate to say this, but it's actually true: Microsoft is beating Nintendo. Nintendo just isn't making games that can combat Gears or Halo 3.
3 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Donkey Kong: Barrel Blast
Solution to jump and acclerate confusion
Posted on:9/23/07
A Customer
Instead of making the motion for jumping a flicking upward motion, jumping should be done with a flicking forward motion, just like the same motion you would do to shoot a jumpshot in the new NBA LIVE game for wii(but with both hands), Would be even better if that flicking foward motion was measured by the force of the flick to determine the distance of the jump. Simple solution, lets see if they figure it out and use it.
Review 7 for Donkey Kong: Barrel Blast
accelerating and jumping confusion
Posted on:9/19/07
motion mimick
I was kinda anticipating this game untill i read about the problem with the confusion of drumming the wii remote and nunchuck to accelerate and flicking the wii remote and nunchuck up at the same time to jump. They said that sometimes it would confuse teh two and the player would jump when he/she did not want to. I don't see this problem being fixed, the two motions( accelerating and jumping) are too alike even though i like the idea i hope they fix this problem but i doubt they can unless they make the motion of jumping to be over exagerated to avoid the confusion of drumming to accelerate.
Review 8 for Donkey Kong: Barrel Blast
excellent, with one exception, but still good
Posted on:8/8/07
Chao Chao
as i've played the japanese version, one word describes this game "excellent" however, this game is absolutely exhausting! with the nunchak and the wii-mote as the drums, u have to constantly beat both drums in order to move forward, and repeatly on one side to shift to that direction. i love this function since 1.) it's innovative, 2.) it's more interaction. I also like the fact that u CANNOT go off course in this game. in order words, u will always move forward, but shift from side to side in order to collect items/bananas/etc. overall, a crowd lover. no previous skill is required to be decent as this game. it's user friendly, and anyone can pick it up and love it. a definite top on my wii list, i'd get it in english once it comes out. however, as u complete each world, u usually have between 3~5 courses in each world tournament (as far as i've played) and each course is 3 fairly long laps. even as a good athelete, it's exhausting, but fun~!
Review 9 for Donkey Kong: Barrel Blast
Fun... but no Mario Kart
Posted on:8/6/07
MarioKartMaster
I played the Japanese version... it was fun... but there are really only 4 or 5 tracks with 3 or 4 variations for each track. It kind of reminded me of the way they did Excite Truck. The gameplay takes a little getting used to but once you catch on its not that difficult. The graphics and environments are pretty awesome and since you can fly, the gameplay is more 3D than other racing games. Overall, I'd give it an 7.8 out of 10.
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Donkey Kong: Barrel Blast
i love dk
Posted on:7/25/07
mike roch
omg i cantt wait until barrel blast comes out will b the best dk game everr, i meant hoo cant like dk hes such a beast hes a beast in super smash bros. melee and bongos i already preordered it and its gonna feel like forever until it comes out
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Donkey Kong: Barrel Blast
The best yet!
Posted on:7/24/07
Alberto
I really think this game is going to be cool.The features that i like is the graphics,they are really fresh and clean and i think this game will shock everyone.I really like the multiplayer mode it looks fun and the gameplay is really good.For what i seen i give this game a 8.5.