GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Hot Shots Golf: Out of Bounds

Developed by Clap Hanz, in conjunction with Sony Computer Entertainment America's Santa Monica Studios, Hot Shots Golf 5 brings a brand new chapter of the beloved Hot Shots franchise onto PLAYSTATION3 for the first time. Showcasing high definition graphics along with new, more accurate golf physics, Hot Shots Golf 5 offers up a new level of immersion to the franchise's signature over-the-top visuals and pick up and play action. Hot Shots Golf 5 brings an entirely new element of gameplay control by introducing a shot system that focuses on the player's swing instead of a power meter. Featuring more than 15 zany golfers and caddies, Hot Shots Golf 5 adds six new courses to the overall challenge, ranging from pitch-and-putt par three layouts to challenging 18-hole configurations. In addition, players will have unprecedented online access with the ability to create tournaments of up to 50 participants, and even access unique downloadable content. With vibrantly detailed courses, wacky new characters, and a wealth of online features, Hot Shots Golf 5 promises to enter the next generation strokes ahead of the competition.
Average Customer Rating:
7.429
7.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 771%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hot Shots Golf: Out of Bounds
Review 1 for Hot Shots Golf: Out of Bounds
Golf - sounds like something caught in your throat
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/08
salvadordalilama
Being a fan of regular golf, I've made my fair share of golfing video game purchases over the years. Sure Tiger Woods is fun for the purist and wanting to try and find something similar to the real thing. But golf also has another, goofier side to it which needs expressing as well. Hot Shots Golf falls into this realm. While still keeping to the core basics of the sport, Hot Shots takes some liberties that adds a little more life to a sport that some akin to watching paint dry. There is still a degree of skill and precision needed, but the comic presentation and animations make this fun for all non-duffers out there. Also fun to play with someone else, whether they're a fan of the sport or not either. For a fun night with some friends, pick up this game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hot Shots Golf: Out of Bounds
Same as previous versions.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/08
Jack Rabbit
If you have played the previous hot shots game, then you pretty much know all about this game already. It is more of the same, that is not necessarily a bad thing, just a little redundant. There are many challenges in the game but I must say there was no originality to this game. The new "advanced" swing shot system really is not well done. I must say I stuck with the traditional swing mode because the new version was really not up to par. The graphics look good on the HD but nothing spectacular really.Tiger Woods game is probably more of a challenge but in my opinion not as fun. The online mode is ok but I wish companies would not worry so much about online play and put some more effort into the game itself, whether it be more courses, golfers, or the patent caddies in the game. Overall, a good game but if you didn't love the previous versions then don't bother with this one.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 3 for Hot Shots Golf: Out of Bounds
Hot Shots! Delivers the arcade style goods
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/6/08
TheLiving3nd
When playing Hot Shots i feel like all the frustrations and complicated strategy is thrown out the window in favor of a comical and still deeply rewarding game. If realism was what drove all games then most games wouldn't be fun :D infact the best thing about hot shots is that it is so simple to grasp... yet after playing you realize it is difficult to master... the hi def graphics arent pushing epic boundries but they are very detailed and clean... they are bright, colorful and high energy... the music is mostly laid back and ambience style musc, good chill music, the charachter voices are sometimes chirpy so that a negative, animations are funny and give the game some charachter. If you like a little bit of fun in your games instead of stagnant calculation then give hot shots a try and do your best not to hit it into the bunker...AGAIN!!!!!:D
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Hot Shots Golf: Out of Bounds
pretty good game except for a few things
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/09
Alicemya
I like this game except that when it was brought to the U.S. they censored a bunch of stuff like jasmines bicycle shorts for example which was never in the original version. The voices are ok but not as good as the original. I really liked the download content you get for this game it adds things like new characters and new stages which are fun to play. New Shot System Focus on the swing and not a power meter. The new shot system offers a high risk to reward ratio and gives players the ability to hit the ball farther and straighter, but also penalizes more on mistimed shots. Players will closely monitor takeaway and impact zone, taking into account distance, club selection, and weather. Of course, players may still opt for the traditional shot meter if desired.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hot Shots Golf: Out of Bounds
completely addictted to this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/08
Newtron84
I have always liked the HSG series and this game is no different. I love the unlockables, and the challenges, your avatar you cruising in the lobbies are fun to run around with. Honestly not too much in stat tracking online you can however view players profiles like golfers level respect and simple things however the online play is just awesome you all shoot at the same time and have a certain amount of time to complete the hole or you lose (there different settings for time eg fast norm slow) the only thing that doesn;'t due the game justice is lack of voice chat but i can understand why being that 50 people could be talking at once kinda of hard to understand what someone would be saying. I would definitely recommend this game to any golf fan or anyone looking for a game you can easliy pick up and play by yourself or with others
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Hot Shots Golf: Out of Bounds
Improvement from HSG4
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/08
Andie1019
Graphics are great. Sound is lacking though. Online is fun and is going to provide endless playability. Though so far you can only use a few characters online. I have also found that the speed for the tournaments seems to be always put on slow or very slow, which leaves you waiting more than playing. I found that playing on normal or fast speeds are just right and doesn't leave much waiting time. Competition is very tough, which I have enjoyed. It is also fun being able to talk and to play against people from all around the world. There are plenty of club and ball options for you to really figure out what combination will work best for you and for your character. Also, you can only use certain clubs with each character until you have built up their loyalty. I like that. Hot Shots Golf: Out of Bounds is a great game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 7 for Hot Shots Golf: Out of Bounds
It's almost here!!!
Posted on:3/4/08
GamerXYZ
I've been a longtime fan of the Hot Shots Series and have been waiting a good year or so since the EB Games originally had this slated for 7/07 to drop. But it's finally near and it'll be better then Tiger '08 for sure as EA really screwed up the swing function on that. Can't wait for this as it's one of the most fun games that really anyone of any video game level can play!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hot Shots Golf: Out of Bounds
Dont waste your time!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/11
Scorpio
Location: Los Angeles,Ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i bought this cause i love hot shots but it was so hard to anything in this game. Don't bother paying $25 dollars. Its not worth it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hot Shots Golf: Out of Bounds
Everyone's Golf! Everyone will love it!
Posted on:3/8/08
Runei
My family and i have been fans of this series for a long time. I have Minna no Golf 5 (aka the Japanese Version) and i thought it was really fun. My mom complains that its in Japanese, and i know she'll get it in English cuz she said it seemed fun. I wonder if Maruyama Shigeki (based on the real golfer) will be in the English version too? The info says 15 characters but the original only has 14 characters..so i have to wonder about that too... Either way, its gonna be another great addition to the series! =D
Review 10 for Hot Shots Golf: Out of Bounds
Finally!
Posted on:3/14/08
Guvnuh
I've anticipating the PS3 version for a long time. As well as a PSP sequal. I've been playing TW to hold me over, and the gameplay does not compare. The amount of control you have with Hot Shots is unparralelled. I find myself hoping and praying after I hit a shot with TW! With HS, you know as soon as you hit the ball, if you hit a good shot or not. I really like that. Can't wait to next Wednesday.
Review 11 for Hot Shots Golf: Out of Bounds
left handed golfers
Posted on:2/23/08
renfox
i am a huge fan of the hot shots golf series. i sincerely hope that they bring back the option for those of us who are left handed to have the option of having our characters being left handed in game. it may sound minimal, but can add to the immersion of the game, if your character is playing as if you are. thanks again for my opportunity to post here.
Review 12 for Hot Shots Golf: Out of Bounds
Don't worry, lefty option is availible
Posted on:2/24/08
Biz MArkee
I have the demo from the UK(called Everyone Golf 5) and lefty mode is availible for every character. The graphics are beautiful and the new swing function is very cool. I prefer it to the traditional swing mode and is going to be the most fun I've ever had playing Hot Shot and I love every single one of them!
Review 13 for Hot Shots Golf: Out of Bounds
Anticipation!
Posted on:3/14/08
Mick
I have never played any of the previous Hot Shot series, but am looking foward to this one anyway. I am a big time TW fan and have been playing that since 06, so I will be anxious to see how it compares. I'll be in my local EB store next week when it comes out and hope for the best. Can't wait! M.M.