GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Grand Theft Auto III

You've been betrayed and left for dead. Now you're taking revenge, unless the city gets you first. Mob bosses need a favor, crooked cops need help and street gangs want you dead. You'll have to rob, steal and kill just to stay out of serious trouble. Anything can happen out here.
Average Customer Rating:
7.54
7.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
9
8 stars
12
7 stars
7
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
38 out of 5076%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Grand Theft Auto III
Review 1 for Grand Theft Auto III
Not as good as San Andreas
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/11
republic
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is pretty good overall. The sound is awesome and very realistic. And the gameplay is fun too. Whether you're doing the missons or just messing around and cuasing chaos in the city its fun. The main bad part of this game is the graphics. The cars have great graphics and the scenery isn't bad too. But the charecters are just plain scary. The cutsecenes are just scary and its not too much better around the city. I often find myself wondering whos a boy and whos a girl in this game. Good GTA overall though.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Grand Theft Auto III
Great for the time
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/11
Colton262
Location: Walla Walla, WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Sure its an old game but the graphics are up to par for 2001, so no you cant compare it to San Andreas. Play it for the gameplay and the story but not for the graphics. This game receives to much criticism. Are you kidding me! this is what made gta gta. its good for the time so buy it and buy it new. go from gta 3 to gta 4 and see the changes. Oh and it looks a bit better on original Xbox so if you have an original xbox get it for that but its still good on the PS2.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Grand Theft Auto III
FUN
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/10/08
mcshea
Grand Theft Auto III was a great game. The best thing about it is that it was the first Grand Theft Auto with 3D animation and opened the door to all the other awesome GTA's. It has a good story of betrayal and the organized crime world. You fight through many gangs like the Colombian Cartel and Triads. There is a small but good selection of weapons like the AK47, Uzi, flame thrower and more. There are all different types of ways to get around the city like car, train, boats and aircraft. Also there is a wide selection of cars, a long and decently challenging story. So if you're looking for fun. go just pick it up it is a lot of fun and even though the graphics are bad this is an awesome classic. I love playing this game and you will too and the Grand Theft Autos just get better.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Grand Theft Auto III
Classic Amazing Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/11
d3str0yyyy
Gta III was a ps2 classic this game was a revolutionary step in gaming and its just amazing this open world experience wasnt ever seen before and its just addicting and has a lot of replay value if your a big fan of open worlds and havent played this before where have you been play this and you will enjoy it a decade old and i still play this game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
blehblooblah
 
Please wait while more information about blehblooblah is loaded.
Additional information about blehblooblah could not be loaded.
Awesome!
Posted 10/12/13
This game (in my opinion) is one of the best free-roam games that I can think of. It's amazingly fun to spawn a tank and go around blowing up all the cars on the street.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Grand Theft Auto III
A Timeless Classic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/11
LPrulez54
Location: U.S
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
You may have noticed that I gave this game an all around perfect score, and think that I'm just some sort of fanboy. This is untrue, and while I am a devoted GTA fan, I don't go around giving them all perfect scores. For example, I'm not a fan of the "Stories" games. As far as graphics go, if one were to see this game on a 360, or a PS3, they would be disappointed, but for the game's time period, they were almost revolutionary. Gameplay, while not nearly as streamlined as games like "San Andreas", is again, perfect for it's time, and still excellent today. Sound is on a level I would expect from a modern film. The game's lasting appeal is probably it's best feature, Rockstar has things for you to do long after you've beaten the main storyline. In short, this game is almost art. I recommend that you get this game as soon as possible. At a price of only $5, you can't pass up a game of this calibur.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Grand Theft Auto III
GSstreet52
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/08
fun game but same game
It's a great game. you can do whatever you want like a sandbox game. The game is very fun. It would keep you busy for at least a month. Let's talk about the storyline you play as a unnamed silent criminal who was been set up by his girlfriend during a bank robbery at the beginning of the game. So basically this entire game is about you try to get revenge by doing errands or jobs or even completing missions for gangs. The graphics are pretty good for it's time but now it really shows its age. The gameplay is fun, the only problem i have with the gameplay was there's only 11 weapons. There aren't that much weapons in the game like there is in gta vc, gta sa, and gta iv (gta 4) which i have. But it is the first gta that came out for the ps2 so respect. Overall this is a very fun game could be a little repetitive and boring but it is fun.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sherif
new york
 
Please wait while more information about sherif is loaded.
Additional information about sherif could not be loaded.
I LOVE THIS ONE EVERYONE GET IT
Posted 9/11/10
THIS IS A REALLY FUN GAME TEENS CAN PLAY IT TOO BUT IT SAYS M FOR MARTURE BUT ITS AWESOME INJOY MY COMMENT AND PLZ LIKE BYE BUDDYS
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Grand Theft Auto III
This classic can't be beat
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/4/14
sportfan15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is one of my favorite GTA game ever. I have all different kinds memories with this game. Friends playing. Me playing. There were some fun times. My favorite radio station Chatterbox109. It is so funny. Good game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for Grand Theft Auto III
This game is alright
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/12
gamestopguru
Location: Overland Park, KS
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
To be honest i am going to start with the cons, bad graphics, bad sounds....now for the pros, funny story line, different things to do in world, pretty cool vehicles, funny characters.....GTA III is one of the best games in the GTA series, i played GTA San Andreas (amazing game) for a few years and then i decided i wanted to start playing a different GTA game, so first i started out with GTA vice city, not a bad game but the graphics could b better....GTA III better graphics, no map, and less things to do...In GTA SA you could build up certain things such as muscle, respect, fat, and do more things then just earn money and finish missions, which is one of the reasons its better than any GTA game out there. GTA III is perfect for those who wish to go out and b in an open world, instead of having to do mission after mission after mission for money and respect. :)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Grand Theft Auto III
Grand Theft Auto 3 Review for PS2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/09
Game freak 109
Grand Theft Auto Three is an excellent game for the day and age it was introduced it imitated real life. The game is very interactive whether your on a mission or cruising around in a Cheetah you can interact with the game. The cars is really were it gets fun. In a car you can press the L1 button to change the radio station from a wide variety of stations including my favorite Chatterbox 109. When pressing the R1 button you can hand brake and the rear lights get really bright or press the square button to brake and the lights will get a little brighter press them both together to stop almost instantly. The cars also show damage were it gets hit it will dent, flatten, crack, smoke, and eventually catch on fire and explode. The game is divided into 3 separate islands each one is accessed by completing all the main missions on that island it will then cleverly take you to the next island by incorporating that change into the story and you will usually end up going back to the previous island for the next mission to finish things off. The missions are cleverly tied together to meet other people for the next jobs. there is a very wide variety of weapons, vehicles, people, missions, and all around activity's.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Grand Theft Auto III
pretty good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/11
duffman
Location: i dunno
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
good i still play it after 3 years not beatten it try it befor ya buy it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Grand Theft Auto III
gta 3 rocks
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/10
Omar Abdel-Aziz
grand theft auto 3, san andres, and liberty city stories are the best grnad theft auto games i have ever played this game is realy good becuse you can steel a car crusie around the city joyride do missions this game is great. but the sounds need help the storyline is simple and easy the challenges are easy too beat the inteface is great the graphichs are very impresive for a playstsion 2 this game is graet too have you will love it it wiilll not bore you at all this is a good game too have too your grand theft auto collenction this game is a classic gta game the controls are perfect the sound is good but the wepons sundss need help i had this game for about three years now an it did npt bore me yet there are many weapons and cars overall this is a awesome game too have.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Grand Theft Auto III
One of the best GTA games of all time!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/12
GTAFreak1
Location: ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is really fun! I got it back in 2007. I traded it for some game my friend gave me. Worst idea ever made. Im going to buy it soon.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Grand Theft Auto III
Seriously, One Of The Worst Games Ever Made!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/13
MafiaMayor165
Location: Melvin ,MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Rockstar has never dissapointed me with a game until, this grand theft auto is beyond horrible, the storyline is boring, the vehicles are a joke, the city sucks, the weapons are all the same, you cant swim or else you die, and all the characters look like they had there faces beaten with large sledgehammers over and over again. And its way to easy to be killed, 3 pistol shots and your dead, the main character doesnt even speak, the planes are impossible to fly perfectly, there is nothing to do when the story is over, you cant change your clothes, the weapons dont aim at what you want them to, you have to aim a certain way or else he will shoot somewhere else, gta 3 is not only the worst gta in the series, its also the worst gta ever made! Waste of money! You wanna good gta? play gta vice city, or san andreas, or gta 4, dont waste your time with this!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 14 for Grand Theft Auto III
friggen classic
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/08
dorkyness619
people say this game sucks. i love it. the cars are sick as are the weopens.its a pretty big city. liberty city in this game is dark and reletively depressing. people will be traitors and go against you and even try to kill you all the time. the graphics suk but the other thinds make up for it. the sound isnt all that great but the stuff on the radio station "chatter box" is hilarious. the music is horrible though. the thing is if you like gta this is great to have in ur collection. gta is one of the best game series ever so just get it to have it if you dont even like it. the newer ones are way better though but this is fun to play every now and then. get it asap used or new. or get the trology for ps2. vice city stories si the best gta for the ps2 but this is just fun.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Grand Theft Auto III
Awesome Game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/13
Todd101010
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Back when I only had PlayStation 2, I bought this game because my cousin recommended this game to me and said it was awesome. I was a little disappointed, but when I looked at the back of the case, it said it was made in 2001. So that explained the TERRIBLE graphics. Everyone in the game looks like they've been stabbed in the face 100 times and then beaten with a sledgehammer. But like I said the game was made in 2001, so it was superior for the time. Vice City and GTA IV are better. While the sound is ok, the gameplay is awesome. Anyone who is looking for a classic Mystery/Crime game should get it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Grand Theft Auto III
My First GTA Game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/11
JaytheSk8er
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is pretty awesome it isn't the best game in the series but it's not bad by any means if your into Grand Theft Auto Then you should get this game. This is the game that got me addicted to the GTA games and if you havent ever played a GTA game before than I think this is a good one to start with.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Grand Theft Auto III
Good Game, Bad Graphics
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/10
afenn
Location: Ft. Myers
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
for those who think that this game is bad clearly cant play. this is the first open world game where the world is truly yours. complete the game and then tell me you dont like this game. there is 3 islands, over 70 missions, 100 hidden pakeges, 20 uniqe jumps. hop in a police car, become a cop! an ambulance, a paramedic. bored yet? why not mow a few pedestreans. sure its not as big as the other games, shure it dosent have graphics like other games, but the world is yours.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Grand Theft Auto III
great ps2 game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/12
sportfan15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is a great game. i think this is one of the best GTA games ever made. GTA 4 was not bad at all. This one is a classic to some GTA 3 fans. I could play this game for hours at a time and play almost everyday.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Grand Theft Auto III
Fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/11
timmy368
Location: dallas tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great game still play all the time. first ps2 game i ever played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Grand Theft Auto III
This game is good. San Andreas & 4 are better!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/11
tdjrmichgamer34
Location: Michigan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is kinda cool. I was just walkin around gamestop when I saw this in the bin. I had played GTA 4 complete edition, Liberty City Stories, & heard good things about San Andreas. So I picked this up & gave it a shot. It has avewrage sound & graphics for a ps2, & awesome GTA gameplay. It is more as do mission when yah want and just free roam. The one bridge is blown out to the main and only real interesting island. But, there is a cheat to get there earlier. Its only a couple of bucks and fun to just free roam and do missions whenever. Great game!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>