GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Halo

You are the ultimate commando - a cybernetically enhanced soldier representing the peak of human military evolution. You are efficient, skilled, and dangerous. A sci-fi shooter that takes place on a mysterious alien ring-world, Halo will have you battling through amazing indoor and outdoor environments, in vehicles, and on foot with the largest arsenal of futuristic weapons, vehicles, and combat roles of any shooter ever.
Average Customer Rating:
9.3
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
10 stars
48
9 stars
10
8 stars
7
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
65 out of 7093%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Halo
Review 1 for Halo
One of the most amazing games you could make.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/13
king123
Location: Wenatchee,Wa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is a start to a beloved shooter thats growing all over the world a game that will always be remberd in very big ways. Ive played all the halos and loved them there amazing a must have for gamers everywhere.This game brought MLG aka Major League Gaming,lots of clans for it and became a huge franchise for gamers. This game probly would be the best out of the series becuse it is how it all started Im amazed with it even though this one wasnt my favroute but I loved this game alot. This is a must have I enjoyed it alot and you will to!!! p.s My favroute halo was Halo Reach you can get that one to! I hope you enjoy this game so much like I did its a amazing shooter!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Halo
An amazing game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/11
zeldahero
Location: Ohio , OH
I freaking loved this game ! Halo had always looked like a good game and last weekend I finally got to try it out at a friends house ! And O-M-G It's such a great game ! Graphics are great for 2001 and the game itself is as well ! The campaign is great with a great story and a great challenge , but I'm sorry I'd rate this game like an 9.1 if it weren't for the outstanding co-op . Playing with a friend is so much fun , Blowing aliens up together , shooting aliens in the face together , beating grunts to death with our snipers together , IT'S ALL GOOOD !!! I especially liked the different weapons and monsters ! I loved being able to ride the banshees and as he called them "Jeeps" together ( I know they're called something else ) . A great game and now that I've finally tried it I'm going to go out and explore the rest of this excellent series !!! This was a great buy , I'd totally recommend this game to you if you haven't played this , It's awesome !!! P.S. I also got to play #2 and it's even better than this one with the ability to be bad guys , have dual wields and some other different enhancements ! : )
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
zeldahero
Ohio , OH
 
Please wait while more information about zeldahero is loaded.
Additional information about zeldahero could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
oh wait
Posted 11/27/11
I meant aliens , i always say monsters for some reason
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Halo
One of the best games ever made.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/10
TheToolMan22
Location: SC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game ranks up there with the likes of super mario bros and the legend of zelda games. It came out when the xbox was brand new and was totally amazing. Still is. Now that they have so many new halo games, it makes you want to go back and play this one again. This is by far the best one ever made even now. The story was so cool......the music was perfect....the graphics amazing for their time. Almost a perfect game. The only thing wrong with it.....you started to love it so much and then you got to the end.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
16 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halo
Halo...Combat Evolved
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/14
TheAngerWithIn
Location: Orange Park, Florida
Bungie's journey onto game consoles was marked by triumph with Halo. Halo paved the way for first person shooters on the consoles and people fell in love with it. Halo offers a wide array of locations, characters and multiplayer maps to keep players coming back for more. From the first time you step foot onto the Forerunner structure, till the last bullet fires from your gun, you're in for a good time. Soundtrack is very important to me in movies, games and TV shows and Halo has one of the best soundtracks around. Martin O'Donnell is a musical genius who has created elaborate and rich themes that provide everything from the feeling of triumph to the haunting atmosphere that something may be lurking just around the corner waiting for you. The story is magnificent and will keep you wondering what is next. The voice acting is brilliant and the cast bring the characters to life! Halo is what got me into gaming back in 2001, and I've been gaming ever since.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Halo
For being so old...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/10
skatetrash666
It's great, I actually just played it for the first time in like 3 years. It's quite fun to kill little annoying aliens. Even though its old I Suggest buying it. I was surprised when i popped it in that it had an update. Weird because this game is almost Nine years old. The only downside is the driving controls, I mean what other game has you drive with the control sticks? I play it on the 360 because my xbox died years ago. Another downside is the no xbox live thing which means you can't play online which is a bit lame but oh well. The weapons are cool and original for the most part, another bad thing is the lack of the options on the pause menu. Meaning you can't change your settings from the game, you have to exit and stuff. Good choices for difficulty Very easy or extremley freaking hard which is good and fun. and also the multiplayer is fun too. And its got a good story line which always adds to the fun. so yeah I would give it like a 6 outa 10, being its so old.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halo
Great but not as great as ...........
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/09
Austin15
Ok, I have to be honest the game was good but not as good as halo 3 and 2. Now probably the best Halo is gonna be halo wars well of course thats why I reserved it. The game had great graphics for an older XBOX. My question was is it compatible with and xbox 360. Because if it is then I would buy it for the 360 without a doubt. Same with Halo 2 it was good but if freezes a lot and when I mean a lot I mean a lot. I would have to say that Halo is the best shooter game ever. It gives you suspense and information that you will need later on in the game or in the next halo, it leads itself. Out of all the shooting games I have ever played I would have to say that this would probably be the best one. So if you like these kind of games buy all the halo games if you can and if you have the right system. You could probably get them all and play them on the xbox 360 if halo 1 and 2 are compatible with it so go out and BUY IT!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halo
best video game of all time!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/10
masterchief is the boss
you might as well buy an xbox just to play halo. the most fun game i have ever played. The story line is purely amazing. it is a good challenge but not too hard. i play it with my uncle and it is so cool using strategies to kill the aliens. there are many different setttings and a pretty cool weapon selection. it is worth paying **$ for an xbox and halo. i definitely reccommend this to anyone. it was my first shooter game. i started playing it when i was 6 and have still not found a better game. you will be able to play this game over and over. it never gets old seeing those covenant guts. if you are looking for a good shooter game, pick from the halo series. i just bought the new 360 Slim and cannot wait to get halo reach. although every other halo game is totallly awesome, do not buy odst. the lighting in the game is terrible and you can run around for hours looking for aliens. buy every other halo game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
crazyJEW1225
 
Please wait while more information about crazyJEW1225 is loaded.
Additional information about crazyJEW1225 could not be loaded.
Posted 1/30/11
You people that are saying this game has bad graphics you forget that this game was made in 1999. This game was way ahead of its time and its been 11 years so ya the graphics are going to be better now than they where before . Just stop complaining.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Halo
What's the big deal?
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/12
EpicFanBoy
Location: VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am a huge Halo fan, first of all, but when I played Halo: Combat evolved, it was a chore. Yes, the game has an awesome story, plot, characters, and graphics, plus the online multiplayer that everyone loves, but the single player gameplay is just PAINFUL. It's just way too hard. It's one of those games that just constantly punishes you with instant death for the most ridiculous reasons. I played it on normal difficulty, and I expected a substantial challenge, but through the entire Campaign, I was thinking to myself: "I don't have to put up with this idiocy!" For example: The Plasma grenades are just about impossible to avoid. When a covenant bad guy dies, he typically drops a few, but when one of his buddies throws his own grenade, it bounces all over the place and can land anywhere, and when it explodes, it sets off all the other grenades around it. So, a single grenade can make the entire MAP EXPLODE! How do you avoid that??
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halo
AWESOME GAME!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/11
TacoLord
Location: California
Halo is the first game I played on the original Xbox growing up and I loved every single minute of it! The gameplay is superb, the storyline is excellent, and the whole universe of Halo is amazing! No matter how old this game gets it will always be great and a classic!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halo
Terrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/08
fuzzy
i bought this game going along with the hype and good god this sucked! i have eaten things that weren't this bad. the story is so repetitve. fight the flood, kill some covenant, fight the flood. it is like a broken record. the multiplayer is just some cheap thrills. the multiplayer is not as great as people make it to be. i could find the same thrills playing COD 3. the graphics are terrible even for 2001. the sound is even worse. the vehicles have some of the worst handling i have ever dealt with and above all it is worse online because you play these nerds who rave at how they can "pwn" you like a noob. it is so annoying. if i wanted to hear some losers argue i would go to a laser tag arena. please don't play this. don't even rent it. how they made a 2nd and a 3rd is beyond me but this is the worst game i have ever played. it is so overrated. if your friend tells this game is good then they are not a true friend.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 56 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halo
The creator
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/1/11
GLboy2
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The first halo practically created the mainstream fps franchise. It was really the first legitimate fps that became successful. I still play it to this day, and still have fun with it. THe campaign is amazing, the multiplayer was strategic and took skill, and was extremely balanced. I really had fun with this game, and cannot wait til the HD makeover coming this fall. Most innovative game of all time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GhostZero723
Dark space
 
Please wait while more information about GhostZero723 is loaded.
Additional information about GhostZero723 could not be loaded.
??what????
Posted 8/4/11
Um, thats a negative. Maybe one of the most innavative and compelling fps but definitely did not create the mainstream fps genre. Id created a little title you may remember called DOOM that really shed new light on the genre and immortalized it. But yea I see where your goign with this.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Halo
The beginning of a great series
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/12
Magiblot
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game shows you how the halo series began. When I first played it I thought it would be boring and have bad graphics, but I was so wrong. Today I still play the game. All around it is an amazing game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halo
Best game... period
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/09
WRINKLY
Ok, well first off the storyline is downright amazing. The gameplay could be horrible and I would still love this game. The environment and the way everything looks is definitely awesome considering this game came out in 2001. This game was the reason i got an xbox (I was in 3rd grade), I didn't fully understand it back then, but I still loved it. I recently started playing it again, and I forgot how amazing this game really was. The controls are very easy to get down when you first start playing. It can also be very suspenseful and even a bit scary at times when you're playing by yourself in a dark basement. Bungie is amazing for making such a great game. I literally had a halo-spaz when i picked this game up again about 2 weeks ago. This game was "game of the year." And I think it deserved it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
antwan
none of yo beez wax
 
Please wait while more information about antwan is loaded.
Additional information about antwan could not be loaded.
Never played it before
Posted 9/26/10
I've played every halo there is except for this one (i think). My uncle owned the Xbox forever i know i've played either halo 1 and 2 or just 2 twice early on in my life and all I know is i wanna buy it. I'm also disappointed that everyone died in halo reach, but it was an awsome game i own it. and most halos except for odst and wars wasn't to fond about wars though not big on rpgs but its up to you. but halo is a great game and i intend on getting it if i dont go to target and waste my money on bioshock 2.
Customer Avatar
FanofDaHaloSeries
 
Please wait while more information about FanofDaHaloSeries is loaded.
Additional information about FanofDaHaloSeries could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
Have to get before playing any Halo
Posted 9/25/10
This game is a must have. I got it around early 2002. Ive just happen to plug back in my Original xbox to play this game to figure out how everything connects to Halo: Reach. This game is a must have. Although the graphics arent great after playing Halo 3 and ODST and Reach. But when I first got it, the graphics were awesome! It's a must get!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 14 for Halo
Halo vs call of duty...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/12
Roberto318
Location: Lanoka Harbor NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The first time i ever played this game i loved i just loved everything is just good about this game the weapons the misssions the story is just awesome.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halo
Best Halo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/10
Gdubs
Location: IL.
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Basically what the title says. It is by far the best Halo game ever. If it had normal online matchmaking then it would be even greater. All the Halo games are gold.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halo
Favorite Series!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/11
JamDude
Location: Colorado
halo 1 is my most favorite! enjoyed all the awesome other halo games.... It was my first shoot em up game ever and I fell in love with it :) Awesome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halo
A good game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/08
Spock
This was the first game in the Halo series. It was released in 2001 and caught the attention of many game players. A lot of people bought and liked this game. It received a ten out of ten and the game of the year award. This game had everything that a shooting game could have, automatic weapons, grenades, rocket launchers, shotguns and more. It also had a great selection of vehicles from the UNSC Warthog to the Covenant Wraith this game had the best vehicles. Of course they moved slower, looked strange and shot strange once Halo 2 came out. But before that they were amazing. After Halo 2 came out Halo Combat Evolved lost some of its popularity. Then after Halo 3 came out it lost practically all of its popularity. I still play it from time to time to try and beat it on all of the difficulties. Back when it first came out I and many other people played it all the time. This is nonetheless one great game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Halo
Overrated, But still great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/09
greenrox
I loved this game. It very much sucks you in. While I still didn't think that it's what it's all hyped up to be, I still thought it was a fantastic game. I was very pleased. The music in this game is some of the best in a video game ever. The story is excellent, as the the silky-smooth controls. The lighting techniques in this game are excellent, however, the people's faces are nothing to go on about. the voice-acting is superb, particularly in Cortana's case. Also, the multiplayer is great, especially if you enjoy blowing the crap out of people. I personally liked Halo 2 better, though (I mean, who didn't), because of the updated graphics, expansion of the story, and the broadening of the spectrum for the music. If anything, get this game to set up for Halo 2 and Halo 3. I definitely recommend this game to everyone who enjoys great action and awe-inspiring moments. You won't regret it. I sure didn't!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Halo
Amazing...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/10
Soap89
Halo's timeline is during the year 2552,and its been about 21 years we've been fighting the covenant.So the character you play as is MASTER CHIEF,and it is his job to protect the world from the deadly halo ring. Halo is a big enviroment and a fun co-op game to play with your friends.The graphics are pretty good for a 2001 game,well actually for that time it was amazing.Halo has a very interesting story.Yes I can admit it can get boring sometimes the game,but sometimes you'll like it again when your in the mood for Halo.The guns are also the best part about the game.The weapons are fun to use.Also online.If I can rate how online gameplay is,which I can't I will give it a 9.5.When I first played this game I thought it was amazing.This game only has 10 levels,but some are long.Halo 1 is a classic now because you can buy off the xbox marketplace...But when you get this game you will want to play all day!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Halo
One of the All-Time Best!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/10
mccormick632
The Halo series may very well be one of the best video game franchises in history. It's consistently been setting the bar for console shooters, both when at the time of its release and still today with Halo 3 and the upcoming Halo Reach. Yet the original Halo must not be forgotten for how it introduced one of the biggest gaming icons in the last few years, the Master Chief. Halo: Combat Evolved is a masterpiece in every sense of the word. The game's difficulty ranges from being pretty easy, but that's not a complaint, once you up the difficulty to Legendary, the game gets to be extremely difficult yet still manages to be a ton of fun. The story is the best of the Halo trilogy, before the infamous cliffhanger ending of Halo 2 and the somewhat disappointing ending to Halo 3, the original Halo had a intriguing story that has spawned a universe that may even rival Star Wars. The game play of Halo is standard run-and-gun, but it does it so well that you don't really mind it. Yet if you want to beat the game on Legendary, you will have to use tactics, such as taking cover and firing in short bursts to take out the larger enemies. The controls are perfect, not much to say about that. The AI of the covenant is actually pretty good, they will return fire, throw grenades, and make an actual attempt to dodge your bullets. If only the same could be said about your marine AI, which sometimes can be good but most of the time your friendly NPC's fail to recognize a threat until you are too close to it. This especially is a problem on the Legendary difficulty because you take damage at a much faster rate. The graphics of Halo have aged, but to look at the game as it was in 2001 rather than it is in 2010, Halo still holds up in my opinion. Some of the textures do look a little blurry up close, but that's a small complaint. Character models are really good to look at, but I have to admit the human faces are pretty poor, something Bungie apparently has problems with. Yet, with all the below average parts of the game, Halo CE still is of the best examples of the First Person Shooter genre. It revolutionized console shooters more so than 007 Goldeneye! It still holds up to some recent shooters on the market, and that's saying a lot for a 2001 game! If you have the original Xbox, or the Xbox 360, then definitely get Halo or just get every Halo game ever made, cause they are ALL awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>