GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Super Smash Bros. Melee

The imaginative world of Nintendo is brought to life by the staggering processing power of Nintendo GameCube in Super Smash Bros. Melee - the most furious, frenzied, frantic fighter of all-time! Choose from 14 of your all-time favorite Nintendo characters and fight using signature moves and weapons. Battle in arenas pulled right from the lush worlds of the Nintendo Universe. The most addictive multiplayer game on the N64 is making the leap to the next generation!
Average Customer Rating:
9.421
9.4
(190 Reviews) 190
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (190 reviews)
10 stars
133
9 stars
39
8 stars
9
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
183 out of 19096%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Smash Bros. Melee
Review 1 for Super Smash Bros. Melee
Prepare Your Knees!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/16
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
So, This Is One Of The Greatest Fighting Games I Have EVER Had Honor To Play! The Gameplay Is WAY Fast And "Tubular", Making It So Cool! I Think That It's A Great Game To Play If You Have Friends Over, Or Want To Fight. Totally Get This Game If You Still Can!!! (Avoid Paying Too Much)
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
10/10 IGN
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Super Smash Bros. Melee
The best game for GameCube in history.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/11
Location: Santa Elena, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is absolutely the best game for GameCube. The graphics are not that bad. The adventure mode is perfect because it lasts about 15 minutes to clear and you can play up to four players in Vs. Mode. Still this game still misses some characteristics from it's successor. this game does not have a long adventure mode and two player events are out of the question. Anyways, this games has way better graphics than his predecessor. By the way, SSB fans out there Nintendo is about to start the fourth SSB game so have your credit cards and wallets ready 'cause it's coming in about a year for the Wii's successor, The "now HD" Wii U.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Super Smash Bros. Melee
cool game for Game cube
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/11
Location: Hawai
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has a bunch of unluck stuff. nice every thing except for graphic. it could use a bit more for Game Cube standards.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Super Smash Bros. Melee
Super Smash Bros. Forever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/12
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The perfect Super Smash Bros. Game ever that I ever Played in my mind and It always be the Best game ever
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Super Smash Bros. Melee
I LOVE IT!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/13
Location: California, CA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Hi, guys! Sorry I haven't made a review forever just been a little busy LOL. Anyway on to the review! I got this game for my birthday when I was 5 years old. And to this day I still love it. My favorite character to use is Sheik. Also, its music deserves a mention and from what I have seen its music is far better then in most fighting games. There is a lot of things you can do, such as: Continue in getting all trophies, Adventure mode, All characters, classic mode, target practice, home-run contest and much more! Overall, Super Smash Bros. Melee is by far one of, if not THE best game for the Nintendo GameCube!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Here is a trailer in case you're interested! ;)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Super Smash Bros. Melee
I prefer the magic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/16
Location: FD
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Alex19 isn't so great? Are you kidding me? When was the last time you saw a player with such an ability and movement with fox? Alex puts the game in another level, and we will be blessed if we ever see a player with his skill and passion for the game again. mang0 breaks records. Armada breaks records. Alex19 breaks the rules. You can keep your statistics. I prefer the magic.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Super Smash Bros. Melee
brawl didnt bring back everything
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/11
i love this game its really cool that theres a glitch to be master hand in a melee (im not lying it works ...make one controller p1 and the second p3 make p1 select a charactor and put the hand on 'back' dont hit A yet make p3 not choose a charactor and go to choose your name and go down to name entry hit a on both controllers at the same time it might take a few tries...) i love the adventure mode and some of the monsters should have been in the sse on brawl. the classic mode is just as good as brawls. sadly brawl may have added many of our favorite video game charactors but they forgot some really good ones and made some changes to looks they sadly left behind dr mario mewtwo pichu roy and young link . they changed looks of gandorf and link sort of zeldas looks and in some ways the old ones look better.this game is awesome cheap totally worth it... u dont have the controllers memory card or gcube/wii get these things.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NawtyDawg
 
Please wait while more information about NawtyDawg is loaded.
Additional information about NawtyDawg could not be loaded.
Posted 7/15/13
They didn't remodel Link, Ganondorf, and Zelda. The Link, Ganondorf, and Zeld from ssbm are from Ocarina of Time. The ones from ssbb are from Twilight Princess. Toon Link is basically a young Link, just a reincarnation.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Super Smash Bros. Melee
Excellent Game, for the casual to competitive
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/16
Location: Sidney, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Happy with the game. Never owned it when I was younger and GameCube was popular so I just had to finally have it for myself. My brother and I always played it at our neighbors. Much better than the Wii version in my opinion.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for Super Smash Bros. Melee
Truly Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/10
This game was the best game for the gamecube all-time. This game has astonishing graphics especially for the gamecube. This game doesn't really have a storyline since it's a straight up fighter. But this game does have classic, adventure, and all-star mode. This game has a ton of unlockables including trophies and characters. My favorite character in this game is ganondorf because he is so powerful. For some reason this game is so addicting. If your by yourself this is still a wicked fun game but everybody plays for the multiplayer. It's so fun knocking someone off the stage. You also can unlock stages but the corneria, or airplane one, was by far the best. It was my favorite stage and i play on it all the time on melee and brawl. This game isn't as good as brawl because it lacks make your own stage and the smash ball. If you don't have brawl yet, get that one first. If youy already have brawl, get this amazing game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Super Smash Bros. Melee
One of the best games of all time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/11
Location: Raleigh, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I say that this game is one of the best of all time I mean it I have played this game since it first came out and I continue to play it today. It is a solid fighter that anyone can be good at and it is insanely fun. Sakurai got it 100% right on this entry
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
16 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Super Smash Bros. Melee
mario smasher
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/10
Super Smash bros. Melee is the best classic fighting game for the Nintendo Gamecube. The character balance I give a 8 out of 10. There are some neat characters like mewtwo, mario, link, dr. mario, and roy. Most characters in this game has their own fighting style. In battles and vs mode you can use items (like pokeballs, baseball bats, and many more) to help win matches, and some are funny to use like the hammer. There are all kinds of modes in this game. In classic mode you fight some random characters and do some bonus levels, than at the end you fight the Master hand, and if you beat it on a high difficulty you fight two Hands with different attacks. In adventure mode you go to 2d scrolling character theme worlds and fight enimies and foes. Another mode is all-star mode you unlock when you have all characters and gotten far in the game, its when you fight all the characters in the game. The rest of the modes are bonus ones. There are a lot of unlockables in this game like trophies and more. The game's intro is kind of neat as well. If you are looking for a great classic fighting game for the gamecube, this the best choice to pick.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Super Smash Bros. Melee
The best gamecube game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/11
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Even, if you have a Wii, pick this one up. If you're getting a gamecube, you NEED this game! Its craziness and replay value are awesome. It's perfect for Nintendo Fans.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
15 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Super Smash Bros. Melee
A great game for any fan of the smash bros series.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/11
Location: Hesperia, Ca
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This is a great game for anyone who just wants to play a game with friends or would just like to beat up their least favorite Nintendo character with their favorite. There is a lot of gameplay value here because there are so many characters, stages, and trophies to unlock its insane. If you own a Wii or Gamecube this is a must have.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sencare
riverside
 
Please wait while more information about sencare is loaded.
Additional information about sencare could not be loaded.
the best game for fithing on gamecube
Posted 8/27/11
once brother got the game we played it for a long time im 10 so i liked the cool features the only promblem i have with is no online play but great fighting game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Super Smash Bros. Melee
A great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/08
I think that this game is great! It has good graphics and good gameplay. It is a great game for people who like shooter, action, and fighting games. It pretty much covers a huge storyline and has SO many unlockables. It's best playing with someone else in special melee if you like things costomized. But 1 player isn't that bad either. There are classic and adventure to help unlock more characters. There is Event Matches, Stadium, and Training. There is also an unlockable all star. Tip: f you're getting this game, get the action replay for the igamecube because it lets you play much more! You can be the hands or even gigabowser. But even without the Action Replay, it's still pretty fun. Too bad they don't sell action replay for gc any more. :(
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Super Smash Bros. Melee
great game. one of the best ever made
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/11
Location: rockaway pk, new york
this game is so fun. you can play as all your favirout nintendo characters and never gets old.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Super Smash Bros. Melee
A game that will make its Impression
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/11
Location: New Jersey
SSBM is one of the best fighter games ever. A lot of people think just because its made by nintendo and is on the gamecube, its kiddish, WRONG. Nintendo outdid themselves with this game. SSBM stands out because of its gameplay - you hurt opponents, and this builds up their damage meter. The more damage they have taken, the higher chance they have of being knocks right off the course by an opponent, You can choose from 25 classic Nintendo characters to play as, and fight friends and/or CPUs in a variaty of courses. There are a lot of options as well as numerous items that you can enable/disable. You can play with lives, have a timed match (whoever has the most KOs win), or see who makes the most cash. Combine this all with a short, yet good, Aventure/Classic Mode, and you have one of the best fighting games ever. And IMO, one small Melee is Better than Brawl for a reason - MEWTWO FTW!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (Really, do we really need Fox, Falco, and Wolf in Brawl?)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Super Smash Bros. Melee
this is the best game in the world!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/11
Location: new york, ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is amazing! nothing bad about everything about it is awesome! great grapics, yea its a little outdated but it is still a awesome game. i still play it today a great classic game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Super Smash Bros. Melee
best game ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/11
Location: texas
this game is one of the best ive ever played. graphics are great, sound is awsome, and you get characters from all different games. the only downside is that the wii version has a cople more characters but i woud buy this game because its just as good and cost less.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Super Smash Bros. Melee
best four player action game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/4/12
Location: WI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game was the bomb. I do not know how to explain this game because it is so awesome! you can have up to 25 characters.I didn't beat the game i still have to unlock one more person and get more stages. Who ever buys this game, its worth the money!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Super Smash Bros. Melee
One of the Greatest Games on the Face of the Earth
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/12
Location: Sacramento, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is one of the BEST games I have ever played in my life. There are so many possibilites, and so many modes as well as harboring a very fast paced gameplay. In addition, there many different characters to play as besides Mario,Link, Samus, DK, ect... You can unlock hidden characters and stages (oh, and trophies!) I recommend playing this with a friend; you will have the best gaming experience with Melee. I guarantee that you will love/get addicted to this masterpiece!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>