GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Devil May Cry

Though he was a demon, the legendary swordsman, Sparda, awoke one day to justice. Alone, he defeated the demon army and imprisoned their emperor, Mundus saving the human world from damnation. Now, 2000 years later in a large American metropolis, a man named Dante, a private investigator of the supernatural, is seeking revenge for the death of his mother and brother. RATING: 9.6 Read IGN's Full Review
Average Customer Rating:
9.48
9.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
10 stars
21
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
24 out of 2596%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Devil May Cry
Review 1 for Devil May Cry
awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/14
studmuffen
Location: washington
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
devil may cry is an awesome game that you should try get it now!!!!!!!!!!!!! note this is not a game for little kids at all
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Devil May Cry
MY FAVORITE PS2 GAME EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/12
linkplayer
Location: florida, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing. hands down one of the best games of all time. Weather your slash with your sword,or blastin ebony and ivory Dante makes this game badass. I extremely recommend this game. 11/10 GET THIS GAME!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Devil May Cry
Devil may cry series sucks
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/12
RPG3Guy4356
Location: Suprise Az
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
the story,Chac's,weapons, they all suck. Im even surprised this is a game God of War makes moe sense than this piece of junk i say save ur money dont even look at this game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 36 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Devil May Cry
Great start to an epic series.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/11
NewEnglandGamingFiend
Location: wallingford,CT
I bought the series ps2 pack at gamestop half a decade ago.Already a huge fan of the RE series.This game lived up to my expectations of a Capcom masterpiece.If you love the RE series,but never gave this one a chance, I would recommend it.If you already play the series, Im just preaching to the choir.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Devil May Cry
A Must Buy Game For PS2 Owners
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/11
TheDemonHuntingSamurai
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A refreshing blast from the past, DMC 1 is very fun. Hardcore gamers will love the challenge this game puts up. This is the real Dante, the trash talkin', devil butting kickin' cool dude whom I have grown to love as a video game classic character.
If you missed out on the DMC Original Trilogy, worry not, as it is being released as an HD version next year.
(Yeah, and one more thing. DO NOT even consider buying DmC, the so-called 5th installment (why I even acknowledge it?) From what I have seen of it and heard about it, it is filthy and like something Dante would erradicate.)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Devil May Cry
devil may cry is more
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/11
DESTaR44
Location: Alaska
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i love this one its amazing graphic story its awesome thats all
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Devil May Cry
Best Game ever Period....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/24/11
MKDante
Location: Seattle,WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Devil May Cry is Epic, it mixes what is great about Street fighter, Resident Evil with much more in Action Adventure game that rewards you from start to end >>>> with best combat in years in any video game.... A lot of Style here one you must own if you have a PS2 latter for PS3 2/2012 HD Collection
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Devil May Cry
Dare The Devil
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/11
GMFK081
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game last year i always heard of devil may cry so i saw that it was cheap so i went picked it up I WAS HOOKED beat the game the next day this game is very awesome and in a sense creepy or just odd im very glad to hear about the DMC collection HD coming to PS3 i will deffinetly be picking that up!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Devil May Cry
A game that should be played by everyone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/11
Darksaiyajin
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Devil May Cry to me is perfect in everyway in fact better than 2,3 and 4 and for the time had top notch graphics and is still better than the second edition in terms of looks. The story is solid and the characters are awesome you take the role of the half-demon half-human demon slayer Dante in his bid to stop the dark emperor Mundus from enslaving humanity there's more to it but that would spoil it. The enviroment is the best ive ever seen from almost any game from dark cathedrals to old pirate ships you will never be looking at anything boring. The combat is great and when playing on the lowest difficulty you actually feel like a powerful demon slayer but that brings us to the difficulty this game is ruthlessly hard on the level of Ninja Gaiden hard but do not let that deture you from this great game that everyone should play again and again and again.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Devil May Cry
AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/11
metallica1994lol
Location: Milford,NH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
awesome game. my uncle bought it for me.very good graphics and gameplay.very addictive game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Devil May Cry
epic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/11
gamefan4564
Location: shelbyville mi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is an interesting game. the combat is surprisingly solid, the gunplay works fantastically as well, and there are some interesting puzzles. the biggest problem in the game is the camera. it adjusts itself and it usually doesn't help at times. but this is a really fun game to try.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Devil May Cry
Amazing and awesome!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/11
Yazmin
Location: Pittsburg, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game. I think this game is very fun and and isn't short. It also has a very good story line. In my opinion I think all the Devil May Cry games has good graphics, but they could be better. I would recomend this game to anyone(except little kids because the enemys might scare them and it is a M rated game). The sound in the game was ok, it could be better. One more thing this game is great for the fans of the Devil May Cry show, but I don't really like the show all that much, So everyone thats played this game and liked it go out there and play the other DMC games and recomend them to a friend cause it is one of the most fun, amazing, awesome PS2 games ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Devil May Cry
Yes !
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/11
RandomOne
Location: New york, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
well if you just bought a Ps2 well this should be the first Gamwe you want to buy most deffinatley, this game will not disappoint trust me it will have you coming back for more
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Devil May Cry
Congrats Capcom
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/11
WWEdude
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Capcom, you had just made a blockbuster hit and is Still going strong today.Even though its made in 2001, its still great.Fix the graphics and I'll still hear the title Devil May Cry until I die. Still, I shoudn't be worried about the games graphics since it was made in 2001.For 2001,this is stunning and awesome.One more thing,GO DANTE!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Devil May Cry
hot game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/11
julio
Location: new york
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I 1st played this game at a friends house, the next day i went to the mall to buy a PS2 just to play dmc cause i got so it to it. back when the ps2 was $340
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GMAN2313
 
Please wait while more information about GMAN2313 is loaded.
Additional information about GMAN2313 could not be loaded.
Posted 4/22/11
dude 340 dang ps3 doesnt even cost that much anymore
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Devil May Cry
DMC
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/11
Disambiguation
Location: Minnesota
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is amazing. i picked it up over a year ago and i'll still be playing it for more years to come.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Devil May Cry
good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/11
joeseph
Location: 11377
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i say this game is very good no complaints! Graphics weren't of my choosing, it can be betterbut evrything else i thought was good
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Devil May Cry
Out Standing a Good Play
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/11
BigG13
Location: Felton, DE
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Capcom never disappoints, I am extremely satisfied with this game and the series as a whole a good choice and a better price. The gameplay is outstanding and the theme is creepy and ominous to the player the bosses are fun and the weapons are amazing. The uprade system is easy and fun. Anyone whom chooses this game will be happy and not disappointed this is recommeded to at least try it will not be a waste of money
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Armored Core: Silent Line
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
devilhunter
visalia ca
 
Please wait while more information about devilhunter is loaded.
Additional information about devilhunter could not be loaded.
Not for the faint of heart....
Posted 9/25/11
This game is simply amazing in just about every way. there are two things that bothered me a little at times, the camera angle, and the difficulty. At times you will be fighting a boss and depending on where u are sometimes the camera will change to a horrible angle. also this game is ruthlessly hard . on normal mode u will be astounded at the difficulty. over all kept me on the edge of my seat, cinematics where great (especially for being made in 2001. I would recommend this to anyone who is a fan of intense gaming like god of war.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Devil May Cry
Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/10
Destiny
Location: Austin, Tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've had this game for quite some time but never really wrote a review until now. The game is extremely entertaining. I suggest playing the prequel to the game first, Devil May Cry 3: Dante's Awakening, some of the story will make more sense if you do as well as get you better prepared for this game, being that DMC3 is probably the hardest game in the series. My time on this game after playing DMC3 was 2 hours 57 mins. So it can be a short game if you know what you are doing in it otherwise it could take a few days of experimenting to figure out the bosses and even some enemies' weaknesses. The controls to the game are simple and easy to work with. It will have you jumping at times. The story is emotional at times and then there are times that you wish that this was your life.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Devil May Cry
great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/10
antonio seijo
this game surpassed my expectations, Capcom set out to make a new horror survival but there intentions changed throughout making the game. Capcom went from trying to make a new horror game to making the game more of an action game, and they succeeded and with still keeping some horror elements. The game was challenging, i found myself dying at boss battles and even an occasional fight with some marionettes. The graphics were simply amazing, the monsters were detailed and the lighting was creepy, i still jumped at moments. It was long enough to keep me entertained for about 2 weeks, even though i was not playing 24 hours straight, the game was 24 missions long if i remember correctly, and i was highly disappointed when i beat the last mission, but the game did have special missions, and you could restart it on a harder difficultly. The story line was deep, but easy to follow and was very moving. the controls were easy to get used too and and very fun when pulling off combo's with my sword (no pun intended). The sound was very clear and the creepy music left me on the edge of my seat. In conclusion, Devil May Cry was a great game, and easily one of my favorites, so i give it a 10 out of 10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>