GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem

Behold a unique genre: the "psychological thriller". As the player's "sanity meter" drops, both the character and player will question what is real and what is merely in their head. Characters will react to their environment according to their mental state.
Average Customer Rating:
9.75
9.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem
Review 1 for Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem
unlike any other game i've played...in a good way
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/14
Awesome272
Location: Pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Eternal Darkness truly separates itself from other horror games, it shows its unique aspects right off the cover of the game. The game starts off with are main protagonist Alex Roivas getting a call from a Rhode Island police investigator about "a sudden death in the family". Alex travels to Rhode Island to find out that things are not as they seemed. Eternal Darkness is one of those games i believe everyone should own whether your a horror fan or not, you see Eternal Darkness does things i never a game do or even do correctly, Eternal Darkness will constantly mess with the gamer, to even go as far as shutting off the tv or at least "pretend" to. But even so the fact that E.D takes its appropriate subtitle (Sanitys Requim) to an entire new level of literally both fascinates me and gives me a completely different reason to recommend this game. Soo besides fancy cover art and E.Ds love of pranks what else does it offer, well, if your a H.P Lovecaft fan then Eddys perfect for you. 9.3 / 10
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem
Great Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/09
Dark Phoenix
The first time I saw Eternal Darkness, my uncle had bought it when he had a Gamecube, about 6 or 7 years ago. I only watched him play it once, but he said after he sold his system, that Eternal Darkness was one of the best games he'd ever played. I wholeheartedly agree. This game LITERALLY messes with your mind. I'm really surprised that no other company has tried to make a game like this one. In game informer, out of the top 25 gamecube games, Eternal Darkness was number 4. The storyline is one of the best I've seen. What's really cool is you don't control just one individual character, rather, it's around 10 people with unique abilities that are required for each of the chapters in the game. In my opinion, anyone with a decent puzzle-solving and zombie butt-kicking mind would go through E.D. with flying colors. I only had one difficult part throughout the entire game, but other than that, It was a very fun experience and I would recommend it to anyone that likes thriller, sci-fi or adventure
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem
The best game you're not playing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/11
sisterhavoc
Location: Philadelphia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
While it was some years before I actually bought & played this game, I remember hearing about it when it was still in development, before the GameCube itself was even released (back when the working name for the system was still the Dolphin) - that's how big of an impression the game play made on me. As everyone mentions, the unique sanity meter makes this a game not to be missed - from tilted screens to bugs on the TV (which still skeeves me whenever I see it) to...well...I'll leave the rest of the fun for you to find. The game is based largely on the Lovecraftian mythos (with the Book of Eternal Darkness replacing the infamous Necronomicon), so this is the closest you'll ever come to playing an original Lovecraft story. The great shame of this game is that it's too short & as Nintendo owns the rights to the 'sanity meter' & doesn't seem to be interested in doing anything with it, we can only offer a prayer to the Great Old Ones in the hopes that they'll eventually make a sequel.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem
"The best game I have ever played"
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/10
Xybolx
This game is worth the price of a used Gamecube even if it is the only game you will ever own for the system. More of a dream and less of a game, it's as if David Lynch decided to make a video game. Eternal Darkness meshes real historical facts and people with fictionally fantastic storylines and it does it with little forced effort on the developer's part. It's a rare game that gets everything right. This game plays like the most enjoyable nightmare you've ever had. Controls, sound, storyline, graphics, and creep factor are all working in perfect harmony to provide the best the Gamecube ever had to offer. As if that weren't enough, you'll be playing through it almost eternally (well not quite!) to discover it's multiple endings and paths! This game is a scream!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem
Eternal FUNNESS!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/12
bunny5f6
Location: lancaster, ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I wish they would make another, this was my first"Horror" game I ever played. I still own it and never will part!!!! what a wonderful time I had, considering the fact that it came out on game cube this game was brilliant, the graphics were awesome for that time period. It is a must have in your game collection!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem
Creepy, addicting, and in general AMAZING.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/11
Namalator
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I completely adore this game and even though I've beaten it twice I still have a hard time playing it in the dark. The gameplay is FANTASTIC, the use of different characters from different periods of time that all encountered the book is a really awesome part of it. Instead of playing as one character in one point in time you get to basically time travel. I haven't played it in sometime due to the fact I moved and misplaced it but it's A MUST BUY for everyone who enjoys a thrilling game, I so wish they'd make a sequel to this or something. It's just flat out AMAZING.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem
Lose your sanity with this classic!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/09
TheShredder
This was the only game of it's kind for the Gamecube when it was first released, and I still haven't played anything quite like it since. What makes this game so unique and enjoyable is the way it blends historical settings and time travel with a fantasy/horror storyline. There are plenty of great hack-n-slash moments (especially later in the game as things get more intense), but the game is not really a gorefest. You rely as much on paying attention to your environment and puzzle-solving, as you do on shredding the undead. You play as characters from different walks of life in every other chapter of the game, and you get to revisit some of the settings at multiple points in history. Some of the characters move at different speeds and use different weapons, but they all control the same way, which makes it easy to get immersed into each new environment. Despite the variety of characters and settings, everything in this game is interconnected and serves a purpose in uncovering the mystery behind the story's events (even the opening cutscene contains a clue to a future scenario). Ultimately, it makes the game very satisfying when it all starts coming together. Games like this typically have "a-ha" moments, when you solve a puzzle or connect a couple of dots in the storyline. One of my favorites in this game happened when I blindly used a combination of runes to unexpectedly hit a new spell. Even better was when my sanity meter drained, and strange things started happening on my TV screen! The game tries to psyche YOU out - not just your onscreen character, which made me drop my controller, shake my head and laugh, once I realized what was happening. Touches like this add to the immersive experience of this game. There are 3 different artifacts to choose from as you begin the game, affecting either your physical health, magic ability, or sanity. You'll fight different boss characters depending on the one you choose, and after finishing the game 3 times, each with a different artifact, you will be treated to a mega-ending cutscene. It's not a really difficult game, and if I only played it once through, I'd have rated its length a "5". However, I think it's so short, because the intention is to get you to play through it with all 3 artifacts, which I did, so I gave it an "8". While this game is not a real challenge in any of its gameplay aspects, it's the intelligent storyline and the immersive experience created by the sounds and "insanity effects" that make it a Gamecube-only classic. Even though I finished it a long time ago, whenever I notice it on the shelf, I have the same "Oh, that game was so cool" reaction that I have when I look at 'Ocarina of Time' for the N64. It's not THAT good, but like that game, you will definitely have favorite chapters and scenes worth revisiting after you've finished everything else.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MAXHUNTER
 
Please wait while more information about MAXHUNTER is loaded.
Additional information about MAXHUNTER could not be loaded.
You want scary here you go
Posted 1/18/12
scary, fun, and epic. Scariest part: blood bath scene. fav moment: Max going insane
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem
The Best Game I Have Ever Played In Years.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/13
Jess05
Location: Fredericktown, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Im 27yrs old now and I havent played this game since I was 19yrs old. I have been looking everywhere for this game and its soo hard to find nowdays. I miss this game so much it hurts. It has awesome Graphics, Music, Characters and Themes. I can remember so little from this game, cause its been a long time since I last played. I used to own this game long time ago for GameCube and my biggest mistake was to give it away. Ever since I gace it away I have been trying my best to get it back and I have no luck getting it back. When I first got my Wii I didnt know you could play GameCube games on it thanks to a friend of mine telling me. Now Im on pursuit on trying to get it back again.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem
Definitely kept my interest
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/11
Sissy
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Once the game begins, I found it hard to put down the controls. Having different characters to play during the game definitely keeps your interest. I have finished the 2x and am on my 3rd to see the different endings. Apparently there are 3 different endings.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem
not to be missed
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/10
redmoonkiss
Location: TN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a game not to be missed. Great story line that is creepy and a little sad at times. Good graphics and a cool music soundtrack also enhance game play. I promise you will jump out of your skin at a few scenes! Highly recommend it. I promise you if you play this game it will land on your favorites list.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem
I WAS VERY TENSE THE FIRST TIME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/19/12
MAXHUNTER
Location: Churubusco,IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got Resident evil flashes in the mansion and its fun, exciting, and mainly like screwattack said the low the sanity meter gets down the more screwed up it gets
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem
freaking a!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/11
blehblah
Location: Tulsa, OK
This game is awesome. It totally freaked me out but its awesome.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10