GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dot.Hack: Part 1 Infection

A fourteen year old boy named Kite is invited by his schoolmate, Orca, to play the online game The World. While playing the game both Kite and his friend are attacked by an unknown monster. As a result, Orca becomes comatose in the real world. Despite his friend's condition, Kite continues to play The World believing he'll find a way to revive Orca. While playing The World, Kite accepts The Twilight from Aura, a mysterious girl in white. Kite is transformed into an Outlaw player within the game wielding the very same power responsible for Orca's condition.
Average Customer Rating:
9.769
9.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dot.Hack: Part 1 Infection
Review 1 for Dot.Hack: Part 1 Infection
First of the 7 best games ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/11
ultimateRPGfanatic
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
From the first time I played this game I was addicted to the dot.hack series. This is the first of the series. It gives the foundation for the story. The length of each of the individual dot.hack games (vol1-4) are not very long compared to many other RPGs, but nevertheless are completely worth playing. I mainly only play RPGs, with a few exceptions, and the dot.hack games are my all-time favorite games EVER!!! *On a side note* Gameplay/Story > Everything Else > Graphics... Yes, graphics are the least important thing when deciding if a game is good.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dot.Hack: Part 1 Infection
One of the best games around
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/22/11
Balthier
Location: Palmyra, IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
To say I loved it, that might be an understatement. Last night, I just beat it and... wow, it's great. This game has flaws like any other but, it's great points eliminate all of those.
I suppose I should start with the few things that irked me. Now, if you have played the game, you'd notice that when you go into a protected area there are times when the screen flashes and such. It's really annoying if it happens mid-battle but normally it tends to not. There is also the fact that when you beat the game, the only way to watch the 'movie' parts (if you don't speak Japanese) is to change your language to English. That leads to another thing. Their English voices aren't good, at all. >shivers< I swear, I tried to watch my brother play (he hates Japanese voice overs) and I had to leave the room...
Some of the better parts of the game is the dungeons. They are fun and are easily are great. G-r-e-a-t. I trained for a whole day straight without getting bored. (of course I took breaks every now and then.) The battle style is slightly different than most but, that's a good thing. Another thing is, without meaning to, you become very serious while playing the game. Last night, while trying to beat the last boss, I was shaking because I was so nervous. The graphics aren't the best but, they aren't the worst. The music is wonderful. I could spend hours listening to it. I love the way you can e-mail the other characters. Their responses make me smile. The characters had their own personalities, which really made the game fun to play. I would have to say that Kite is one of the better main characters. Though, my favorite character would have to be Balmung and my least would be BlackRose. (I can't help it... she's just to...ugh)
Anyway, the game overall is fantastic.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dot.Hack: Part 1 Infection
A really good rpg.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/11
victinifan
I bought this mainly because I'm a huge fan of the manga, but I have to say I'm pretty impressed. It's fun, and the whole mystery just adds to it. The only thing I hate is that leveling up is tedious, but data draining enemies is pretty cool. Plus it's pretty interesting how it simulates a MMORPG. Definately not the newest PS2 game, but certainly one of my favorites.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dot.Hack: Part 1 Infection
Hack part 1 infection is one great rpg for the ps2
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/08
Matt 93
I bought the game and was impressed by the game and a little disappointed here are the good facts about the game it has an excellent story line and gameplay some glitches but no big deal. The problems way to short of a game if can be beat less than 2 DAYS The game feels like a real life online game though is what shocked me about the game. This game can get a little repetitive at some times with the constant leveling up a lot and the cut scenes for your special moves. You have a variety of items weapons and stuff to buy. There are no side quests in the game which is a let down for you die hard rpg fans. The AI kinda sucks in the game but you'll get over it or used to it before you know it. I would consider you purchasing this game and then selling it once you buy it for the sequel so BUY IT NOW!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Dot.Hack: Part 1 Infection
amazing game to get
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/08
you know who I am...
OMG, get it if you're reading this, you've got to get this. It doesn't have the greatest graphics, and the sound may be a little off sometimes, but these are the negatives. The storyline, unlike the new GU series, is better, more into an actual online game with the virus style graphics, not like in GU were it's just a regular area. And, again different from GU, it has an actual challenge to it. In the beginning, you have no idea what's going on, and as you continue along with the story and advance in the game, you begin to understand more and more about what's going on, but are still confused at the end, making a great cliffhanger for the other 3 in the series. And the best, no internet connection is required to play, though it would make the best MMORPG for real.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for Dot.Hack: Part 1 Infection
Just Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/7/13
Hakumei
Location: New Bedford, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game is fun and the music is just awesome. The story for it is one of my fav for a rpg. The gameplay might seem a tad bit of the same thing over and over but it's something you easily over look. The boss fight are hard which is a good thing. It's 100% a PS2 classic and a most own/play for any rpg fan
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 7 for Dot.Hack: Part 1 Infection
Awesome start to a great series
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/09
Jey
When I saw the commercial for this game, I knew I had to have it. I don't really remember much about the teaser itself, but once I started playing the game, I was hooked. The gameplay itself has a few minor hitches. The most noticeable is not being able to use magic abilities when the camera isn't oriented to face the monster. Also, the random groupings of monsters could potentially have your entire party confused, asleep, and/or poisoned all at the same time before you have any time to react. The music tends to get a bit annoying, but luckily you can turn it down and still keep the sound effects up so you don't miss any of the plot in the cut-scenes. Some of the music is pretty mellow, but mostly it's pretty harsh and mechanical sounding when it should be organic and soft. The graphics aren't the best, there was certainly some room for improvement, but given the size of the game and all that you can do in it, it's still pretty impressive. The cut-scenes and fmv's flow pretty smoothly in with the game itself. There's not that much difference. In a cut-scene, there's not as much expression on the character's face as there is in an fmv. That's the only true telling point between the two. Overall, this game and the others in the series are fantastic, engaging, and fun. Things tend to drag on and have a rinse, repeat feel to them from time to time, but most RPG's do. I would highly suggest this game to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Dot.Hack: Part 1 Infection
So you like RPG's...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/08
Femo
The first time I played .Hack//Infection was in December 2004 and I was highly impressed. Huddled in a basement with a blanket and a PS2 slim, it was a great way to make the cold winter days pass by quickly. The storyline was mesmerizing, you start off playing as Kite who is playing an MMORPG, so the character you see moving around on the screen is actually your Kite's online sprite. (Confused? Just think of it like this, you are controlling a person who is playing Warcraft and the result is that your actions appear through his character on the computer screen.) You're playing with your friend Orca who falls into a deep coma in real life as a result of an event that happened in the game. Your purpose is to figure out how and why it happened and what caused it. The first thing you'll notice is that the scenery and the game play mimics that of an online rpg where players interact as though they would if they were real people ("Hi, what's your name? :)" is an example) almost exactly except for the fact that you're not online. There are "safe/city" zones in which you can interact with other players, buy/sell items, and group/regroup your team. Then there are "danger/dungeon" zones where you do the battling. Most of the story revolves around your actions within these danger zones, which brings me to the battling system: What is an RPG without battling? Anybody familiar with RPG's like EverQuest or newer Final Fantasy games like Crisis Core will be comfortable with this battling system right off the bat. RPG veterans generally have a difficult time adjusting to the real-time battle system because they are accustomed to the old turn-based system. Because of this, it plays much faster yet slightly more difficult as well. For example, when you are fighting a boss fight, the screen doesn't automatically group your members on one side of the screen and have the enemy on the other like in Final Fantasy VI-IX for example. You must run around the room/map until you have recuperated yourself and are able to attack again. You can also dodge attacks this way; a highly beneficial characteristic of this battle style. Although the battling may get repetitive, each major battle is crucial to the storyline. The graphics are standard early generation PS2 graphics. The cut scenes (which are few) are not accompanied by special effects and enhanced CGI like the Final Fantasy series. The graphics are very consistent throughout the game, maintaining that same feel and look between playing the game and watching the cut scenes. The music in RPG's have always been impressive scores that could have accompanied any great Hollywood film, but .Hack's score is relatively mediocre. Some songs stand out as gems that you'll have the fortune of hearing on several occasions but other are not as memorable or engaging. The voice overs are well done and the voice actors well picked. Each character has his or her own distinct manner of talking and tone of voice, mimicking yet again the diversity of players within a real MMORPG. Last but not least: replay value. This game has little replay value. For players like myself who enjoy doing side quests and acquiring rare items and leveling up, it's a great experience and well worth replaying because you can go back and customize your players differently with the different items you find. For those who do not, this game sadly holds little purpose in being replayed. Overall, .Hack//Infection is a great RPG experience. For any RPG fan, this is worth looking into. .Hack//Infection has my recommendation for fans who want to get a feel for MMORPG's or for those who want a more relaxed pace game as opposed to MMORPG's. It is definitely at least worth playing at least once.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dot.Hack: Part 1 Infection
THE FIRST IS ALWAYS THE BEST
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/11
snEEzingpaNda
Location: .Hack Realm
This is the best .hack game ever!Even though it looks like garbage(i don't think so)It is the best with the story line and plot.THE BEST.Get this before any other .hack games you're gonna buy!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Dot.Hack: Part 1 Infection
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/11
aar60493
Location: usa
This is one of the best rpg games I have ever played. Gameplay is great, plot is awesome, graphics are very well done for its time. It is a great game to own.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Dot.Hack: Part 1 Infection
Amazing!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/12
gooddaysir
Location: Florence, Alabama
This is the greatest game, ever especially if you keep up with the dot hack series. I seriously reccomend this.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for Dot.Hack: Part 1 Infection
great game i love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/11
sorades1314
Location: california ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is awesome the puzzle are a little challageing but the game is fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Dot.Hack: Part 1 Infection
One of the last GOOD RPGs...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/10
RunsWithBritish
I picked up .Hack when i was a lot younger. I remember loving it. Then I lost it somehow. So a few years later I pick up the first two games of the series. I still loved the first one! Then both were stolen. So last week I picked up the first 3 games and even 7 years older then when I first bought the game, .Hack//Infection is still one of my favorites. RPGs have drastically declined since the new generation of systems, and I will happily say that the .Hack series is what keeps me going back to the PS2. The storyline of the game is phenomenal, easily captivating the player with the mysterious secrets and well-developed characters. I often found myself breaking my "only one more dungeon for tonight" rule and not becoming bored with the game at all. Now as in all RPGs, there are always the irritating parts. There are some characters that are useless and are sometimes forced into your party. Though it does give you a challenge, it also seems like a waste of good story moments. If the character has no interesting role to play, then why are they there? Regardless, the rest of the story elements make up for these few minor situations. The challenge of the game is hindered by the length of it. It is important to remember, however, that the game is 4 parts long. At the time of its release, the company was not able to create long games, instead choosing to make 4 short but very detailed ones (The latter being the better choice.) The games themselves get longer with each installment, and the story becomes even more captivating, certainly worth getting them all. An added bonus of getting all of them is the ability to transfer data from the previous installments. If you are like me, you enjoy getting 100% on a game before quitting, and that quality is recognized by the game, allowing you to continue your perfect streak until the very end of Part 4. Luckily for "Japanophiles" out there, the game does allow you to switch the voice over to Japanese. The English voice acting for the games are unfortunately sub-par. So if you are used to watching Japanese anime and don't mind the subtitles, then by all means listen to the game in its original language. The emotions can be better understood this way, and in my opinion increases the value of the games themselves. All in all, I believe the game is 100% worth getting. I would recommend picking up 2 parts at a time, as the length of the game will keep you craving answers as well as more gameplay. jRPGs are slowly losing their kick, but it is imperative that we play the older ones to remember what a true RPG is. .Hack//Infection, as well as Mutation, Outbreak, and Quarantine, can easily be placed into the "True RPG" ranks.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10