GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Lara Croft Tomb Raider Angel of Darkness

Accused of the murder of her former mentor, Werner Von Croy, Lara becomes a fugitive on the run. In her struggle, to survive, she is dragged into a dark, parallel world of blood, betrayal and vengeance spanning across hundreds of years...Instruction Book Correction: On page 9 of the manual it states that the Triangle button allows you to manually switch between targets. This is incorrect, you need to use the Square button.
Average Customer Rating:
5.4
5.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
6 out of 1060%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lara Croft Tomb Raider Angel of Darkness
Review 1 for Lara Croft Tomb Raider Angel of Darkness
WHY????!!!!???
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/13
HFBVHFBVUIBFEVIEFBNJHYUG
Location: OH
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
ok im a fan of the TR series since the 90's but this is NOT good at all
its not worthy of the TR name its a discrace to the series and the TR name this game should not of been released its just awful and it pains me to put down what should of been great, the story was desent idea but with the BAD controls and how hard it is to move or even jump few feet to other roof without falling it was overly complicated just to get where u needed it had me frustrated and thinking wow really i mean its one thing to have hard puzzles but unplayable game controls and hard to get where u needed it was a hot mess, i tried to like this game but i just cant its just that bad, i dont count this as part of the TR series at all its just a mistake that shall forever be tossed aside, the story was only good idea i liked so maybe a reboot on this one would be nice
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lara Croft Tomb Raider Angel of Darkness
Great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/12
hezaa
Location: Naples,fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
as a kid i been playing this game and even till now i LOVE it ! for the bad reviews; the game is challenging but once your used to it , its great to play. Long game , and most games these day lack the greatness old games use to be. Graphics.. well again its old but doesnt mean its bad . controls you have to get use to , but after getting the hang of it , its an amazing game !
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Lara Croft Tomb Raider Angel of Darkness
Good game for it's time
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/12
LAra
Location: Philadelphia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Althouh it has it's tech. problems its a really cool game. The story line is awsome and the characters have real personalities (unlike most games from back then) its a classic game and even with all the glitches i still bough it again.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Lara Croft Tomb Raider Angel of Darkness
Personally, one of the best TR's.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/11
Katya
Location: NV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Yes, it lags. Yes, there are bugs. Yes, there are countless glitches and issues and frustrating, problematic situations in this game. Do I hate it? No. I think this is a beautiful game; you can see the amount of work Core put into this game and how much they improved from previous games whilst still holding onto the Lara we all know and love. But how can you truly hate on a game that was a blind jump in the dark from what they were coming out from and wasn't even completed / finished properly? They were rushed- they cut a lot of things out and you can access half of the areas they were planning on putting in the game with simple glitches even. There were obvious things that were leading to something new and amazing, but they just didn't have the time. It's a shame, it really is, but what else can you do about it? Besides the fact that it was pressured to be short and sweet, this game has an extensive and stunning storyline. The characters, the plot, the way the story moves from part to part is incredible. Some may argue that there are certain aspects that are "random" and just jump out at you- such as Kurtis and his power- but I think this was a part of the trilogy Core had in line with this story. [Sadness! True, pure, utter despair! This game truly read like a book, even as a GAME.] And the music is breath-taking! They really outdid themselves on it- I will always wish that they could've finished the game as they saw it. It's just such a shame. But as the game is right now, I feel that every true Raider needs to play it with an open mind. However, I must forewarn you, it is tricky to get ahold of it for most people. It's frustrating that Lara will not respond as simply as other games and this does anger people, but again, what can you do? If you take the time to master the controls in this game, you can come to find it to be very enjoyable; yes, you won't be able to swiftly move from place to place and fighting can be such a pain in the game, but I still find it to be extremely fun [sort of like a mind game.] I strongly believe this game signifies the last of Lara and her great era- this game and the previous ones are what Tomb Raider was all about. The earlier ones by CD do not impress me in the last; they may be easy to control [and to beat for that matter] and "pretty" but they do not own up to the older games. In AOD, you are opened to a new world of modern age cities with cryptic tombs hiding beneath stories of this new world; it's incredible, really. You must use your wits to get around dark cities and use your old raiding skills to get through tombs and ominous laboratories alive. It's fun, gothic thriller nonetheless, and I would recommend this game to people who are complete twits who refuse to give anything a chance. Don't review if you didn't complete. Overall, I love this game a whole lot!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lara Croft Tomb Raider Angel of Darkness
Tomb raider angel of darkness
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/11
finchy
Location: pine bush, ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game i have noticed is the inspiration for tomb raider underworld. the main screen, doppleganger, and laras determination throughout the games. Besides the fact that she doesn't move very realisticly sometimes, it was a pretty good game. It may be frustrating in some points with the holding meter, but it's more realistic that way, no one can hold on a ledge forever. Her attitude was one of the best ones in the beggining with Von Croy. Laras look is very brought out in this game. The plot was great. She is wanted for being accused of murdering her mentor, Verner Von Croy In Paris with the cerial killer the munstrum. She is constantly sneaking around to prove it wasn't her. If you can look past some of her moves, the meter, and some hard levels, this is a great game for a tomb raider fan. ( By the way, the graphics are better than the ps1 nobody wants 2 admit it.)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lara Croft Tomb Raider Angel of Darkness
its not too bad, its just frustrating
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/10
LittleGuy
for all you people who gave a review to this game and didn't finish it, why give one. its a hard game that takes some time to get use to. its fun at times especially when your shooting some bad guys or creatures.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sm4omdo4o3
graham
 
Please wait while more information about sm4omdo4o3 is loaded.
Additional information about sm4omdo4o3 could not be loaded.
it is a good game to me
Posted 7/6/13
sure it has some glitches and new controls but the glitches are some times funny. and the controls just give you more things to learn but your not gonna die. and sure it has a new character but what about alister in tr legend? no one is mad about him they just make fun of him. the game is good and fun if you have trouble, just think about the times you had trouble or got lost or even died in the other tomb raiders.and it only has the issues that it does was because core design was rushed when they made it. if you were all a true tr fan, you woudnt just hate the game you would be greatful that you have another tomb raider in your hand!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Lara Croft Tomb Raider Angel of Darkness
waste of time and money
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/10
kylenator_99
this game is stupid and pointless i had it for a day and traded it in the next day it that bad. The game got a little challenging at some parts i never complete the whole game because of how bad it was. The graphics were terrible they looked like PS1 graphics maybe even worse. The game was short of what i played of it i had half of the game done in 4-6 hours i think. The story was terrible you barley even knew what was going on half of the time. The thing that was the most terrible in the game was the controls it was something like square to jump and stuff. The sound was terrible when the main menu came up it sounded so bad i had my hands over my ears turning it off well maybe i exaggerated a little. The point is if you buy this game and don't even listen to what i am saying you will regret it and you will be mad that you did not listen to me
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lara Croft Tomb Raider Angel of Darkness
Hard in ways it shouldn't be
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/09
DancingShadows
When I first got the game it sounded like another really fun game from the series. I played it for about two hours and never got much further than the learning of the controls. In order to climb on things like rails you have to move so slowly and with such a low range of movement that virtually anything can send you falling. The graphics are fairly poor and don't respond very well to camera movement and other such things. The audio is repetative and thus it is quite dull. I muted my game after the first few minutes. I don't really have much to say on the length because it was to complicated to even get past the first part. The controls were very poor and left a lot to be desired. When I want to move the camera, I do not expect to only get half of the area to show up. As far as I know, it probably has a decent storyline but I wouldn't know much about it. I am afraid that I would not recommend this game to anyone else but especially not those that are used to normal, working features.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lara Croft Tomb Raider Angel of Darkness
Not One of the Best But I'll Have to Do
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/09
Doppelgänger
I understand that this game has been highly criticized almost everywhere, but I bought this game and think it actually is pretty fun. I personally think the controls are very easy and my copy of the game didn't even come with a manual! The plot is very interesting along with Lara's attitude in the game. However, the way Lara moves is very unrealistic, and the way she dies from falling from a high distance is laughable. Another thing that sometimes irritates me is that fact that Lara can only hold onto a ledge for a certain amount of time, which is shown by a yellow meter that slowly decreases. If you are holding on the ledge when the meter goes empty, she falls from the ledge. The final thing I like about this game is that the appearance of Lara's Doppelgänger in Underworld was based off of Lara's appearance in this game. If you can easily memorize controls for video games, can ignore some odd character movement, and are a Tomb Raider fan, I recommend this game. If you have trouble progressing through this game, full walkthroughs for this game can be found on the web.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lara Croft Tomb Raider Angel of Darkness
Gift for people you hate
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/08
honest review
Just because it's on the Playstation 2, don't be fooled. Angel of Darkness plays exactly like the original Playstation Tomb Raider games. The graphics are slightly better but do not expect any other changes from the earlier games. In this game Lara still moves clumsily and unnatural like a robot. You have to slow down and walk to the edge in order to make simple jumps but be careful because if you don't do it just right, Lara will just walk off the edge. To be honest the controls are so bad I got frustrated with the game in the first level and gave up on it. If you want to play any Tomb Raider games go with Legend or Anniversary. Those were made by a different developer and are quite good. If you're looking for other adventure games go try Primal (with a female lead) or the Prince of Persia games.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pretty25497
 
Please wait while more information about pretty25497 is loaded.
Additional information about pretty25497 could not be loaded.
This game isnt all that but i guess its okay
Posted 7/25/11
The game is really easy at the starting but when you get to the middle of the game its really hard i tryed so many times to beat it it was really use less so i traded it in. i would say this game is mostly for people who have patience like that and easily get used to the controls because if you dont then your REALLY NOT gonna like this game but i thought the game was okay and yes i did get frustrated with it but it was okay.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)