GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Super Mario Sunshine

Seeking well-deserved rest and relaxation, Mario and Princess Peach travel to a beautiful remote island. It is said the local citizens are friendly and the weather forecast suggests year-round sunshine. However, when they get to the island, they quickly find out that the peaceful paradise has been polluted by a mysterious stranger. Worse still, the individual bears a striking resemblance to Mario! Determined to clear his reputation and clean up the island, Mario sets off on his greatest adventure yet.
Average Customer Rating:
9.272
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (158 reviews)
10 stars
96
9 stars
36
8 stars
17
7 stars
4
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
146 out of 15892%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Mario Sunshine
Review 1 for Super Mario Sunshine
Absolutely Amazing Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/13
GBConceptsOF
Location: Jamaica,NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is one of the games that I grew up with and to this day still play! It's enriched with gameplay,puzzles, all mixed with a bit of challenge here and there which makes it a must have in my book!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Super Mario Sunshine
COOL! :D
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/13
iLoveNintendoFlo
Location: America
Fun! COOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL! I wish u could do more with the birds. But the birds and levels are very well made an really pop to life!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Super Mario Sunshine
Nintendo Takes it to the Top
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/13
H4Xguy18
Location: El Paso,TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was my childhood, pretty much. Excellent Gameplay, a variety of fantastic soundtracks, and outstanding level design, this game is reccommended to all Mario Fans out there.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Super Mario Sunshine
Amazing game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/13
nebzilla
Location: Georgia, U.S.A.
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is amazing! A must-get for all gamers! The music is beautiful, the graphics are way ahead of it's time, and you'll be entertained for hours and hours by this game as it pretty much never gets old. Overall, this is a great game to get.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Super Mario Sunshine
Super mario sunshine review.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/13
rockstar321
Location: Fairfax VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Super Mario Sunshine is okay, it's different than the other mario games, but it's okay. super mario sunshine is also the first mario game on a disc, so naturally the graphics and sound quality are better than super mario 64. the story of the game is similar to super mario world on the SNES. so mario is taking a well deserved vacation to some island called isle delino, that's shaped like a dolphin the first thing he notices the second he steps off the plane is there is graffiti everywhere, mario then finds f.l.u.d which is a tool that gives mario the ability to shoot water from it, He then defeats the pirana plant that's made of graffiti and then he is arrested, after probably the most unfair court session I have ever seen, mario and f.l.u.d start to clean the island, and it is reveled that an evil mario did the graffiti. WAIT A MINUTE, Mario was framed for something by a doppelganger and was arrested , is it just me or is the story of this game VERY similar to sonic adventure 2's story. anyway, this game plays like super Mario 64 from there on. the goal of each level is to find the shine sprite. oh yeah, and the shine sprites are the islands source of life that has been shut down somehow. Now the gameplay, This is one of the hardest Mario games I have ever played, And I have played super Mario world. Not only are the levels HUGE but the platforming is just ridiculous and can lead to a lot of cheap deaths especialy in the boss battles. And the Red coin missions, they are FRUSTRATING, you have to find a number of red coins scattered around the level, but unlike other games (knuckles stages from sonic adventure 2) that have a radar that basically plays hot and cold with you to find the red coins, there is none, IT TOOK ME 20 MINUTES TO FIND 10 RED COINS. the game is still great though, once you get used to it. This game is very different from the other games in the super Mario series, this game was a lot of firsts for the Mario series and for Nintendo, This game was released after the release of the GameCube, which means that this was the first time a Nintendo console was released, without a Mario game alongside it, This made gamers want the Best mario game ever, however, since that Mario is not in the mushroom kingdom fighting bowser like in the usual games, people just decided to complain. and it was also the first appearance of Bowser Jr who is now in almost every Mario game afterwords. this game was also the first (and only) Mario game to animated cutscenes with COMPLETE VOICE ACTING you don't have to read what they are saying (super Mario galaxy) I don't know why they stopped the voice acting cutscenes, I guess they were just being lazy. as for glitches, this game is not free of them but they are very rare, I remember once when I was platforming up the giant windmill in this game, And I fell and got stuck though the windmill, I could not pause the game or get out of it, my only option was to restart my console. and the red coins missions are frustrating, they're scattered This game is very underrated, In fact, some people are calling it the worst Mario game ever. But you should give it a try, It's really fun.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
rockstar321
Fairfax VA
 
Please wait while more information about rockstar321 is loaded.
Additional information about rockstar321 could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Posted 8/5/13
THE SECRET LEVELS IN THIS GAME ARE HARD!!! does anyone have any strategies for the obstetrical courses in the secret levels.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Super Mario Sunshine
my childhood game, best game ever made
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/13
wooddog123
Location: Clovis,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
a classic game with challenge and who doesn't love mario.you go through the world against bowser,king boo,and blue mario
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Super Mario Sunshine
Whoop
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/2/13
philly4267
Location: omaha ne
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love the game and the price is totally right. It was the smartest move buying that game and I still can't beat browser after all these years but that's a good thing. The storyline is incredible and my review says it all so don't read 100 just buy it! I've also never played nicktoons globs of doom but it looks pretty fun so whoo hoo!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for Super Mario Sunshine
Tropical paradice
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/13
bobbyflabby
Location: bloomington il
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Mario finaly takes a vacation, he sure deserves it! Let me just start by saying overall this is definetly a game i recommend for mario fans, now there were a few flaws, as to be expected for a game that came out 9 years ago, the sound is ok, bu the voice acting kinda sucks, but the graphics were great, and the gameplay is pretty nice, the lasting appeal was also a-ok. so i recommend it but expect some flaws.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Luigi's Mansion
9.5 out of 10(80)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 9 for Super Mario Sunshine
BEST MARIO GAME EVER MADE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/13
Jinx420
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This was a great game and they will surprise with the new main villain and this game holds lots of secrets and fun worlds and bosses.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Super Mario Sunshine
pretty good mario game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/13
sonic32
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game has some glitches to it but i has some good music and bosses to the gameplay when you play it is hard to see where your going has no simularity to sonic dx or wind waker
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 11 for Super Mario Sunshine
Great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/13
3arcgambler
Location: CA
This is one of the best games of all time in my opinion. and i think many others would agree as well. From the great story to the great graphics-of its time-this game was and still is my all time favorite. I will tell you now this game is so entertaining to me i still pay it to this day!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Super Mario Sunshine
Best Game Ever! ! !
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/12
Romero1129
Location: Issaquah, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This was the best game I had ever played! I got this game when I was around four or five years old. I remember those good ol' graphics... but... i guess i'll never see those same grapics again... or the very crisp water and palm trees. I never got a chance to beat it, too. My Gamecube broke... now I can't play it anymore. I also remember Mario Party 4. I beat the whole game :o) It was kind of hard. At the end of the game, I remember Toad and the character I played with in the darkness. It kind of put me into tears. Trust me, Mario Party 4 and Super Mario Sunshine is what I definetely recommend! Even though I never got a chance to beat it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Super Mario Sunshine
This Looked Dumb But turned out to be great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/12
RetroGod
Location: Lodi,NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Mario has to be one of the most iconic games ever and no surprise they would make this mario game and nintendo did well
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Super Mario Sunshine
best game to buy with spair money!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/12
Anonymous
Location: brockport new york, ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is the best, the game play is epic and it is the best in the world!! i love how the people talk in this( :
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Super Mario Sunshine
fun game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/12
lamborghiniman1
Location: lancaster ohio
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
you are mario and princess peach is kiddnapped by somebody that looks like mario only silver. Now it took me 1 year to complete this game and i won't tell you who kiddnapped peach. BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Super Mario Sunshine
Classic
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/12
Hahahoho
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
I'm going to be honest with you, this is the best game of its kind. If you're lucky enough to find it, buy it. This game has anything and everything you could ever want
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for Super Mario Sunshine
SMS 3DS!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/12
Pippip
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This was my very first console game (When I was 5) I am 13 now and still play it even though I lost my memory card(s). It is still fun even though I have to start over every day. I agree with the fact that it is very underrated and even an unnoticed game. This is one of my favorite mario games and I think they should make a new one for the 3DS. A sequel may be "Meh" but heck, just remake the same exact game for handhelds. I'd improve the environment however do to the fact that there is some places where one wrong step and you gotta go back and redo what took you like 10 minutes... it gets very frustrating but it doesn't matter too much. It would still be great on the 3DS
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Super Mario Sunshine
The most bizzare Mario game I have ever played
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/12
Anonymous
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is definitely a very interesting Mario game to add to your collection. Instead of the typical Mario just running around getting into mischief, you have a new cool handy dandy weapon...a water sprayer? Not what you would typically think as a traditional gaming weapon, but I have to say it is a very fun and new twist. I also enjoyed the island atmosphere and the different worlds you go to. The graphics are very nice and are exploding with lots of bright happy colors. Some of the added details are also very nice, like Mario getting mud all over his face if you accidentally find yourself slipping in the sludge. The music is upbeat and very catchy (be careful, you might find yourself humming to it as you play, lol). Some of the downsides to the game was that it seemed to be a bit of a replay of Super Mario 64. Instead of stars, you have to find and chase down shine sprites. And yes, you also have to collect coins again. Some of the extra bonus areas could be a bit of a challenge if you are an average gamer. The story was also very bizarre, very interesting and a bit funny in the beginning, but oh so weird and messed up toward the end. This game had the weirdest ending that I have ever seen to a Mario game. All in all I have to give it a thumbs up. Good job Nintendo!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for Super Mario Sunshine
One must have mario gamecube game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/12
Mitch1623
Location: Mechanicsburg
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Now this game is one of the MANY mario games you should get for the Gamecube. It has great gameplay and good sound. If you are one of those mario gamers this is the one to pick. Check out my recommendations, Because if you like this, you may like these.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Super Mario Sunshine
Great game for the GameCube
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/12
LinkZeldaN64
This game is amazing in my opinion. The graphics are flawless, and I love the concept of using water to kill your enemies. With 120 shine sprites to find even after you beat the game you will still have some to look for. It's a 3D adventure you'll never forget. The only problem was occasional glitches, but they really don't cause that much trouble. Also the camera was sometimes awkward but that isn't much of a problem. 10 years later and I still enjoy this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>