GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Nintendo DS System (Gamestop Refurbished)

This is a Gamestop Refurbished video game system. It is guaranteed to work and does not include an instruction manual or original packaging. Nintendo's latest innovation provides users with a unique game-play experience using features never before offered by any other home console or hand-held game system. This portable personal entertainment and communications unit provides owners with new perspectives on dual screens, new control using both touch and voice, and new connections with two kinds of wireless game play. It's a newfound canvas on which developers can express their creativity.
Average Customer Rating:
7.71
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
10 stars
17
9 stars
7
8 stars
4
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
2
28 out of 3874%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nintendo DS System (Gamestop Refurbished)
Review 1 for Nintendo DS System (Gamestop Refurbished)
Phat Is Where Its At!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/12
BlueLightning26
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The original Nintendo DS or "DS Phat" as most people like to call it is in my opinion a very solid gaming system. This is the very first time that I have ever owned an original DS model as my very first Nintendo DS model was a Cobalt Blue DS Lite. Anyway, overall, the system is in fair condition because it had quite a few scratches on it when I bought it. Functionality wise, I have not had a single problem with this particular DS phat in the few days that I have had it. I had originally bought an Electic Blue model but the touchscreen was not functioning correctly and would not calibrate so I had to take it back to Gamestop and exchange it for a silver one which is the one that I have now. Overall I am pretty pleased with my purchase and would definintely recommend the DS phat to anyone who is looking for a low cost DS model.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Nintendo DS System (Gamestop Refurbished)
Hey techfreak and cosmoblack
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/12
ZeroFreak
Location: Victorville.CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Remember that the ds is the fist handheld since the gba. it was out before the psp and obviously the first in the ds series so duh the 3DS is going to better.This was a great system for when it came out, it plays gba games, and its basically unbreakable. this thing is great
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nintendo DS System (Gamestop Refurbished)
a beginners game system
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/12
youngMoney7
Location: north carolina
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this is a 1/2 good game system but if you have one you shoulsd just try to trade it in they offered me $45 w/ the 15 doller bonus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nintendo DS System (Gamestop Refurbished)
not the best
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/11
techfreak6600
Location: texas
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This system is no good. You should just stay with ds lite, dsi, or 3ds. The first psp was better than this piece of junk. Nintendo needs to do something or else they will be out of the gaming race.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
3DS Cosmo Black Starter Bundle
6.1 out of 10(12)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nintendo DS System (Gamestop Refurbished)
Don't even think about getting this!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/11
CosmicBlack133
Location: Hialeah
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Don't get this,get a dsi+ or don't get nothing.this is horrible,bad graphics and everything.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nintendo DS System (Gamestop Refurbished)
The Original DS is a Classic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/11
andrewpbeast
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The original DS is known as the DS Phat to some. Many people complain about it because of its big bulky design. To be honest, I actually like its big bulky design. When I hold my DS Lite or 3DS, I sometimes feel my hands cramp because they are small and hard to grip comfortably. With this DS, I can play without my hands cramping. Also, the buttons are well placed, and make some games easier to play. I also like the material it is made out of. It does not show fingerprints, and always shows that nice silver color (unless you can hunt down an original red or blue DS; I uses to have a Red DS Original... at least until that was stolen in a car robbery). The battery life is pretty long, and the screen lights up very bright even though it is not as bright as the DS Lite. Plus, it plays GBA games as well, and unlike the DS Lite, the GBA games do not stick out of the system; they stay inside so they do not hit your hands during gameplay (when I would play GBA games on the DS Lite, I would sometimes hit the GBA cartridge and cause the game to freeze. It rarely happened, but it was annoying when it did; this DS Original does not have that problem). Overall, the original DS may be the way to go. It has a big bulky grip, nice button layout, play GBA games great, and at $70, you annot complain. If you have or are getting the 3DS, you may not need this. But this Original DS is a great system. HERE ARE SOME RECOMENDED GAMES FOR THE DS: Pokemon Pearl, Diamand, Platinum, Black, White; Mario 64 DS, Mario Kart DS, Mario Party DS, Mario VS. Donkey Kong, Mario and Luigi games, Zelda games, the list of games goes on and on. So pick up a DS fools!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
25 of 25 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ZeroFreak
Victorville.CA
 
Please wait while more information about ZeroFreak is loaded.
Additional information about ZeroFreak could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
THANK YOU!!!!!!
Posted 8/6/12
Someone else that thinks of the ds as a classic system. can other people comprehend that the tech for the 3ds was like 8 years away
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Nintendo DS System (Gamestop Refurbished)
Great System!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/11
Vachiena
Location: KY
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this DS for more casual gaming, on the road, in bed etc. I wasn't expecting it to be anything special, but when I bought it and started playing I couldn't put it down! Graphics could use some work, but overall if you are away from your XBOX 360, or Wii, or you are just a casual gamer get this, and for $69.99 you just can't let it go.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nintendo DS System (Gamestop Refurbished)
not worth the money
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/11
orangeroman
Location: iowa
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Now the DS is a neat system but has a few flaws.First off its grafics are just a tad bit better than the gameboy advance.Second any 3D games on there are not worth playing because its too blocky.Third a psp has graphics that outbeat it by a mile.Fourth it is more of a 13- age system, almost zero violence games.Fith is a positive it had alot of games made for it.that just about wraps it up for me.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nintendo DS System (Gamestop Refurbished)
Nintendo Always Gets it Right!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/11
Nari
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The original Nintendo DS, aka the DS Phat, because of it's bulkier size, will continue to be the best DS available. I bought my first one two weeks after it came out (due to travel, or I would have had it the day it was released). That was in December of 2004 (the original release date being November). Seven years later, after rigorous daily use, dropping it more than I can count, spilling liquid on it and dropping it in the bath tub, my cousin covering the top screen in nail polish, then black marker, and having been stepped on several times, it finally broke about a week ago. Kind of. The top screen is now only attached by one wire, but the entire system works like a dream! (with the exception of two very small spots on my touch screen, which are by the sides so I never really notice them). I'll be the first to admit that I have a Raddy, beat up, UGLY looking DS, but if my top screen hadn't come off, I wouldn't even consider getting a new one. My friend has gone through three different Nintendo DS lite systems in just a couple of years, and is very gentle with them, so they have no reason to break or stop working. I considered getting a DS lite, since the original DS has been discontinued by Nintendo, but when I saw that I could still buy it used from GameStop, nothing could change my mind! Eventually, I realize I'll have to upgrade, but until that day, the original DS will always be my first choice!!!! (Nintendo makes good, virtually indestructible products over all, though the newer DS systems are more fragile then their predecessors. My Game cube has been thrown at a brick wall and been hit by a car, as well as much more wear and tear then I can name here, and it still works as well as when I pulled it out of the box.)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nintendo DS System (Gamestop Refurbished)
DS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/11
tangypresman
Location: az
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i love this ds i played it all the time but it dropped on the floor and craked the whole top screen so i went and bought the ds lite. and i love it. still wish i had my other ds. :(
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nintendo DS System (Gamestop Refurbished)
It was good for the first day.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/11
Quacka
Location: Petaluma, CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The first day i got it, it worked perfectly well then the next day i started finding more and more things wrong with it. Now we are on day 3 and the whole top screen doesnt work at all. I think it would have been a lot less of a hassle just to waste the extra money and buy a new one.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
6 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nintendo DS System (Gamestop Refurbished)
The best DS system!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/11
Frostmaster11
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love this DS system so much I'm speechless. It looks and feels alot more durable than the DS lite. The largness of the DS definetly gives you more grip on the system.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nintendo DS System (Gamestop Refurbished)
Great System
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/11
dagugtggggggggg
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This system is awesome! To me I think it would be stupid to get the other Ds systems because they're actually all the same. This is because the other Ds systems can almost do the same thing its just newer compared to this. Overall I would recommend this Ds.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nintendo DS System (Gamestop Refurbished)
Needs Improvements
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/11
grady
Location: mobile, alabama
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I dont see anyone rushing out to buy this system. I got this game new in 2005, and this system changed gameplay forever. Since then we now have the DS lite, DSi, DSiXL, and in about 3 weeks we will have the 3DS, so i dont see the need to buy this game unless you want to finish the DS collection or cant afford the other DS'. I really dont recommend this game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nintendo DS System (Gamestop Refurbished)
it was my best system!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/11
nanito
Location: ilinois
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
my nintendo ds was in excelent condition when i got it. i had a ps2 a wii and a ps3 and it was my favorite system. i spend over 4 hours a day playing it i played some old game boy games and new ds games. later on i bought the dsi ds lite and dsi xl but it was still my best system i lost the pen but i still had fun. i had it for 7 years, today my nintendo ds split on half because me and my brother were figthing for it. i still like it but i can't play with it, but i have it on my collection of systems. right now i want to buy another one the same coler and the same mark nintendo ds. some people say its to old or why dont you buy a 3ds instead, but i will stil buy the same one.
 
My Product Recommendations
Nintendo DS
8.5 out of 10(2)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nintendo DS System (Gamestop Refurbished)
Could Been Better
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/11
Slickntrick
Location: Florida, FL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I had the Nintendo DS but then i got the DS Lite, Now the DSi XL. I liked the system, but the DS Lite has flying colors! When i got the DS Lite, I saw colors hat i thought was never there.. I would recommend this to someone. i just wish it had brighter color so i can see everything.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Nintendo DSi White
9.5 out of 10(4)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nintendo DS System (Gamestop Refurbished)
Awesome System!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/11
HungryApple
Location: Est
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This system works better than my DS, when my DS lite broke i got the original, and I like it a TON better, the only downside is the stylus, it is placed in the back, and hard to reach, it also has a different stylus, its thinner, and less "long" otherwise this system in AMAZING. I personally prefer this DS over any of the others, because the DSI just has a camera, and i dont really care for 3D (personally i just like originals, and 3D ruins games, its also overpriced).
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nintendo DS System (Gamestop Refurbished)
The Two Reasons Not to Upgrade
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/11
Bowoneshi
Location: Ohio
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is an excellent system. There are several top notch games out there for the DS. If you're in the market for one, you've probably noticed there are 4 different versions and may be asking, "Which version is for me?" I'm about to give two reasons why the original is the system for me. First, of course, is the price, even though I think it's a little high for the oldest version. This version has actually already been discontinued by Nintendo, so the only available version is 'used.' However, it is still the cheapest of the 4. Second, and most important in my mind, is backward compatibility. Only the first two versions (The DS and the DS Lite) include a GameBoy Advance slot. Even if you still have one of many versions of the Advance (I still have my Advance SP), you still may want this DS over newer versions. If you are an avid Pokemon player and want to trade your Ruby, Sapphire, Emerald, FireRed, LeafGreen, Colosseum, or XD: Gale of Darkness Pokemon to a newer DS Title, you'll need the Advance slot. This is the only way to trade between these games! There is no other way! There are probably other games that utilize this single system connectivity, I'm am just unaware of them. I will conclude in saying that if these features are unimportant to you, I would suggest either getting the DSi system for the DSiWare games, or better yet, wait until March and buy the new 3DS which includes not only a new line of games unplayable on any current version of the DS and amazing 3D graphics, but is also backward compatible with all DS and DSiWare titles.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nintendo DS System (Gamestop Refurbished)
Has its ups and downs..
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/11
oshawottx3
Location: New York,NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well i can't deny..this is a pretty good system..no difference from DS lite except the appearance..but honestly i don't think anyone would buy this now that the DSi and DSiXL has come out. With the 3DS coming soon in march..I guess if you can't afford the new ones you would get this one..but atleast lower the price a little..and what annoys me about this system is that the stylus is really small. I have this system, the DS lite, and the DSi. Right now the Dsi is my favorite.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nintendo DS System (Gamestop Refurbished)
It sucks dsI xl is better
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/10
therealdeal1997
Location: Cleveland TN
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got a DS for christmas my brother got mad and threw it down . I did not like it much the new DSI XL is bigger and better.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
5 of 54 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>