GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NBA 08

NBA '08 brings all the great graphics and features you've enjoyed from the the previous game, and now with a host of new features and innovative gameplay functionality. To complement the fast-paced basketball action, NBA '08 introduces an all-new progression system where players earn skill and experience rewards that can be used to thoroughly customize player appearance and play styles.
Average Customer Rating:
9.5
9.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NBA 08
Review 1 for NBA 08
Few flaws, otherwise great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/19/08
Cody
I love this game, if you’re looking for a good basketball game; this is the one to buy. Great camera angle in the behind the action instead of the type of angle you watch on TV. Not as challenging as I would like, as I put the game on its highest level (Hall of Fame) and still could win 100-40 in 5 minute quarters. Is somewhat too easy to score and block, not as smooth as some would like, but still a lot of fun to play. The worst flaw of all in this game is that the ball could obviously go through the net, but they don't count it and you keep playing as if it was a missed shot and you got the rebound, or it's the exact opposite, it obviously doesn't go in and they count it anyway. This will happen once in maybe every 5-10 games. Great game all in all with a few flaws, its amazing graphics and easy play makes me give it an 8/10.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NBA 08
Nice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/12
ThePS3Gamer313
Location: Detroit,MI
This game is perfect for: party gamers
its a nice game for an 08 game in my opionon has good graphics, good gameplay and good sound i give it a 10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NBA 08
Terrible.
Posted on:10/1/07
James
If you hate or love basketball, stay away. The closest I can compare this game to is probably David Robinson's Basketball on the Genesis. Controls are unresponsive. The worse is no Franchise mode. Only decent concept is the Plays of the week. if that is on live or 2k, it would be great, but not on this broken game. I played the actual game, I bought it at EB on saturday, so I'm not reviewing the demo.
Review 4 for NBA 08
Serious!???
Posted on:10/1/07
ChampJ
I don't think this game is up to par with live 08 and 2k8. the graphics are okay but the gameplay is not good at all. I don't like that the graphics for PS2 look betterf than for PS3 for this game. Why can't the company that made the system make a great game for it too? I played the demo but i didn't like it. It's not differnet, much. If you don't like challenges, get this. I planning on NBA 2k8.
Review 5 for NBA 08
What is this
Posted on:10/5/07
Never Again
What is tjis game is so bad. Yeah the graphics aren't that bad but come on now they do the same dunks keep doing the same moves when they can't get past one another. Trust me if you are looking for a basketball game get Live it is a whole lot better. Then this crappy. Last thing they need to stop making this game for the PS3 the PS2 version is better than this
Review 6 for NBA 08
Wait and see when it comes out.
Posted on:9/5/07
HoosierDaddy
I had NBA07. It had, BY FAR, the best graphics of any basketball game…..maybe ever. Don't get me wrong, there were a few things missing. No franchise mode and easy level was way too easy, but it was fun and visually superior. Just wait and see what 08 is like when it comes out and go from there because NBA07 was way better than Live07.
Review 7 for NBA 08
This should be cooler game
Posted on:7/30/07
Scott V
I am looking forwarding for NBA 08 since I played the demo of 07 and I thought it was pretty cool and way better graphics than NBA 2k7 on PS3 and the gameplay is much more comforable and easier to control. I am hoping they are going to make Da Bulls team stronger if they get Kobe there.
Review 8 for NBA 08
Why would they make this
Posted on:6/25/07
NO
Why would they make this game again. It is terrible yea the graphics are alright but the gameplay is terrible. They don't even have signature style or commentary, for crying out loud it's a PS3 game, take my advice from someone who bought NBA 07 for PS3 to go with another game.
Review 9 for NBA 08
Absolutely the BEST
Posted on:5/28/07
A Customer
this is the best game ever I had a chance to play it before it comes out in the market, and let me tell u guys its the best videogame I HAVE EVER PLAYED IN MY LIFE. So when it comes out in stores be the first one in line to get a copy of this incredible game.
Review 10 for NBA 08
It's alright
Posted on:9/29/07
outlaw
The graphics are ok,the mechanics suck and anyone can hit the three.Trying to rebound is a pain in the rear.Even if you got good postion you'll still get out rebounded.I bought this game yesterday and I'm trading it as soon as 2K8 comes out.
Review 11 for NBA 08
NBA 08
Posted on:5/27/07
A.R
Man this game is going to be the best on of all the Nba Live games! Why.. cause the shooting is so real and also when you do a slamdunk you can see the Basketball net go down! People buy this game and you will not be disapointed!
Review 12 for NBA 08
NOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:6/19/07
Former Gamer
Why do they have to bring it back this game was terrible on the PS3 it had the same dunks over over over again they should just cancel it and just put it to the real hoops game like NBA Live 08 and NBA 2K8 NO MORE NBA 08 FOR PS3
Review 13 for NBA 08
this game really sucks
Posted on:9/22/07
jefte
this game sucks because i played the demo on the ps3 and it really sucked because its the exact same thing as the nba 07,people who likes nba games,GET THE NBA LIVE 08, ITS REALLY AWESOME and it has better graphics
Review 14 for NBA 08
nba live 08
Posted on:9/14/07
baller
well any idiot who says this game is gonna suck they can buzz off cuz if nba 07 was awsome but had some bad things i bet you theyll make 08 even better i just hope they make the raptors better
Review 15 for NBA 08
It's I guess okay
Posted on:10/7/07
coolkid24
This game is okay. Its not totally good and it's not totally bad. I don't want to return it or trade it. The game could more game modes but other than that I thought the game was pretty good.
Review 16 for NBA 08
Swing and a miss
Posted on:9/25/07
amh2526
I played the demo for the PS3. Almost nothing new. The graphics are good but not great. Live 08 demo was way better. 2K8 will be better for sure. If you have NBA 07, don't bother buying 08.
Review 17 for NBA 08
NBA 08 NOT!
Posted on:6/19/07
Kaz007
this game is trash for psp i would rather get it for PS2 or PS3 and i hope that players that dont dunk shouldnt be able to dunk in dat game. Its alright but i'll rather get NBA LIVE or 2K8
Review 18 for NBA 08
This game is str8 up trash
Posted on:8/22/07
A Customer
Please don't buy this game. Every one shoots the same way, and even Ben Wallace can hit 3's on this game. When you dunk, you hear a the nets insted of the rim rattle.
Review 19 for NBA 08
The Badest game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:5/27/07
Da Man
The graphics are going to be sweat!! and the dunks also.