GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sonic Mega Collection

Sonic Mega Collection is the definitive "gold-standard" Sonic collection for all game enthusiasts. For newcomers, Sonic Mega Collection offers an opportunity for new Sonic fans to experience the appeal of the original Sonic.
Average Customer Rating:
8.438
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
4
8 stars
0
7 stars
4
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 out of 1681%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sonic Mega Collection
Review 1 for Sonic Mega Collection
Sonic Classic
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/10
Sunshine2000
This is a great game. It has lots of the classic sonic games on it such as: sonic the hedgehog, sonic the hedgehog 2, sonic the hedgehog 3, sonic and knuckles, sonic 3D blast etc. They also have the intruction booklets for some the games that are availible. There is also an extras menu where you can look at sonic the hedgehog comics or look at pictures of sonic and his friends. When you play this game, you will see that where some of the games are suposed to be, there are question marks. The question marks mean that there is a game in that spot that you havn't unlocked yet. To unlock those games, I think you need to do really good in a game or something. I don't know how to unlock them yet because I have never unlocked one. But, other than that, I think you will like this game. I would reccommend this game to people who liked the past sonic games. BYE!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sonic Mega Collection
great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/10
lemonhead34
Location: NY
sonic mega collection is an awesome game! the gameplay is great
the graphics are awesome and the sound is fantastic. its 6 games in
one game plus extras. it has: sonic the hedgehog, sonic the hedgehog 2,
sonic the hedgehog 3, sonic and knuckles,doc robotniks mean bean
machine,sonic spinball and sonic 3D blast. overall i give this game a
10.0 anyway its totally worth getting.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sonic Mega Collection
If you want a good taste of the classics, this is the game to get.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/10
SonicSpeed360
Growing up with the 3-D Sonic games, I had somewhat overlooked the old Sonic games. So when I heard about the Mega Collection, I decided to get it, to see how Sonic was in his hey-day and how he compared to the blazing fast games of today. So I picked up the game, popped the disc into my Gamecube, and started to play the games, one by one. The result? I don't think I could have called it anything more than amazing. In my opinion, Sonic's 2-D games were so more unique than ones like Sonic Heroes (which still stays very close to its 2-D roots), and I could definitely understand why Sonic was so popular back then. I already knew it had the basics, Sonic 1,2,and 3. What I didn't know was that it contained a lot more, like Sonic and Knuckles, which, if I'm right, had some sort of a lock on feature with other games. Turns out, those games are there for you to unlock too! I most enjoyed Sonic 3, but all games in there are classics. The games are direct ports of their Genesis counterparts, so naturally, they play almost exactly the way they would on a Genesis, but with minor differences here and there. But the main point is the games hold up fabulously after all these years. Sega still releases the classics, like on Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection for the X360, or the Classic Collection for the DS. And people still play them too. So, generally speaking, 3-D Sonic games haven't totally dominated the market...yet. The graphics are really good for the Genesis, better than I thought. I can tell that there were some shots at 3-D elements, such as when you fight some of the bosses or even in the title screens. The graphics were really good for their time, and I am sure people were impressed by them , because I know I was. The Music, without a doubt, is one of the most noticeable elements of not just the games included here, but for any video game (seriously...what game DOESN'T have music?). And the music in these Sonic games are no exception. The music here was unlike anything I had heard in the 3-D games, and I still listen to them today. Whether it's the unforgettable music of Green Hill Zone, the Egyptian feel of Oil Ocean, or the circus-like feel of Carnival Night, these tunes will definitely be stuck in your head at school, in bed, or anywhere. I find myself humming to them all the time. The music here is excellent, and I can't call it anything else. The length of all these games combined is huge. I don't think 48 hours of nonstop play would be enough to beat every game here..with all Chaos Emeralds, of course. Especially if you have Blue Sphere unlocked. I don't have it yet, but I do know that it has some 100 minigames. So you will be keeping this game for quite a while. Storyline? Not many of these have one. With these games, It's not looking at long, boring dialogue, or time-consuming cut-scenes. Rather, it's more about blazing through the level and trying not to get hit by an enemy so you can get to the special stage at the end. The challenge in these games is fairly high, and I often find myself encounter a couple of tricky puzzles along the way. For example, in Sonic 3's Hydrocity Zone Act 2, you'll find yourself spindashing through blocks trying to not get crushed by the wall that is closely following you behind. And take Dr.Robotnik's Mean Bean Machine. It's a rip-off ot Tetris, no doubt, but it does provide a fair amount of challenge. I was actually stuck on the second level for quite a while. And of course the special stages are made challenging, whether it's gathering a certain amount of rings or running along the blue spheres. Depending on your style of play, you might want to switch around the controls a little. For example, I use the control stick for normal levels, but when I get to a special stage, I usually switch to the D-Pad for better control, because it's easy to screw something up and just barely miss that Chaos Emerald. But with this game, there aren't a lot of buttons, mostly just move and jump, so you can
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sonic Mega Collection
Great Extras!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/10
Ethanthegamer
Location: Chicago, IL
There are loads of extras including Comics, Illustrations, and Movies! It's also a great place to learn a little about Sonic if you select History of Sonic! :D
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sonic Mega Collection
better than virtual console by far
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/11
gamefan4564
Location: shelbyville mi
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this may be an older collection, and the genesis collection for ps3 and xbox 360 may have more games, but if you have a wii, and it's your only system and you like sonic, think about how many dollars you could save by buying this game instead of downloading all the sonic games on virtural console. each game is classic, but, this is only genesis games. remember this if you want the sonic games from virtual console
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sonic Mega Collection
Sonic at his best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/12
Dman17
Location: LA, California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a collection of some of the best Sonic games of all time. If your a Sonic fan I would highly recommend this. Includes: Sonic the hedgehog, SOnic the hedgehog 2, Sonic the hedgehog 3, Sonic and Knuckles, Sonic Chaos, Sonic Spinball, Dr. Robotnicks mean bean machine, and more!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sonic Mega Collection
It is the best game compilation ever!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/11
DarkHyperSonic
Location: Woodbridge,VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has some of the best sonic games.It has Sonic The Hedghog,Sonic The Hedghog 2,Sonic The Hedghog 3,Sonic&Knuckles,Sonic 3-D Blast,Sonic Spinball, and Dr.Robotnik Mean Bean Machine.It also has five unlockable game.I recommend this game to all Sonic fan with a Gamecube or Wii.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sonic Mega Collection
Classic Gaming At Its Best!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/12
BlueLightning26
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Sonic Mega Collection is one of the best compilation of classic Sonic The Hedgehog games that I have ever seen. It includes favorites such as Sonic The Hedgehog 1,2, and 3 and many others. Evertime I play this game I get nostalgic as I'm listening to music such as Chemical Plant and Green Hill. Once you pick up the controller and start playing, you will end up playing for hours on end as you get absorbed into all of the fun levels. If you are looking for a Sonic game for the Gamecube, then Sonic Mega Collection is definintily the way to go!!
My only real gripe with this game is that Sonic CD was not included which is kind of a bummer because I have never played Sonic CD and would have loved to see what it is all about. But other than that minor thing, this game gets an A+.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Sonic Mega Collection
great classic games!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/12
legoas
Location: earth
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is awesome for having like every single classic sonic game this is awesome! one of my favorites is egg mans mean bean machine!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sonic Mega Collection
All classic games in one! WOOHOOO!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/11
ilikesonicman12
Location: U.S.A
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
All the classic Sonic games.. ahh it brings back so many memories I LOVE YOU SONIC!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sonic Mega Collection
Great Collection
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/11
nintendega
Location: columbus, oh
Great collection of classic sonic games! i would have loved to have seen "chaos" in the mix but it wasn't so if your looking for that go for sonic gems collection. it features Sonic 1,2,3, S&K, Dr robnics MBM, Sonic Spinball, and unlockables Kuckles in sonic 2, sonic 3 and knuckles, Blue Sphere, Flicky, and Ristar. the way to unlock them involves starting all the games 20 to 30 times each. I would suggest trying to find this over going and getting the virtual console games because after you get all the games that are in this collection on virtual console you'd have spent well over 50 dollars where as this is only 7. Great game(s) pick it up.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Sonic Mega Collection
this is a must have if your a sonic fan
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/11
metaridley
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game has the following games ,sonic1,2,3,sonic and knuckles,robtniks mean bean machine,sonic 3D blast,knuckles in sonic2,and flickey.....any die hard sonic fan needs this for their collection,it has some of sonics best games ever it also has rare sonic trailers rare artwork and comic book covers from the sonic comic series and there are games you must unlock i did not even list.anyone that likes sonic has to buy this
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Sonic Mega Collection
alright for a collection game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/11
grady
Location: mobile, alabama
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is a great game for old Genesis gamer to play, and also for new gamers who never played them. The only games i can really say were discent are Sonic the Hedgehog 2, Sonic the Hedgehog 3, and Sonic and Knuckles. The other games really bored me, and i ended up sending this game back to gamestop. I can only recommend this game to hardcore sonic fans and gamers who have nothing else to play.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Sonic Mega Collection
Great sonic game for starters
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/12
DKandDK
This game is a collection of past sonic games including the original on the genesis. Most of the games are good like the original three and the pinball game, but sonic 3d blast is terrible. The graphics were not improved much from the older games. So overall I would recomend this game as either a first sonic game or if you want to play the classics.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Sonic Mega Collection
Worthless trash
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/11
ninjasrule
Location: Albany, NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
So I got this game and apparently it was hacked, sold back to GameStop, then bought by me because Sonic was moving and I didn't have my hands on the controller and when I tried to move Sonic he wouldn't go the way I wanted him to go so either it was hacked or Sonic has a mind of his own which is kind of creepy.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jamesboyadvance
Ma
 
Please wait while more information about Jamesboyadvance is loaded.
Additional information about Jamesboyadvance could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Posted 2/3/12
You unplug the romote and plug it back in.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Sonic Mega Collection
Lil-J's Review For Sonic Mega Collection.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/11
LilJthecritic
Location: North Carolina
I had previously rented Sonic Mega Collection, so when it was at Gamestop it was A surefire for the Sonic collection. The games are preserved perfectly. Even considering the preservation of these games they might not run exactly how you remember them, considering many of these (including Sonic 1-3) are the japanese versions. Not the american versions. The games included on this disc are... Sonic The Hedgehog 1, 2, & 3, Genesis versions, including the Sonic & Knuckles lock-on games and the Blue Sphere lock-on. The lock on cartridges can be played by themselves, but Blue Sphere lock-on mode cannot be removed from Sonic 3. Sonic Spinball, Dr. Robotnik's Mean Bean Machine (which sucked) and Sonic 3D Blast. The bonus games (at least the bonus games you don't get in the first five minutes) are... Flicky, Ristar, and Comix Zone, (That's surprising!). ...At least, these are all the bonus games I know about. Hundreds of covers from the popular archie comic book series are included. As well as the entire comic, "Sonic Super Special: Sonic Firsts.". An excellent comic if you sit down and read it. I don't understand the comic book covers though. Look at it this way. You're A kid that loves Sonic's comic books. You have no money and go to the comic store to read some comics. Come to find out the comics are covered in shrink wrap and you can only look at the covers. Depressing huh? The "full" manuals for all the games on the disc are present. As well as the covers. The only other bonuses on the disc are the Sonic Adventure 2 opening movie. ...and the Sonic CD opening and ending movies (which are awesome!). Surprisingly enough Sonic CD is not on this disc. Rather, Sonic CD is on the Sonic Gems Collection. (which is also A great game) The only other bonus on this disc is the History Of Sonic Movie. A great addition to this disc. Overall, Sega's got my attention with this one! Nice job Sega for creating the best collection disc i've ever played. 9 out of 10.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10