GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dragon Ball Z: Budokai

A spectacular 3D world filled with the fiercest fighters the universe has ever known. Test your skills against the most powerful Dragon Ball Z heroes and the most sinister villains. Every battle is more intense, more dangerous, and more epic than the one before. Will you be the last warrior standing?
Average Customer Rating:
8.765
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
3
8 stars
4
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 1794%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai
Review 1 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai
First of a new generation
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/12
KillstreakXD977
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Great game thats all i'm gonna say overall. Graphics are fantastic,game play a bit tricky but ok overall. The only thing i didn't like was that the voices were lony english i wanted the option of origanal japanese voices.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai
poor
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/12
animeboy
the game is boring because they fight in a straight line and they don't have good power you can't go around the battle field.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai
Best dbz game ever in the budokai series
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/12
1614620
Location: Wingate,NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
best dbz game ever that I just can't explain it how awsome this game really is! The graphics really detailed and over 60 combat moves in the game. The gameplay is fast and excellent, and story mode is absolutley fun and also challenging because of facing more powerful villains such as frieza cell and androids. If you ever watched Dragon Ball Z Kai, then this game features the same heroes and villains and events from this popular cartoon show of today.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai
This is a fun and somewhat difficult game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/11
Rixter57
Location: Lynnwood, WA
this game is fun and addictive. But... the world tournament gets hard once you reach advanced mode.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai
One of the best DBZ games of the world...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/11
metalnick35
Location: new york,ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
when i bought this game i thought it was just a regular dbz game that i played. however it was great i would recommend this to people who like dbz and casual games.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai
The first dragon ball game to get it right
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/11
Gameland
Location: new york,ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This was a life changing game for me because it showed that Dragon Ball Z can be a great game you just have to put effort into it. The game play is done quite well it mixes button mashing with combos and that works very well but I would have like to have seen more characters and more moves to pull off. The game sound is okay nothing good the same can be said about the soundtrack. The graphics look quite well even today the game doesn't look that awful. The game does a good job with lasting appeal mostly because the game presents the story mode like a TV show so if you don't know anything about DBZ then you aren't lost and you can follow the story easily and will make you want to finish plus there are some alternate endings to amp lasting appeal up even more. This was the first DBZ game to get it right and has a very special spot in my heart
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai
This game is awesome!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/11
videogameplayer11
Location: unknown
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is so fun to play.When Vegeta transformed into a great ape I freaked out because it was way WAY taller than in the other games. If you are a DBZ fan and want a fun and great DBZ game this game is perfect for you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai
Dragonball z Budokai is one of the best ps2 games
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/11
cheeko22222
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Dragonball z Budokai is one of my favorite ps2 games, if not my most favorite, because the story mode is actually a great story with great cutscenes that render from the show itself, it just looks like a game version of the show. I grew up with this game ever since it came out and where ever I can find this game I would definitely play it some more. The only problem about it is that the story mode only ends after the cell saga, it doesn't have Buu or any of them in it. That's fine though because the next games have Buu, and still, this really is a great game because it also can satisfy everyone. Kids, especially, can play it, and even adults can have a fun time playing it.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai
Dragon Ball Z Perfection
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/11
Cmilla
Location: Michigan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Seriously, this was the first dbz game for me, and is still the best to date. There isnt any pointless board game story, or a story that lasts for 5 seconds, its an amazing story line. It lasts for quite a while, and ends after the best saga in dbz, the cell saga. Anybody who loves dbz needs it. I lost mine and am picking up another copy tomorrow. I cant wait to play the story line over again. If you want a perfect dbz game, this is your best bet. 100% Must own
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai
DRAGON BALL PERFECTION
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/11
JEDIALLIANCE
Location: Moundville,AL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Honestly this was my first ps2 game. I lost it and just bought a new copy. It's characters where accurate for the time it was made. It is one of the best Dragon Ball Z games I have ever played. I would prefer the other more advanced ones to have been made in this format. I like it's 3d yet still side to side look. The others such as Budokai Tenkaichi would of caught my attention more if it was like this game. Yet they are still very good with things like the character selection. In a brief word the best one for this game is AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
nick1dbz
Green,OH
 
Please wait while more information about nick1dbz is loaded.
Additional information about nick1dbz could not be loaded.
BEST DBZ Game
Posted 6/10/13
This was my 1st DBZ game I went through the story mode and finished it all. I really liked the character selection because teen Gohan is Super Saiyan 2 but ONLY Gohan not Goku or Vegeta. And at 'The Final battle' ( Teen Gohan VS Super Perfect Cell ) Was really tough because Gohan had 2 health bars and Super Perfect Cell had 3 health bars!! I also hope they make Dragonball Z Raging Blast 3 in a couple months!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai
Good Game But needs more characters and moves.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/11
00710
Location: California, Los Angeles
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
It is a good game but there is no buu saga in story mode. Goku should be able to go up to ss4. There should be more costumes so it's not the best game. The graphics suck. The characters are hard to see clearly. I know it's not my t.v. because i have an LED Vizio flat screen and all of my friends who have the game think it is hard to see the characters. They Don,t even punch each other. Three quarters of the time they hit right in front of the opponent, and with out hitting them, the opponent looses health. So overall i suggest Dragon Ball Raging Blast 2!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TYTY24
 
Please wait while more information about TYTY24 is loaded.
Additional information about TYTY24 could not be loaded.
Good just a little more
Posted 4/1/11
i guess u could say the game was good its a good begineers game to start with but i recomend the other 2 budokais ,tenkaichi series,and the raging blast.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai
awesome and cool
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/11
senorpepe
Location: California,garden grove
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i belive this game is cool for many resasons. fighting powers and you can do cool crazy tricks.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai
EXCELENT GAME!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/11
mariobro12
Location: U.S.A. Illinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love this game it never gets boring. The graphics are very good for a pretty old game. I just wish that you could move faster like budokai tenkaichi 3. Overall 10 out of 10!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai
THIS IS HARDCORE IT AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/10
jassi1232009
Location: PA, Betlehem
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's a real good Dragon Ball Z game it's deflently worth the 3 bucks !!!!!!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Cool
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
16 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai
awesome game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/09
jake999999
the first dragonballz game is really cool.the graphics are pretty good. you also get a good variety of special moves such as kamehameha and galick gun.the bad part is you dont get to many characters. the story line isn't very long either. you go through saiyan saga [ raditz,nappa,vegeta],frieza saga[recoome, burter, jeice,ginyu and of course frieza], android saga [#16,#17,#18,#19 and dr. gero]cell saga [cell junors and cell]. there are also good combos. but in budokai one you can only go up through super saiyan one, super saiyan two and super form.over all this game is really awesome. I would reccomend it to you.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai
great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/08
watevr
this game has pretty good graphics. i wish they had a little bit more characters, they should have more than just friezas first form and his last. the sound is pretty normal. the special moves were so cool. they had really good unlockables. one unlockable you got to play as one of cells very first forms. controls are pretty easy. it is one of those pick up and play games, except some special moves are kind of hard to do. the storyline covered most of the basics of the first chapter of dragon ball z. the challenge was great, they changed your health bar was set up if you were damaged before battle. overall the game was really good, it is still fun to play on multiplayer mode after you have beaten the game. this game propably took me around 4 hours to complete the story mode and the unlockables and the tournaments.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai
Starting It Off
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/08
Lil JTG13
I totally recommend this to any DBZ fans who are just beginning but want to be original and start from the Saiyan Saga. The controls are easy to learn and the characters are pretty strong and great once you start. The storyline was what I mostly enjoyed. Especially the 'What If?" storyline. It is pretty fun and the music you may not like but you are so into the game the music and sounds fade out. I had this game a long time ago well since it came out. Although I don't have I am getting my lil brother to buy and let him start on the DBZ fun. The mini games such as the VS Mode , Cell Games, and Martial Arts Tournament (Advanced) are fun. This game has a well planned out scheme but I really say take care of this game because if you end up with nothing to do this is the game to fallback on.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
P3t3r
gamestop
 
Please wait while more information about P3t3r is loaded.
Additional information about P3t3r could not be loaded.
Great and Awsome
Posted 1/29/11
You should buy this game it makes the ps2 rock your your world.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)