GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

GameCube Game Boy Player

Game Boy systems have always been the best way to play when you're on the go. But when you're at home it's nice to kick back and play games on the big screen. The Game Boy Player brings it all together. Game Boy Player lets you play all your Game Boy, Game Boy Color and Game Boy Advance games on your TV through the Nintendo GameCube. It's the perfect match.Product will be available in Jet Black only.
Average Customer Rating:
10
10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 1191%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for GameCube Game Boy Player
Review 1 for GameCube Game Boy Player
awsome!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/09
GHTE
I got this a long time ago mabye 2 years and it still works! I love it! It gives you the feel of playing a gmcube but gameboy games! It works for gameboy color games and gameboy advanced games so any kind of gameboy games. You just put it on the bottom of your gamecube put the game in the slot put the disk it comes with in the normall game place and turn it on. You can use you gamecube controller or buy a cable for REALLY no money at all and hook it up. If you have a gameboy multiplayer cable and cable to play on the game cube you plug the gamecube cable in the gamecube and the other end into the multiplayer P1 hole and conect the other players to the multiplayer cable put the gameboy game in the gomeboy gamecube player and play.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
21 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for GameCube Game Boy Player
Probably the best peripheral of its kind
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/12
UnkaTony
Location: Cleburne, TX
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The Game Boy Player was one of the reasons that I recently purchased a Nintendo GameCube. After a simple installation you're instantly able to play hundreds of new games on the GameCube without paying extra for a Game Boy, and play them on whatever size TV or monitor that you have it hooked up to, so old eyes like mine won't go blind trying to play them on a 2.5" screen. And when installed, it's integral to the GameCube and only increases it's dimensions by an extra 1 1/4" of height at the base of the unit. Nice to see an exterior plug and play device that's actually out of the way when you install it! Good job, team Nintendo with that one!
I had some questions to ask beforehand, and luckily, the sales associate at one of the local Game-Stop shops actually had experience with the product.
The best part of it is that games don't seem as pixelated as you might think from jumping from a tiny hand held game screen to something you can actually see. Of course, this probably depends more on the quality of the games being used; since a bad game will look bad no matter what the size of the screen it's played. Garbage In/Garbage Out, you know...
It comes with a Game Boy Player Disc, which is inserted into the GameCube, and I supposed instructs the machine to work as a Game Boy Advance. If you have additional GBA systems, you can link them into the GameCube via Game Boy Advance Game Link Cables (one for each GBA used, 3 cables for 4 player games since the GameCube itself is treated as the #2 GBA in the network).
The Nintendo Game Boy Advance e-Reader can be used with the Game Boy Game Player (Pokemon lovers rejoice!) Sadly, I'm not a Pokemon lover, so I'll probably never know if it works or not.
If you've had a Game Boy for years and it's getting harder to tell what's going on because you're getting older and can't see, or you're living in denial about having to get glasses, grab a GameCube and the Game Boy Game Player. It really was a great gaming investment for an old-timer like me.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for GameCube Game Boy Player
Totally worth buying
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/10
geek123
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I just bought this and played some games on it. the sound is great and the color too. you can actually have your own frames and play old gameboy and gameboy color games. if you can't afford a gameboy advance this is the thing to buy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for GameCube Game Boy Player
Make your gamecube happy again
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/6/11
Gamer756
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
You are probably sitting here reading this and asking what i mean. Ok so you probably have a PS3 or XBOX360 or WII. you play them alot. And when was the last time you picked up your gameboy or played your gamecube? That is a hard question isnt it unless your a big GBA or GC fan. Get a gameboy player! Best 10 dollars spent on a nintendo product ever. you may be thinking: But i dont have a gameboy, or i dont have a memory card, or some other stupid reason. All you need to do is go buy this and a few gameboy games and make sure you have a gamecube. Boom instant hours of fun and memories. case closed get one! play your game boy, gameboy color, and gameboy advanced games on your tv!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for GameCube Game Boy Player
Awesome for Gameplay Streaming
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/14
TolerantCoot6
Location: Ponce,PR
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Just like The Super Gameboy Add-On for the SNES,The Gamecube Gameboy Player is awesome for recording gameplay.The best thing is the Gamecube Gameboy Player is that if you connect any Component cable or S-Video/Composite (depends on what capture card you have) the is no worrying if its not compatible.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for GameCube Game Boy Player
Great Idea Nintendo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/12
1730t589
Location: Amesbury,MA
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This product looks amazing. I would love to play Mario Kart Super Circuit on my GameCube. If I were you I would buy this product. Also it's only $ 9.99 so it has great value.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GameCube Game Boy Player
works, but isn't compatible with the wii
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/11
gamefan4564
Location: shelbyville mi
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
this is probably the best way to play any gameboy game on a tv. it can play every gameboy game, it's got a pretty good design, and it works, but the only flaw is the gamecube analog stick makes the games feel weird. but this is a good buy if you still have a gamecube
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GameCube Game Boy Player
THE BEST
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/11
geek510
Location: Oakland,ca
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I like this gamecube gameboy player because I have a lot of gameboy games to play with this gamecube gameboy player
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for GameCube Game Boy Player
gamecube owners rejoice!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/12
ryry829
Location: Clifton, NJ
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Just when you thought this system couldn't kick more butt, this comes out and your writing ona wall "i will never doubt nintendo again" 100 times on a wall. for those of you like me that have traded in your gameboy and ds but kept the games are laughing in all of your faces. it might not look amazing or have tons of features but it does what its named, its a gameboy player for the gamecube.many games are great fun but are held back by the size of the screen, that is no longer an issue if you get this, you can see why im giving it a 10.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PokemonNintendoLover531
 
Please wait while more information about PokemonNintendoLover531 is loaded.
Additional information about PokemonNintendoLover531 could not be loaded.
YES!!!!
Posted 2/17/13
I've been longing to play Pokemon Sapphire for soooooooooooooooooooooooooo(,50000 os later) long, I thought I'd die. They've let you go just about everywhere but Hoenn in the DS/3DS and Im like "NOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!" Then my dad found this, and I am forever happy. ^_^
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for GameCube Game Boy Player
Great,Just wish it was available online
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/11
Kitsune
Location: Meridian, MS
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I loved this back in the day but it's not available online and the nearest one is 35 miles away D: and can't use my card on other sites to buy this DD: too bad but if you see one and have a Gamecube defiantly buy ! ! !
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GameCube Game Boy Player
A new peripheral
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/12
Matty
Location: Port St. Lucie, FL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This peripheral is very good, especially when you play Gameboy Advanced games on the Gamecube. It rocks.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Evul
Texas
 
Please wait while more information about Evul is loaded.
Additional information about Evul could not be loaded.
New Stock???
Posted 6/12/12
I have used this set up before and its fantastic, but I sadly do not own one. And with every store I visit no one seems to carry one (or any GC or GBA accessories), and the website claims to not have any ready for purchase. Does anyone at all know when they will have stock refilled (I know its discontinued lol) so I can purchase this please?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)