GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition

Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition includes the original version of its award-winning RPG The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind, along with content from the two Morrowind expansions: Tribunal and Bloodmoon.Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind:An epic, open-ended single-player RPG, Morrowind allows you to create and play any kind of character imaginable. You can choose to follow the main storyline and find the source of the evil blight that plagues the land, or set off on your own to explore strange locations and develop your character based on their actions throughout the game. Featuring stunning 3D graphics, open-ended gameplay, and an incredible level of detail and interactivity, Morrowind offers a gameplay experience like no other.Elder Scrolls III: Tribunal:In Tribunal, you journey to the capital city of Morrowind, called Mournhold, to meet the other two god-kings of Morrowind, Almalexia and Sotha Sil. Your journey will lead you to the Clockwork City of Sotha Sil and massive, epic-sized dungeons, where strange and deadly creatures await you, including goblins, lich lords, and the mysterious Fabricants.Elder Scrolls III: Bloodmoon:Bloodmoon takes you to the frozen Island of Solstheim where you'll experience snow, blizzards, and new creatures, including frost trolls, ice minions, and wolves...just to name a few. You'll have a choice of stories to follow and have the opportunity to defend the colony, take control over how the colony is built up, and eliminate the werewolves. Or, you can decide to join the werewolves and become one of them, opening up a whole new style of gameplay.
Average Customer Rating:
9.233
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
10 stars
20
9 stars
5
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 3090%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
Review 1 for Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
Simply the longest lasting symbol of perfection.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/13
PipArtemis
Location: Florida
I first played Morrowind on PC and since then it's a game I can always pick up and be sucked into it for hours. From first getting off the ship at Seyda Neen to arriving at the floating city of Vivec and beyond.
You create the character in any fashion you want in a level of detail you just can't find in today's games. From then on you are given a simple task and dropped into a massive and alive world, free to do whatever you chose.
Should you take the time to walk to your destinations (for the most part you're walking everywhere as there is a very limited fast travel network) you'll find many things to distract you, be it the wrong turn you took or a man falling from the sky, how about the crumbling ruins just down the hill?
There are DAYS of quests to do and a king's ransom worth of wealth to be made and found all you have to do is explore.
Combat is stat based, much like everything in the game, your chance to hit is based on your fatigue level, your level of skill with the weapon class you're using and the enemies stats such as likeliness to dodge, block, etc... So you want to save often, rest up whenever possible, and try to keep a healing item or spell handy for those tight situations.
All in all, I rate this as the best of the Elder Scrolls series. The hardest part to get people to overlook is the graphics. A lot of people who haven't played the game before bring it to the table as the con of the game. While it is nowhere near the graphics of Oblivion or even in the ballpark of Skyrim, for the generation of this game it pushed the bar of what you can do in an open-world game. If you play this on PC rather than console you can get the overhaul mod which brings it to roughly Oblivion quality graphics and adds extensively onto the amount of gameplay.
Everybody will have a different experience and niche in the world, just like in the real world. It's like living another life starting from the ground up to become a Legend that will be heard of for years to come.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
SHOW THE BEST GAME STEVEN!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/6/13
axelmaster
Location: PHOENIX,AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
steven you shall show audience how good is morrowind: you get a big amount of fun, great graphics (kinda...) awesome game, is very cheap AND last but not least you get a bff
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
The elder scrolls changed my view on videogames.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/12
masterMDW
Location: westerville, ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Morrowind is just one of the most amazing games in gamer history, the elder scrolls series is the best series since fall out, halo, WOW, and GTA.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
nice game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/12
hardgameing3
Location: Columbus,OHIO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i like this game not good graphics but still fun not sayin its bad i wish u could fast travel and it shows a arrow where u need to go and i hate the combat u miss when ur striking some one and u cant block it blocks sometimes for u i like that u chop slash and stab thats cool and i wish they made it harder to find armor like i got full ebony armor at level one then full daedric armor at level three daedric wepons at level two but besides that its a cool game i like how theres light medium and heavy instead of just light and heavy i rank oblivion first skyrim second morrowind third never played daggerfall or arena want to though yep its kinda lagged on xbox 360 but i like it
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
Second best of the series.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/12
XxK0nceptivexX
Location: Rome, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was a great sequel to a disappointing Daggerfall. Gameplay is great, graphics are pretty good for a 2002 game. The only Elder Scrolls game better than Morrowind is The Elder Scrolls: Arena
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wolfmoon
NY
 
Please wait while more information about Wolfmoon is loaded.
Additional information about Wolfmoon could not be loaded.
Interesting
Posted 8/21/12
You are the only person i have seen say arena was better than 2, and without a doubt the only person alive who values arena above Morrowind. For many of us Morrowind IS the elder scrolls.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
AHHH
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/12
TACOTACOS
Location: Dudley, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I DEMAND A REMAKE OF THIS GAME SAME FEATURES SAME EVERYTHING BUT AMAZIING GRAPHICS AND MAYBE A LITTLE MORE SPECIFIC ON THE GUESTS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
Best RPG of its time and so far
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/12
Zodiac
Location: Syracuse,NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was revolutionary when it came out. It is a true RPG and one of the greatest games to be created. This game is for a true RPG fan and is not watered down like future Elder Scrolls games. The difficulty of Morrowind is what gives you the satisfaction of actually completing quests. Here are the differences between Morrowind and future Elders Scrolls games such as Oblivion and Skyrim. Positive: 1. Difficulty- provides satisfaction upon completion 2. Individuality- created characters are much more individualized and provides much more customization skill wise when leveled up 3. Leveled items and characters-ties in with #1 except deals more with items and enemies and very good items are not easy to find or obtain and actually appear at the start of the game, also bandits don"t have daedric armor like in oblivion 4. Artifacts- much stronger than normal weapons and have unique enchantments unlike in later games where most artifacts are useless 5. Secrets-many things in this game are not usually handed to you or are easy to find out which makes the game unpredictable(like finding very good items in tree stumps or merchant mudcrabs with 10,000 gold) Negative: 1. Voice acting-almost everything important must be read and only short introduction phrases are actually spoken by people in the game 2. Side Quests-factions and houses dont have compelling storylines like in the main and expansion quests of this game. They are really more of just doing work and earning money or unique equipment 3.Combat-Wether or not you actually it some one is based of of a dice roll-like system and is altered by your skill level with a weapon and your agility and there are only three different types of attacks(slash, stab and chop) Overall there is way too many good things abot this game then there is bad and I have played Elder Scrolls 3,4, and 5 and Morrowind is still my favorite.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
Overall, The Best TES Title To Date.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/12
TheTobarMethod
Location: Wilkesboro, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I want to start with this game was released in 2002, so expect the graphics, sound, etc to be out-dated and bland when compared to modern standards. Anyway! The Elder Scrolls 3: Morrowind is the 3rd installment of the well established Elder Scrolls series. It takes place in Morrowinds Vvardenfell District and during the resurgence of the Sixth House. You have the same amount of freedom and open ended fun to experience as in all TES games, but Morrowind, has something different...Magic, laugh you may, but if your a true RPG lover, you will claim this one is the best. bar none. i played Oblivion first back in 06 when i bought it with my 360 and it was amazingly good. i played Oblivion for 5 YEARS!!! once Fallout 3 come out, i started to get more into RPG's (everquest, WoW, Neverwinter Nights, Diablo etc) and once i picked Morrowind up,m nothing compared, the sheer magnitude of storyline and questing is literally staggering, i have been playing ONE CHARACTER FOR 3 YEARS AND STILL HAVE NOT FINISHED ANY STORYLINES BESIDES THE MAIN QUEST. it is brutalizing, how much content this game has. join the houses, guilds, temple, the imperial guard, the morag tong it doesnt matter, every playthrough is different and enticing. These are the pros: writing, length, environment, gameplay, replay value-----------These are the cons: accesibility(who would like it in modern terms) graphics, sound, and leveling curb(it is extremly harsh on u) but graphics and sound can be fixed., get the "morrowind 2012" mod, and u will have modern graphics and sound for a 10 year old game. the only serious issues that a person would have with this game, is how dated the combat system is, the out of the box graphics and sound, and the fact that there is virtually no voice acting(u have to read conversations and stuff) but other than that. it is a Grade A title. I got past all of its "Flaws" and cannot put it down unless i have to. it is just different....something is just beautifull about this game.....just buy it on the PC, mod it a little, and you too wil join the ranks.....thank you
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
the best there that was ever made
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/12
dragonslayer6
Location: California,Ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
when i got this game it was awhole new exprience for because it was my first RPG and i'd loved it the gameplay was so on the graphics were great! and i would recomemened wow i can't spell oops srry but anyways this game well make your mind to keep think it's a really good game ik it doesn't have better graphics as skyrim and oblivion but it still has more content on the then just two other worlds on the them it has more weapons and armor i consider this to be the Best RPG in the world thanks bye .
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
A lot of fun, If this is what you prefer
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/31/12
Nonentity
Location: Logan, NM
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I used to play this game all the freaking time. Yes, this game takes on the love-hate persona with a lot of different gamers. I can see how people might find this game incredibly boring and frustrating, because it takes some thought and frustration to begin to understand it and then once you do, there is quite a few moments where there isn't much action. However, I kinda prefer that, and there is just some kind of feel to this game that makes it amazing. Hours upon hours of my life had been poured into this game, and with each hour, I would become even more addicted. Honestly, I'm not really sure what makes it so amazing. My advice to those that are looking in to this game, buy the original morrowind at the cheaper price, play it for a good amount of time, and this is where you will decide if you love it or hate it. Then if you decide you like it, buy the extension. The tribunual was the most fun I think I have ever had playing a video game, and the storyline, mixed with this extension, in my opinion is an incredible storyline, that even today I'll find myself reminiscing about. I have bought oblivion and skyrim, loved them both, but neither had the same apeal as this one. I don't have any idea why. Anyway, this game is not for everone, it's not. But for those that do like it, a lot of fun time is ahead of you. And writing this review has made me realize that I need to play this game again, so excuse me, Ima go start it up.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
The best ElderScroll andOne of The Best Games Ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/21/12
cataclysm117
Location: georgia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought this game when it came out and have dumped hours and hour days and days into this game and I got to say this was the best game of its time and is still one of the all time best games ever made would recommend to any Elder Scrolls fan and is the best Elder Scroll of all time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
Endless exploration and questing.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/12
Arthusbuttkick
Location: Illinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is worth every dollar. You will spend hundreds of hours and replay with different characters a great many times. Though the graphics are now dated the environments and architecture are varied and very eye catching. The weather is also very beautifully animated.
Morrowind is a massive open world you are free to wander freely and and at will. It would take hours upon hours to explore the entire game. You came play this game for days and still have an endless amount of content still to explore. While this is one of the many things that make this game great it also work in the opposite way as well. There are fast travel spots at most of the major cities, and you can't fast travel from any were. You usually have to buy a ride or you can get a few teleport spells. You therefor will spend a lot of time walking across the terrain which can become a little tedious over a long amount of time. But the looks of the environment, endless dungeons, wandering monsters and bandits to occupy you while treading the long roads and woods of Morrowind.
You will also find a great many side quests and people you can help while traveling. Along with the open world and endless exploration you also have a very long and interesting main quest line as well as numerous guild quest lines. Though the role playing in Morrowind isn't as in depth in the ways of choice making like the Bioware RPGs such as Dragon Age and Mass Effect, in Morrowind you can pick up anything, steal anything, kill anyone, pick any lock, and speak with anyone. Though you can also get caught.
Sadly along with the truly open world you can easily break a quest line by finding a quest item in a dungeon and sell it. Hours later someone will ask you to retrieve it. By then you will have probably have forgotten who you sold it to. You can also accidentally kill a quest character. If you kill a quest character you will be advised to reload, but as for the guild quests you will just have to quit your life as a mass murder if you want to keep from breaking a quest line.
While doing the major quests you will come across some choices that will add to the replay value of the game. You will also be confronted with quests that you may not carry out if you want to roleplay that in depth.
If you have played Oblivion and Skyrim you will be amazed by the length and size of Morrowind. From the length of the quest lines to the size of the world they generally get shorter and smaller each game.
Along with the length of the main quest line in my opinion is the best. It is by far the most interesting. Though Oblivion's is probably just as good, but as I said shorter.
The environment and architecture is also the most unique. You will find some traditional castles, Victorian style buildings, buildings and towers grown my sorcerers, and shacks and huts.
And to clock out all I've got to say is if you spend the un-godly amount of time to finish EVERYTHING in the game you can get two expansions along with player created content.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
Ondoubtly the best RPG game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/12
FROSTYspaceSHANKgamertag
Location: Greenwood, IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
What is there left to say about Morrowind and its two expansions? One of the most open-ended, sandbox-style games ever created? Check. A game that isn't a dumbed-down, hand-holding shell of its former self? Check. A game that can both constantly infuriate you yet hopelessly addict you at the same time? Check. Deus Ex was the first game to perfect the RPG-FPS style, but Morrowind takes first-person RPGs to a whole new level. For anyone who's looking for the most bang-for-your-buck in a PC game, Morrowind GOTY edition is the way to go.
Graphics: 9/10
Even by today's standards the graphics in this game are still impressive. Back in 2002, this game was at the highest level in terms of graphics. One of the most impressive things about Morrowind is the diversity of geographical representation of the in-game world. When an NPC tells you there are nine distinct geographical regions on Vvardenfell (the volcanic island setting of Morrowind), they're not lying. From the agricultural plains of the Ascadian Isles where the game begins to the frozen wastelands of Solstheim island, there's a plethora of landscapes for your character to experience. There's also a ton of clothing/armor your character can purchase and equip. Combine this with the ten playable races in Morrowind and player-character customization is practically infinite.
Controls: 9/10
Easy as pie. The combat is a bit lacking, but that will be addressed later. As far as basic movement, easy as pie.
The combat in this game is a bit lacking, especially if you played Oblivion before trying this game. There are only three attacking moves and blocking is automatic (that's only if you have a shield equipped and if your character has a high block skill). Once you learn more of the weapon and magic attack styles combat will become more fluid and easy, though it's still a bit monotonous even at this point. At least you'll be killing mudcrabs in one hit instead of having to run away from them.
Sounds: 9/10
From the second you load up the game the music does an incredible job of transporting you to the world of Tamriel, the setting for all Elder Scrolls games. My only complaint is there's not enough music. As great as the soundtrack is, it gets repetitive, especially in a game like this which can consume hundreds of hours of your time.
Gameplay: 9/10
If you're big in to role playing like I am (real role playing, not menu command/stat based role playing like the Japanese RPGs) this is the game for you. The game gives you a basic notion of how to play at the very beginning, and then lets go of your hand and basically says "you figure out the rest." It's a bit overwhelming at first, but after a while you learn to love that fact that even though the game nudges you in the direction of the main quest, how you play is ultimately up to you. So you need to go to X tomb and recover Y item? There seems to be a lot of these kind if quests in the game, but once you learn to leave to trodden path and climb over that hill you see in the distance, there's a whole new aspect of gameplay to discover. The freeform aspect. And enemies don't level along with your character in this game (unlike Oblivion), so if you want to clear out a vampire den, you better hope to God you're a high enough level and adequately prepared to do so, or you'll be hitting the 'reload' button quite a few times. But trust me, the rewards are well worth the effort. Also there is alot of reading involved in this game.
Replay value: 10/10
You can play this game endlessly; with several different character types. If you don't like your class, restart. If you picked the wrong great house, restart. Getting tired of the same play-style, go back and try a new type of character out.
Overall: 10/10
If you've never played this game you HAVE to at least give it a shot. Many people flat out hate it, many people feel overwhelmed by its sheer size and many, like myself, absolutely love this game. It's all a matter of taste and perspective. But if you've never even tried playing this game, you're missing out on one of the great milestones in RPG history, so do yourself a favor and pick this game up the next time you see it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
This game was designed for the PC...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/12
mozillameister
Location: Buffalo, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Not getting into the fact its a poor port with extremely long loading times and quite a few glitches...
Fact is, an absorbing text-based adventure game like Morrowind needs to be sat in front of on a high resolution screen. Bethesda put a lot of resources on cutscenes and voice actors when making Oblivion/Fallout 3/Skyrim. These three games were designed to be played sitting on the couch with the TV playing for hours without reading a word. Even if you didn't know how the D2D system worked, you could just pick a few abilities and roll with it.
With Morrowind, you spend a lot more time figuring out your character and reading text. Since the game is only 480p on the Xbox and the port features very small print, it can be a chore to read all the text, especially if you don't play RIGHT in front of the TV set. Also, its not a game you just pick up and throw a spell or shoot someone in the head. Accuracy and skill has nothing to do with your victories. Its all based on how you develop your character, since the entire combat is based on a D2D stat system that attributes a certain number of hit points for your characters. The later Bethesda games use a similar system, but (at least in Oblivion) your character levels up with everyone else, which makes starting the game much easier (a mud crab can't kill you in Oblivion, but could make minced meat of you in Morrowind at Lvl 1)
People here are comparing Morrowind to the later Bethesda games, but Morrowind is very different due to being primitive, and in some ways better. Its a more rewarding experience. If you don't enjoy Morrowind on the Xbox, just try it on your PC rig. Its a far more satisfying experience.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
The first true RPG
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/11
Dunmer
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I believe this would be the first real RPG game, the first open world game. This game is amazing, I still play it now and then and it still holds up to this day. I highly recommend this game to any true gamer.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
Back in the day this could have been good...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/11
nergalman
Location: New Jersey!
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is freaking hard. And after a while it makes me seasick...so I pretty much played it for about 8 hours total, died about 30 times (sometimes killing RATS!) and almost puked about 3 times....no matter what people say, this is not superior to oblivion. Do yourself a favor, buy Oblivion, then go buy Skyrim. Don't bother, its not 2002 anymore and this game is very outdated.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
5 of 34 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
acfin
greenville, NC
 
Please wait while more information about acfin is loaded.
Additional information about acfin could not be loaded.
Graphics
Posted 7/31/12
lol "stunning" 3D graphics.
I recommend buying this for PC and downloading Morrowind Graphic Overhaul 3.0 its way better.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
Beasty Rpgame
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/11
yoi174
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Best RPG ever,good graphics, even for now, and gameplay and quests are amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
Best Game in the Elder Scroll Series!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/11
ISdHoOwTnI
Location: Arkansas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It is the best game in the Elder Scroll Series (I am going to be comparing to Oblivion) because you can 1) Do way more stuff 2) the storyline is awesome 3) It makes you think unlike Oblivion. Ok lets start again with 1) On Obilivion you cannot levitate and you have to go door to door just to walk inside places. Morriowind you dont have to wait to load so much just when you go in a building, dung, etc. 2) The storyline brings you in its captivating its immensly your decision, you get to do more then just "quick travel" which was helpful, but not needed. and with you have to find the cave of the Neverine it took me more then a week to find it!!! Yes infuriating but so awesome at the same time!... and lastly 3) It makes you think about what you are doing unlike Oblivion again fast travel and Oblivion map markers shown you were to go..... so stupid! it took me like a week to beat the game versus like 3 months or longer...Firstly because i Couldnt Find the Neverine Cave or w/e its called and i loved all the other quest along side the main quest... I loved the Guilds like Rederan and Televani (i cant remember) because you get to build your own house!... PLUS all of the "god" statues were much more harder to complete then "go here kill this comeback"... and the legendary weapons were awesome.. there were soo many more then oblivion.. so .. oblivion was a fail to me.. not what i wanted or expected... hope Skyrim is better.. !!! but i hope anyone who desires what i have said gets this game! THANKS!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Best Feeling EVER !
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
A varied and interesting game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/11
azile0
Location: Salem, OR
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Morrowind has a love-hate relationship with many players. To some, it is an infuriatingly complex and frustrating bore-fest. To others, it's Rapture. It depends on what you want.
For those who are 'spoiled' on modern RPGs such as Oblivion, Fallout and other such titles, Morrowind is lodged firmly in the former category. Weapons have a chance to miss regardless of collision (You see it hit, but no damage is registered) and there are several tough decisions to make in terms of character creation that can break it entirely.
On the other hand, there is an enormous worlds to explore. Dozens of deep quests, lots of equipment to collect, enemies to fight, hundreds of characters to talk to.. It's one of the most in-depth and thought-out worlds created. This game appeals to people who liked games like Baulder's Gate and the first two Fallout games.
If you are looking for a deep and meaningful game, Morrowind is definitely for you. If you're looking for cheap thrills, gore and action, then perhaps look towards the first person shooter genre.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
Sometimes good.... sometimes NOT!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/11
Bentlyblue19
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game can be good sometimes. But sometimes not. Really only the good things about this game is the fact you can have a crossbow and different sources of light other than a torch. You can turn into a werewolf.... never done it because this game is SOOOOO HARD! If your not good with a weapon you can't even hit the person! you can't even hit a gaurd no matter how good you are with the weapon! Oblivion is wayyyyyyy better! you can hit the person even if your not good with the weapon. Oh and no fast travel on morrowind if you can't get a person to take you there. I LIKE OBLIVION WAY BETTER! Get oblivion if you want a better RPG than morrowind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 39 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bladedsnikill
 
Please wait while more information about Bladedsnikill is loaded.
Additional information about Bladedsnikill could not be loaded.
Posted 7/18/11
dude this game was one of the best games of its time, don't expect it to be like Oblivion because it came out in 2002. The Storyline for this game was better then Oblivions for sure
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 next>>