GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Lord of the Rings: Return of the King

Return to Middle-earth in the only video game based on the epic final chapter of the highly-acclaimed The Lord of the Rings movie trilogy. Developed using the same digital assets as the films, The Return of the King re-creates in stunning detail the final events of the War of the Ring.
Average Customer Rating:
9.786
9.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
Review 1 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
LOTR III
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/09
bigmoose
First, i will say that this is a great game, especially for the gamecube. The controls are great and easy to understand. Now i'm a huge lord of the rings fan, and when i got this i was happy, and that hasn't changed. The challenge is great--the game is very hard. I'm stuck on the level of the southern gate, on easy! I have came so close to finishing it! this game is addicting. It is so much fun! Now for the gamecube and the fact that it was made in the early 2000s, the graphics are a revolution. They're ok! And the game isn't too long or too short, thus making the length fantastic. Everyone knows the drop-dead classic storyline by the genius in John Ronald Ruel Tolkien, with the ring of power and Aragorn taking over the throne of Gondor as the Heir of Isildur. You get to live the story and take the famous characters such as Legolas, Frodo, Gimli, and Aragorn through it. If you are a hard-core medival violent gamer or just love fantasy storylines, then I recommend this game100%
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
VERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRY HARD!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/08
ARWEN
Lord of the Rings: the Return of the King is absolutely amazing. I LOVE IT! Talk about awesome graphics, sound, and game play! It is extremely hard though! I'm stuck on the ON TOP OF THE WALL level w/ Gandalf and on The paths of the dead with Aragorn.I've gotten through all the hobbit's levels which Were SWEEET! the only thing, you can't play any of the levels you've passed over again until you complete the game. And I really don't have a lot of time during the day to play which stinks. but oh well. what can I do?!?!?! I'm doing it on EASY mode too. A friend has passed all the levels which makes me feel dumb. It's really fun though. I hope this review helps. one more thing, can anyone give me some advise on these levels?!?!?!?!?!?! I'de really appreciate it! Thanx! "May the Grace of the Valar be with You"
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
Relatively Cheap
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/25/12
NintendoGamerII
Location: Denver, Colorado
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
To begin with this game is just a masterpiece from EA Games. This game follows the storyline, includes original characters, and even has scenes from the EXTENED LOTR movie. The graphics are pretty great considering that this is a Gamcube game. The characters are recognizeable and the environments are actually well thought out and developed. The music and sounds for this game are perfect. You have the voices of the actual actors, music from the films, and other sounds such as water splashing, explosions, etc. Unlike the previous LOTR game, The Two Towers, this one lets you interact with the environment. You can do all sorts of stuff such as chucking spears or launching catapults. Another difference between both games would be the character choices and paths. In this game there are at least 9 different players you can be (after unlocking several) which gives you a better variety of skills yet there is a catch. The game is split into three different paths in which you can only be certain players untill further notice. To make a long review short I would recommend this game to anyone who is looking for a great game. P.S. I didn't know that the Lord of the Rings was a movie until I played this and since then I was hooked. O_O = Mind Blowing
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
The Best LOTR Game Yet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/10
REMKFAN
Lord of the Rings was meant to be played this way. This is the perfect video game adaptation of the story, and I highly HIGHLY recommend this to anybody who is a fan of the movies and books. The game is VERY hard, but not impossible. The levels actually increase in difficulty as you progress through, which makes for a nice pace. The last couple levels may take you a few tries, but the game is fun enough that you will want to continue playing. Nowadays, the graphics wouldn't be so impressive, but when this game first came out the graphics were amazing. The music and sound is straight from the movie soundtrack, a very smart choice, and all the actors from the movie return to voice their characters again, another very smart move for a video game based off a movie. The story fits exactly within the end of Two Towers and through Return of the King, capturing all the highlight moments. You have more characters to play at the start, and even more to unlock upon completing the game. You also can unlock two levels, which are pretty much fighting against waves and waves of enemies, so the replay value is very high, especially with Co-op. Overall, this is the best Lord of the Rings game ever made, and any action, fantasy, and or LOTR fan should add this to their collection.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
Lord of the Rings
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/10
Jman345
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Lord of the Rings the Return of the King is a game where you play through the end of the second movie and the whole third movie. In the game, you play throught three paths of the game. The first one being the path of the wizard. In this path, you play as Gandalf and you play through the adventures that Gandalf plays through such as the battle of Minas Tirth. The second path is the path of the hobbit. I this path you play as Sam (you unlock Frodo at the end of the game, as well as Pipin and Mery). The last path is the path of the king. In this path, you get to choose from Aragon, Legolas, or Gimili. Once you beat the final level at Mount Doom with Frodo, you unlock Faramir (brother of Boromir), Merry, and Pipin. You also unlock the feature that lets you play as any character, no mater what path your playing in. I like this game becuz it has very great graphics for a gamecube. I also like the gameplay becuz it feels like your in the movie, except that instead of watching it your controlling the action. I would recomened this game to Lord of the Ring fans and really anyone who is looking for a great action game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
Welcome To Middle Earth
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/25/11
thethirdelric
Location: Nashua, NH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is great for an fan of the trilogy, fight shelob the massive spider as sam wise, as aragorn have the king of the dead take up your service and aid you and legolas and gimli in the battle at pelennor fields, this game follows the movie and books, but does something even better, it puts you in middle earth, you'll fight the witch king with merry and eowen, you'll struggle with frodo against golom to destroy the ring. and with the amazing two player feature you'll be able to relive all of your favorite LOTR moments with a friend. this game is a MUST HAVE for any fan of the series and if you haven't played it get it TODAY, you wont be disappointed.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
Return of the King
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/08
Brian Payne
Gamers who played EA's "The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers" may be in a state of mind where they never want to play another Lord of the Rings game again. The Two Towers had merely average graphics for its time. It gave players very few characters to play. It boasted an extremely limited nine levels, the first six of which a two year old could breeze through, the final three being the hardest levels ever made. The Return of the King makes up for all these mistakes. It's an incredible game. Though not overly challenging, the game is by no means easy. However, players who find the game easy can--upon completion--play a series of bonus levels in which the character fends of waves of enemies, with the waves becoming much more difficult each set. The graphics are amazing, and the cinematics capture the beauty and scope of the movie the game is based upon. The game is long enough to give the player the sense that they've played through the movie, but does not drag on so much that the player gets bored and throws away the controller. Based upon 11 Oscar Award-Winning "The Return of the King", EA had a great storyline to work with, but also the challenge of meeting the expectations of the gamers. EA was up to the challenge--the game provides players with the same epic feel of the final movie. The controls and interface are excellent and makes sense for the genre, but are certainly not innovative. However, playing it safe in these areas gave the production team room to make the game amazing in other places. Finally, the soundtrack is superb--simply because it's taken almost entirely from Howard Shore's award-winning original score for the movies. Again, EA was working with gold here. To conclude, EA's Return of the King is an enormous step up from The Two Towers. Boasting a great story, amazing graphics, and exceptional replay appeal, I would most definitely recommend this game to anyone interested in the genre.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
LORD OF THE RINGS FOR THE WIN!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/11
NewbornRiddler
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Everything about this game is great. The characters and the customization, the levels, the fighting style. A good amount of detail was put into this game. Any and all lord of the rings fans should buy thig game you will not be disappointed. They have all the actors do the voices of the characters and the music is from the movie. The game allows the player or players go beyond the movies and play through 3 different campagins. Once you beat the game you unlock new characters like Faramir and then you can go back and play any level with any character you want. I had a blast playing this game and still do. This a great buy for any gamer!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
Greatest LOTR GameCube Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/11
Cap1995
Location: Tiverton, RI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
One of the greatest GameCube games ever. If you get it you will enjoy it. I was able to finish it before Two Towers. If it was only Aragorn, Legolas, and Gimili. Two Towers would be better, but you also get 6 others including Gandalf, Frodo, and Sam.Get it enjoy it and have fun!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
This IS THE LORDS OF GAMES!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/11
dolphinboy
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game rules and I love that they have parts of the movie in this. The graphics are realistic and the combat is amazing! I love also that you can increase you players level. So this is the best GAME EVER!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
good game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/11
2424242424242424242424244
Location: New York NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this is a good game because you can be cool people and you can go to cool places you can unlocked new moves for the people and it shows clips of the movie and that's why i think this is a good game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
best lord of rings game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/11
chris7654
Location: new york, ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is great! much better then the two towers. ( two towers is still good) it finally has 2 player great story line, the missions are not so easy. amazing game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
Best Game of World
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/10
Tatolago
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
LOTR III is just excellent , if you could mount a horse on the game it would be perfect ...
I finish the game twice in hard and is awesome !!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
Awesome!, better than the two towers!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/11
TheRealHobbit
Location: HI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
They definitely improved over all game play I love the Oliphants!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.