GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Lord of the Rings: Return of the King

Return to Middle-earth in the only video game based on the epic final chapter of the highly-acclaimed The Lord of the Rings movie trilogy. Developed using the same digital assets as the films, The Return of the King re-creates in stunning detail the final events of the War of the Ring.
Average Customer Rating:
8.611
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
4
8 stars
4
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 1883%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
Review 1 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
IS IT THE LORD OF THE RING
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/10
kylenator_99
we have had this game for a long time and it never gets old it is a fun game but not challenging you could beat this hole game in about 2 hours if you play non stop that is how long it took me the graphics are not really good but that is because the game was made in like 2003. The game is not really long but that is because for me the game is not really challenging if you don't play the PS2 that munch then this game is hard for you. The story is good the reason i gave it a 10 out of 10 is because it followed the movie exactly. the controls are super easy to learn they are exactly like all wrestling games and fighting game's square to hit triangle for you normal attacks and X for your speed attacks. The sound is really good it is kinda cool when your fighting when you other person's sword you hear a blade sound when the people in movies bring out there swords. I recommend this game to people to who like sword fighting games to people who like a fun game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
Really Good Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/08
DskullMoore
I think this game is excellent, its story line is perfect, and the powers for each player are perfect. The only thing I don't like about this game is that in co-op it kinda holds you back, Like if you're playing with your lil bro or lil sis and there a little slower at the controls then it holds u back. The characters actually having the actors voices is really good I think because to me the characters having the same name as the people in the movie then not having the same voice is kinda lame. The game play is insane, there's hardly a break in between levels or whatever you want to call them its almost a non-stop fighting which I like personally, and each level has a new surprise. My favorite character in this game I would say has to be Gandolf he has some sick powers like what I like to call the bug zapper cause it's a big bubble thing that does insane damage its sweet. All the other characters are really good also and there all pretty equal in power just some get the job done in a different way. So I hope u like my first review and think its tight, so just buy this game its sick or awesome if some of you don't know what sick means. Have a nice life and let games make it better.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
It has it's ups and downs
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/12
snoopdog53
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is not the best game but it's not terrible. first off the story mode is good a fair amount of levels but one of the levels is from the second movie which is weird because this game is based off the third movie. the graphics are okay not the best but it is ps2. the sound is nice with swords clanging and arrows flying. the gameplay got a little repetitive all the characters have all the same combo moves with a few exceptions. on the positive side you get to beat the heck out orcs, trolls, uruk hai and some others bad guys from the movies. another positive note is that you get to play as all your favorite LOTR characters like Frodo, Aragorn, Legolas, Gimli and Gandalf to name a few. so if you are a die hard LOTR fan then this is for you if not then I think you should try something else.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
This game has it all!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/12
OcarinaOfAwesome
This game begins with a long scene composed of clips from the movie. As if that isn't enough to draw you in, the game starts you off as Gandalf, the brave wizard. This game has one of the best first levels ever, allowing you to take down hordes of Orcs and other forces of Sauron.
This game is not an RPG, though the description is unclear on that. In reality, it is a fast-paces sword combat game, very similar to the classic 'Golden Axe'. The combat is where this game really shines, allowing you to pick up various weapons and use them.
The only thing that stops this game from getting a 9 is the difficulty level. This game is REALLY hard. It is very easy to want to give up after just a few tries. Overall, however, this is a good game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
My Childhood
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/14
MrJigglyJuggler
Location: Maryland
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I first played this game when I was like 10, and my brother and I just would do the co-op campaign over and over and over again. Then time passed, we grew up, I sold my PS2, and all was forgotten. However a couple years ago I ended up with another PS2, and I decided I wanted to play some of my old favorites like SSX, Return of the King, Tony Hawk's Underground and so on. I picked up this game expecting to be bored after a couple hours but boy was I wrong. If you're a Tolkien fan, this game should interest you for hours. The gameplay feels remarkably good for the time period, and so is the story (Obviously since Tolkien wrote it). And this button-mashing game surprisingly did not bore me immediately. Leveling up in this like 10 year old game feels more rewarding than some modern games, and it's always fun to beat up hundreds of Orcs in the Southern Gate. There's a bunch of extras including interviews with actors and extra levels which can be both refreshing and absurdly challenging. I feel like this is the only video game that released for a movie that is actually fun. Just writing this makes me want to play it again. Short version: Buy this game, you won't regret it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
BEST
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/11
Rokudaime0
This game is amazing, better than those on PS3, and the story and moves are almost the same to the ones in the movie
 
My Product Recommendations
Lord of the Rings, The Two Towers
8.1 out of 10(9)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
Game is amazing for PS2
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/12
SafetyWater
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is one of my favorite games to play on the playstation 2. The graphics, sound, and storyline follow the story of the movie almost perfectly! The biggest flaw in the game is its difficulty though. It takes good reflexes and you need to get used to the controls if you dont want to be constantly thrashed around by a bunch of orcs. Sound is great they take small details into it. the sound of footsteps, talking and screaming, when you shoot a bow you here a big THWACK, and you here the sound of your sword slicing through the air when you swing. People who think the cut scenes will blow will be surprised. They take segments of the movie and then convert the graphics into the game afterwards.
Story shortened, well made game. If you love the movie, you WILL love this game!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
Never Gets Old!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/10
usedtobegamer
Location: Pennsylvania, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing and addicting. I've had it for a few months, and it never got old. I play almost every day, non-stop! Graphics are great!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
Greatest lord of the rings ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/14
scoobydoj
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game i have been playing it since i was 3 years old and i don't know of any lord of the rings game that never gets old and is more enjoyable than his ratherly fantastic game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
Best game ever made for the PS2!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/12
Shikamarunara
Location: Kent, WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game in gameplay and graphics wise, in my opinion, was ahead of its time. This is exactly what customers/viewers like myself are really looking for.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
amazing gameplay
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/12
amiramir321
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Really good game, it follows the movie really well. The only thing is that the camara angles bother me a little
 
My Product Recommendations
Lord of the Rings, The Two Towers
8.1 out of 10(9)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
Oldie but goodie
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/13
Wolfmoon
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has seen it's days in the sun, but for the time it held some very impressive visuals and amazing combat. The feel of the movies is well represented in both visual style and audio, which is another area with which this game shines through. I believe 2 of these were made if memory serves correct. Both equally epic and engaging even by the current days standards. I shared many co-op sessions with random people online, i believe the service is no longer available,however i may be mistaken. Game on!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 13 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
One of the best movie games
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/11
T14B
Usually movie games aren't that fun but this one is definatley a keeper. It is fun to level up your player throughout the story.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
Excellent Game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/13
MOHRuskie1987
Location: North Huntingdon, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is far better than The Two Towers. The graphics, gameplay, sound, levels, all are way better! This game did a great job of going with the movies. The levels are fun, the power ups you can get are great and do wonders the further you go into the game! An excellent game for any person of any age! Well worth the money!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
Why won't you stupid orcs DIE!!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/12
probablyBatman
Location: Rivendell
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I absoloutley will not deny that this game is fun. It is! I'm just very bothered by the fact that every character moves very slugishly. It makes it extremely hard to fight. Also, every enemy is way too hard too kill. The end bosses are practically impossible to beat. If you can get a hang of the controls the game can be prety fun.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
amiramir321
 
Please wait while more information about amiramir321 is loaded.
Additional information about amiramir321 could not be loaded.
Awsome action game
Posted 8/11/12
really good action game, everything about it is good but the only problem is the angle of the camara, a bit iffy
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
Awesome Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/11
vlzgoirish22
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is perfect for what it is. It has very unique characters with tons of different upgrades that you can buy wit points you earn in the levels. It is essentially the same as the two towers expect there is co-op which makes it better.
 
My Product Recommendations
Lord of the Rings, The Two Towers
8.1 out of 10(9)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 17 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
eh
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/11
lethal247
Location: space
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This has the same problem as the second game, once you finish it there's really nothing else to do. But somehow this one isn't as enjoyable as the second game. Really only get this if love Lord of the Rings.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
arcade type of game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/11
ps3guy107
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game would be the kind of game you would find in a arcade. but thats ok, because its 4 bucks. get it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Lord of the Rings, The Two Towers
8.1 out of 10(9)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10