GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tales of Symphonia

Tales of Symphonia, exclusive to the Nintendo GameCube, is Namco's latest chapter in the Tales universe. A fully immersive 3D experience comes to life as an adventure unfolds that will place the existence of two worlds in the balance. Featuring high-quality Anime cutscenes and character designs by renowned artist, Kosuke Fujishima, the real-time 3D battles, formation attacks and combos, and customization of character abilities round out a fabulous epic.
Average Customer Rating:
9.797
9.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
10 stars
55
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
59 out of 59100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tales of Symphonia
Review 1 for Tales of Symphonia
is amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/14
JayMinus
Location: random
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is a amazing game, it has a combat system that is better than any game today and the story is better than most games could dream of. i never thought that there could be so many plot twists in a single story. only played it completely through once. music is phenomenal and fits the them perfect. is okay in co-op, never got good at it, is the best game i've ever had.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Tales of Symphonia
A Must buy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/13
TalesFan54
This was the first Tales game I played, and I been hooked on the series ever sense. This is a great game that everybody should buy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Tales of Symphonia
I Love Love Love This Game!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/13
Alexandros94
Location: Homestead, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This was my FAVORITE GAME when I was younger. I really wish they would make a remake of this for the 3DS like they did Tales Of The Abyss. I would buy it in SECONDS.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Tales of Symphonia
A basic plot that gets really complicated.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/12/13
GameytheGeemer
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I must say, this is one of the best games I've ever played. As I said before, it starts off incredibly simple, but around the Balacruf Mausoleum you find out that there are more dire consequences to your actions. And after that, the once black and white story is a work of art that you have to beat to fully enjoy. I also find that the music was almost addictive, however only a few songs like 'Full Force' and 'Unsatisfied Desires' really stick. Graphics, are phenomenal in battle and town scenes, but in some cutscenes look strange. The gameplay, outside of battle, is just your basic rpg style. Action Button, and several other miscellaneous things. But in the battle screens, this game was one of, if not, the first games to use the Multi-Line Linear Motion Battle System, which many critics have praised and other games have since used. All and all, I give this game a 10.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Tales of Symphonia
One of my favorite games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/13
darbnella
Location: Georgia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Honestly its just perfect. It took me about 60 hours to beat and every minute was worth it. This is the first game I played of the Tales series and after finishing it I wanted to play the others. The characters are all great, they look nice, voice is regular for a japanese game, and they all play well. I would say anyone that is interested in a long and creative game should definitely look into this one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Tales of Symphonia
Pure amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/12
Dantheman22
Well, your life isnt complete until you play this game. This game started my gaming career way back when it came out and it still holds a place in my heart as my favorite game ever. Defintely a game that changed me and was fun from start to end. Worth ever penny if you can get a copy. Good luck.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Tales of Symphonia
Possibly the best game to grace this Earth
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/12
Tatjana
I have honestly never played any other game as amazing as this one. The graphics are not the best I admit, but they're still pretty spiffy. The main story, I think, is amazing, complex, and pure genius. (The whole game is on two discs might I add) And you can't play the game without at least falling in love with a couple of characters. (Not like hardcore, full on romance. Unless you're like me and fall for one) I absolutely love dumb, uncreative, punny humor and this game has that. If I were able to fall in love with a game, this would be my significant other. I have never been so emotionally attach to any game before. It made me sad, laugh, cry, smile, helped me when I was upset, angry, and many other emotions. Tales of Symphonia got me into many different games, it opened the door to the wonderful word of video games and I am forever greatful.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Tales of Symphonia
Made of Win!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/12
Ryusenshi618
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Tales of Symphonia is without a doubt one of my favorite games, and in my opinion the greatest Game Cube game ever made. The plot is really well thought out as well as enough side quests for you to do to make you want to play for hours on end. As for the game play i have one word; Amazing. you are free to walk around the world, dungeons, and towns; as you walk around you will find theses shadow-like creatures/monsters walking around (and usually chase after you), if you make contact with these creatures you are thrown into a battle stage. the battles are live action with up to 4-players, allowing you to create multiple strategies. For the multiplayer, it is only for the fighting, it's more for the "experience" of the game rather than the actual storyline. Replay value is great too, depending on how well you fight, you gain points you can spend at the end of the game on an "EX new game" which gives you bonuses to make the game easier or more challenging. All in all : 10 out of 10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Tales of Symphonia
Best Game Ever!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/12
Tobe
Location: Tower of Salvation
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has an amazing plot behind it. It will get you addicted to it. Easily my favorite game. At first I didn't like it because I did not know what was going on, but then after a couple of years I fell in love with it because I understood the plot and where I had to go. The best part of it is the big twist it has in the plot that I was not expecting.
**Favorite players: Colette and Sheena**
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tales of Symphonia
A game that you'd want to play again and again.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/12
Loleus
Location: Luin, Sylvarant
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Tales of Symphonia has a very generic plot at first glance. You save the world with the Chosen by defeating some bosses. Big deal.
That was what it looked like AT FIRST. When I ventured a little further into the game, I was blown away with huge plot twists (which I am not going to say here, play it yourself and see!).
You'll encounter a question that will haunt you throughout the game: "Will you sacrifice the world to save one life, or will you sacrifice that life to save the world?"
The answer is "the world," right? Wrong.
Not only will you face heartbreak, you will find friends in the most unlikely places, and foes among your friends. You'll end up asking yourself, "Who should I trust?"
Indeed, you will want to play this game again and again to play alternate paths that you could have chose but didn't, and to get to know the characters a little more. I found myself turning on the game system and playing Tales of Symphonia every chance I got, often playing for hours and not realizing it. Too addictive, this game is. Don't be fooled by the cellshading!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Tales of Symphonia
Easily Top 5
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/1/12
Marek
Location: Salt Lake City, Ut
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought this game on a whim and have never since regretted it. I have at least 20 different save files with at least 10 different playthroughs for this game. Addicting. I love Lloyd as the main character (considering most games of this kind have a more silent or apathetic type play the hero, its good to get a hotheaded idealist once in a while). You grow very attached to the characters (even the enemies). This game plays with my favorite philosophical question "Who is right, and when are they right?". The cell-shading takes a little bit to get used to, but its an easy adjustment. The FMV are beautiful. Voice acting is great (which is often hard to find in a JRPG). Battle system is wonderful. A definite buy-and-hold-onto-forever kind of game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Tales of Symphonia
Anyone who doesn't like this game doesnt know Rpgs
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/12
Mike514
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is the greatest rpg of all time this game was far beyond its time, the story is the best, the fighting style is amazing. If you like rpgs heck if you like video games BUY THIS GAME there is a reason its still $25.00 after it came out many years ago... Anyone who says this game is not good obviously has never played it. Play this game you will not regret it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Tales of Symphonia
boring
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/12
xtreme333
Location: coral springs
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is the most highly overrated tales game. all the other tales games like abyss, symphonia 2, graces f, and my favorite vesperia are waaaaayy better. it is just not interesting
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tales of Symphonia
The Best Game Of All Time!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/12
Mike514
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
You must play this game you will not regret, this game is 60hours of pure excitement. This is the greatest game of all time the story is phenomenal the game play is perfected. Buy this game you will not regret it I have personally beaten it 3 times and would play it again.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tales of Symphonia
Very Fun & Kept my attention
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/12
NatNat
Location: Brick, New Jersey
This is an awesome Game! I played the sequel to this game for wii first, and loved it so I decided I had to play the first one. Tales of Symphonia has a great story line and there are plot twists that surprised me and kept me interested. I lost track of time often while playing this game and I was happy that it wasn't a short game. There's plenty of side quests to add to the hours of play if you seek them out. I loved the characters in the game, they were all very enjoyable.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tales of Symphonia
A game that has stood the test of time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/12
Anonymous
Location: Oxford, Mi
Tales of Symphonia has been stated to be the Final Fantasy VII of the Tales of... series, I do agree with this statement. When this game first came out I had beat it at least 3 times, every time finding something new or finding a different course to beat the game. There is so much to do in this game, and it still has great replay value, the only thing I have noticed once I started playing again a few years later is the graphics are not as good as I remembered, but that is because of all the shiny new graphics of this age, but I still love to pick it up and play through, still trying to get everything imaginable. The last thing I can say about this game is the end game bonuses make replays even better.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
UltimateKujaIX
MI
 
Please wait while more information about UltimateKujaIX is loaded.
Additional information about UltimateKujaIX could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
I don't agree at all...
Posted 2/28/12
"Tales of Symphonia has been stated to be the Final Fantasy VII of the Tales of... series..."
Why does everyone love Failed Fantasy VII?
Why not Final Fantasy IX!
OR FFV?
OR FFVIII?
OR EVEN FFV?
No.
It's always FFVII!
Everyone is always obsessed about that 15 year old RPG with the crummy graphics and the real lame story!!
Don't even try to compare an old, stupid, piece of junk game to ToS!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Tales of Symphonia
Kratos is my Hero!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/12
UltimateKujaIX
Location: MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Tales of Symphonia is a great game!
The story is epic, the characters are amazing and the story is a masterpiece.
WARNING: IT HAS A SAVING GLITCH!
You can stuck in a wall AFTER SAVING!!
This glitch can force you to restart your game!!!
(I got un-stuck from the wall I that I was stuck in! But that was after the 20th try!!!)
SO MAKE SURE YOU MAKE MANY BACK UP SAVE SLOTS!!!
P.S. Please don't vote on my last reveiw!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tales of Symphonia
My Favorite Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/12
Ryuoendo
Location: Three Rivers, MA
So, I grew up on the Final Fantasy series and loved it. I eventually tried other RPGs like Diablo and liked that one too. Then I finally got Tales of the Abyss which I thought was alright. I decided to buy this when it came out and it was amazing. The characters are realistic, the gameplay is superb, the story is...to great for words. If you like RPGs, want to try a new game, or heck ,like games in general...BUY THIS GAME! You will NOT be dissapointed!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tales of Symphonia
Greatest Adventure/RPG game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/11
DJ2010
Location: Snow Hill, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I just saw this in the store earlier today, and i decided to buy to try something new. This game is great to think of new strategies to defeat an enemy. I don't think I made far enough in the game yet. But this game is great. Buy it now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Tales of Symphonia
EPIC
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/11
Kfll
Location: Ridgefield WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I remember when I got This game from movie gallery 7 years ago, and I was instantly into it, I JUST HAD TO BUY IT!!! and i did and beat it 3 times. I lost the game like 4 times and just bought it over and over. (BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>