GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mario Party 5

Mario and his closest friends are trying to restore peace to Dream World by racing around a collection of all-new game boards-and tons of surprises await! The new game sports new game boards, more than 60 new mini-games, new playable characters, an expanded one-player mode and, of course, the multi-player madness that made it famous in the first place. This sequel extends Mario Party's reign as the king of the party game!
Average Customer Rating:
8.923
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
5
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 1392%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mario Party 5
Review 1 for Mario Party 5
Best one in series
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/12
Hahahoho
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Mario Party 5's story line is kind of... well.. p00p. However, Thats not what we play for right? We play for competition, we play for stars and coins. So yeah, it keeps the classic MP gameplay. The maps are ok, just ok. The minigames are the best, ever and forever. I find myself coming back to play this classic game. Not only does MP 5 have the standard MP stuff, it has like, 5000x that. It has a mode were YOU BUILD A 'TANK' to fight others (2 player per game). It also have vollyball and ice hockey. There's another thing to play, I'm not sure if its a directors cut of mario party, but its mario party with some weird twist, making it more... realistic?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mario Party 5
Mario Party 5
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/09
josesandovalor libra rat
This Game is cool.you should buy it.This game includes all new 70 minigames like coney island,dodge bomb,hotel goomba,handy hoppers,and dk,and bowser minigames.All new items or should i call capsules like bomb-bomb,paratroopa,petey pirahna,fireball,bowser,chance,duel,tweester,coin block,hammer bro.,warp pipe,klept,flubber,and my favorite its the koopa bank!I!Buy this game from gamestop,even though it is expensive still buy it.The capsules you could put on any space that blue or red.The capsules dont cost only if you use it on yourself it will cost a couple of some of your coins.Thsi game is cool and you should buy it.Please buy mario party 5.Its cool to enjoy if you have any friends over.Up to 4 players can play.This game is cool,and well thought out.Remember to buy mario party games like mario party 4,mario party 5,mario party 6,mario party 7,and all the mario brand games ok.If not to bad!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mario Party 5
My favorite mario party
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/19/12
zattle123
Location: East Falmouth, MA
in my opinion this party is hands down the best mario party in the series, right in front of mario party 3, i loved the changes in night and day and how i could play as baby bowser/bowser junior (i forgot his name sorry guise) and i liked all of the minigames too they were very fun and this game i spent the best of my mario party times on!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mario Party 5
Best Mario Party on Gamecube/Wii
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/11
athletes21
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This is a great Mario Party, better than any of the Wii or other Gamecube games. The mini-games contain endless fun and are creative yet challenging and the boards are neat. Also, the single player mode is the best single player mode of any Mario Party. The only Mario PArties better are the second and third for Nintendo 64. I would suggest this to all party gamers, families, and gamecube owners.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mario Party 5
Fun Edictive and Easy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/11
Priderz
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I love this game its edictive it should cost less!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
theros
 
Please wait while more information about theros is loaded.
Additional information about theros could not be loaded.
You'll never know whose going to win!
Posted 3/11/12
I believe this is the mario party in which you can steal eachother's stars in the last round of a game. I played this game with my brother and his friend. He was winning by quite a margin with the stars. Even though I knew I was going to lose, his friend managed to win since I spun the wheel that made him give up some of his stars and he lost. He stormed out of the room..... it was great. One of my favorite gaming moments!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Mario Party 5
Mario Party 5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/10
OmarioDS
This has to be one of the worst Mario Party games ever. Do not get this game. I got for $25 and it wasn't even worth it. A waste of money. I do like some minigames, but I just hate the party boards and the capsule machine. Hard to believe this game cost more than Mario Party 4,6, and 7. I was just so excited to buy this game, but just when I bought it, it got so boring. The characters are cool and the story mode was alright. In my opinion, buy either Mario Party 4,6, or 7 instead of this game. You get to save your money for better and more funner games. The only good thing about this game has to be the minigames. They have a lot of fun ones. Last thing, do not get fooled by the cover. When I saw this game, I thought this game would be so fun, once I saw the awesome cover. Never believe what covers have.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mario Party 5
mario party 5
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/11
minnesotawildfan
Location: newton, massachusetts
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
mario party 5 is so cool.you can play as mario,luigi,peach,daisy,wario,waluigi,yoshi. and the new playable characters...Toad,BOO,and Koopa kid! but a character is removed from the mix donkey kong is no longer a playable character but i don't know about mario party 9.the boards are toy dream,undersea dream,sweet dream,pirate dream,future dream,rainbow dream and bowser's nightmare.there is a new type of item in mario party 5,they are called capsules.this game is the best of the series and i would reccomend it to anybody.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
xobethany8
 
Please wait while more information about xobethany8 is loaded.
Additional information about xobethany8 could not be loaded.
Posted 1/17/12
can i play this on the wii?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Mario Party 5
second best mario party
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/11
DKandDK
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I really liked this mario party because there are tons of different orbs and very detailed game boards. The minigames are fun, but the host is really annoying. The many different game modes are fun too. THIS GAME IS BEST WITH A GROUP OF FRIENDS.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mario Party 5
great game and one of the best mario party games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/11
dalvinrulzs
Location: ohio
This game is perfect for: party gamers
yall forgot mario party 4 and 6 numbers 1 2 3 7 8 werent as fun u needed mics for 7 i think six did not need mics i recommend getting 4 5 and 6 there are the best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mario Party 5
A Party To Attend!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/09
BlazingGames
Mario Party 5 is an excellent Mario Party game, or even better, an overall amazing multiplayer party experience. The new features/gameplay elements add a ton of variety and unity, making the game feel fresh, but at the same time, a classic, as it doesn't stray away too much from the original concept. The game introduces 3 new playable characters such as Koopa Kid, Boo and Toad, which in my opinion, are great additions. The board game process is also sped up, so players can immediately head right into the mini game action instantly, without waiting for long periods of time. The controls are actually pretty solid; they're responsive and they just feel very fluent and natural, and it definitely helps the gameplay a lot. The sound is probably one of the game's strengths, if not, the strength. The music is catchy and diverse, and the V.Os don't feel too exaggerated or annoying this time around. The mini games are also more light-hearted and fun than ever, with some new ideas and less carbon-copies. Aside from these positivities come some negativities. The exclusion of Donkey Kong as a fully playable character is disappointing. The game is too easy. The graphics are mediocre. And finally, the story line is so-so. Not to mention that this game gets boring fast if played alone, hence the game's title. I believe there is some lasting appeal in this game, just not enough. Overall, Mario Party 5 is a great game, and it certainly deserves credit for it's efforts. If you love the Mario Party series, or just Mario in general, or if you'd like to try something fun for a change, get this one if you can - because this is a party to attend!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Priderz
USA
 
Please wait while more information about Priderz is loaded.
Additional information about Priderz could not be loaded.
Best Game EVA
Posted 7/23/11
This game i say is the best mario party game out its easy fun and edictive
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Mario Party 5
It was A Great Mario Party Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/11
Mariofan101
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This Game is a mixture of fun and excitement. It has everything. I love the story and the courses. Also I love the mini games ( Especially Goomba Hotel). Great Game Nintendo. Keep up the good work.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mario Party 5
it was so fun to play with friends
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/12
cap3
Location: washington, ev
This game is perfect for: party gamers
i love mario games i i love mario party 5 the most because it is a group game and my whole family can play it with me so i suggest this game to all of my friends.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for Mario Party 5
best mario party
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/11
Yoshiegg13
This game is perfect for: party gamers
this game is the best mario party ever made. it has a good storyline and you could be bowser jr on party mode. i think thats cool.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.