GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Need for Speed: Underground

Enter the world of urban street racing and high performance tuner cars with the latest title in the hit Need for Speed series: Need for Speed Underground. Take on today's most popular tuner cars from Mitsubishi Motors, Subaru, Toyota and many more, building the ultimate street machine by earning cash to pay for custom body kits and a host of licensed car performance mods.
Average Customer Rating:
8.917
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
7
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
22 out of 2492%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Need for Speed: Underground
Review 1 for Need for Speed: Underground
The Need for Speed
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/09
carmaniac1200
I got this game a year ago. First it was quite easy, but once you succeed throughout the races, the competitors are a lot more challenging. This game has a variety of cars, from Ford to Volkswagen. In 'Underground' the players earn money which gives them the capacity to purchase life-like upgrades. These upgrades are from real life companies. The songs that can be played during the races are very boring, and most are explicit. Even though it is rated E, I would still tone down the volume, while little children are in the room. This game also offers a wide variety of race types. This game is a lot more fun with a steering wheel and pedals. All the races take place in a very dark environment, so you can barely see anything. After you have won a race, a crowd of people swarm around your car, and do the same movements every single time. Even though this game is old, the cars are not. Like the Nissan Z100, Toyota Celica.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Need for Speed: Underground
Hated It At First, But It Grew On Me.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/24/14
FreshKrisKreash
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I despised this game the first time I ever played it. But I went back a year or so later and played it again and I actually really like this game. The music is awesome and the game screams PS2.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 3 for Need for Speed: Underground
cool
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/10
police man
Need for Speed Underground is one of the best racing games to ever come out on the PS2. The game does a great job of simulating the street racing world. There are dozens of tracks to choose from and a great selection of cars too. The graphics in this game look very good. The city looks great from any angle packed with neon lights and tall skyscrapers that make the city really come alive. The car customization is pretty cool too. Some of the features are amazing and artistic paint schemes, awesome and flashy neon glow, body kits and much more. I thought the career mode was very fun. The races are very challenging and they always provide plenty of excitement and thrill. The hardest part of career mode has to be the drifting. In some races it's almost impossible to stop the car from getting into the wall. Even though the drifting is hard it is still very fun. The drag races can be pretty hard at times too because you have to avoid traffic which can sometimes lead to a wreck. This game is plenty challenging and fun. Very good game for anyone who enjoys racing games and fast cars.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Need for Speed: Underground
Great street racing game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/09
jbourne
Need for Speed Underground is one of the best racing games to ever come out on the PS2. The game does a great job of simulating the street racing world. There are dozens of tracks to choose from and a great selection of cars too. The graphics in this game look very good. The city looks great from any angle packed with neon lights and tall skyscrapers that make the city really come alive. The car customization is pretty cool too. Some of the features are amazing and artistic paint schemes, awesome and flashy neon glow, body kits and much more. I thought the career mode was very fun. The races are very challenging and they always provide plenty of excitement and thrill. The hardest part of career mode has to be the drifting. In some races it's almost impossible to stop the car from getting into the wall. Even though the drifting is hard it is still very fun. The drag races can be pretty hard at times too because you have to avoid traffic which can sometimes lead to a wreck. This game is plenty challenging and fun. Very good game for anyone who enjoys racing games and fast cars.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Need for Speed: Underground
Good street racing
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/11
DJ2010
Location: Snow Hill, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this for my birthday about 3 years ago, and I still haven't beat it. I almost there though. The main thing you'll find hard about this game is the underground mode. I don't need to tell the rest. Just buy the game, and I wish you the best of luck.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Need for Speed: Underground
Hours of enjoyment. (WHERE'S UNDERGROUND 3?!)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/31/12
TheReverend
Location: Sandover Village, Haven City
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you love racing games, I would strongly recommend this game. Especially if you still love PS2 games and don't complain about older graphics. I used to play this game 24/7! It has alot of moments where I got extremely angry and raged. Ha, especially at the end of the game. It's a very hard game at times. This game takes skill! Don't pre-judge this game ;) but really, it has awesome customization (for the time it was made) and awesome looking graphics. Not realistic really, but I mean colorful and nice. And EA, where's Underground 3?!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Need for Speed: Underground
FUN!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/10
Subway
Location: San Diego, CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I liked this ps2 game. It had pretty good graphics. This game was pretty cool because there are all types of racing.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Need for Speed: Underground
Its a pretty legit game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/11
Ink3d
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It has a well thought story line. Need for speed has always been my favorite car racing game. The cars and graphics always seem to catch my attention. The only thing i would change about it, is make it to were you could restart the campaign but with harder difficulties.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Need for Speed: Underground
could have better game modes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/11
turbo246
Location: farmington ut
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have had this game for a while now and I really don't play it a lot because I like games that have free roam or free run i don't like games that don't have free roam.Second you should be able to change the time of day and the weather conditions,and the city. I am going to try need for speed underground 2 today hopefully it is a lot funner than this game,but if you don't mind the limitations than it would be good for anybody who likes to just race and not explore the city.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Need for Speed: Underground
NFS4LYF
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/11
ronniedonnie719
Location: MD
Need for Speed is my favorite racing series. Jumping from stock exotic racing to customizable tuner is an interesting leap to say the least. Overall, this game has great customizable features using real life brands such as Toyo, Kenwood, BBS, and more. The driving experience is well done for a street racing game. This is definitely a keeper for collectors like me.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Need for Speed: Underground
A Must Buy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/10
Gobstopper
Location: SomeWhereThatYouDontKnow
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got it when it was 20 bucks, and i still love it! The great graphics and the nice tracks make this game 'The Need for Speed'. Best nfs game ive ever played. Great game for racing lovers. Also, i love the multiplayer feature! this game is perfect for multiplayer!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Need for Speed: Underground
GREAT GAME !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/12
Blessed98
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i think this would be a great game for people that are into driving game s like myself i realy like the way they put in better cars and suv's and stuff overall great game and its also great in two player mode
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Need for Speed: Underground
One of the best games made
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/12
UnMaG12NavOx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It was my first game i played and even though i got an xbox 360 i play this all the time never gets old!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Need for Speed: Underground
Great Graphics
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/11
0006
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I still play this when I go to the arcade it has Graphics like the games today.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Need for Speed: Underground
This is one of the best racing games of all times!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/12
Morf9090
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is really really really fun! I played It when it first came out, it was really fun and entertaining and it still is to this day and days to come. The Car Customization was really nice and it had soooo many cars that i couldn't believe. It blew my mid when i was little. I only got to play Quick Play but I unlocked almost every thing (my disk was scratch and i was like 8 and had no money). I love split screen, playing with my brothers. This game can and will get hard during the playthrough of "Going Undercover" or So I've heard. This Game is a 99/100. I thought that there should of been more maps but that's it. The gameplay is smooth and i liked the music. So i would Say a Solid 10/10 or a 99/100
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Need for Speed: Underground
It's An Okay Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/09
Brianxyahxdigg
Last year, EA took its long-running Need for Speed series in an exciting new direction with the release of Need for Speed Underground, a racing game that focused on making the import tuner scene the star of its arcade-style racing show. The game worked really well, combining the right level of car customization with good track design, challenging opponents, and impressive graphical effects. Now, one year later, a sequel is on the streets, adding some new race types and a big, open city to cruise around. The actual racing in Need for Speed Underground 2 is still pretty good, but unfortunately most of the stuff you do in between races keeps you away from the game's best moments. Underground 2 gives you a whole city to drive around, but there's not much to do in it. Need for Speed Underground 2 tries to inject a story into your career mode using static-image cutscenes that pop up before some races. The effect is similar to what the Max Payne series does with its noninteractive sequences, though that game pulls it off much better than Need for Speed Underground 2 does. Dopey story short, you're sent off to a new town after getting ambushed by a rival racing crew, and you'll have to start from scratch with one car and a handful of races to get you going. The biggest change made by this year's game is that the action now takes place in one large city. You're given free rein to drive around wherever you want, and you'll have to drive to races to drive in them. You'll also have to drive to different parts shops to customize your ride--in fact, you'll have to find most of the game's shops by cruising around the city, looking for the right type of colored lights. The game gives you an onscreen map, but shops don't show up until you've found them, and some races don't actually appear on the map, either. On paper, this whole open-city thing sounds like an interesting idea. Someone probably sat down and said, "Well, everyone likes Grand Theft Auto, and it has an open city, so our game has to have an open city as well. In fact, let's even make it so that different sections of the city are locked away until you progress to a certain point in the career mode." In practice, driving around the city is a real drag that keeps you out of the action longer than you'd like. The game also rarely takes advantage of the open city for racing purposes, staging a majority of its events on preset tracks, rather than attempting to go for a Midnight Club-like "get there however you can" feel. There's a menu in the garage that lets you jump to a handful of different events, but most races don't show up here, and none of the shops do, either, making it completely useless. You'll start out in some pretty slow cars, so the racing isn't very exciting until you earn enough for a full set of upgraded performance parts. But once you've done so, the racing is fun and the cars handle well. The cars are fast, and things like turning, powersliding, and proper corning technique are easy to pick-up. Like in last year's game, there are a handful of different race types: Circuit races are long lap-based events, sprints take you from point A to point B on a set course, drag racing lets you live your life a quarter mile at a time, and drift races rank you based on how squirrelly you can get on the track. New in this year's game are the street X races, which are essentially regular races that take place on drift tracks. Outrun races take place in various parts of the city--you roll up behind another racer, tap a button, and then try to pass and outrun him or her. You'll also encounter a few races against the clock, in which you'll have to get from one point in the city to another before a photographer leaves the area. Make it, and you'll get to put your car on the cover of one of the game's magazines or DVDs for extra cash. The big new race type is the "underground racing league." These races are the sort of mysterious events where you'll see most
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Need for Speed: Underground
I Loved This Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/14
242Sup3rstar
Location: Miami,Florida
I remember beating this game bad on ps2. Midnight Club couldn't touch NFSU to be honest. The soundtrack was crazy. The thing I loved about this game was the cars, customization, the story and the music. So there was sprint, drag, drift and regular races. I loved drifting getting the highest score possible. NFSU2 wasn't as good EA ought to bring Underground back to remind us of our childhood :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Need for Speed: Underground
legit
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/11
Need4speedman111
Location: Allentown,PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is a perfect representation for Need for speed. The game has only the best customization and a vast selection of cars from acuras to mazdas. The game was the first to take place in one city instead of around the world. But that dosent mean that the game is bad. It makes the game better. THIS GAME TAKES IT TO 11! the game has no cops >:( thats my only complaint. about the game but it still amuses me ever since 2003 till about 2100 it will :3
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Need for Speed: Underground
this game stinks
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/12
partyhero360
Location: florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game would be way better if you could go fast. if you look at yore millage it says you are going 200 miles per hour and it feels like you are going 5. this game stinks. get burnout its way better.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Need for Speed: Underground
BEST CHEAP RACING GAME EVER!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/10
mariobro12
Location: U.S.A. Illinois
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I brought this game about 3 years ago and I still love it! This game wouldve been better if it had police in it. Overall a very fun good game with good graphics!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 next>>