GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Shellshock 2: Blood Trails

ShellShock 2: Blood Trails is an ultra-violent, survival horror FPS game set against the backdrop of the Vietnam War. Gameplay is centered on the use of psychological horror and fear, relying on the power of suggestion, mood, tension and foreshadowing to immerse players in a war that is worse than hell.
Average Customer Rating:
5.571
5.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
4 out of 757%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shellshock 2: Blood Trails
Review 1 for Shellshock 2: Blood Trails
Good game until mission 10 part 2
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/09
40yr old gamer
I had heard a lot of negative press about this game and I stayed away from it until GameStop had a "Buy 2 Get 1 Free" deal. I bought 2 used games (Timeshift *good concept but have not played it much yet as it is next on my list*, Blacksite - Area 51 *which I really liked. I will review that game next as I completed it*) and picked this as my free game. I was very surprised with the game. I liked it was a first person shooter and I thought the graphics were pretty good. I enjoyed playing this game a lot UNTIL I got to mission 10 Part 2 (right before the end game where you fight 1 more 'elite' before the cut scene.) The area before has you pitted against countless zombies. There are some that walk and some that run. You must aim for the head and try to find more ammo as you go through it fast. The game setting is on medium and I will try a few more times before I give up as I think it is almost impossible and I am getting annoyed. I do not think there is a strategy for this area as you just have to try to keep away until you defeat them all. Up until this part I really enjoyed the game. It was challenging, and definitely worth what I paid for it. (nothing!) :) Overall I would recommend it if it is inexpensive. If you want a change and beat the newer games then have some fun (until mission 10 part 2!) and go for it.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shellshock 2: Blood Trails
What a waste!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/11
Hutchster
Location: Mt. Kisco, NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
So, i went into game stop, looked at this game and though, wow, a cool looking game for 20 bucks. Went home and tried it out..... the story they set up sounded so good. got through the first level and was not impressed at all!! I thought may be the second level.... NO, the gameplay is an imitation of Call of Duty (a bad one at that). Call of Duty 3 was way better than this and the newer COD's just blow this out of the water. The graphics were a huge upset. For a minute i thought i was playing on my PS2 and thought WOW, thats kind of depressing. The sound is mediocre, the gameplay is a COD rip off, lasting appeal?!? THERE IS NONE... it might as well be a demo! This game might have gotten some credit in my book if there were some form of multiplayer, BUT NO. Final point, dont buy this game, if your looking for an average good FPS with zombies COD 5 or COD 7... simple answer.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shellshock 2: Blood Trails
shellshock?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/09
TR0Y!
Wow! I had never heard of this game and now that i have, I'm struck! this game is awesome. if you like the movie dawn of the dead then you have to play this game because it is so awesome. there are some flaws in it, one of them is that the graphics are not fantastic but they're still pretty moderate, the story is good but not great, its really predictabe " kill zombies" its not hard to figure out and its unique because I haven't played and zombie games for the ps3 except for call of duty 5 but the zombie mode is just like a survival not really part of the story and its so fun when your killing zombies with a shotgun trust me I've been there so before you judge this game by how it looks, trust me its like so cool beyond zombie killing. Get this game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shellshock 2: Blood Trails
Dissapointed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/14
star34
Location: New York, NY
Shellshock 2: Blood Trails is a dissapointing game. The story is good but the graphics are terrible and dumb AI's. The game does not even have trophies and is easy to beat in like 4 hours! Would not reccomend this game to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 5 for Shellshock 2: Blood Trails
Suprisingly..impressed.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/09
OutSider
Everybody I talked to about Shellshock 2 told me to steer clear of it. They told me not to waste my money. I sort of agreed and made studpid pre-judgements. I must admit that I was wrong to judge prior to playing. I rented this game only because Killzone 2 was checked out. I was hoping for a couple of hours of 'mindless' gaming. I figured if I could suffer through Turning Point's below-mediocre campaign, I could play anything. Luckily this game was 100 times better than I ever imagined. It is not a great game, but it is definately fun.I love the fact that it mixes both war and zombies. I should have known that when mixing two of the best gaming genres (action/war and horror) the outcome can't be that bad. Story line: Not the best, definately not the worst. (7.3-10) Graphics: Again, not the best, but by far not the worst. (8-10) Sound: There are some very thick, intense, and realistic effects. I like the way the character's breathing is heard. (9.2-10)Challenge: I played the game on medium (you have the choice of easy, medium, or hard prior to playing). There are some real challenging parts. There were 2 different boards I recall having to hold off enemies, and I swear it felt like they'd never stop coming. (8.7-10) Controls: The controls were easy to learn, and I had them mastered within 10 minutes of gaming. There is just something that I don't like about the controls. That being said, they aren't the worst. (7.3-10) See a theme here..? Not the best, but DEFINATELY not the worst!I would give this game a 8.1-10 on the basis of its suprisingly impressive game play. I'd say rent or buy it. The price is fair.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shellshock 2: Blood Trails
cant wait
Posted on:11/19/08
Soccerboy_101
This game just looks awesome graphics aren't the biggest deal but there not bad at All. The gameplay looks cool, think of for example playing a Call of Duty like game but fused together with a resident evil. The story sounds awesome to me, this game really lets you know what its like to be in-Shock! Imagine yourself in a Vietnam war and then this crazy stuff happens. But I would definitely recommend this game. I think there's nothing wrong with this game that I know (for now maybe), but anyway I highly recommend this. However, I would have to say this will come to a little competition don't you think? I mean which one would you pick Fear 2 or this one? Whoa! I'd say a pretty tough decision, huh? I will probably get both!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shellshock 2: Blood Trails
I Dont Know
Posted on:2/19/09
versussnake
I have Shell shock 2 reserved but after viewing the trailer i think i'm going to cancel. I'm just not into the idea of it being a horror game. I guess i was expecting more like the first one on PS2.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shellshock 2: Blood Trails
Was so pumped for this but then....
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/4/12
Aber119
Location: WInterport, ME
I was pumped for a good horror shooter that would be scary but I didnt get that. This is a playstation 1 game the graphics are horrible, the sounds are not so good and the controls dont work good, enemies are super easy to kill and you never die. Never get this game, its a warning. Would've been better with multiplayer or at least co-op.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shellshock 2: Blood Trails
it will most likely be good
Posted on:4/6/08
ps3 gamertag tedfizzle
i really liked the first one. it was one of the best vietnam games i have played. lately i have really been wanting to play another vietnam game because im sick of playing moderwarfare and ww2. this should be the best vietnam game of the new generation consoles.
Review 10 for Shellshock 2: Blood Trails
lokkin good
Posted on:3/4/08
bobby o jr
i have owned the first one for ps2 and it was pretty good. weapons were nice and gameplay itself was great... that fact that u could shoot off people's arms and heads was pretty hot... i hope they keep up the good work with this game
Review 11 for Shellshock 2: Blood Trails
why does everyone hate this game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/25/12
red1dawn22222
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i thought it was a pretty good zombie vietnam FPS the best part was when they play free bird during the credits
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10