GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Call of Duty: Finest Hour

The newest installment in the award-winning Call of Duty series, Call of Duty: Finest Hour takes players to the frontlines of combat to experience the cinematic intensity, chaos of battle and epic moments of WWII. Call of Duty: Finest Hour features all-new combat missions, intense squad-based combat and cinematic special effects - delivering a breathtaking first person action gaming experience.
Average Customer Rating:
8.306
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
10 stars
14
9 stars
12
8 stars
11
7 stars
5
6 stars
3
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 out of 4986%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Call of Duty: Finest Hour
Review 1 for Call of Duty: Finest Hour
The greatest shooter game I have ever played
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/09
Daethmachine
This is an all around great game. The sound will blow you away. It feels like your actually in WWII. The story very well put together and challenging. The Russian charge of Stalingrad was a very fun level full of Germans and guns. This was the first shooting game I ever bought, the only other time I had played shooter were at friend's houses and I stunk at them but now that I bought one for myself I am sure going to buy many more. Although this game is quite fun it is very challenging I found myself repeating levels many times. The responsiveness was the only thing I found kinda disappointing sometimes when I pressed the fire button the person would just sit there and I had to press the button again which that amount of time is quite costly when you've got like three Nazis in front of you. I didn't really like level where you played as the sniper woman because her gun took way too long to reload. But this is still a great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Call of Duty: Finest Hour
AMAZING
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/08
COD OWNS
I only played this one call of duty but this one is simply amazing. The challenge was so hard like in level two you had to get down the german flag but you have to get through like 500 germans. It will take a while to beat the game because its very long there's about 10 day long levels longer depends on the challenge. Amazing graphics walking under ground in the sewer I could have sworn it was like the sewer near my house every were you go had great graphics. The camera angle was hard to control because I had germans shooting at me from every were and I couldn't see them and when you had your gun aimed and you tried to turn the camera it when in super slow mo. Also when you were told to follow one of the sergeants they would bring u in a circle or get you killed and when one of them I had to follow wouldn't go anywhere for like 20 minutes then I went my way and he shot me down. But overall call of duty 1 is an amazing game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Call of Duty: Finest Hour
One of the Best WWII Games Ever Created
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/14
Alpha101
Location: United States
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Before I start, I should let you know that I have never completed this game. When I played it, I was a kid, so the game appeared very hard to me, and I eventually quit. So I might be missing some things, so please forgive me.
This game is beautiful. The story is great, the gameplay runs smoothly, the graphics are pretty good, and the battles, unlike COD games today, are very intense. In fact, my favorite level of the game is the first one, when you participate in the Battle of Stalingrad. This, while not the best COD, is easily one of the best.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Call of Duty: Finest Hour
Amazing Chalenge
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/08
Laxman25
Call Of Duty Finest Hour is an exciting yet a challenging game. Although I have not beaten the game I have found many difficulties. Such as Clearing the German Bunkers to lower their flag. Defending the last useable tank for 10 minutes as you try to escape the abandon tank factory while German machine guns and missile launches are letting down a hail of fire on you. Then being forced to defend the engineer as he fixes the tank when it has engine problems and is being bombed. Finally being taken through the enemies lines while under machine gun, rocket launcher, and Panzer (tank) fire all at once. Even though this game has it's difficulties it is also an action packed ton of blasting your enemies with frag grenades, MP40s' bundle of fun and excitement for all who play it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
coolgameplayer123
ca
 
Please wait while more information about coolgameplayer123 is loaded.
Additional information about coolgameplayer123 could not be loaded.
veeeeeeeeeeeeeery hard
Posted 11/26/10
could someone please tellme how to beat the british campain .
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Call of Duty: Finest Hour
amazing game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/09
gennisis
For its level of gameplay, I still play call of duty today. I picked up call of duty on my birthday,because I was a big world war 2 guy and loved shooters. I remember playing those first few second of the beginning of the game, where you are on a boat full of recruits to stalingrad and I remember thinking "this is going to be an amazing game." I was right. This game is fantastic, and the challenge is excellent. I had to play trough some levels about 5-8 before I completed them. I especially loved the storyline, because they got ever detail right, and didn't try to fill it up with what they guessed. The sound is also excellent. you can hear explosions, troops yelling, and the crack of guns in a firefight. the controls can be a bit choppy at first, but you get used to them. The only controls I can argue with are the grenade throw, which is sometimes a little hard to get in the middle of a firefight. The graphics were pretty good, but I think they could have done better for this level of game. The only thing I hated about this game was the responsiveness. The soldiers are extremely stubborn and will not move out of there way unless you look directly at them and press the button that makes them move. the soldiers in this game will also not fight. they hide behind corners, and if they do fight they run across the battlefield and get too close before they shoot. But aside from that I recommend this game to all those who are looking for an excellent shooter with a small game budget, and even to those who have a big budget. this game is worth every minute you put into it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Call of Duty: Finest Hour
Great Sound
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/10
sportshooter47
Call of Duty Finest Hour is a great game. One of the best in the series. It's kind of a hard game for me since it's me second shooter game but it is a great game. The graphics aren't the best but the storyline and challenge is great. In the second level when your captain dies u meet another captain named Tanya. She leads u through the second level. The only complaint i have is that it only has nine levels. I would much rather a game with more levels. The sound of it is amazing everybody has german accents and u can hear everything like your really there. I'm very looking forward to getting more Call of Duty games and then Ghost Recon and then other shooter games. My estimate is that this is won of the best games in the series of Call of Duty.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Call of Duty: Finest Hour
Call of Duty classic!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/13
Shamus
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A classic COD game, Call of Duty: Finest Hour takes you into the early 1940s, back when Adolf Hitler was at power. Your goal is to prevent the Germans from taking over Stalingrad. As you begin the game, you're given a fresh wad of ammo, but no gun. You must wait until one of your fellow troops is killed, then you can pick up his rifle. I understand that if you're starting out as a private, you should earn your right to fight, but playing the first part of the game unarmed is a big disadvantage. But once you get a gun, the game gets progressively easier to play. Overall, COD: Finest Hour is a fun, great, realistic game, which is good for beginners new to Call of Duty, and experienced gamers alike.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Call of Duty: Finest Hour
A classic
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/11
supergoku
Location: Fort Myers,FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is really good. The graphics are really good for their time. The gameplay is really good. The campaign is very fun and has a good storyline. The game is kinda hard though so you should play other shooters first. This game is a must own for ps2 owners because it is one of the best shooters on the ps2. It is also a must buy for any Call of Duty fan because it is the first Call of duty game on a console.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Call of Duty: Finest Hour
thebigboysrhere
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/09
Joe 1928
Overall this is a good game? The missions are very challenging but fun even on hard. This game is exciting and the graphics are pretty good. There are some faults in the graphics like when the head commander walks into a room and gets stuck in the wall. The storyline is good but is kind of hard to understand at first but they are still fun. If you want a good WWII game I would get call of duty 2 or 3 first they are easy to understand and are more simple to beat. But if you want a WWII game that challenges your skill I would get Call of Duty Finest hour. Call of duty is the best WWII game on the market today wether you have the first game or the 5th. The controllers are easy to get use to and are pretty easy. The sound is really good like you are rite in the action. All together this is a great game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Call of Duty: Finest Hour
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/09
NerdinessExtroidiner
This is a fabulous game. This was my first FPS, and I'm only 14. The sound is great and the Germans speak real German. The guns are dead on. They look great and sound really good. This is a great game even by todays standards. If I had backwards compatibility on my PS3 and this game, my life would be complete. This is possibly the best shooter on the PS2. This is my favorite game and even still has a soft spot in my heart. is fun to run around and just gun down everyone. The game even lets you gun down your own teammates sometimes. It funny. I love the little details and the character models and voices are exceptional, though not PS3 type, but close. i love the easter eggs too. This game has a bit of replay value. The story will keep you busy and will take you to three different locations.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Call of Duty: Finest Hour
classic
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/11
Packers21
Location: Las Vegas, NV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Finest Hour really is Call of Duty's finest hour. The game may be dated by the latest standards but if you don't mind the non HD graphics it's great. There's some epic tank battles, sniping missions, and wow moments. In the beginning especially is one of the best moments ever in a Cod game with the river crossing into the long Stalingrad battle. It also has some pressure situations just trying to survive such as trying to protect the tank factory. You also feel a little attached to the charaters..and there's some suprising twists to them. The guns are also done well and are historic. The sounds and music are the best part of the game. Hearing the sounds of hundreds of men charging a hill to death or the rather eerie music is incredible. A definite classic for the PS2.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Call of Duty: Finest Hour
Great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/11
vlzgoirish22
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is really good I'm only at level 5, but i already love it! One of the best parts is just at the beginning of the first level your commanding officer gives you a really awesome and very inspiring speech before you take the battlefield.
pros.
Great gameplay
Really feels like you are in WWII
Tons of guns
Fantastic storyline
Perfect difficulty it is challenging without being frustrating
cons.
It is sometimes hard to tell who is on your team
no split-screen
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Call of Duty: Finest Hour
OVER THE TOP EXCELLENT!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/11
Gamerkid4568
Location: Austin, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Okay i am a gamer! I love video games! Well this game is one of my favorite games. I really like old kind of games and systems. But this game is like the kind of game you want to play before you play any other of the series. This game starts the epic trilogy of COD! Now i have an Xbox 360 and i play games like cod black ops and world at war. I lost my ps2 when i was younger and if i find it i will play it all day long!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
5.3 out of 10(366)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Call of Duty: Finest Hour
Played for hours when i got it
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/11
starwarsFREAK27
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
ok i just got this (i only own a ps2 and psp but i play xbox360 a lot) and i was instantly hooked. i played from 9 pm to 2 am but then got stuck on the russin level driving the tank (any help is appreciated). i still go back and play every level again to where i hav it all memorized. im a bad gamer but i m really good at cod zombies and i say this is good for any gamer seriously.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Call of Duty: Finest Hour
This is the ultimate CallofDuty! Forget black ops!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/11
Rikyby
Location: Wentzville, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Seriously, this is the most awesomest call of duty ever. And don't care if that is not a word. call of duty is a serious gaming time vampire. If you want the best shooter around, with action,awesome graphics for the time, amazing sound and appeal that will last for at least 2 years.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Call of Duty: Finest Hour
EPIC!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/11
FirstGamer10
Location: MI
THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!! The movements and lip sync is totally better than the DS. This is a epic game. A MUST buy for FPS lovers. (Which is me :D) The graphics are awesome along with the story line. There isn't really any blood. The missions are fairly long. I give this game a 11/10.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Call of Duty: Finest Hour
Worst call of duty to date.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/11
xbox4eva
Location: philadelphia pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This has gotta be the most mediocre and in my opinion the only mediocre game in the series. It has alot of parts that make you wanna throw the controller at your tv. This game does have some good things for example the guns as well as the controls, but thats about it for the most part. Overall if you can find this game for $5 or less it is worth it but not much more than $5. Its ok at best.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Call of Duty: Finest Hour
This is an amazing game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/11
mudak
Location: Redding,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is one of the first games i played for the ps2 and the first call of duty i ever played and this was a few years back and i still love playing this game. the way its set up is also amazing because its campaigns are interlocking for the most part so its much like a story
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Call of Duty Deluxe
9.5 out of 10(2)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Call of Duty: Finest Hour
shoot em' all!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/12
gamersamx2fly
Location: phoenix,AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
5 stars because the graphics are good the sound qualaty is good to.it isnt that gory wich stinks. all my friends recomended it to me so i played it at there house and now im going to get it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Call of Duty: Finest Hour
This game is really good.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/12
Shamus
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The graphics, the sound the gameplay, everything about this game is really good. It's the first COD game I ever owned or played. It's a really good game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>