GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution

Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution will be the first offering in the legendary Civilization series to appear on next generation consoles and handheld systems. In development by legendary designer Sid Meier and Firaxis Games, this game will deliver Civilization's renowned epic single-player campaigns featuring vast re-playability and unmatched addictive gameplay. In addition, with revolutionary features like real-time interaction with leaders and advisors, extensive multiplayer capabilities and integrated video and voice chat, Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution will completely transport the Civilization series to a level of gameplay that fans have never seen before.
Average Customer Rating:
8.457
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
10 stars
12
9 stars
11
8 stars
4
7 stars
3
6 stars
3
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 out of 3583%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Review 1 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
If you are expecting Civ V...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/08
beowulf77
If you are expecting Civ V, you will be disappointed. This game is a streamlined version of Civilization and is designed to play much faster. Games should only take a few hours, as opposed to the 12-15-hour marathons that commonly take place on the PC version (Civ IV). The graphics are great, and the controls are fantastic. Replayability is extremely high, as you can take each of the leaders and try to win in different ways (economic, cultural, domination, space race.) For example, the French start with a cathedral in their capital; so they get a big cultural boost early on, while the Aztecs' units heal after every battle they win; so they would be great for a start-to-finish domination strategy. My only real complaint is the decision to use Simlish as the language for your advisors. They are extremely, and I mean extremely, annoying. I completely disagree with any review that says the game is not replayable (the game tracks the type of win you get with each leader and on each difficulty level,) and anyone that says it is easy should try upping the ol' difficulty level past chieftain. The AI is evil. There is a turn cap, at which the game ends, but that has been present in every Civ game from Civ I. And if you are taking that long to win, you just need a little more practice.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
32 of 38 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
good ?????
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/14/14
nbaking10
this game starts off great when u first start but after a while it gets boring and old. and its price is on the rise i bought this game for $21 now its $30its really not worth it
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 3 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Just not the same ...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/13
aco612
Location: Future wetlands of Louisiana
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
As other reviewers have mentioned, this is NOT Civilization V; it is a console version of the long-popular strategy game and as such should be graded differently than a PC version. For what it is, it is pretty good. The HUD is easy to digest and the controller functions are mapped very well. The promotion system for military units is simple but effective, and the cultural/economic/religious inputs for your civilization are dense but easy to figure out. So why only a 7? Because it simply feels dumb. The Sim-gibber that your advisors spit out seems childish. The animations are silly, the "cute" touches are superfluous, and on the whole the game appears less serious than it actually is. Those are just cosmetic issues, though, so my main beef is that when held up against the PC versions of Civilization this one is just lacking depth. That may be a harsh method of grading, but when you expect filet mignon and get hock ... the taste is disappointing. If you have never played Civ on PC, then by all means try this as a taster. If you have, then this is a paltry (and pricey) substitute.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Intensed Strategy!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/13
Champion525
Location: CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
To play this game u must have a patient and stragetic mind. Its kind of like SimCity, Risk and Battalion Wars together in one. Also i could catch up with my history with the Civilopedia categories, it gives tips in the game and talks about the famous people back then from ancient times to the 1900's and different types of history. The strategy part is not only having a strong army but also having a good economy, population, currency, and research. This game will not tolerate wreckless and arrogant attitudes, in other words, if u just try to build an army (not caring about ur own cities, population, culture, and research capabilities) and attempt to destroy every city u lose the game out of irresponsiblity. As i said u need patience and strategy and u dont have to be a world power to win the game. But this game is really fun and keeps u thinking while playing it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Hooked!! = )
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/13
BlazeRyder
Location: On a piece of Earth!
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game a few years back and well.... I have three words for you, I am hooked. I love this game. Just love it. Not to sound like a video-game nerd but some days I wake up in the morning and play this game until midnight. I am not joking. The Game play is amazing and fun. The game play for me is I want everyone in the world to call me their lord. The Sound is amazing for a ps3 game. The Graphics are amazing. Everything is amazing. Wow. I did not realize how many times I have said amazing until just now. Anyway... If you are looking for a ps3 game with ( here I go again ) amazing graphics, amazing game play and amazing sound. This is the game for you.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Sweet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/12
MonsterMatt
Location: Nc
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I konw im late but just got the game and its still great. Just cant get enough taking over the world. It is worth your money ;)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Very Fun Game, but..
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/12
GarrettJCPL04
Location: Boulder City, Nevada
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It was a very fun game that I wanted forever. Finding it was the hard part. No game stop had it, I ended up ordering online.. I played it for days, and days. It could be a little better though, I thought the matches were to short, an hour tops.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
super fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/12
coolguy321
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
All you casual gamers should play but first get it as a demo and see if you like it(= and it is super fun but your units can be kidnapped or ambushed so look out (= ) <= :p
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Best Strategy game ever!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/12
ChubChub19
Location: Los Angeles, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
For all of you strategic game lovers, this is the game for you. Sometimes the sounds the characters make are overused but the game play is awsome and will never get old. Over all this game is perfect for anyone who loves strategy games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Suicidal
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/12
Maxxor270
Worst game ever! The graphics are cartoonish, the voices of the characters get really annoying, and your units and armies just stand there as they get killed.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 20 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
VERY ADDICTIVE GAME!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/11
civman
Location: placerville, california
i firts uplouded the demo on ps3 then i was hooked on it then i bought the game and played it every day!!! i just wish they would have more units and longer games.you should buy it its worth it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Best strategy game ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/11
pollito
Location: Atlanta,Ga
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Cool game play but really graphics play, The best strategy game made.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
NOT WHAT I EXPECTED
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/11
Talldestroyer
Location: new york,ny
it could have a story mode , more civilizations ,units , modes.. it is not worth 30 bucks though.. but it is kinda fun..
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Finally, a Civ for the current consoles
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/11
jharm360
Location: Seattle, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The classic PC game showed up at my store under PS3, wow. After trying this one out, found it to be good for what it is. The classic strategy game is remastered to fit with the use of a game-pad controller. However, after a few times through, I felt that more could have been added. My only problem with all of the Civ games have been that they only have a handful of civilizations to choose from. With Civ4 & Civ5, downloadable and create-able content can be added to improve the lasting appeal. With the PSN and other online networks, I expected there to be addable Civs, instead only addable scenarios and wonders that can cost up to five bucks each. Also, I am still waiting for Sid Meier and Firaxis Games to be brave enough to create add-on packages that include "evil" or unlikable civilizations: Hitler's Nazy Germany, Stalin's Soviet Russia, or Caligula's Rome. Give it an "M" rating if you have to. Just think it would be fun to battle against history's least liked figures too.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Sid Meier's Civilization IV
8.7 out of 10(9)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
playstationboy1
munford,tn
 
Please wait while more information about playstationboy1 is loaded.
Additional information about playstationboy1 could not be loaded.
good game
Posted 10/15/11
ive played the pc version of civilization and its great but i think it is better on a consol than a pc
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
ok game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/11
tbirdplayer7
Location: oakdale ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is a good game for people who enjoy these types of games. But if you get this game you wont play it for that long you will play it and than get bored of it in a week and if you dont like to wait than dont play the online mode it takes for ever fo turns to end.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Wish it was longer
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/11
Kronyx
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has everything to me except longevity. I completed the game within 2 - 3 hour. The only problem with the game is that at a certain point it tells u, that u only have 5 more turns. There is a lot more building that can be done. A lot more exploring. I would like to be able to conquor the entire earth.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Great game:)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/11
77juice777
Location: perris, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is one of most favorite strategy games. Its good for casual gamers who love a good game. playing online is not the best,and could use work. But overall it is a good game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Awsome game with okay graphics. Very addicting.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/11
Civ323
Location: LA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Addictive strategy game. Even though they made it look cartoonish, it's an okay game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Good for a strategy game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/11
VoiceOfTruth
Location: NewYork
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I really like strategy games like Sims 3, Evil Genius, etc. It was almost a no brainer to get this game. It was funner than I expected it to be. You have to have patience with the game but it was really a nice game. It could have been better and more interactions but as it is the game is pretty ok.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Great game you should get it if you love civ
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/10
clenmila
Location: San diego, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have been a CIV fan since civ 2 first came out and i love civilization with a passion, i have been playing CIV since i was around 6 years old :D now im 16 and i still love the game. When CIV revalution came out i thought it was a joke and dumb cause it looked all cartoony and stuff but then i tried the PS3 demo about 2 days ago and i wish i could play past 1200 AD XD. So i bought this game from gamestop today with my chrismas money and im very excited to get the game. The game is easy to get the hang of just go throught chiftan level first and pay close attention to the tips and you will be a pro :). the controls are pretty good and the gameplay is amazing i feel like im ruling my own nation, basically the same feeling you get from the other CIVS except when you fight you can feel the vibration of the controler and the screams of the soliders as they win or parish. Also the game seems to have a life of its own for example when you approach a barbarien village the chief mocks you and when you conquer it the chief gets upset and tries to act tough. All in all the game is great and this is coming from someone who only played the demo XD
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>