GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mad Catz Universal Component Cable

Looking for ultimate connection quality? No compromises here. The Mad Catz Component Video and Audio Cable for the PlayStation 3, Xbox360, and Wii maximizes resolution and picture clarity. Nickel-plated contacts and reinforced cables provide you with the best signal transfer available for your sound and video.
Average Customer Rating:
6.054
6.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
10 stars
14
9 stars
5
8 stars
3
7 stars
6
6 stars
3
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
7
1 star
7
28 out of 5650%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mad Catz Universal Component Cable
Review 1 for Mad Catz Universal Component Cable
Good for people with multiple systems
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/13
Lycan91
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this about a year and a half ago and i haven't had problems with it. if you have multiple systems this is wonderful because this removes the hassle of having to go behind your tv to change the cables out every time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Mad Catz Universal Component Cable
I Dunno
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/13
BigAlexx
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this for my PS3. It has great video quality but there are times where the screen will black out for a short second. I dunno if this is normal or whether it is my TV. I have everything hooked up properly but it still blacks out.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Mad Catz Universal Component Cable
very good and affordable
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/13
yungm0ney
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i have all 3 systems and works great on all. no problem so far. I don't see what anyone is talking about
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 4 for Mad Catz Universal Component Cable
Garbage
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/12
BMXER
Location: Portland
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Unless your getting this for 1 system its garbage I got 3 of these and the biggest problem was if 2 systems were plugged in then only one would get sound and a picture and the other would only get a picture. I would use it for my PS3 and 360 and when the PS3 was on and the XBOX was off there would be sound and a picture however, when the XBOX was on and the PS3 was off the Xbox would have no sound only a picture.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CrazyDaze
California
 
Please wait while more information about CrazyDaze is loaded.
Additional information about CrazyDaze could not be loaded.
Read the instruction manual.
Posted 12/4/12
These cables are meant to be a cheap alternative to a switch box. Yes you have to connect and disconnect the consoles but it's much cheaper than purchasing a switch box and cables for all consoles.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Mad Catz Universal Component Cable
It did not work
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/12
SullyPwnz
Location: Chicaga, Canada
Age: Over 65
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got a black and white screen when trying to record with Elgato Game Capture HD. I wanted color but no color came to me.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 6 for Mad Catz Universal Component Cable
Great for Wii, OK for HD consoles.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/12
KillerCookie23
Location: LA, CA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The best part about these cable is that they are not too expensive and they are universal. Let me start off by saying that they work great for Wii! Any HDTV owner needs this for Wii since the console does not use HDMI so this is the best choice for the console. It doesn't really improve the graphics and resolution, but it makes the games less ugly, blurry, and make it look more colorful. But how about those HD console owners? I only tried this on the Xbox 360 and well... they're are ok. These cables only go up to 720p since they are only component while HDMI are 1080p, so 1080p owners may not get the best quality of these cables. I used these cables on my 720p TV and like what I said, the quality wasn't bad, but wasn't as good as HDMI. The colors seemed weird. Red was bright red, while green looked like vomit green. The color wasn't really that bad but it felt a little off. The picture quality was less sharper than what you would get from HDMI cables, even on a 720p TV. If you need some universal cables or component cables for the Wii, buy these cables. Otherwise, just buy HDMI cables. They cost a lot less and gives much better quality.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 7 for Mad Catz Universal Component Cable
Worked fine for a short time.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/12
Loobot
Location: Yorktown, VA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I used this with my Wii . It worked fine or a few months, but quickly stopped transmitting color (my Wii's picture was coming out black and white). I had not been unplugging/replugging it in or anything that would cause it to wear out.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mad Catz Universal Component Cable
Great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/12
PsychJericho
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My HDMI port on my tv burned out and I thought I was not going to be able to have hd for my video games anymore went into game stop and bought this and it has been working great. Can't really tell the differeance between this and hdmi I think if you have a HD tv and need a different hookup then HDMI this is the way to go for sure and the guys at gamestop are deff going to help you if you need a hook up for the tv.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mad Catz Universal Component Cable
Outstanding!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/12
R4GE
Location: SA TX
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Love the picture and quality sound! Good choice for the game lovers! If you want a good deal on qaulity sound and resolution, i highly recommend this piece from heaven :D
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mad Catz Universal Component Cable
It worked on a small HDTV but not on a big one.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/12
Store
Location: Santa Elena, TX
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this to play Wii and Xbox 360 on HD. I had a small HDTV and they worked but Now I bought a big one and they don't work. To me it was almost a complete waste of cash I could have used to buy a 3DS. Well buy it if you have a small HDTV but don't if you have a big one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mad Catz Universal Component Cable
Not for wii
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/12
TheActingPanda
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It didnt work on my tv. It has to much cables depending on what kind of tv you have. On wii the screen is yellow or black and white.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CCWW
 
Please wait while more information about CCWW is loaded.
Additional information about CCWW could not be loaded.
Posted 5/29/12
Were you using an HDTV or a tube television? Some older televisions don't have the right connections for a component cable. If not, you need one of the cables with red, yellow, and white connectors, like the one that came with the system.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Mad Catz Universal Component Cable
good but not for a HDTV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/12
xack
Location: thibodaux,louisiana
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this is a good cable with a few problems.First even though it is supose to play gamnes in HD on a HDTV you cant.the wires are also prettyu flimsy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mad Catz Universal Component Cable
Great Product for the Price!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/12
kansasduo
Location: Wichita Ks
Age: 55-65
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I Just bought a Mitsubishi 82" HDTV TV. I really have the WII for my grandson so tv cable are somewhat of a mystery to me. I realized real quick after tring to plug in the red,white ,yellow plugs that were being used this would't work. So i researched it here and decided to give them a try. I did what some of the poster have said and swiched the HDTV switch as soon as i got it out of the box. Hooked it up and BANG great pictue. Of course not as good as the PS3 but it is on HDMI cable which will always be better. Highly recommend!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HyperGamer21
 
Please wait while more information about HyperGamer21 is loaded.
Additional information about HyperGamer21 could not be loaded.
Gray Screen Fixed!
Posted 11/13/12
So any way , if you end up with a gray screen on your Wii, Play Station, or XBOX, I'm pretty sure you never used one of these cables before. So if you look closely at the end of the cable (NOT THE END THAT PLUGS INTO YOUR TV) look closely at the input of the cable and you should see a switch. It should say " TV[_] HDTV" (Those brackets is the switch) the switch should be on TV. Now just switch it to HDTV and... fix up your settings and YOUR DONE
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Mad Catz Universal Component Cable
Cheap
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/11
ecoR1
Location: Raleigh, NC
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The product is cheap and flimsy. The cords cannot stay put most of the time and will constantly fall out. When you you do manage to get the cords right, the quality seen one the screen is abysmal.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mad Catz Universal Component Cable
It helps especially for an HDTV
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/11
VideoGamePhenomHD
Location: Garfield, NJ
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This cable looks good no matter if you have a regular TV or an HDTV. It's only for the current generation consoles. It improves the picture quality on an HDTV. Nothing big can be expected depending on how good of a cable you get like this.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mad Catz Universal Component Cable
Dont buy if you have an HDTV
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/11
Averytheperson
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this for my hdtv, and the picture was horrible, and there were lines running across the screen, i went bought the song component cables (i have a ps3) and they worked great, dont waste your time on these you'll be back to return them the next day.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mad Catz Universal Component Cable
good idea, poor quality
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/11
lastcameanarchy
Location: fond du lac wi
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
hooked my ps3 up to an hd tv with it. on high def frequency i get slight wavy lines flowing across the screen. really only noticeable on dark screens but when i buy something i expect it to work without fault. also the sound goes out every once in a while and i have to unplug and plug it back in.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mad Catz Universal Component Cable
Pretty good
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/11
blob777777777777777777766
Location: Boston, MA
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It works pretty well. I don't get why other people don't like it. Dude, if u need to kook up ps2 u need the legacy version.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 19 for Mad Catz Universal Component Cable
Universal? No flipping way!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/15/11
Gr8NinjaYuffie
Location: Knoxville,TN
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
ok, here is the deal. We got this cord to plug up our 360 and the ps2 together so we didn't have to get up to unplug everything and then plug it back up. When we plugged it all in there was no sound. we even tryed plugging up a digital optical audio cable, and still no sound. We unplugged the ps2 and everything worked. BUT universal means everything plugged up and working not having to disconnect consoles to play. That is why i will be returning this thing. I want a all in one not get up and unplug.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 26 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kirra
 
Please wait while more information about Kirra is loaded.
Additional information about Kirra could not be loaded.
No...
Posted 11/10/11
Universal actually means the cables will work with multiple consoles, which these do.
If you hook up all the cables at one time the tv will try to receive a signal from all three consoles at one time, which won't work.
These work great for the price.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Mad Catz Universal Component Cable
Perfect cable!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/11
AzMg
Location: Augusta, ME
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Honestly, I don't understand all the negativity on this cable. I bought it for my Wii because it was cheap, it was universal (though at the time I had neither of the other two systems), and would do what I needed. Obviously, the Wii isn't super high quality, but still, I wanted that extra boost when I bought an HDTV. I've had it over two years, and it's held up fine. I just recently got an XBOX 360, and decided that I didn't want to unhook the Wii from the component cable as well, so I tried plugging them both in at the same time. You can have both plugged in (if you have them close to each other, the split isn't too long, so your other cables won't reach far) and as long as they're not both on at the same time, obviously, it'll work! It's so convenient to have both hooked up to the same spot! So if you can have them side-by-side, get it for multiple systems! It's well worth the $18, and I usually don't support Mad Katz!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted 7/7/13
I heard the cables on the wii die out after a few months. You've had it for almost 2 years. Does it still hold up or do they die?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 next>>