GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Def Jam Fight for NY

The ultimate hip-hop fueled fighting game, Def Jam Fight For NY challenges players to step into the shoes of a ruthless street fighter battling for control of the hip-hop underground.
Average Customer Rating:
9.87
9.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
10 stars
20
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 23100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Def Jam Fight for NY
Review 1 for Def Jam Fight for NY
Def Jam fight for NY: A great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/09
Charlie Melone
Def Jam Fight for New York is an extremely entertaining game. This game offers you to have a girl friend, beef with other characters and complete customization over your appearance and voice. I'd recommend this to any one who likes fighting because it combines rap culture with great fighting that gets better as you progress in the story mode. The only thing that is kind of bad is the fact that it takes forever to get development points to build up your characters moves and strength, stamina, etc. Def Jam Fight for NY has the potential to be the greatest fighting game to be ever made because Tekken, don't get me wrong; I like it, gets old really fast due to the fact that all you do is moves that don't lead to blood or death or anything, there just knocked out. In Def Jam you beat people close to death and make it as realistic as possible. I'd give this game 2 thumbs up and a 10 out of 10.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Def Jam Fight for NY
Way better then Vendetta!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/10
Gamer since the 80's
I was kind of hesitant to buy this game because of how bad Def Jam Vendetta was and the high price for an old game, but was happy I made this purchase. This game works really well I have no problems with the controls, and it is real smooth. The special moves are cool and there is many you can buy. There is weapons in this one and boy do they do damage you can turn the fight around with a nice bat or sledge hammer! The story mode is excellent you can buy all kinds of clothes and jewelry, and you can upgrade your fighting styles and attributes. This game is very fun and has a high replay value. You won't be disappointed. There is many different levels with interactive environments such as smashing a guy through a speaker or throwing your opponent in front of a train. I recommend this to anyone looking to get out some aggression.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Def Jam Fight for NY
BEST. GAME. EVER.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/14
Camtronious
Location: Georgia, Ga
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is one of the best def jam games i ever played because of the combat in the game and all my favorite rappers are in the game soooooooo....yeah BEST. GAME. EVER.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Def Jam Fight for NY
Best fighting game in 2000s
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/12
acbrulez
Location: Apche Junction, AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
if you like fighting, making people give it Def Jam Fight for NY is the game for you. The campaign is the best, the gameplay is awesome and get to create your own street fighter. Pick kickboxing, submissions, street fighting and much more. EA games should remake this game for ps3, def jam icon sucked and the singing games aren't what people want. I would defiantly buy this if it would a remake of fight for ny in a heart beat for ps3, the best hardcore fighting game ever. i give perfect 10/10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Def Jam Fight for NY
This Game Was Kinda Awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/09
ThePs3GamerBoy_NyC
Def Jam: Fight For NY is a pretty good game when it comes to storyline and characters. The storyline is basically you playing as character u create, in a creative way, that joins a type of fight club. You and the members of your club fight for money against other competitors of different clubs. When things go wrong and somthing is taken from you, the game changes and you fight to get it back. When I played the game I got a feel for the storyline. When you go up against a tough fighter and you win your club respects you and you can buy clothes, and jewelery. Also you can get a girlfriend in the game. The way that you can do this is creative. Sometimes after a fight a cutscene will show a girl who saw u fight and starts to come on to you. You can deny or accept her. Another thing I liked about this game is that the characters, except for the one you play, are famous musical artists such as Redman, Ice T, Lil Kim, and much more. For a Playstation 2 game the graphics are good. The sounds are ok, nothing special. Gameplay is good. Fighting is always the way you want, meaning you can change your fighting style to your liking. You can also pick your special moves. I thought this gave the player more choice in gameplay making the game more enjoyable. Also in a fight there are weapons and interactive environments. You can use bottles or poles that find laying around. You can slam a person into a wall and use the wall as a weapon. Slam someone through stereos and tables, you name it you can do it. You feel good to win a fight. Overall I would recommend this game to all players who love fighting games. But if you dont like violence i would guess this game is not for you ( fair warning because this game has its moments ) This game definately has replay value.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
TheTruth20
 
Please wait while more information about TheTruth20 is loaded.
Additional information about TheTruth20 could not be loaded.
Just greatness
Posted 9/19/11
I played this game on both gamecube and playstation 2 when It was first came out, I was thouroughly satisfied. The graphics, the gameplay, the customobility, IT HAS IT ALL ! I would reccomend this game to ANYBODY who likes fighting games. If u don't, then u don't know what you are missing out on my friends :p
Customer Avatar
katwon
chicago
 
Please wait while more information about katwon is loaded.
Additional information about katwon could not be loaded.
def jam fight for ny is awesome!!!!!!!
Posted 11/27/10
def jam fight for ny is the best game ever i feel bad for def jam vendetta that was a little off but def jam fight for ny boost the def jam ratings up all the way then def jam icon slow it back down sad for it it might be balance now because def jam fight for ny ratings it a awesome game the best game in the world to me
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 6 for Def Jam Fight for NY
Great!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/10
AFurryMeerkat
Location: Kingman AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is one of my favorite fighters! I love how you can counter and use your enviorment, i need to buy a new copy of it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BABYJ13
 
Please wait while more information about BABYJ13 is loaded.
Additional information about BABYJ13 could not be loaded.
THE BEST GAME
Posted 5/18/13
THIS GAME IS TIGHT AND CELEBRITYS IS FIGHTING THAT IS TIGHT
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Def Jam Fight for NY
Great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/24/11
Anonymous
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
They should remake fight for new york for ps3 i didnt really like icon
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Def Jam Fight for NY
THE BEST !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/11
DGkilla12
Location: atlanta,GA
They went all out on this mean you make your own person and the story line is good and the best part is it got snoop dogg
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Def Jam Fight for NY
def jam fight for ny
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/12
malacki
Location: concord
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is the boom. If any body get's this game you are going to get stuck to this game.You half to get this game to today!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Def Jam Fight for NY
This game is the bomb
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/12
KidBlaze732
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Yo this game was just as good as the first and they should deffinitley remak it for PS3 icon was buns and not a lot of people liked it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Def Jam Fight for NY
massive fighting game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/10
Jmillz
Location: miami,florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
has all of my favorite characters. and has a intense story mode
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Def Jam Fight for NY
you can feel the rush throwing your match-up
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/12
chopshop500
Location: St.Paul
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
you know the game great you can feel the rush when your player throws crow out the window or when you throws sticky into the inferno of DOOM!! or when you ko trejo throws in front the unstoppable subway train our you demlosh your oppents car in demolition match also a couple of hip hop like redman method man capone nore ludacris snoop dogg and more dont forget joe budden walk with me or ice-t o.g
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas
8.4 out of 10(9)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted 6/25/13
They really need to make this game compatible for the ps3. I loved this game it was my favorite fighting game for the ps2! It has so much to do and me and my friends never got tired of beating each other up. So please consider doing so!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Def Jam Fight for NY
just wow
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/10
Kaseyredd
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
when i first got the game it needed to gain on me and it did. The game was a all time favorite of mine. This game is truly one of the best!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Def Jam Fight for NY
perfect fighting experience
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/12
nham1996
Location: Eunice NM
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
a great game for anyone who loves hip hop or fighting !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Def Jam Fight for NY
still playing this one!!!! 2014
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/14
lamontdavis3
Location: las vegas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game was so well done ,that the prequel killed the series .....if any programmers wanted to do the right ,make a follow up and give us what we love... while you're at ff7 needs justice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Def Jam Fight for NY
best game at the time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/10
mcsmith16
Location: elmira,ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i love this game. i seen it at my friends and went out the next day an got it and still love it. this game is the coolest game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Def Jam Fight for NY
The best game ever ever ever ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/13
Tae6
Location: Atlanta,GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I had this game 5 times and I want it again and I think I can beat everybody that's how good I am thank you for making this game. I wish they made Def Jam Fight For NY 2 instead of Def Jam Icon but thank you put more people in it like T.I. should be the best fighter or lil'wayne or both...!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Def Jam Fight for NY
best game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/13
Anonymous
Location: Hawaii
This game is perfect for: party gamers
this was my favorite game for the ps2. the graphics and everything was great for back in the days when this came out. i wish that they would make a new one that is exactly like this one for the ps3 or xbox 360
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Def Jam Fight for NY
this game is great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/12
matthew85
Location: malvern ar
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
when i played the game i was in love with a game i like everything about the game you can kill the rappers and at the end of the game you can push out the boss out of the window it is a great game i do not like def jam but i do like def jam fighting for ny so if you like fighting or you hate rap this is the game for you
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Def Jam Fight for NY
Man
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/13
hammerofjustice93
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was so awesome back in the day. I had so much fun playing this as a kid. Haha remember how you fight Snoop Dog at the end in that burning mansion. Good times.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 next>>