GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Devil May Cry 3

Devil May Cry 3 reintroduces the mysterious hero Dante in a riveting new game marked by complex storylines, striking graphics and unadulterated stylistic action. Devil May Cry 3 preserves the fast-paced action that has made the series so popular. In addition to its strong roots, the game increases the intensity of gameplay with a new "style" system, which adds an additional level of depth. Depending on preference, players can choose to use short-range, long-range, defensive or evasive play styles. Each system has its own range of gameplay features and players can choose to power up their favorite style for increased special attack abilities. The range of options available in Devil May Cry 3 immerses players in a non-stop, thrilling escapade.
Average Customer Rating:
7.75
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 out of 875%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Devil May Cry 3
Review 1 for Devil May Cry 3
Epic.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/08
synysterdeviant
Something about the Devil May Cry series makes me smirk a little whenever I open up an arsenal of Dante's attacks. this game, the third installment in what is in my opinion the best gaming saga ever created, is harder than you can ever believe, but is well worth the trouble. Dante is younger, but he still looks great, and he fights like a mother trucker. It starts out fairly difficult to manage, but that is only because you probably haven't played the game before. If you have, it's easy. The controls are flawless, and the graphic uality is mindblowing. This game and the original Devil May Cry are tied for first for the best games ever made. Maybe I'm a little biased, considering I love fighting, shooting, slashing, skewing, and just about any other sort of violence in a video game, but Devil May Cry 3 has definitely made a good name for itself, even after following a game like Devil May Cry 2 (which was epic, but had a lot to live up to and just barely missed my expectations) . My favorite moment? The end. Why? The cut scene is EPIC. You'll see why.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Devil May Cry 3
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/08
Brent
First of all, this is arguably be the best Devil May Cry game on Playstation 2. But there's one thing that may get some people to not like this game, and that is the difficulty. This game will beat you to the ground when you first start out. But once you get a hang of everything, you won't have too much trouble with it. The graphics in this game are amazing, especially the cutscenes. One moment Dante is scaling up a building, the next he's fighting his brother to the death. Combat in the game is fun and real simple once you get the hang of it. You pick a style that gives a kind of depth to the game. You have 4 to choose from, gunslinger,swordmaster, royal guard, and quickster. You get some more as you progress through the game. The first 2 are obvious as to what they pertain to. Royal Guard lets you defend against enemy attacks basically and lets you unleash the energy on your opponents. Quickster lets you evade enemy attacks with some kind of dash. The music is awesome if you like heavy metal/hard rock. Control of this game is nice and smooth so it won't bother with the gameplay experience. The length of the game is good. You'll get a solid 8-10 hours out of this game.All in all, this is a great game and you won't be dissapointed, you just have to get the hang of it if the difficulty is too much.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Devil May Cry 3
I like to play this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/10
doge
Location: washiongton DC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i think the game is fun . devil may cry 3 is a load of fun to the fan of dmc should play this game if you want to see and know dante story
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Devil May Cry 3
A hard and most fun action game to play!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/12
roguejmh888
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
DMC 3 is one hard game to play! But its not a perfect game just shy of it though. The game is before the first DMC and it sure kicks the devil's pitch fork in his butt. The game is so good its one of my best action game on my list. Now the gameplay is sort of the same but still loved it wish they can beef it up abit. The sound is good but everytime when demons come out the same goth music pops up. But the voices are really good. The grapihics are so clean and i really didnt see any slowdowns so thats a plus hhahahahha. In the end this game is very good and must have for your ps2 cause once the ps2 is out of gamestop this game will be very hard to find. so buy it for 5 bucks!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Devil May Cry 3
yeah, about that...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/12
thatguy333
Location: ca
Everyone around these game sites always give this game such high praise...but why?. I've been playing DMC series since tthey've existed and part three is hands down the worst of the series, a lot of people will say part 2 is...but that's because they're new to the story.
Part 1 is (and always will be) the best of the series, and i have to say i liked part 2 better than 4 as well...seems like they gave up on trying with the series...starting with (that's right, you guessed it) this sorry excuse for a DMC game.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Devil May Cry 3
All Devil may cry games suck
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/12
RPG3Guy4356
Location: Suprise Az
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Devil may cry games are a shame to gaming. All it is hacking and slashing, and God of war has a whole lot better story line plus the chac's suck does not have the leveling up system like other games do so thsi game is a waste of time
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 31 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DecentAtVideoGames
 
Please wait while more information about DecentAtVideoGames is loaded.
Additional information about DecentAtVideoGames could not be loaded.
You're a hypocrite
Posted 12/9/12
Kingdom Hearts 2 and God of War are the exact same thing (hacking and slashing for kiddies), yet you prefer those. You could just say the games are too hard for you, it's not that difficult just to say that and not be a baby about it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Devil May Cry 3
Please Read This
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/11
Pupi
Location: Fajardo,PR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I recommend to take out this great series to play it like PS3 please and understand the story well because I could never do, just hope you read this and consider it especially Capcom ...=)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
supergamer32
 
Please wait while more information about supergamer32 is loaded.
Additional information about supergamer32 could not be loaded.
CAPCOM MUST READ COMMENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 8/20/11
they made a god of war that was orriganally on ps2 for ps3 because everyone who had a ps2 upgradded to ps3 but they want to play devil may cry again but then they rememberd that they sold their ps2 and they got bored with dmc4 and wanted to play extra hard modes when its 1 hit kill and using dantes super awsome gutair and being dantes brother when you beat the hardest mode god of war did this and us gamers would all love the same if you do the same thing
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Devil May Cry 3
Hard, but this will be one heck of a party!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/11
DAK075
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
O.K. So, let me warn you. This game is HARD. Harder than the Japanese version of this game. (Hard mode for the Japan version is the Normal mode here.) It took me a long time plus my blood, sweat, and tears to beat this game. This was my first DMC game ever. When I first bought this game, I knew it was going to be hard. I thought I would just get ticked off at this game and just return it a week later because I couldn't beat the first boss of the game. However, that was far from the case. This game had style. It had that feel that just kept nudging you to keep playing. Yeah, I those parts of the game in which I couldn't beat this one boss, but you just take a break from the game for a week or so, and you'll have better luck next time. (Lose too much to one boss, and you'll just keep losing, so its a good idea to take a break from the game when that happens.) The graphics are really good for a PS2 game. Yeah, its not that HD stuff you're normally used to, but the animations were done beautifully. It really brings the game to life. Plus the voice acting wasn't bad at all. Bring both of these aspects together, and you'll get one story you won't forget. Now, the soundtrack to this game is also great. It brings battles to life even more, and gets you in the mood to slay some demons, or it gets you in the mood with the environment you were in. Either way, the music matched my style of music, and put that in with the gameplay, and you'll be hooked. Speaking of gameplay, there is a style system that allows you to change gameplay styles to that of an evasive type to that of a close combat type to long range to defensive. Each weapon you'll get is unique and has their strengths and weaknesses as well as a unique combo set for you to master. Now then, once you beat the game on Easy (which most people will first do, since Normal will be too hard for first time players) then the party's just getting started! You'll feel the need to start beating the game on higher difficulties, which will have even more hours of gameplay. So if you enjoy a challenge, then this game is for you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.