GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Baten Kaitos

Emotions run deep in this expansive role-playing game as you play a spirit guiding a young hero, Kalas, to his destiny to unlock the mystery of a lost sea. Baten Kaitos boasts an unconventional card system. In the quicksilver, turn-based combat, you can combine cards to conjure countless magical effects.
Average Customer Rating:
9.667
9.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Baten Kaitos
Review 1 for Baten Kaitos
Wonderful!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/08
Emmy
This game is absolutely stunning. Me and my brother tag-teamed it through the whole game, I solved the puzzles, he did the fighting. The card-based fighting tactic is very difficult to figure out at first, but when you get the hang of it, its very fun to do! The graphics are amazing, everything is so detailed, and the music is very good. There is so much more to do then just follow the story line, you can talk to people and get secret tasks to complete, which you may not be able to do until you get further in the game, but either way its very hard to run out of things to do. The characters are very elaborate and its interesting to see how they all tie together in the game. I do not recommend this for little kids, its much too complex, but could keep any teen/adult busy for hours!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Baten Kaitos
Definitely Worth the Buy!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/10
DreamBlade
Oh, where to start! Baten Kaitos is an overall great game; from the storyline to graphics to sound! You play as the 'Guardian Spirit' of Kalas (a young man) and guide him and his companions around the world exploring the different continents for the 'End Magnus'. Each continent has its own unique style and the graphics are visually stunning (for a Gamecube). Baten Kaitos uses a card based battle system. The player has a fixed amount of cards that can be put inside of a deck for each character. Card types range from weapon to armor to item, etc and each has a specific elemental attribute. Each character also has a pile of finishing attacks which are pretty cool! The storyline will NOT bore you! With many plot twists and out of the ordinary characters, you'll be entertained all the way throughout the 2 Disc, 70+ hour game. Not to mention the endless side quests and item combinations waiting to be found. For the price that this game is offered at, you definitely don't want to miss out on all the entertainment, creativity, and astonishment that it has in store! I personally loved the game and have played through it twice so far. Also, if you enjoyed 'Baten Kaitos: Eternal Wings and the Lost Ocean' I suggest checking out the sequel: 'Baten Kaitos Origins' (though they differ a bit!~)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Baten Kaitos
Typical RPG Difficulty Level
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/12
Phizz
Location: St. Louis, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is great! I pre-ordered it when it frist came out, and though it's been years, I STILL love it!
Pros:
Good character development
Interesting plot
Great use of simultaniously being third AND first person (You, the player, are actually a spirit-friend of the main character. Don't worry, that's not a spoiler)
Weird but cool battle system. This was my major worry at first, but you definitely get used to it.
Collectibles if you're intot hat sort of thing, but not a necessary componant to the game
Graphics are GORGEOUS
The land's concepts are just lovely
Music is saved up in a seperate options list after you've encountered it in game
Music is wonderful! I still listen to it.
The voice ACTING is good, but...
Cons:
The voice's sound quality is subpar. Through the entire game, it sounds like everyone is in a metal hallway.
There are parts of the game where, true in some classic RPGs' fashion, if you save in a certain spot and your level is too low, you'll end up having to restart the game.
If you're opposed to grinding levels for a while, this game isn't for you.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wakka66
 
Please wait while more information about Wakka66 is loaded.
Additional information about Wakka66 could not be loaded.
The voices
Posted 2/19/12
About the voices, it can be remidied by setting the sound option to Surround
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Baten Kaitos
Best Game Ever!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/08
Dassiell02
I love this game and could play it for days literally. What I love about this game is that it's really long and has the best storyline. The graphics are top of the line with so much detail in all the worlds. You get to learn about all the characters and each of their individual stories as you travel. The card based game is great, it's a bit challenging in the beginning but once you get the hang of it everything become easier. This game is at the top of my list. Best game ever made for the Gamecube. Most games aren't lengthy and this is something that this game is and challenging but even though its lengthy and challenging you won't want to put it down for one-second its very addicting and always keeps in the edge of your seat just wanting to know what's going to happen next. If you are looking for a great gamecube game this is the game for you. No other better! Hope you find this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Zeroske
Edinboro, PA
 
Please wait while more information about Zeroske is loaded.
Additional information about Zeroske could not be loaded.
Awesome stuff
Posted 12/7/10
Great storyline, suprisingly good graphics for a Gamecube game, i mean WOW. The voice acting, what can I say, you were so good when you were apparently NOT saying my name (the spirits) i would have bet money you actually were. Great game, I'd recommend this to any RPG gamer.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Baten Kaitos
A quality RPG.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/11
NJReview
Baten Kaitos does a lot of things right. Encounters are not random, there are tons of fully orchestrated songs, the card based battle system is simple and enjoyable, the story will not take less than 50 hours to complete, there is a huge amount of different cards for you to customize your deck for battle, and the story is one of the best. What isn’t so good though, is the voice acting. In fact, at some points in the game it can be almost painful. There is an option to turn off the voice acting though, so this problem can be avoided. All in all, it must be remembered that the RPG genre is not for everyone because of its characteristic slow pace and text heavy story. If you’re a fan of RPGs or are looking to get into one for the first time, Baten Kaitos is a quality example of the genre.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Baten Kaitos
Unforgettable
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/11
SolidHeart
Location: Tampa, Fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Baten Kaitos is one of the best games on the Gamecube hands-down. I picked it up a few years ago, and beat the game. It was LONG, but you were always on your feet. The plot is pretty impossible to predict, and it has fun game play so you don't get bored. I had a re-run last week and just had to review it and let out how much I really love the game. The music is great, the characters are great, the art is amazing, the plot is crazy, and the game is fun. Simply wonderful. The only complaint about the game I have is the voice acting. However, the voice acting isn't enough to stop you from growing a love for the game. A must-buy for such a cheap price ; I'll be picking up Origins soon. 8D
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Baten Kaitos
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/12
jeral2334
Location: hammond
I purchased this game in 2009 and it's 2012 I still can't stop playing it even though I have a ps3 and other games to go to my wii this still is the best The plot is easy to follow It's really fun when you fight kalas then after you beat malpercio you learn how kalas and melodia have been knowing each other since the beggining and the way you meet all of your allies who adventure with you is awesome then when you fight giacomo, amy, and folon together three times is so awesome then geldoblame is so easy when you fight him twice I guess what im trying to say is that this game is worth way more than it's price
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Baten Kaitos
overall, a great game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/11
smalltimegamer
Location: Glenwood, IL
i haven't quite finished this game yet, but i will once i get it back from my friend! one thing i would definitely suggest to new players is that once you start combat against the monsters in the forest, stay there for as long as you can stand beating the same monsters in such a small area, and level up as much as you can (similar to a physical work out, doing reps of the same exercise), because once you leave that first island and go to the second, game play gets WAY harder. but, this game is extremely fun and should definitely be played!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Baten Kaitos
The Perfect Gamecube Game!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/11
KalasGuardianSpirit
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is by far my favorite game (right after Bayonetta) that i have ever played. The graphics are beautiful for gamecube and the gameplay is wonderful. I'm glad that i kept my gamecube at my grandparents house and i plan to grab this as soon as i get the chance (rented the game so i need a copy to own). if you have any doubts about this game, just go ahead and toss them out because this game is true gaming perfection!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10