GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

Universal Dance Pad

The Dance Pad Extreme for the GameCube, Wii, Playstation 2, and PS One allows you to get the most out of your DDR games. With our revolutionary non-skid design and innovative pad layering techniques
Average Customer Rating:
2.929
2.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
8
3 out of 1421%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Universal Dance Pad
Review 1 for Universal Dance Pad
Not Compatible with new Wii
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/19/13
Wantedtodance
Location: Boulder, CO
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The "universal" dance pad no longer attaches to the Wii. The new wii (for the past two years it seems according to the Nintendo web site) no longer has additional ports and there is no longer a top flap that opens with ports to attach the dance pad. My family is very disappointed and there does not seem to be a way to play the dance dance revolution games with the new wii, which is why we wanted a wii in the first place.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 2 for Universal Dance Pad
This mat.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/12
OMGitzSam
Location: New York, Staten Island
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I'm going to be straight up honest with you now. The compatibily with this mat is fine. This dance mat works perfectly fine, and I've had no button problems when it was intact. But that is the problem, this mat is made in such a bad quality material, that it rips easily. Right now, I've had about a few cuts and gashes on my mat, and a huge opening in the back of it. It's a piece of bad quality material and it WILL rip. I am now unable to do any song difficulty higher than Light/Basic without slipping around because of the rips and material. I'm glad I'm only playing Light now because I'm learning freestyle play, but I would not recommend buying this mat unless you can't find it anywhere else. Gamestop is lucky they have a monopoly over PS2 DDR mats. Not worth it, works great, but it will eventually rip.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Universal Dance Pad
Merry Christmas to me
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/11
moshinigo
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was so excited when I got this DDR mat. But when I played it, it was slow to respond and seemed to have the lack of sensitivity on the pad. Though weighing at 105 pounds, this did not give me an enjoyable experience with this product and I will NOT recommend it though with the illusion of a real deal DDR mat with it's design. It was a big downer for my Christmas day.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Universal Dance Pad
This product is horrible.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/11
mustangfastback98
Location: New York, NY
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
This dance dance revolution dance mat is horrible, i got it brand new for the dance dance revolution game. i got it home and my sister plugged it in excited becuase we just got the ps2 and she really wanted to play it, got it pluged in chose the song nuthin didnt wrk. and the only time it kinda works is if u really stomp on the arrows. if u r playing a really fast song and really need the arrows to be kinda sensitive DO NOT BUY THIS MAT!!! I REPEAT DO NOT BUY THIS MAT. it is a waste of 20 bucks luckly with me i used in store credits so i really didnt lose any money but i still lost 20 dollars of in store credits.so bottom line do not buy it it sucks. i dont know if it was just my comsole but this thing sucks.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Universal Dance Pad
Pretty Good so far!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/11
thelegendarydancemaster
Location: Mt. Pocono, PA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this with ddr hottest party 1 and had no problems for the first hour. me my sister and my brother were all playin takin turns and the only thing that bothered a little was a once in a blue unresponsive back button but we played on a wood floor and it did not slide at all. Im a big guy around 250 and i had tons of fun while workin out so i thinks is good so far!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Universal Dance Pad
Horrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/11
ant14
Location: New York,NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It is the worst pad ever. It slides all over the place so I can't hit the back arrow. Also,it doesn't respond sometimes. DO NOT GET IT!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Dance Pad
Doesn't listen
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/11
Mario346
Location: NY
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is almost worth tne money. When I play Dance Dance Revaloson Mario Mix useing this, I step on a arow and it doesn't listin.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universal Dance Pad
DEFINITELY not as good as the Konami brand.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/11
someRANDOMalien
Location: anotherplanet
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Nowadays, when the 21st century is here and the 00's have past, it is INSANELY hard to find a good pad anywhere. Any pad that you DO find doesn't turn out to be the most top notch piece of plastic you've ever laid soles on. This abomination, is no exception. As many of the previous reviews state that it lasts for about a week, I started noting some oddities from the first day I got it. I immediately saw that the corners have curled and that the arrows were irresponsive. In denial, I returned the first pad and recieved another of the same variety. It too was very horrendous from the first PERFECT!! (or technically, Boo!) I got from it. The corners were pre-curled, the pad was VERY irresponsive, and it just was weird and unpleasant too look at compared to my KONAMI brand pad (which by now was worn out to the point where it was difficult to be recognized by the console). Now it's about 4 months past the purchase, and the corners, surprisingly have uncurled a little, but not by a lot. The steps seem to get more and more irresponsive (to be fair, however, I did notice that my feet failed to reach all the way towards the down arrow), and I see Almosts when it is very apparent that I stepped on the arrow at marvelous timing. Also, the pad slides around a lot, which could probably be the reason for my foot missing the arrows so much, and I've had to reposition it after every 9, 8, and 7 foot song I've played. While I do applaud at its mass compatibility with other consoles outside of the PlayStation 2, I simply do not approve of this pad comparative of the once thriving KONAMI brand pad. Overall, I believe that once flourishing pads of wonderful quality have become nearly extinct, and the last breed of which, seems to be dying very slowly (or rather rapidly). If you are a seasoned DDR player such as myself, then lots of disappointment shall follow upon the purchase of this item.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universal Dance Pad
!!!Universal Dance Wonder!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/11
turestrei
Location: sarasota,fl
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
This is a wonderful product. I bought this item about two weeks after it was released in stores for my wife. She was using it primarily with her PS2 because the dance pad she originally got was worn in and unresponsive. I picked her up the DDR for Wii and eventually started picking up on it myself. I'm not a little person either. I'm pretty Big on working out and weigh over 200 lbs. I've been "stomping" on this thing for almost a year now and have really gotten into the game. Using thisdance pad i can also play all of her DDR titles w/ the PS2 as well. My money was well spent and I'd advise anyone looking to get into fitness as well as have some fun to get this mat for all of their DDR needs. TWO THUMBS UP TO GAMESTOP FOR PUTTING THIS ON THE SHELVES!!!......... come on Konami. Eleven years and this game is still pretty big around.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Universal Dance Pad
Slick backing causes pad to move.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/11
dmac
Location: mississippi
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
This pad is smooth on the back which causes it to move around on the floor while you are trying to do DDR. This is a terrible design that makes the pad worthless. Buy the original pad made by Konami for Playstation.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 11 for Universal Dance Pad
The best dance pad ever. For about a week.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/10
Valtero
First off, this is likely the only universal dance pad you'll find in stores right now (as of now, mid 2010, there are no pads being sold separately in any major stores). And actually, for a long time there weren't any at all. It's also the only one, ever, that works with the more recent DDR titles on the Wii. For some crazy reason, Konami doesn't currently make and sell Wii dance mats separately (they used to, but good luck finding one now). So when that day comes when that the Wii mat that came with your copy of Hottest Party kicks the bucket (it will, eventually), you're out of luck. Or, if you want to play with two people at a time, again, out of luck. So, this dance pad seems like a dream come true. And for a short time, it is. For the first week, it's the greatest dance pad. It doesn't slide, it's responsive, everything works perfectly. However, by the second week there's a steep decline in functionality. The corners start to curl up. The up arrow becomes your greatest enemy, randomly failing to function. Arrows will become stuck, making navigating menus a nightmare as the on-screen selection rapidly scrolls all over the place, or will randomly trigger just as you try to select the desired song and difficulty, picking something you didn't want. You'll find yourself often having to spread out the mat, shake it, smooth it out, whatever you can to get the arrows working properly for a while. Also, and alarmingly, some people might have the pad slip out from under them without warning which could lead to injury if that were to happen at the wrong moment. This dance pad needs to be recalled and redesigned. Gamestop has a 30 day return policy on accessories, so those of you that have bought one of these and noticed the many problems with it within the first few weeks of gameplay should find your receipt and return it. I purchased a universal dance pad, also Gamestop brand, almost 2 YEARS ago that still works PERFECTLY. And I used it a LOT. It's even torn on the edges along the bottom, but it still works. I still use it with all of my PS2 DDR games, but it doesn't work with the recent Wii DDR games. Clearly, the design and manufacturing of Gamestop's previous line of universal dance pads was far superior to this version. I'm hoping someone involved with Gamestop's accessories department reads this and takes note of the many defects confirmed by myself and the other reviewers. Find out what they did right with the old dance pads, and do it again.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
12 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Universal Dance Pad
Cheap materials and design
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/10
mhoskins
I bought this pad to supplement the Konami pad that came with DDR Hottest Party 3 for Wii. I also picked up a couple Playstation 2 DDR games since this mat has XBox, Playstation, and Gamecube plugs. The mat works equally as well (which is to say, not much) across all platforms. This is obviously a knockoff of the Konami design, because it even has the same basic printed design on top. However, we've been using the Konami pad heavily since we first purchased DDR (about two months ago, with about 2-3 hours per day and multiple dancers), and it has only gotten more comfortable and responsive with use. After about a week of moderate use (less than an hour per day because we primarily use the Konami pad for the first player), all of the edges started curling up. The pad frequently registers false steps, whether stepping on an adjacent arrow, or even when standing still. It also does not register 16th steps at all; the response time is just too slow. The pad is also loud; the crinkling noise sounds like you're stepping on plastic grocery bags (which you pretty much are; more on that in a moment). When the edges curl up, the mat begins moving around on the floor since it has almost no contact around the sides. The neoprene base seemed to also be stretching, which made the bottom layer larger than the top. Which causes, yep, more curling. Having had enough with the curled edges, I decided to cut the mat open and possibly reuse the circuits in a custom pad. The contact circuits are printed on thin cellophane, which not only creases easily (potentially breaking connections with further use), it is LOUD. The inner foam separating the circuit layers is thin and looks like cotton batting (and holds up nearly as well). It was not centered inside the mat, which caused the right arrow to be extremely difficult to press. After our moderate use, the foam had also stretched in the middle, causing it to bunch up and fold around the edges, furthering the issue with curling and missed steps. In the end, the mat now exists with the edges of the bottom and foam layers completely cut out so all layers just rest on top of each other. I might secure them with duct tape, but I'm guessing this won't be the last time I open this mat. At the moment, it lays much flatter, but I haven't tested the responsiveness yet. This mat is cheaply made and I would not recommend it to anyone. Considering it's almost the same price as the Konami pad, you'd be much better off buying that instead. If you plan to do very well at this game, you might be better off buying a hard pad instead of a mat.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Universal Dance Pad
Do not Buy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/09
Armygirl207
I got this pad to use with my Nintendo Wii, and DDR 2. The first day or two the pad worked okay, and I loved playing the game. But as the days went and the more I used it the less I liked it. I have only had it for about two weeks, and the up arrow does not work most the time. It gets so frustrating, I am playing the game and getting good marks then the up arrow comes up and I cant get it. I have tried to store it hanging up, laying flat, or rolled up loosely no matter what way I keep it, it doesnt help. (I was hoping that the arrows were off from being put in the box, so I tried to re inline them). All four of the corners started to curl in also, this is another reason I tried to store it different ways. I would not recommend it to anyone. Spend some extra money and find a different one.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Universal Dance Pad
I wouldn't reccomend this pad.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:5/8/09
TheJaz
I just recently bought two of these pads and am highly disappointed. The down arrow and the right arrow on both pads seem to be losing sensitivity and the response time seems slow. Also, the back corners of the pads are starting to curl upward making it hard to navigate while playing. The pads have been used a total of about ten times for time intervals of 30 minutes to two hours. They are properly stored at the end of each use and are not being harshly stomped on. My family and I find ourselves having to "fluff" the pads to make them work properly. The pads also have a tendency to move around while you're on them which not only makes you miss the arrows but can also be dangerous. These pads seem more suited for someone who plans on playing DDR (or any other dance game for that matter) once in a while. If you're planning on playing most of the week for long periods of time or on high difficulties I'd suggest investing in some better quality non-slip pads.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sjd8810
Tampa
 
Please wait while more information about sjd8810 is loaded.
Additional information about sjd8810 could not be loaded.
IT SUCKS!!
Posted 11/17/10
I agree with everyone else saying that this pad sucks,its horrible quality and it sucks plan and simple its going back tomorrow.It works okay on my ddr but on here i saw they also recommend dance factory whatever,I bought it today because I have an old pad thats wireless and it wasnt working though it worked with my dance factory.when you are making your selections with dance factory yes it works however once you get into the game itself miss miss miss the arrows are un responsive.it just sucks over all.this pad is way too thin my old one is think and doesnt hurt my feet.I bought this as a source of excercise like I used too but,now its going back i will research somewhere else online where to purcahse a good pad.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)