GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Major League Baseball 2K8

The Complete MLB® Experience: Major League Baseball® 2K8 returns to the diamond with the most complete MLB® experience available on every major video game console. Revolutionizing your control of the 5 tools in baseball are brand new pitching, fielding and baserunning controls and a completely overhauled batting interface. Featuring a totally unique trading card mode, robust Minor League system, all-new Signature Style animations for 2008, and more, Major League Baseball® 2K8 brings a new level of fun to the virtual baseball world.
Average Customer Rating:
3
3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
0 out of 60%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Major League Baseball 2K8
Review 1 for Major League Baseball 2K8
WHY REYES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/11
nyjsd
I am so mad that reyes is on the marlins. WHY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!? Now i don't like him and i never will. And this game is soooooooooooooo awful. You should put ryan howard or prince fielder on the cover of this game. This game is awful
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Major League Baseball 2K8
mean oi
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/11
kl64
Location: New York NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
it was pretty sick i loved it was amazing best mlb game yet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 3 for Major League Baseball 2K8
MLB2k8
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/11
PS2PS3WII
I got this game for the ps2 and it was alright. The controls for the ps2 were ok. I recently got it for the ps3 and it was terrible! the cards were cool, but the controls are really bad. And sometimes, they turned an easy out into a double.for example, Ichiro was right under the ball and ran away and stretched his glove out. This game is one of a kind. (and that's a bad thing)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 4 for Major League Baseball 2K8
Worst pitching controls ever in a Baseball game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/08
Lopez323
This game had good intentions but fell way short of their goal. NOBODY is ever online because the game sucks. Pitching with the toggle sticks is impossible!! I can not duplicate the pitches design. 2k7 was way better than this cheap, retarded game. Rosters never update and we should be able to choose if we want to play with the 6 axis controls or use the Classic controls. Hitting is ok, but the pitching six axis controls suck big time!! Do not buy this game, or even go near it, it's horrible!! I threw my 2K8 in the garbage where it belongs. Online you are forced to use the sucky 6 axis toggle sticks that are impossible to pitch with and where the heck is Manny Ramirez for the Dodgers?!!?! for example. If you don't copy the pitch with the sticks you give up a Homer 75% of the time. Go back to the drawing board 2kSports you guys should apologize for this junk!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 5 for Major League Baseball 2K8
Do Not Buy This Game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/1/08
edhatesthisgame
It is the worst baseball game I have ever played; there are no redeeming properties to this game. Game play is terrible, Graphics are terrible. I have the previous two (2k6 and 2k7) for Xbox 360, nether were as good as MVP baseball was, but they were at least playable. I cannot for the life of me figure out how to hit in this game, trying all 3 ways they have to hit, and what fun is a baseball game if you can’t hit the ball. I hope EA buys out Take2 so they can put an end to this awful franchise. This may be better on other systems (I have it for the PS3) but I doubt it. I hope someone from 2k Sports reads this, though I doubt that as well. But I will never buy another 2k sports game.Sorry I just had to get this off my chest after wasting $**** on this piece of crap.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 6 for Major League Baseball 2K8
2Ksports fails again !
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/08
Holty08
.To the people out their that don't have a PS3 and can't get MLB 08 the show which is the most realistic and perfect baseball games to date on any console I am truly sorry. This is just one of the many upcoming reasons to own a PS3 and not a 360. MLB 2k8 seemed to be a good game on paper with great new ideas but it fails in almost every aspect. The new pitching is very weird, and even after hours of playing I still just don't like the way it is set up. I am also not in favor of how 2k did not use or set the six axis controller swing motion as the default for the game on ps3. The game's graphics are horrible and even on my HDTV their are almost so blurry that you cannot even make out players in the field during real-time game play. The defensive is slow, and players all seem to be drunk and w/out any speed at all unless you have of course a Jose Reyes type on your team. The online play is terrible and the game is still w/out an update for the stock rosters and we are almost a full one month into the season. The back of the game speaks of having over 90 minor league teams/rosters but they are of completely made up players. WHAT GOOD IS THAT????? The commentary is just the same as last year and so is the stadium/pregame show or intro. The game is totally a waste of your money and time on any system but especially on PS3. Buy the MLB08: The Show b/c it has the best graphics, stadiums, in-depth franchise mode, online game play w/ rosters updated weekly, and it makes you feel as if you’re watching and broadcast and no game is ever the same. Sorry to all you 360 owners but hey maybe one day 2k will make a decent game again until then you will just have to wait or buy a PS3
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 7 for Major League Baseball 2K8
Will be way better than The Show
Posted on:3/2/08
MG
After watching video previews of both 2k8 and The Show, I can say that 2k8 will be the better game. From what I've heard, the new pitching and fielding systems seem to have really improved gameplay, and gameplay was the only issue with last years game (2k7). The Show has such horrible graphics that you'd have to be blind to even think they are decent. As for 2k8, every last detail is perfect. Pitcher's windups, batter's stances, and player's general appearance are all replicated perfectly in 2k8. All the ballparks look strikingly real. Out of the two baseball games for the '08 season, this game will be the best. GO RED SOX!!!
Review 8 for Major League Baseball 2K8
wait for 2009
Posted on:2/29/08
Tommy John
Ever since MVP Baseball sold their rights i have been waiting for them to get em back. Luckily, that's only a year away i think, with MVP Baseball 2009 from EA. That was last i've heard, i mean they may have changed it because of what that first preview says. But, in the mean time i will probly take a look at 2K8 because MLB The Show is a little bit unrealistic with their graphics (ex. shoulder width is crazy). Both games have pretty terrible game play though compared to the epic/legendary MVP 2005, i mean such perfectly designed game play, only if they could have a magic update button.
Review 9 for Major League Baseball 2K8
MVP Creators
Posted on:2/28/08
Nik
As most of you baseball/gamer fans may already know. MVP Baseball 2005 was arguably the greatest baseball game ever. Since 2K bought the rights to make an MLB game, leaving the MVP series dead, they made the smartest decision ever and hired the creators from the MVP games. This is fantastic news to say the least and considering 2k8 is the second in its series to come out predominantly for the next gen system, it should live up to the hype.
Review 10 for Major League Baseball 2K8
Going to be Awsome
Posted on:2/25/08
Dan
I think 2K8 is going to be good. The kid that said there is nothing new to the game is wrong because they have the minor league stadiums and teams in the game now, something 2K7 didn't have. Plus, as a baseball player and fan, the thing that make MLB 2K games awsome is the commentary, I'm not saying I get the game for the commentary, I'm just saying I learn a whole lot of stuff from Joe Morgan and Jon Miller because they are better than The Shows commentators. Plus, 2K games make it feel like an actual game atmosphere. The only thing I wish though is if EA came out with MVP Baseball games again instead of college baseball games, I like college baseball but it's not exciting as MLB.
Review 11 for Major League Baseball 2K8
not as good
Posted on:2/17/08
danny
once again 2k doenst make a game as good as the show the graphics are good but the gameplay isnt as good as the show the show is getting better and better each year but 2k juss seems to be stuck there games stays the same each year ecept for the roster changes the show is a better game all around
Review 12 for Major League Baseball 2K8
Falls up Short
Posted on:1/1/08
Luke K
This game is second rate. The Show is only getting better every year. I don't see why 2K keeps making baseball games when they continue to get bad reviews. Gameplay sucks, graphics are good, but they lack the ability to recreate all the ballparks acuratley
Review 13 for Major League Baseball 2K8
Da wish list
Posted on:12/30/07
NOVA KONG
This is pure baseball a so in depth game would love to have peter gammons on the weekly show like college hoops as an addition. A baseball record database to pursue records. A in depth minor leauge system with playable games and realistic minor leauge ball parks. Brand name baseball gear similar to how NBA 2k8 has the various name brands for shoes. Go back to the customizable soundtracks and stadium music. How bout celebrity guest appearnces at games as a cool unlockable like NFL 2k5. Create a player with loads of innovative fun without having to play two different types of franchise modes unlike that other 2 letter sports brand. Motion capture more baseball player details all the way into the dug out chewing gum, tobacco spitting seeds, conversing with hand gestures. A huge money maker will be an all star spanish commentator cast since so many latin americans love the sport. Cant wait im having baseball withdrawals!