GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Super Mario 64

Super Mario 64 DS is an update to the classic Nintendo 64 game. This time players compete head-to-head for the stars. The player with the most stars when time runs out wins. Or you can take control of four different characters in the single player game. Pick this game up and be glued to your DS for hours!
Average Customer Rating:
8.432
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
10 stars
36
9 stars
25
8 stars
16
7 stars
5
6 stars
5
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
2
83 out of 9587%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Mario 64
Review 1 for Super Mario 64
Very fun!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/13
superhyrulelink
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is very fun. Definitely my number 1 game for the Nintendo DS. You get to control as Mario, Wario, Luigi, and Yoshi!!! :D
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Super Mario 64
Great!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/13
JJL56
Location: Goshen, IN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great game! The final boss was hard and the castle was too, but it was worth it all. Very good controls!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Super Mario 64
this game is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/13
mattt2003
Location: plano tx
This game is perfect for: party gamers
this has to be one of the best ds games ive played its sooo much fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i reccomend this game to anyone that has a ds or 3ds
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Super Mario 64
Okay.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/13
godzillavsme
Location: yuba city,ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The controls are not that easy,but it is a fun game!Graphics are amazing,sound is okay!I would recommend this to everyone thats looking for a good game!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Super Mario 64
Good ,solid ,fun.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/12
ThePerson3
Location: Kansas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Super Mario 64 is good . Mario's power star's have been stolen! Play as Mario, Yoshi and many more. Unlock levels by getting power stars .Battle numerous bosses to get Mario's stars back
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for Super Mario 64
Nintendo puts 64 in DS
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/31/12
thebj13
Location: Forsyth County, NC
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is a remake of the original game, and is actually still one of the best DS games to date. It was designed to show off the graphics of the ds, which in this case is better than n64. Nintendo added some new gameplay features such as playing as yoshi, wario, luigi and mario. The caps that were in the origninal version to power mario, have been replaced with bricks, and each guy has a specific powerup. The surround sound is this game was great for what I can remember. And as far as the levels, there is quite challenge in the design that varies from each one. And like I said earlier the graphics are probually the best you'll ever find on a DS game. I haven't had a DS in a while, I traded it in for a PS2, and have been playing Jak and Daxter, which is alot like this game. This is the one game I would have kept my DS for.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Super Mario 64
Bringin' it back to the old days
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/12
LamboFan
Location: Reseda, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great game for the DS. I thought that it was great that the N64 version is remade and put onto the DS. If you liked the N64 version than this is perfect for you.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Super Mario 64
A Great Addition For Your Mario Collection!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/12
GamerToTheMaximum
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a great remake from the classic N64 version of the game. Except this is by far better than I thought. The graphics are perfectly updated. The gameplay is the exact same thing, which I didn't want any change to this. The sound was okay, just the music you hear, some classic Mario-style type. Overall when you play, you won't be able to put this down. It's THAT awesome!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Super Mario 64
Great Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/10/12
Californiam123
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Super Mario 64 DS, is one of my favorite DS titles! It has great graphics, similar to Mario Party DS and Mario Kart. The controls are a little weak, sometime's you'll find yourself on a narrow ledge or overpass and Find it uncomfortable to move along without falling, but with the adjustable camera angles and zoom, You can find the perfect way to cross. Also for a little more freedom, you can use touch screen navigation. Although simple to use and control, the touch screen function still lack handling and control you need; Good for the castle, not levels. The graphics are all you could ask for on a low resolution system such as the DS. Providing clear texturing and altogether level design, Graphics, couldn't be better! The lasting appeal, is all that sets it off from being the best! It has all the same story, level design, and objectives; with a few changes here and there, but not enough to set it off from the original game. If you are a hardcore gamer like me, you like to play the buns out of games as soon as you get 'em! Basically all you are doing is playing the same 15 levels over and over again with a different objective each time. Some locked doors remain locked until you find some insane amount of stars. More often then not, that makes me want to totally rage quit and would be better off without it. The improvements from the original version are not very large but sometimes, very effective! Some texturing is improved or changed slightly. Enemies are no longer blobs with texture, they have details that stand out such as a Goomba's eyebrow's and feet. Mario and Bowser have INCREDIBLY improved! So, they no longer look like stubby orange skinned turtles and chubby, orange, matured, babies. Princess Peach's voice makes me want to throw up! All in all it is a great game. New features include mini games, 30 more stars than the original, 4 playable characters, and altogether, Better graphics and sound! Mario 64 DS is THE NUMBER 1 choice of video games for your DS system. Sorry my review was a bit long and its subjects were scattered and barely comprehensive at some points, but please take this into consideration! ENJOY!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 10 for Super Mario 64
graphics are okay but....
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/12
Speters
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
save it for the 3ds and let waluigi be in it but let yoshi eat ghosts and wario run faster and luigi no spinning backflip so wait for one to come on the 3ds
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Super Mario 64
best ds game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/6/12
nax2466
Location: new albany,IN
A more forgiving version of super mario 64 is what this is. You also can play as wario, yoshi, mario, and lugi. There are miningames to unlock. Each stage also has 1 mare star than the origanal 64 game. I own both versions of this game and this one in my opinion is the better game. If you want a game that has been restored, remastered, and even a little bit changed than this is your game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Super Mario 64
My first Mario DS game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/12
OcarinaOfAwesome
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I remember when I first got this game. I had only had my DS for a short while, and getting this game seemed like the coolest thing that could happen. I personally enjoyed this game, though I never got very far. The bosses are fun, the enemies are funny, and the addition of new playable characters was pretty cool. I like this version better than the original, just because you can be other characters, and there is more to do. I would recommend this game to anyone who likes Mario, or even if you just like adventure games.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Super Mario 64
Really Fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/12
minnesotawildfan
Location: newton, massachusetts
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I recently picked this game up at gamestop, hearing it was good. When i got home i popped the cartridge in my Dsi and started playing. The graphics were not great but i did not expect great graphics from a 2004 ds game. Overall this game is pretty good and it can last you a pretty long time, one more thing that bugs me about this game is that it seems to slow paced.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Super Mario 64
Characters are not fun.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/12
PIKA101
Location: Cincinnati,OH
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is just bad. The characters move like molasses and Yoshi's tongue just goes through enemies. I would just stick with regular super mario 64 from the wii shop channel.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Super Mario 64
Should've saved this for the 3ds
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/12
assassin007
Guess what? Super Mario 64 is back with a worse camera and awkward controls. When you use the stylus to move around it feels like you need to be left handed because the buttons are on the right side of the system. The shift from moving the characters with an analog stick to doing it with a d-pad was a huge mistake. The camera is more difficult to control now in many areas of the game, and several times you unintentionally fall off platforms and jump in the wrong directions because of this. However, I did like how you could also play as Yoshi, Luigi, and Wario, there are more stars to collect, and several fun mini games to play. Overall it is a pretty good port from the N64 to the DS, but should have been saved for the 3ds.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Super Mario 64
good but I wish that the controls werent so slow.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/12
bobbyflabby
Location: bloomington il
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got super mario 64 ds and I automaticly notised that the graphics were good for a mario ds game, the lasting appeal is good but the gameplay is a little slow, but the game is good, just I recomend that if you want to dash just so you dont get confused hold down y while you run, I just wish you didnt have to constantly hold down y to move fast but other than that the game is great.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Super Mario 64
Nintendo brings M64 back and better than ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/12
Dman17
Location: San Francisco, Califronia
Its pretty rare that a game scores all 10's in my book, but this one? it blew me away. Its the classic Super Mario 64 game on the DS except improved! (Is that even possible?), well apparently it is since they succeeded. In this game there is four playable characters: Mario, luigi, Yoshi, and Wario. Different characters have different abilities, so different characters can sometimes access different places. This game is difficult, but so incredibly addictive, just like the original Super Mario 64 except it has all the extras, (Such as having 150 stars to unlock instead of 120.) This game is a masterpiece and if you have a DS you NEED this game! Seriously, you will love it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Super Mario 64
good game but not as great as the n64 one
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/12
sonicjcfan
Location: video game land
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i love this game i rember playing this game it took me a year to beat on n64 i played this and i played as luigi most of the time cuse hes epic i play as mario luigi wario and yoshi and the princess is kidnapped like all the other games bowser looks better on the ds if u ask me but good game buy it!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Super Mario 64
A great game remade from a great classic.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/11
JAT527
Super Mario 64 was the best game I had played for the Nintendo 64. This game was a great game for old gamers to relive a classic with new gameplay. It is also a good game for new gamers to experience a good game on the Nintendo DS. With more areas and objectives, it's a good game to buy if you have a Nintendo DS. The minigames are also a great add-on to the game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Super Mario 64
I played this for actually 12 hours straight!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/11
SystemRetro
Umm... There is so much to say about this remake! Awesome! One problem: Here is my twelve hour streak challenge my friend challenged me to: This is my progress with one hour intervals: Stars: 5am: 0 stars, 6am: 34, 7am etc.: 53, 72, 83, 89, 95, 100, 102, 104, 107, 117, 120. See that? As you go along, it gets harder and harder! Other than that, Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>