GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mario Kart DS

Mario, Luigi, Princess Peach, Wario, Yoshi, Donkey Kong, Toad and Bowser put the pedal to the go-kart metal in all-new tracks, plus many hidden courses. Grab coins to max out your speed and blast your rivals with the ever-popular arsenal of red, green and spiked Koopa shells.
Average Customer Rating:
8.902
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (133 reviews)
10 stars
62
9 stars
38
8 stars
19
7 stars
5
6 stars
3
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
123 out of 13392%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mario Kart DS
Review 1 for Mario Kart DS
DS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/08
321Halo123
I've had this game for more than a year now and i still play it. The graphics are nice but sometimes the controls are hard to use because of holding down the A button the whole time (R and L would work better in my opinion). If you have never played a Mario Kart game before than here's a quick summary. You play as characters from Mario games ex. (Luigi/Peach) and try to run into the boxes that have ? on them then you get a weapon you can shoot to slow down other players like a red turtle shell flips them over for a few seconds, and that's pretty much what makes Mario kart different from other racing games. Their isn't much vehicle customization you can only draw a design for the front of your car with the stylus. It has about 16 new courses and 16 from other Mario kart games from the past - like double dash and the one on Nintendo 64. It wasn't as hard as the Gamecube version but i would recommend this to anyone who likes racing games or mario games. Or anyone just looking for a good game for their DS.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mario Kart DS
Mario Kart DS
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/09
Proffessor Game
In this review I will discuss every part of the rating above. Challenge: There really is none. You just race and have a good time. I uped the rating to an 8 because it is somewhat difficult to get other characters. Graphics and Animation: Great. Really good for a portable game. Sound: Good enough. Vehicle Customization: Um just awful. There is none at all. Your stuck with the car design the makers wanted. OK you can make a picture for the front of your car, but thats it!! Controls: Good for this type of game. Interface: Great everything is where it should be. Track Variety: Great on this aspect of the game as well. Each course is different every time you use it. Vehicle Variety: Hardly any at all. You get two cars a character. (Which to my disappointment was limited to 12) Special additions: WFC makes this game awesome. You can play against anyone in the entire world. Sweet. I gave this game a 8 out of 10 which is generous for all its flaws. Overall a great family game and is enjoyable.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Mario Kart DS
Awesome racing!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/10
pug rocker
I got this game last christmas and it is really fun! Once you get to the mirror mode it starts to get challenging. But at first its a little easier. The challenge still keeps the fun so dont be fooled by that! It has the same characters from Mario Kart Wii. Like Mario, Luigi, Yoshi, Peach and all them. The graphics aren't perfect but Ok. There is some different tracks then Mario Kart Wii. Like Waluigi Pinball course. Just a tip;If you unlock a Kart for Bowser and it looks like a plane with a face on the front. Do not be it! That Kart is very slow and it will get you in 8 place before you finish the first lap! The vehicle variety. You can't customize your Kart. You unlock certain ones. At one part you unlock other Karts that other racers have. Its pretty cool! Like on mine Donkey Kong got one that Bowser had! Its a little funny. The controls you'll certainly get use to. There easy. The sound is great Mario tunes. You'll love it!! The sound. Well over all I recommend this game to everyone! Its really fun. Maybe even the best racing you'll ever play!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mario Kart DS
One of the best Mario Kart games ever!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/12
EpicKirby19
Location: St. Paul, MN
Mario Kart DS is one of the best games for any Nintendo DS owner and one of the best games in the Mario Kart series. The gameplay is excellent and fun, especially when playing with others. The controls are easy to learn, making it simple for anyone to pick this game up and start playing. The graphics are not the greatest, but they still look nice. The new and past courses are great and fun to race on, but can be a challenge to get a three star ranking in the Grand Prix mode. I also like the new Mission Mode where, like Grand Prix, it can be very challenging to acquire a three star ranking. The offline multiplayer modes of Balloon Battle and the new Coin Runners were also fun. My only gripe with this game is that the online multiplayer mode is not really good. It can be hard to find players online to race against and only 4 people can race together at a time. However, this game is still a must-have for anyone who own a Nintendo DS,
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mario Kart DS
Not the best, but one fun game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/08
wazzitoyah
I really got addicted to this game once I bought it, but the game can easily get tiring. After beating the game and unlocking all the tracks, it suddenly dawned on me that this game should have a little more put into it. When I first got my DS, I had high hopes for this game, because I thought Nintendo would utilize the touch screen a little more. The graphics are beyond what I was expecting and everything else like the sound/music and so on were awesome. They probably should've used the touch screen for things like creating your own tracks or something because it would seem like you would be able to do that since it's a touch screen making it a simple thing to do. Maybe they would never add something like that but in every Mario Kart they add something new. At least they created a new section called “Missions.” The missions are totally unique for the Mario Kart series. What they are, are simple tasks split up into “7 sections” (not 6 sections for those who haven’t beaten all the missions with high scores), and each of the missions in each section put your racing skills to the test as they make you do things like collect the coins, drive through the gates, beat extra hard computers, get the real item boxes while avoiding the fake ones, drive backwards in some maps, and boss battles. Online play is really fun and something you should do if you buy this game. Time Trials is the same as always, except the amount of mushrooms you receive are based on the vehicle you choose. Grand Prix is the same, 50cc, 100cc, 150cc, and Mirror. For the battle mode, there is the same-old balloon battle mode but there’s also a new battle mode called shrine thief. VS mode is the same free game play. Also there is a large amount of playable characters both old and new to choose from. Overall, this game is really enjoyable from time to time and is a must buy for the DS.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
37 of 43 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
assasin123
alice
 
Please wait while more information about assasin123 is loaded.
Additional information about assasin123 could not be loaded.
Kewl
Posted 10/31/10
Nice game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Mario Kart DS
Cool
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/09
Onepumpedgamer
I really enjoyed the many tracks and cars you can use, this game is super addicting but can easily get boring after a while, especially if you play alone. I love racing and playing games with my sisters, so it makes this game almost a perfect games to play multiplayer with. Great for young kids, my neighbor ( a 7 year old gamer girl) dished it out with my sisters and I. We even spent a whole day unlocking everything. THIS GAME IS THE BEST RACING GAME EVER MADE!!!!! Well besides Mario Karts for the Wii, that's fun too, it feels like your really racing. If you love to play multiplayer get this game!!! Its sure to attract a lot of attention, fun and laughs ,maybe even a little fun rivalry. I gotta tell you after buying this game 2 times the reselling it again it became kind of frustrating. Its super fun and exiting but IT WILL get boring after a week or so. So if you get it and get bored put it away for a while wait for a rainy day to play with friends because chances are your DEFIANTLY gonna want to play it again.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Mario Kart DS
I Was Wrong
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/11
WorkerBee1979
Location: New York, New York
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I always had bad things to say about this game, but when I got my 25th Anniversary Limited Edition DSi XL it was the only game I had for a little over a month. Now I'm so addicted to it that I'm playing people online, I download the older versions to my Wii (also 25th Anniversary Limited Edition), and I'm about to purchase the Wii version with the stirring wheel. This game rocks my world!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mario Kart DS
Mario Kart DS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/08
Miss Moe
This is truly a great game. I loved the original Mario Kart (and I mean original ... super nintendo ages) and I was thrilled to see this revamped remake. Along with all the old tracks, and interpretations of tracks from later Mario Karts it features brand new grand prix. The 50, 100, 150 cc cups offer a variety of difficulties and playing levels. The characters are well animated and characterized. Customize your car by adding your own logo (which you draw yourself in true Mario Paint fashion) and unlock new characters as you rank 1st in each of the Grand Prix (Retro and Nitro). Further, it's not just racing! Try the original balloon battle, or shine thief, either way awesome. Not to mention the missions. While this game is great for kids (lacking any gory violence, foul language or "poor role model behavior") I think its true value lies in its old following of Mario Kart lovers from one nintendo system to the next. I'm truly glad I found this game and if you purchase it I'm sure you (or your loved one) will be truly glad as well.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Mario Kart DS
Mario Tops the Game World Again
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/09
Wesley the Great
I think that the new Mario Kart is the best racing game you can buy for the Nintendo DS gaming system. There are many characters including the favorites; Mario,Luigi, and Yoshi. There are also 32 different tracks with different themes the take place anywhere from the jungle to the arctic to a chocolate mountain. All of the tracks have different twists that stop you from have a smooth ride, and don't forget the items, the items are what seperate Mario Kart from all of the other racing games. There the ordinary speed burts and bananas, but there are many others. You also must complete the chamlenging time trails to unlock carts and other characters, which is a challenge. This is a very cool game to get, because it is not your ordinary racing game. Mario Kart for Ds does differ from the Wii version. There are some different characters and tracks to keep the game interesting. Overall it is a very injoyable game and great for wireless play.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 10 for Mario Kart DS
BEST MARIO KART!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/09
NDSL Player
I think that this game is the best Mario Kart. There are so many tracks to choose from and so many levels, I can't finish them in a day if I tried. If you want to play alone, or with friends using Wi-Fi or connection, you'll be occupied the whole time. As for car selection, if you get far enough you can choose from 7 cars for each character and even all karts for each character. The sound is nice and clear and loud enough. The graphics look amazing! For a beginner, the controls are very easy to learn: A to drive, B to reverse, L to use items, R to jump, and the D pad to steer. The challenge for me is great, I have to try a couple times until I get a gold trophy. There are all different difficulty levels, if you aren't that good (50cc) or if you own at the game (150cc Mirror Mode), or if you are in between (100-150cc). This game is my favorite game on the DS and I would recommend this to anybody who likes racing and a challenge.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Mario Kart DS
Endless Fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/1/11
athletes21
This game is by far the best game for the DS and the best Mario kart behind double dash in my opinion. The tracks are unique and fun and the cars and characters are new and cool. This game has extraordinary depth to it as well. Everytime I go on a field trip, me and seven friends each bring a DS and the game to play with each other because online is competitive and the best part. Although the 3DS mario kart will be coming out, every DS owner should get this game. There is a reason to why this game remains expensive for a DS game, because it is great.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mario Kart DS
Awesome ! Bad graphics though .
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/11
zeldahero
Location: Ohio , OH
Love this game ! It's so much fun to play ! Few adjustments needed such as better graphics and better physics due to the lack of a joystick so , buttons ... But Awesome characters to play as and some to unlock , same with karts . Love every difficulty and the different maps are so awesome and fun to play , a not large but decent amount of them ; and cups to play . An amazing game for the DS though , This series is amazing , I still like nintendo , but I'm not even fully nintendo blood like I was earlier this year and late last year ( Obviously was when I made this account ; Love Zelda ) But This series in nintendo , and a few others of course as well I still fully love . Also , can't wait for the 3DS one with a joystick , enhanced graphics , new maps, better multiplayer , AND MORE !!! MARIO KART IS AMAZING !!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mario Kart DS
2 thumbs up!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/10
marioman338
An overall great game! The sound (10/10) is amazing, it sounds like you're listening to surround sound. You can't really customise your vehicles(3/10)... The closest you get to that is your emblem. There are lots of vehicles to choose from(9/10), 36 in all. But to get unrestricted kart selection you have to beat one of the mirror mode cups. There are tons of tracks from tne older games (9/10) including from bowser castle 2 from the gameboy, choco mountain from the nintendo 64, and mushroom bridge from the gamecube. Not to mention the new ones like yoshi falls and yes, another rainbow road. Excellent graphics(10/10). The game isn't very challenging though(7/10). As for bugs(10/10) I've only seen two. One in waluigi pinball. I got smacked by the hitter, (ya know, the thing they hit the ball with) sent flying into the background and continued driving. The other was in air ship fortress. I (yoshi) and the computer (wario) got shot out of the cannon side by side. When we entered the tower, he pushed me and I fell through the tower. Also in battles on normal or hard the computers aim at almost no one but you. But, I would definitely recommend to any mario or racing game fan.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mario Kart DS
AMAZING...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/08
Mr. Person
I have had this game for like 2 yrs: IT IS NEVER OLD!!! You can make your own emblem and nickname. There are four levels of tracks (50cc, 100cc, 150cc and 150cc mirror-all the courses backwards.) Up to eight people can play at the same time no matter if they have the game or not (DS download play, free and easy). But you can't chose your character in it though. With the game is the best, all the stuff you unlocked and everything else. It has Wi-Fi play with people all around the world. The sound is amazing, it is very clear and not muffled at all. The graphics are very good for the DS, which has not the best graphics sometimes, but this is a major exception. As the game goes on, the levels get faster in race speed and the CPU's get harder to beat and are smarter. I just wish the price would go down so my friends could all buy it. Overall I recommend this game to any race, Mario, or just plain fun game fan.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Mario Kart DS
great addiction for DS
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/10
witch hunter
Mario Kart DS is a gread edition for the DS. It's fun and addicting a first. As time goes by, it gets kind of boring. This game is fun with multiplayer. The only problem is that there is only 8 tracks in multiplayer. In single player, there is 32 different tracks. There is Bowsers Castle, Rainbow Road, Waluigi's Pinball Machine, and many more. The veicles are preety cool. Once you unlock all the characters and places, each player has 32 karts to choose from. All of them are the same for each racer. This game does get verry challenging at some points. On the 100cc, it is a bit tricky. On the 150cc and on the 150cc Mirror cups, it is very hard. The graphics are alright. They are not like an 80's arcade arcade game. They are animated though. This game is great for anyone who has a DS.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mario Kart DS
Really good game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/09
UltimateGamer!
Let's be honest, Mario Kart is one of the best racing games out there for the Nintendo systems. It really is a cool game, and I was especially excited when it came out for the DS. But, as other people have said, it does get kinda boring unless you are playing online. You still have the same characters as you did in the past Mario Kart games, and half of the tracks are old ones that you can play on older systems. The graphics are pretty good for a DS system (I still don't know why they haven't tried upgrading the general graphics on DS games). Once you beat the game entirely though, it isn't as fun. You are just playing the same tracks over and over again (I think they should let you create or download other tracks from online... that would be awesome!). Even online, the game limits which tracks you can race other people on. Anyway, I would recommend this game to anyone just because it's Mario Kart.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Mario Kart DS
This is a great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/10
Sunshine2000
I love this game. The challange is kinda easy, but it's still really fun. There are tons of tracks. There are even tracks from other mario kart games. There is also a part in this game where you can draw a picture and it will go on to your vehicle. The DS is not as strong as the Xbox and all that so don't expect the graphics to perfect. The controls are simple. You just press A for accelarate, R to drift, and L to throw items, and of cource you use the D-pad to control your kart. There are all different things to do on this game. You can do time trials and race your own ghost. You can do grand prix, and you can link wirelessly and play with your friends(this game is single-card or multi-card play). There are different characters to choose from such as:Mario, Luigi, Peach, and Koopa etc. If enjoyed the other mario kart games then I suggest you get this one.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
megaman1660
tyler texas
 
Please wait while more information about megaman1660 is loaded.
Additional information about megaman1660 could not be loaded.
a must have for any one
Posted 9/18/10
this is a great racing game. i love it sooooooooooooooo much and i still play it today. if you have a ds lite/ds origonal/dsi/dsixl wow thats alot of ds systems anyway this game is the closest to mario kart wii. the controls are great everything but the a button. a is to speed up but when you play for long periods of time the corner of the ds system will jam in to your thumb wich can hurt after a long good game over wifi. (wich is great) i only got to play it for 1day but that 1day was a really fun day. and when you put in acton replay thats when this game i really great i will not spoil any codes at all this game gets a 10/10 if you have a birthday or any holiday get this game and i ds if you dont have one
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Mario Kart DS
What a game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/10
R2-D2 123
This game is a great addition to the Mario kart collection. When I got this game I already knew all the controls because I own the ones for Wii and Gamecube and the controls were extremly similiar, even if you never owned a Mariokart game before you will catch on quickly while doing the easy 50cc level which will bring us to the next part of the game. The "levels" arn't really levels they're the difficulty of the CPU racers you start off with 50cc to get a feel for the game. Then you move on to 100cc when you think you got the controls down, know the tracks, and have a few tricks. Once you complete that you get to 150cc! This is extremely hard but also twice as fun. Once you make your way through that (It might take a two or three days) you will unlock mirror mode which is all the fun 150cc with a twist, all the courses are set as if you are looking in a mirror! I loved the challenge of the this and had my face glued to the ds screen for an hour of two trying to beat it (thats a lot for me). The next amazing point of this game is the tracks. I love all 32 tracks, 16 are ds and the other 16 are tracks from previous games. The tracks are fun and always exciting, there are many twists, turns, hazards, and items everywhere. I only have two small complaints, one; the graphics, they are good, I mean the tracks look amazing and the people look decent for a ds game but I don't like all the 2-D animation, I think there is just to much of it, the shells are my main concern, when you throw a green shell it looks like it's sliding across the ground because they don't spin, they should have been made 3-D, it would look better. The second doesn't hurt me but it might make others not buy the game, You can't custimize your cart, all you can do is change the emblem but I think the huge selection of karts makes up for that, so if you like to have that feature I would give the game a shot anyways, it has 36 karts all with cool looks and (if you get far enough) they are avaliable for all players. In my opinion a resembly priced game that has it all, fun, excitment, a great learning curve, cool items, all the players (well not baby mario or baby luigi, who are the best, I forgot to say this in my complaints), and well it's amazingfulness makes you need to get this. BUY THE GMAE IT IS WORTH IT!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mario Kart DS
Cool
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/08
Joey978
This is a fun game Once you get to 100 or 150cc the game gets very challenging for me its almost impossible but still fun. i think they should have more characters from sega or other nintendo games i think it would be cool if you could customize you own track and car. the sound is pretty good some cars are very hard to turn with so you end up in the dirt. bowser is pretty slow but when he is played by the ds he is quite fast and makes exellent turns Here is a list of people: Mario luigi Peach Yoshi Toad Donkey kong Wario Bowser Daisy Dry bones Waluigi Some of these people you will need to unlock by beating races There are 2 prixs which have 4 cups each with 4 races in each cup which makes 32 races total 16 races are new and 16 are from prevouis games
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Mario Kart DS
A great game for a great price
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/09
RetFox
I bought this game about a year ago and i loved it, the tracks are great. I love that you could go to almost any track form the gamecube or gameboy adv. online multiplayer is also fun even if you are not good at it to start out once you get th hang of it that is ony of the most favorite thing i love to do. I still play this game and i still love it even after playing it for over a year. i would recomend this game to anyone. the one on the wii is also fun but more expensive i would say if your looking for a good game at a great price this should be the game to get. i have never grown tired of this game only once did i and that was after playing it for over 10 hours the first day i got it it was very adictive. another great thing about this game is after you beat it you still have the time trials to beat which are really fun when you beat the nintendo staff on them I LOVE THIS GAME!!!.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>