GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mario Kart DS

Mario, Luigi, Princess Peach, Wario, Yoshi, Donkey Kong, Toad and Bowser put the pedal to the go-kart metal in all-new tracks, plus many hidden courses. Grab coins to max out your speed and blast your rivals with the ever-popular arsenal of red, green and spiked Koopa shells.
Average Customer Rating:
8.902
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (133 reviews)
10 stars
62
9 stars
38
8 stars
19
7 stars
5
6 stars
3
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
123 out of 13392%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mario Kart DS
Review 1 for Mario Kart DS
Not the best, but one fun game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/08
wazzitoyah
I really got addicted to this game once I bought it, but the game can easily get tiring. After beating the game and unlocking all the tracks, it suddenly dawned on me that this game should have a little more put into it. When I first got my DS, I had high hopes for this game, because I thought Nintendo would utilize the touch screen a little more. The graphics are beyond what I was expecting and everything else like the sound/music and so on were awesome. They probably should've used the touch screen for things like creating your own tracks or something because it would seem like you would be able to do that since it's a touch screen making it a simple thing to do. Maybe they would never add something like that but in every Mario Kart they add something new. At least they created a new section called “Missions.” The missions are totally unique for the Mario Kart series. What they are, are simple tasks split up into “7 sections” (not 6 sections for those who haven’t beaten all the missions with high scores), and each of the missions in each section put your racing skills to the test as they make you do things like collect the coins, drive through the gates, beat extra hard computers, get the real item boxes while avoiding the fake ones, drive backwards in some maps, and boss battles. Online play is really fun and something you should do if you buy this game. Time Trials is the same as always, except the amount of mushrooms you receive are based on the vehicle you choose. Grand Prix is the same, 50cc, 100cc, 150cc, and Mirror. For the battle mode, there is the same-old balloon battle mode but there’s also a new battle mode called shrine thief. VS mode is the same free game play. Also there is a large amount of playable characters both old and new to choose from. Overall, this game is really enjoyable from time to time and is a must buy for the DS.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
37 of 43 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
assasin123
alice
 
Please wait while more information about assasin123 is loaded.
Additional information about assasin123 could not be loaded.
Kewl
Posted 10/31/10
Nice game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Mario Kart DS
It's not the best people
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/13
Mariobros
Location: Atlanta,ga
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
When I first got it I was like OMG, but a couple years later I got Mario kart 7. Mario kart ds is ok but it's old now. Don't get it, get Mario kart 7 or Mario kart 8 when it comes out.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Mario Kart DS
Wario didn't stand a chance.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/13
Sprow
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This was my second favorite DS game that i played. When i was younger I played it with my friends when there was about 5 of us and we had to all beat each other in all the races and beat each other in all the minigames which would last hours of game play. Even though the graphics were not good it had lasting appeal which was good.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Mario Kart DS
Mario Kart Racing!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/12
mewtwo1029
Location: sorrento
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I love this game it has really good sound and it's fun to play alone or in a group. personally my favorite multiplayer mode is balloon pop.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Mario Kart DS
this game rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/12
jak9000
Location: owensville,oh
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is fun. single player has grand prix, time trials, vs, battle mode, and missions, multiplayer has vs and battles, and online multiplayer has grand prix with 4 people. this game isnt as fun as mk wii, though.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Mario Kart DS
They Finally Did It - A Perfect Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/12
OGameReviews
Location: Death Star
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Aside from "TLOZ Ocarina of Time" this is a perfect game. You NEED to get it. Nuff said. I hope when you buy this you enjoy it aswell. Thanks guys!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Mario Kart DS
I Love Mario Kart!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/12
Goober54631
Location: GA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I grew up playing Mario Kart on the 64. I loved that game until about 4 years ago when I got a Wii and got Mario Kart Wii. I loved that Mario Kart even more! I have loved every Mario Kart I have played. Except this one. This Mario Kart is lame and boring. All the courses are lackluster and boring! There are probaly 3 courses worth racing on!! (Tick-Tock-Clock is #1) This game was a real let down to me in my opinion.
Graphics: The graphics were a let down. I expected a little better. Maybe they were okay for the time but really now. I can definently look past that though.
Sound: The sound was not as impressive they needed better music and sound effects overall but sound is not very important to me.
Gameplay: This is the factor that matters. FIRST, the game has (i think) 10 characters. In all honesty 2 (3 if unlocked which is impossible without cheating) karts per character. So this immediantly is disappointing. SECOND, the courses had no hills or jumps! The usage of Nintendo 64 and Gamecube Courses was very bad and the courses were dull and overrated. No origanol ideas (except for tick-tock-clock) Third, The steering was hard and limited. It was very sensitive and all messed up. (no giant kinks just rusty overall) FORTH, the 150 Grand Prix were nearly impossibel! I am not a young person and a veryu experienced gamer, this game to beat the 150cc matches were very challenging. FIFTH, This is the first good aspect kinda. This game had a campaign mode in a way. A little challenge mode like beat yoshi and get all the coins. Do so many energy boosts beforer the end. This was fun and a little challenging! It was good but short... And the missions were 100% pointless! But at least they had that.
Lasting Appeal: This game had the single card download play!!! YES!!! but theres a catch! Only the four worst racetracks! With just shy guy... This was the most disappointed thing I have ever seen in a video game. That is why the rating for lasting appeal is so low.
Overall the game was disgracful to the Mario Kart name in my honest opinion. The one bright side was the one campaign story thing. But it was messed up by the trifle that it was.
If you are wondering why I refer to this game in past tense (as in "was") it is because I sold it back to gamestop after 1 year of owning it because I highly disliked it and am ready to buy the 3DS version! (with the good download play :) Thanks For Reading... But with all do respect, I would not reccomend this game to anybody.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 8 for Mario Kart DS
A great Mario Kart game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/12
AnimeFanExtreme
Location: none of your business
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a very good Mario Kart game! If you like Mario Kart games, and you want a portable one, get this game! You could also get Mario Kart 7 for the 3ds. First of all, I think this game was made back then for the first ds, so the graphics are fine, but not the best ever. Oh, and this game can play on other ds's too. Mario Kart DS has two things that I think no other Mario Kart has. It has missions, where you get to complete certain tasks, and you get to create your own emblem that goes on the front of any kart you race! Cool! Other than that, it's just another awesome Mario Kart game. You can play multiplayer with just one Mario Karts DS game (only 4 cups though, I think), and you can play on nintendo wi-fi. There are a veriety of karts and characters. Overrall, this is a great portable Mario Kart game. I mean, whats better than taking Mario Kart everywhere you go?!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Mario Kart DS
Pretty good.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/12
Rstitch
Location: Dallas, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
MarioKart DS is a pretty good game, worth the money. The tracks are great, I love the diffculty setting. I can play on easy with my younger cousins, and play on hard with my other cousins. I really like Balloon Battle, and the tracks just blow my mind. They're just that awesome! But sadly, the game is not really as easy or hard as it sounds. The Mirror Cup is a fun challenge, but some people find it confusing. But overall, I enjoy this game, and you will, too.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Mario Kart DS
awesome game!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/12
yoshilover
Location: madison WI
i love this game! it is one of my favorite mario games!! the only problem i had with this game is the graphics. i think that the items and the things in the backround should be a bit more 3D. if you go all the way around a banana peel, you can only see one side! but over all, LOVE THIS GAME!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mario Kart DS
Pretty Good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/12
ZeldaMarioPokemonGamer
Location: Whitehall, MI
This game is quite nice. There are 32 tracks, 16 of which are new. The graphics are great for DS standards, so they really did all they could do with them. The music was forgettable, and the multiplayer was excellent. It will keep you playing for quite a while. If for some reason you choose to buy this over MK Wii or MK7, it's a great addition to anyone's game collection.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for Mario Kart DS
One of my favorite games for DS
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/12
buggy1
Location: wisconsin,wi
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this as a bundle game for the red annivarsay dsi xl in 2010, and I loved it! The only thing I don't like is how the game won't let you on certain WI-FI networks. This game lets you design you own emblems for the front of your car. The missions are very fun also because I havent played another mario kart with them. If you have a DS this is a must buy!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mario Kart DS
Awesome !!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/12
Alaska
Location: San Antonio, Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a really good game, I would recommend it mostly for younger and less frequent gamers. The lasting appeal Isn't very long, I played it for a week straight though. Overall it's a really nice game, just a little pricey.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 14 for Mario Kart DS
Good.... JK HAHA
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/12
Goober54631
Location: GA
This game is NOT good at all the racetracks have no jumps no shortcuts only like three unlockable characters only two cars a character and the hard levelk is IMPOSSIBLE but one good thing is that it has a challenge mode which is fun. But i reccomend Mario Kart 7 or Mario Kart Wii!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mario Kart DS
GREAT ON MULTIPLAYER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/12
Luigifanmaniac
Location: Vista,California
the game is awesome but i think it would be better if u play with somone like your brother or sister or your friend etc. its more fun if u play on the bus if u have a field trip u could play mario kart ds with your friends and all that.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Mario Kart DS
I think this game is pathetic!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/12
carrotcakeiluvu
Location: Alhambra, CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
First of all, the graphics are lame, the sound is weird, and I totally regret buying it! I wish I could return it so bad....
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mario Kart DS
One word.....multiplayer :D
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/12
Xnaut1617
Location: MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is very enjoyable, but starts to lose it's lasting appeal after doing everything that there is to do in the game. The game is kind of boring, but they add cool features, such as the Blue Turtle shell to keep you interested. Aside from an ok game, the multiplayer is very entertaining and I spent countless hours with my friends playing it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mario Kart DS
One of the best Mario Kart games ever!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/12
EpicKirby19
Location: St. Paul, MN
Mario Kart DS is one of the best games for any Nintendo DS owner and one of the best games in the Mario Kart series. The gameplay is excellent and fun, especially when playing with others. The controls are easy to learn, making it simple for anyone to pick this game up and start playing. The graphics are not the greatest, but they still look nice. The new and past courses are great and fun to race on, but can be a challenge to get a three star ranking in the Grand Prix mode. I also like the new Mission Mode where, like Grand Prix, it can be very challenging to acquire a three star ranking. The offline multiplayer modes of Balloon Battle and the new Coin Runners were also fun. My only gripe with this game is that the online multiplayer mode is not really good. It can be hard to find players online to race against and only 4 people can race together at a time. However, this game is still a must-have for anyone who own a Nintendo DS,
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mario Kart DS
This game is awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/12
Fluffybunz
Location: Bellbrook, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Even though I am a kid, this game is very fun. You can play on the bus with a friend, or by yourself. It also contains all nintendo characters, wich I thought was cool. All in all, this game is the best DS game I have played so far.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mario Kart DS
Very Good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/12
otz900
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This is a very good racing game.I mostly play multiplayer,but the single player is alot of fun as well.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>