GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

New Super Mario Bros.

It's been more than 20 years since Super Mario Bros. first arrived, and now Mario and Luigi are back in an all-new platformer for Nintendo DS. Boasting incredible 3D graphics to accompany classic 2D gameplay, this fast-paced adventure will have Mario fans cheering. New Super Mario Bros. features eight all-new worlds, each filled with extra levels, hidden paths, and secrets galore. It's possible to complete the game without visiting every world, which means you'll have to track down many alternate exits to visit every nook and cranny in the game.
Average Customer Rating:
9.077
9.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (168 reviews)
10 stars
97
9 stars
39
8 stars
14
7 stars
9
6 stars
3
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
156 out of 16893%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for New Super Mario Bros.
Review 1 for New Super Mario Bros.
Retro meets modern!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/08
Gasmask Cowgirl
If you're a Nintendo fan, particularly a Mario fan- you'll definitely find this game fun. It's not truly difficult, but great for something to do when you have your free time. I grew up with Super Mario Bros. so this was an absolute delight to play. It really brought the retro idea and made it work, but with a fresher appeal. A lot of things are the same- Mario and Luigi are playable of course, the goombas, koopa troopas, Toad, and Bowser's castle is all there, though they've managed to introduce some new things as well. Such as jumping up the walls, mini mushrooms, and mushrooms which make him seriously giant! The graphics really do add a lot to this game, it's a pretty gorgeous upgrade from the old Super Mario Bros games of fame. My only complaint is that at times, it's a bit difficult moving Mario, he seems to slide a bit, oddly. Besides that however, it truly is a nice game to have in your collection and I'd recommend it as a must for Nintendo and Mario lovers.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
79 of 93 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for New Super Mario Bros.
Times have sure changed...for the better.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/14
HYPEYO
Location: Irvine, California
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
It's been almost 30 years since the original release of Super Mario Brothers for the Nintendo Entertainment System. If you're a newcomer on the internet and were born around 10-15 years after this game was released...you should close the browser right now or at least find a more kid-friendly website because the internet can be a very evil place. Or just stay here and read this review. Anyway, long story short, Super Mario Brothers: Innovative, popular, successful, breakthrough...at the time that is. And it can still be fun at times here and there. Okay, I haven't played the game all the way through, but I played a demo of it in Super Smash Brothers Brawl (worth your money), and I did have some fun and joy looking back on how it all started. I did notice one thing though: the game has been pretty outdated. The levels aren't that creative, the gameplay is a bit simplistic due to the whole environment, the fast timer feels kind of cheap, even though the levels are rather short, and not being able to scroll back to an area of a level felt kind of cheap. Not to mention the fact that if you were tall, fire flower or not, and you toughed an enemy, you went to small Mario no matter what, which was a bummer. 20 years later came the remake on the Nintendo DS. And there were many improvements over the original. If you touched an enemy and you had the blue shell or a fire flower, you just went to regular tall Mario. Meaning you can take more than 2 hits without having to get another power-up. The visuals look WAY more appealing, especially with all the new areas you visit like a Boo House or even a snowy field. And there's more complexity to the gameplay such as a new collectible and new bosses other than Bowser. The new collectible in this game are Star Coins. There are 3 Star Coins in almost every level. They can be used to open pathways to different levels or even mushroom houses that can lend you power-ups or even more lives. The new bosses though, while a nice way to get away from the whole fighting Bowser thing, are pretty simple, just jump on them 3 times, and you win. There are some bosses that have some unique spin on them, but other than that just jump on them, then ground pound them, and you're done. There are new power-ups in the game also such as the mini mushroom, the blue shell, and the mega mushroom. The mini mushroom shrinks Mario into a very tiny version of him that allows him to jump higher and walk on water (Hallelujah). However, if you touch an enemy while you're mini, you lose a life as well the mini ability. The blue shell lets you ram into enemies Koopa style while running. However, you won't move as fast if you were regular or fire Mario on maximum speed. The mega mushroom makes you into a huge version of yourself and lets you ram into enemies and other obstacles for a limited amount to time. But if you destroy enough obstacles, you can earn lives. Just fill up the gauge on the top while mega from yellow to green, and you get a 1-up. So far this game sounds fine, so what's its main flaw? It just feels too simple. Most of the levels are nothing spectacular, the locations are your typical Mario locations, and the game isn't rather hard. I only recommend this game to kids who like to play simple games since this game isn't too complex and also because if they decide to play this game again after 5 years or so, they'll have a more carefree nostalgia feel. Meaning they'll remember the days when life was rather easy and fun. Much like this game, but they will easily note lots of flaws like the lack of wonder or excitement in the levels or how the music, while still fine for the most part, isn't still that spectacular. I'll still probably play this game again just to see how fast I can beat the level as well as have some nostalgia value. If you want a fun and engaging Mario platformer, try out the Wii edition called New Super Mario Brothers Wii. However, this game does have some positives, but there's already the Wii edition and Sonic Classic Collection also on the Nintendo DS. Is is still worth trying this game out if you're 15 and have never played it before? Not really.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 3 for New Super Mario Bros.
Mario keeps his hero stats up
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/13
sportfan15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this might seem like a kid game cause it is a DS game but it is not. this can be for a teen to older people. I am 24 almost 25 and I got this game cause I am a fan of Mario. this is a good game. play it enjoy it and have fun.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for New Super Mario Bros.
Awesome!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/13
JJL56
Location: Goshen, IN
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Great level design!!! Love world 8!!! Final boss stinks-so easy!!!!! great graphics!!!!! Very east controls!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for New Super Mario Bros.
awsm
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/13
mattt2003
Location: plano tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is amasing buy now totaly worth 30 dollars you have to buy it now turn off your computer and go to the store now
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for New Super Mario Bros.
This is a classic mario game, but it's modern.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/13
rockstar321
Location: Fairfax VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game feels so much like the old school Mario games. the levels, the enemies, the bosses, everything. if you love the classic Mario games, then I guarantee that you will love this one. okay, so the game is not perfect but it adds a lot of unique new things to the Mario games. the gameplay is perfect platforming, you run through a stage and jump at the flagpole to clear the stage like the classic games, but one thing that I really don't understand is that on the bottom screen, it show how close and how far you are from the end of the level, this makes no sense and I think that it's just filler for the bottom screen or something. the worlds are all new and look beautiful, there's a classic world, a desert world, an island world, a jungle world, an ice world, a mountain world, a sky world, and a fiery final world. This feels like a true adventure and everything in the game looks beautiful. anyone who is a Mario fan, or just a DS/3DS owner should get this game, you won't be disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for New Super Mario Bros.
DS Owners Must Get This
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/13
MGSH
Location: Davie FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If your a DS owner then you should get New Super Mario Bros. The game brings back the classic 2D adventure feeling this time in the palm of your hands. The levels are well designed and are just beautiful. The game is very fun and engaging. To add more spice it is equipped with gorgeous 3D graphics some of the best seen on the DS. The game is packed with tons of contents including variety of fun Mini games and unlockables. Like I said before, you got a DS or even a 3DS, this game is definitely worth a pick up, you will not be disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for New Super Mario Bros.
Eh
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/13
hammerofjustice93
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
It's alright. Better than average, but not phenomenal. I only beat a few worlds because it couldn't hold my attention, but it was a solid game. Perfect for kids who obsess over Mario.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 9 for New Super Mario Bros.
Buy this
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/13
gabe2002
Location: watertown connecticut
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a great game.The only reasons I didn't rate this a 10 was because,I don't like the sound and the graphics are bad.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for New Super Mario Bros.
Very dull
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/13
Garysgirl86
Location: Sebree,KY
This game is perfect for: party gamers
It started out ok but as time went on in the game it was the same as all the other Mario games I guess I'm stuck back in the day when it was Nintendo 64 those where the good old days. Not a fan of the new Mario stuff. SORRY.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 11 for New Super Mario Bros.
Brought back my Mario memories!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/12
Smithers224
Location: Warren, Ohio
I love mario and this did not fall short! It brought back my original mario game memories from when I was little! I think this is a must have for everyone!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for New Super Mario Bros.
A New Classic!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/12
OGameReviews
Location: Death Star
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game a while back (3-4 yrs.) and I still play it to this day. Just from that, that can tell you a bit about the game, with it's lasting appeal. The gameplay is new and enhanced from the old Super Mario Bros, and is about a million times better! The only con I can find about this is the graphics are typical Nintendo DS tink. But do graphics make gameplay? Not at all! Sure, they enhance gameplay, but you only need a LITTLE bit of graphics to make a game. It doesn't have to be all shiney, new, and golden! Now, let's get back to the game. The game is SO amazing that I have kept my DS for 2 years longer than I wanted to, JUST to play this one little game! -OGameReviews, 11/25/12
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for New Super Mario Bros.
Another Great Mario Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/12
SanFranciscoFan2010
Super Mario has had so many great games. We start to think eventually he will have his first bad game. This, however, is another awesome Mario game. The most iconic video game character of all time is back in another awesome platformer. This game has new power-up such as the Mega Mushroom. If you love Mario this belongs in your Nintendo DS.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for New Super Mario Bros.
Nintendo did it again!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/12
mariominiman
Location: sc
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ok. this is the best game I have right now, out of all 11 games I've gotten. There are so many things that make this game epic: 1. Its fresh, new original, and fun. 2. Its got all-new power - ups. 3. Its like the wii version, but on the go. 4. AND SO MUCH MORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! There are a few things that make it stupid . 1. mini mushrooms get you killed 2.blue koopa shells and mega mushrooms aren't used often. 3. the bosses. if it would let me, id say its great for any gamer!!!! i got it on monday night, and im at the beginigng of world 5. whoever says this game sucks , has gaming issues. multiplayer is just amazing, but the graphiic are a ok. this is even better than super mario 3d land!!! Overall, an epic game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for New Super Mario Bros.
Maybe.....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/12
GameReporter
Location: New York,NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Gameplay awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sound :( . The could done better with the music. And the boses are EASY
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for New Super Mario Bros.
super mario bros
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/12
daisydeluxe
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i've wanted this game since i heard about it 1 2 and the 3rd is fun for everyone from kids to teens maybe adults but more for kids to get caught in the fun of video games such as mario games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for New Super Mario Bros.
Couldn't Disappoint Me If You Tried
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/12
dlssmit4
Location: CT
I bought this game for my 8 year old sister because a friend said it was good. My sister can't put her DS down. I bought her several DS games for christmas but this is the only one she plays repeatedly. I took it upon myself to see how the game is since I am a avid Mario fan, have been for years. I absolutely loved the game, so much that I want to buy my own DS just so that can play it. The graphics are like any other normal game would be on a DS, the gameplay is not repetitive and sluggish, there are several worlds to unlock as well as secret places too. the game reminded me of Super Mario World which made me more happier, I recommend this game completely!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for New Super Mario Bros.
Whats old is new agian!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/12
buggy1
Location: wisconsin,wi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I purchased this game in June to count down til new super mario brothers two, (but I have played this game before hand). It is It is one of the best games on DS! This game gives everyone a challange. It has fun built in minigames, and a 2- player mode. You will always find yourself coming back to play it! The music is great to I always plug it into my HQ speakers to enhance the sound, because it will make you happy, no joke:) This game is a great investment if you have played a mario game or havent!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for New Super Mario Bros.
Awesome Game!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/12
mandymonkey27
Location: Whitman, Ma
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I love this game!! I only gave the sound a bad review because i play it constantly and the sounds really annoy me but i have no paitents soo ya. Overall, i love this game! It is fun and great graphics! Awesome for kids who love Mario and Luigi! I recommend this game to kids and even adults! Some of the levels are hard! Get it!! <3333333
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for New Super Mario Bros.
Great.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/12
bobbyflabby
Location: bloomington il
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
THis new super mario bros is an instant classic just like the original super mario bros, its fun, the mini games that came with it are great and multiplayer mode is sweet, the sound is pretty good and the graphics are good too so I recommend this game to all you mario fans.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>