GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Pokemon Emerald

Emerald takes place over land and sea and pits you against the Team Aqua and Team Magma from Saphire and Ruby. This time around, Pokemon will show off their moves prior to battle, perhaps as a sort of taunt. Nintendo also added some new options to the game. A new Battle Frontier area has you play through seven big battles. The Battle Dome places you in a tournament in which only three Pokemon can participate. The Battle Tube has you select from three entrances and attempt to make your way to a goal.
Average Customer Rating:
9.641
9.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (92 reviews)
10 stars
74
9 stars
12
8 stars
3
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
90 out of 9298%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pokemon Emerald
Review 1 for Pokemon Emerald
Bottom Line
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/10
DDFG
Pokemon fan? Get it! You have ruby or sapphire version? Still Get It! Like the usual Pokemon game play? Good then get it! Its better than ruby and sapphire and the other games before diamond and pearl.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
60 of 68 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TYTY24
 
Please wait while more information about TYTY24 is loaded.
Additional information about TYTY24 could not be loaded.
OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 4/1/11
OMG!I HAVE NEVER THOUGHT A BASIC POKEMON GAME COULD BE SO RAW!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Pokemon Emerald
Don't see why its different?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/13
Joelol
Location: New York,NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is going to be short and sweet, I just don't see why it's any different than the other Pokemon games, its still a classic, but if your going to be a pokemon game, buy the other ones exp. Fire red, Leaf Green, Ruby just because, plain and simple there the same games! Thanks
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Pokemon Emerald
the best game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/13
dbhwolf
Location: miam fl
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
i think is a good game that any one would play it cause is a original game for game boy events so that what i got to say about this game :) <3
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Pokemon Emerald
the best pokemon game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/13
dragonslayer66
Location: colorodo
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I loved this game it was my first Pokémon game it was perfect I woud recommend any gamers Pokémon fans or not its sad it went up 30 bucks I didn't even pay that price if you can get it for cheep DO IT!!!! now im gona buy all 3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Pokemon Emerald
Good but Brawly is Evil to beat.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/13
crasykilla0
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Emrald is great and so far is part of my fave pokemon generation (Region , new pokemon, etc.). But the 2nd gym leader is the hardest boss in the entire series, not his first 2 pokemon but his Makuhita is God.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Pokemon Emerald
Awesome!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/13
Reiff2
Location: San Antonio, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I loved it! I started playing it when I was seven and finished at 10 years old! I love this game!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Pokemon Emerald
So sad
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/13
Bayer
Location: KY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Gives me the chills to look at these games. I had about all the games, including the COLOR versions like red, blue, silver and yellow. I loved it so much. Yeah pearl which i have and just got played again is okay, but honestly, FireRed was the first one i got and my childhood started. It honestly makes me want to go back 7 or 8 years to where i didnt care about anything and was just so happy. I also had emerald, ruby, and leaf green.It makes me so sad that I got rid of all of them except for pearl a couple years ago. I wish i had them back so bad now that they're 30-40 dollars. Im honestly happy that i still have my cards still. You're never too old for something!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Pokemon Emerald
This is one of my favorites
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/13
Grizz850
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i was completely satisfied with this game! the storyline was great and there werent ridiculous looking new pokemon.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Pokemon Emerald
Best GBA game ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/13
Drakemax
Location: Tennessee
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This was originally my first pokemon game and all I have to say is WOW. I've been playing the pokemon franchise for nearly 7 or 8 years now and this is the best game I've seen so far. I still continue to play this even now. No other pokemon game stands up to this one in my opinion. I'm definitely looking forward to the future pokemon games that Nintendo is coming out with.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Pokemon Emerald
Still great to this day
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/13
hammerofjustice93
Location: Atlanta, GA
This is still an awesome game. I give it a 10/10 for a GBA game, but a 9/10 for an overall game. I really enjoyed Emerald, but I like Johto better than Hoen or however you spell these places. I'm about to play Platinum now. Still need to play Platinum, Black, and Black 2.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Pokemon Emerald
Pokemon Emerald
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/13
Dman69
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Pokemon Emerald is one of my most favorite Pokemon games. When I think of playing Pokemon when I was young, it was this game. Emerald is the best of both Ruby and Sapphire. In Pokemon Emerald, you are able to catch Groudon, Kyogre, and Rayquaza during the main game. Also during the game, you also face both Team Aqua and Team Magma, both teams from Ruby and Sapphire (respectively). Also included in Pokemon is a good story, the Battle Frontier, and great legendaries besides the ones you met during regular gameplay, That is all that I have to say about Emerald version, other than the things I said, I recommend that you buy this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Pokemon Emerald
BEST POKEMON GAME EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/13
ImAwesomeYourNot12345
Location: Morgan Hill,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
In this game you can do plenty of things. And I kinda like the newer Pokemon, but they look weird and ugly and in this game they have the original hoenn Pokemon and you can get Sapphire's and Ruby's legendaries.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Pokemon Emerald
THIS GAME IS MY MOST FAVORITE EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/12
MJC5799
IVE HAD THIS GAME EVER SINCE I WAS 7 AND IM 13 AND IM NEVER GETTING RID OF IT THIS IS THE MOST FAVORITE POKEMON GAME OF ALL TIME EVEN THOUGHT I REALLY DONT PLAY IT THAT MUCHBUT IF YOU EVER WANT TO GET INTO POKEMON I WOULD RECOMEND THIS TO A BEGINNER ITS SO AMAZING. ILL GIVE YOU A HINT THOUGHT IF YOU GET THIS RAYQUAZA (THE LEGENDARY POKEMON IN THIS GAME) IS HARD TO GET TO BUT IF YOU DO GET TO HIM HE IS LV 70 AND HAS EXTREME SPEED,OUTRAGE,REST,AND FLY. HE REALLY HELPS YOU IN THE ELITE FOUR.
 
My Product Recommendations
Luigi's Mansion
9.5 out of 10(80)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pokemon Emerald
Amazing game i want to buy again
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/12
Lantern
Location: Bowie, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I owned Pokemon Emerald and it was the greatest most addicting time I had with a Pokemon game. I played it almost all the time. I wish i still knew where it was. If Gamestop ever gets any in stock or if someone tries to sell me a working copy, I would buy one; only because I know Im gunna have alot of fun!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Pokemon Emerald
Had since 8 and still AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/12
yami759
This was my first Pokemon game. When I was about 8 years old, my 12 year old sister had Emerald and Ruby, but stopped liking Pokemon (for some crazy reason). For Christmas, she gave my other sister Ruby (which she soon lost) and me Emerald. I played this nonstop 24/7. This was an amazing game. I am now 13, and this is still the best game I have ever played. This is the game that turned me into a Pokemon freak. My life almost revolves around Pokemon. My friend has Saphire and FireRed, and because she does not have a Gameboy Advance and her DS Lite broke, she let me borrow the two games. They were good, like any Pokemon games, but Emerald still was superior. Here I am, five years later, and I still play this game over and over nonstop.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Pokemon Emerald
This game...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/15/12
Occhi07
Location: Florida
when i was little, my grandma got me ruby for my birthday, later, when she came to visit, i got saphire. awesome. Then, 1 year later, i get this amazing game and this was the only game i played, well into my Nds's life. I had over 400 hours on it (yeah, crazy, i know). Kinda wish i still had, but sadly i dont. Game is definitaly worth it. as you can tell, lots of replay value...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Pokemon Emerald
There's a reason it's the most pricy Gameboy game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/12
doo521
Location: michigan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
7 years this has been out and yet, it's still $40. Do you know why that it is? It's because pokemon is one of the greatest franchises ever. This game has it all catching, collecting, trading and training you name it. It doesn't matter what people think about this or any other pokemon, sure it may be a bit childish, but does that stop it from being a multi-billion dollar franchise? Nope it's still great, always will be great and always has been great.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Pokemon Emerald
The Best Pokemon Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/12
Annihilator115
Location: Carrboro, NC
So first of, this game is AMAZING!! It only needed day/night cycle, but still good. the way the game challenges you with gym battles makes you work hard for the badge, especially when you battle your dad, he beat me 12 times before i finally beat him, but it made the badge that much more rewarding, knowing i gave it my all. It took me 3 months to finish the game, so it'll last for a long time. I recommend this game to everyone and anyone, Nintendo should just make a DS remake.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pokemon Emerald
Best pokemon game ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/12
thegamingmaster101
This is the best pokemon game there has ever been. I got this game whe I was six and that is what got me loving pokemon.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pokemon Emerald
Perfect Game My Favorite One
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/12
Leechinator76
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a great game from the 3rd Generation. It has great starters and while all Pokemon games have relatively the same story line with a small twist every game still has great story lines. The Pokemon are great and the game isn't one you can finish in one day. This game has a story line even after the Elite Four and is good to have for the National Pokedex in later games like B/W through Pal Park. This game is excellent and glad to own it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>