GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Soul Calibur III

The unholy sword was sealed by the destined one, but a mysterious individual revives the azure knight, Nightmare. The legendary battle of Soul Calibur and Soul Edge moves to the next phase. Which sword will ultimately prevail? What is the motivation of the three new souls who join the fray? And how will you, the player, become involved in the world of SOULCALIBUR? Play as one of your favorite classic characters to follow how their fate unfolds in the Tales of Souls mode. Battle it out against your friends in the Vs. Standard mode. Create your own original character to play in the Character Creation mode. Rise in the ranks in the World Competition mode... Play it any way you want. Get ready for the latest installment of the most dramatic weapon-based fighting franchise on the PlayStation®2.
Average Customer Rating:
9.133
9.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
4
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 1593%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Soul Calibur III
Review 1 for Soul Calibur III
Ideal for people who need to unleash the beast.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/10
EpicDeny
Location: Los Angeles
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Alright, I love Soul Calibur. The graphism are just great even for a PS2 game, the different level are still pretty similar to the previous game but the landscape are not really the first argument to buy this game. The diversity of the characters available is pretty good, and the songs are enjoyable even though they are really repetitive. Now the rest, in order to unlock all the weapons, armor, bonuses, etc, you will have to be determined. Indeed, first of all finish every character story, but you might have to do it again and again since you will need money to buy bonuses. However in order to unlock some bonuses or character you will need to play the "chronicles" which is kind of a story mode. Interesting idea completely unfinished. 2 minutes, it is the time I played before being bored. So, in the end, I LOVE Soul Calibur because I like to play without really thinking sometimes, even though in order to become really good the timing required to block, etc you will have to train.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Soul Calibur III
The Game is more fun than its predecesor&succesor
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/10
PS2Pirate
Location: Wichita
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Soul Calibur III has a slew of unlockable, and rewarding content, unlike its predecessor and succesor soul calibur 4, it also is a high-end graphics for a PS2 Game, characters look more polished, and have more detail.
The Gameplay is superb, and more smooth and fluent. this combined with the enhanced graphics make for an excellent experience.
The new character creation was a blast, though a little costly.
the Story was verty informative
The Sound is what might really win you over, if the stage had a waterfall you'd could hear it over the games orchestrated pieces.
there many new characters to use an overall you might get a solid 5 years out this game if you had a friend to play with.
The array of modes also adds to the experience. try soul arena
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Soul Calibur III
One Of The Best Games On PS2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/11
Ghost12
Location: Tulsa, OK
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is totally worth the price. I love how you get to create your own character. and i've played the 4th sould calibur. and it isnt as advanced as this one. the customization is Freaken awesome. and theres alot of cool things. dragon gauntlets, ect. If your in gamestop and happen to have 10 bucks to spare. then buy this game! YES its worth the money.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Soul Calibur III
An amazing weapon-based fighting game for the PS2
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/10
ItCouldOnlyBeJared
Location: Rochester,NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Soulcalibur III is a great weapon-based fighting game. I don't really pay attention to the storyline but it seems interesting if you want to read about the characters stories and stuff. With the ability to make a few custom characters, this is a very fun, interesting game for the Playstation2. The overall gameplay is pretty good. I mostly play on Tales of Souls mode. I would reccomend this to any action-loving gamer.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Soul Calibur III
SOUL CALIBUR AT ITS FINEST... & here's why...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/11
GpB217
Location: AK
This game is perfect for: party gamers
What made this the best Soul Calibur was its "Chronicles of the Sword" mode. In this you could create characters as well as use characters in the story. This kind of reminded me of Dynasty Warriors but you control units where to go on the map & you can either attack them from there or go into a 1v1 battle. How you healed was either go to a base or wait till you return to the battle after dying which isn't too long. This wasn't just a pointless level up game either. It involved ambushes & strategy. Also, eventually you get to send out 3-4-5-6-7-8 I forget characters at once which means you & your friends can all take turns telling your characters what to do & fight as your characters making plays to beat your way through 20 long & fun missions. "Cronicles of the Sword is a story with cut scenes & is entirely made up of created characters so it's originality is off the charts. I still come back to play it. It's a must own for PS2 owners who love great games. I can only go so in depth & describe this as well as I can but nothing beats playing it first hand. Check this one out!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Dark Souls Collector’s Edition
9.4 out of 10(70)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Soul Calibur III
This action game is one of the best action games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/14
Leo1Dude
Location: United States
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This fighting game is fun. You can play as a lot of diverse and strong fighters in the game. I recommend buying this game for ps2 and inviting a friend or two over and playing versus mode with them. It's pretty fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Soul Calibur III
Really good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/11
AnonymouslyConfused28
Soul Calibur 3 is a good game. I feel 2 was superior in gameplay but this is a worthy sequel. The Tell of Souls mode can be ridiculously hard at times. Character creation is great. If your a fan of the series go pick it up.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Soul Calibur III
great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/11
gamefan4564
Location: shelbyville mi
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is a fun game, each character has a different story, and this has you performing button presses to determine battles. the fighting is good, and this is a great ps2 game to own
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Soul Calibur III
One of the best!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/29/12
Anonymous
Location: Independence, KY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Not only is this the first Soulcalibur game that I've played, but it's also the first fighting game. It is safe to say that I never looked back. The graphics are so amazing and colorful for a PS2 game, and the soundtrack is outstanding. There's a vast choice of characters to choose from, so you always end up having at least one favorite. Even if none of the characters are to your liking, you can always create your own character. To take that a step further, you can have a created character star in Chronicles of the Sword, which is twenty chapters of war tactics and storyline. If I didn't own this game currently, I would immediately go to the nearest GameStop and pick up a copy of this game, even though there are more recent installments of the series out.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Soul Calibur III
Soul Calibur The Best Review Ever
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/08
Oldskoolguy1
Soul Calibur 3 is wonderful game to play. My favorite character is Xangiau and the moves for her are awesome. Especially since now that you can make your own characters. Each character has its own way of fighting such as being a barbarian, a ninja, a sage, and more. Only thing you might not like about making your character is the choice of clothes, for the guys they don't have that many clothes that you would like for your character to wear but for the girls they have a lot of nice clothes. You also probably wouldn't like the weapons the game chooses for you. You would have to play the game frequently with your made up character in order to get new weapons. I suggest that if you make a character, use the ninja as a fighting stance. I think that is the best fighting personality you can pick. As well as the sword master where you can use all weapons. The story line is very long, especially in The Chronicles of The Sword. During the Chronicles of the Sword you learn about Soul Calibur and Soul Edge. You get to make and command a team so that you can capture the strong holds. Each stronghold either is empty or has a person inside of it. Some parts in the Chronicles of the Sword got on my nerves because they had power ups on the stages such as "Ice". Every time I had to capture a base that had Ice on it, I had a lot of trouble because when you fight, your person moves around the stage and can fall off easy. I hated that because some people would already be hard and the game makes it worse by making you have to beat them with a hard stage. At least the challenge is up! The graphics of the game have completely changed from Soul Calibur 2 because during the screenplay the graphics seem like you are really there. For example when you are playing with a character during Tales of Souls every time a movie starts playing it seems like you are really there. One up for all of you graphic lovers. Character specials are the bomb. The best special is with Ivy, it is very hard to do but it brings down almost all of your opponents health. The next best special is with Abyss. With Abyss you can use a special where you can bring your character towards you and also do a crazy DragonBall Z move. It is so fun when I do this to my little brother. LOL! Overall, you should definitely buy this game. It is impossible to beat the ENTIRE GAME in a Week, just impossible. You'll be playing this for a very long time, and every moment you will love!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hardhead
 
Please wait while more information about hardhead is loaded.
Additional information about hardhead could not be loaded.
Awsome!!!
Posted 3/8/11
Probably the best game on the PS2. One thing thats so cool about it is that you can make your own character, and you can make over 20,000 different possibilities.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Soul Calibur III
its all about customization
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/12
dissatisfied0customer
Location: niles,mi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is amazeing all around, but the customization is what truely pleased me. there are hundreds of pieces to unlock for youre character from head to toe. i will say there are things like wings and such that woulda been nice, but what this game offers is better than anything else ive seen on ps2. and im very happy to learn a little more of the soul calibur story. the prequels irritated me by just dropping u into fights without really giveing a story.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Soul Calibur III
good but tekken is better
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/11
clay2929
Location: south carolina
okay this game has a really good roster, good graphics and all together it was pretty good but this game is way too short i finshed the whole game in a week. other than that its a really good game but not nearly as good as tekken
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Soul Calibur III
Timeless.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/12
BeccaBean
Location: Van Nuys, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I had played this game when I was ten with my siblings. I had just recently come into contact with it again and not only has it not lost any of it's charm, but it has gained so much more of my respect. My siblings were sixteen when i was ten, and now that i'm sixteen i can see what they loved so much about this game. it's just so great. a timeless fighting game. so much fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Soul Calibur III
good....but not sc2
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/12
shadowsora108
Location: andalusia AL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Good game, but I recommend soul calibur 2. The characters are all screwed up. You don't get the same experience as you do in soul calibur 2. If you are trying to decide between soul calibur 2 and 3 I recommend getting soul calibur 2.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Soul Calibur III
Still Enjoying It
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/11
ronniedonnie719
Location: MD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love this game. Soulcalibur is one of my favorite fighting series'. The graphics are better than most Old Generation games. Soulcalibur not a pick-up-and-play fighter. Soulcalibur requires skill and a lifetime to master.
High Recommendation!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10