GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Fullmetal Alchemist 2: Curse of the Crimson Elixir

nd North American PS2 game based on the Fullmetal Alchemist animé series, Curse of the Crimson Elixir follows an original story line designed to compliment the television adventures of the two young Elric brothers. Edward is a precocious, maimed alchemist, and Alphonse's human soul resides in the shell of a hulking mechanical man. As in quare-Enix's earlier Broken Angel, this game features cel-shaded graphics and 3D platform-style combat, for which players can use Edward's powers of transmutation to create new, effective weaponry. The boys have been sent to Siam-Sid, in the ruins of the capital city of Lebis, where they must investigate disturbing stories about disappearing people and strange monsters. Throughout the adventure, players take the role of Edward, who is supported in combat and exploration by the computer-controlled Alphonse. Several other major and minor Fullmetal Alchemist characters appear in the game, all voiced by the actors who portray them in the television series.
Average Customer Rating:
9.125
9.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
1
8 stars
3
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fullmetal Alchemist 2: Curse of the Crimson Elixir
Review 1 for Fullmetal Alchemist 2: Curse of the Crimson Elixir
People STOP SAYING THIS IS A BAD GAME!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/11
Gamer9119
Location: los angeles
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Lol pretty long review. Hi. im a casual gamer like many people out there. not into those shotting games like call of duty and stuff like that but i seem to like dead space it looks fun may buy it but thats not why im writing this. so continuing on to the review of Fullmetal Alchemist 2 Curse of The Crimson Elixer .... thats a mouthfull lol. i have all the games that came out in America i have fullmetal alchemist broken angel pretty fun game worth the 11 bucks, dual sympathy REALLY FUN GAME on the go perfect. like playing in the car, or when ur with ur parents somewhere boring just whip out your ds and play the game i recomend people to buy this game if u want a cheap,fun and good ds game. and also this game, my pros about this game is #1. the graphics have been remade ENTIRLY and when i mean that i mean broken angel also a fullmetal game that is on the ps2 also if u look at the graphics between this one and broken angel this one is 100 TIMES BETTER, so yah #1. way better graphics, #2. all of the diolouge is voiced by the original voice cast from the show, unfortunly the first one didnt have voiced diolouge like people talking. but in battles and in anime cutscens they did talk, so #2 its all voiced in the 2nd one. #3 the battling is alot more fun. this ones battling just seems so much funner compared to the first one the first one was kinds slow combat and battling this one was more faster and EDWARD CAN TRANSMUTATE HIS OWN WEAOPNS WITH THE R2 BUTTON OR L2 BUTTON I FORGOT, look up gameplay of this game and the first to see what a mean. so #3 battling is more quicker,funner,and just better. #4 its an amazing price for 11 bucks its totally worth it overall this game is not for fma fans ONLY any person can buy it a fullmetal fan, or just a guy or girl looking for a sick,cool,cheap but fun game, and theyll luv it but i dont know if u guys should buy this game first then broken angel sadly curse of the crimson elixer is a prequel to broken angel like the story goes as it like i wont spoil much but in the ending of this one, curse of the crimson elixer they go on a train and u see an enemy from broken angel who died in the broken angel so what i think u should do is buy both these games if u have the chance like if they have both of them in stock then buy it so buy fma broken angel first then later buy fma 2 curse of the crimson elixer, so overall i luved it only con i have agaisnt this game is the lock on system and it was a pretty short game 7 chapters only so yah buy it totally recomend it to ANY PERSON XD
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fullmetal Alchemist 2: Curse of the Crimson Elixir
FUllMetal Alchemist fans.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/08
Syn
It's only for those die hard FMA fans out there. Alphonse this time around helped a bit more but the game was too easy. Alchemy was not limited but sort of use in spots. They did have the original voice actors from the Anime and movie! There was too much text talking though. This one followed more so than the first of the original Anime series. There was no challenging battles at all. I think the graphics could have been much smoother. The length of the game a bit longer and the controls could have been a bit better for first time gamers. (From letting my cousins play this game it was a little hard for them at first). I also think that the sound quality could have been better. It sounded like it echoed at some parts of the game. Edward Elric is faster in this game than the last one. He ran way too slow in the last one. Overall, this game should only be bought by FMA fans who have seen the series and understand it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fullmetal Alchemist 2: Curse of the Crimson Elixir
Great Game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/08
IceFire Alchemist
Well I love video games, and I love the show FullMetal Alchemist. So I thought I'd try out the game. It was just awesome, Two Thumbs up! I found the game to be quite challenging, more than I expected. But It is hours of action packed, mind blowing fun. I love it, but there is a lot of dialog to it, but it makes the story line easier to understand. The Game follows the show very closely, with a few changes. But it is by far one of the best RPG's I have ever played. I thought part of the dialog were humerous, while part were serious as well. But the sight of Edward killing these monster things, with a giant hammer, makes anyone smile. As well as his Short rants. And Roy Mustang's high and mighty attitude, what an awesome game. Happy Playing! PS- This game is VERY addicting
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Fullmetal Alchemist 2: Curse of the Crimson Elixir
*Please Read Before Buying*
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/11
WinryRockbell22
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
*PLEASE READ THIS BEFORE BUYING*
Okay, so I'm a total Fullmetal Alchemist Fan, but this game was WAYYYY to short and pretty easy i got it over the summer and was so excited to have gotten it! But, I started playing and i was expecting a opening that would have been a little more... exciting. Usually when you play a game for the first time there would be a song and a movie scene that gets you pumped to play this game, but nope... you got told by a boring narrator about Alchemy. As far as the game play it was fun and using clapping transmutation was exciting! But, Alphonse dies way too easily which makes the game frustrating sense he barley does anything. The sound quality and graphics were great the story line is way too all over the place. I got really into it and beat it in one night it was that easy. I was also expecting to see more of the characters such as Roy Mustang, Riza Hawkeye, Maes Hughes, Jean Havoc, King Bradley, Izumi Curtis(who is not in it at all), ect. Also none of the Homunculi were in it, Envy, Lust, Gluttony, ect. I really hoped that Edward and Alphonse would fight them. Lastly, this game has a lot of talking scenes were it will show the character but there lips wont move but the voice actor will narrate what they're saying which was kinda lame sense the characters don't move, and there are very few movie scenes where it will look like the shows animation, so those of you who like a lot of movie scenes your of luck. Sorry for such a long review but i think i should let you know all about the game your about to be buying.
Thank you,
WinryRockbell22
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Fullmetal Alchemist 2: Curse of the Crimson Elixir
AWESOME GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/11
Yazmin
Location: Pittsburg, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I absolutely love this game!!!! It is fun, has a great story line, and funny videos. I love how Al fights with you and you can make him do a move. This game is not to short and not to long. Also, I highly recomend this game to a friend. It is really fun and I can't see or imagine anyone not liking this game and I can imagine anything. I know that not many people bought this game cause they didn't bring the third one and the two wii games over from Japan and I really wanted to play those because this was one of the funest games I ever played in my entire life and I played alot of games. People that love the series(the regular or brotherhood) should buy this game. The first one is also fun(they are pretty much the same but with a completely different story line). I actually like them both the same. There is also a DS game, but I can't play it cause my DS is broken.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Fullmetal Alchemist 2: Curse of the Crimson Elixir
Surprisingly good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/10
AnonymouslyConfused
Lets be honest most licensed games are unplayable. Well Fullmetal Alchemist 2 is actually a fun and very playable game from start to finish. You get long dialog scenes and the game even comes with some actual animation that was made just for the game. The game is fully voice acted by the cast of the show which really helps it out a lot. Graphically there are a few rough areas but not many. The character models look great. The majority of the level design is fairly linear but the team that developed the game did a good job nonetheless. My only gripe about the game would be at times the combat feels clumsy but once you get used to it you will be flying through it. Basically why I say clumsy is you have to constantly rotate your camera s there is no lock on your enemy but it works and thats the main thing. Your brother Al sometimes you will find punching at the wall while you are actually fighting the enemies. It is pretty funny to watch though. Now one of the most addicting things about the game is you can level up your characters as well every time you level up you get bonus points you can use on either Ed or Al. Pretty good game overall, a game with some flaws that do not hurt the overall experience.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Fullmetal Alchemist 2: Curse of the Crimson Elixir
The best FullMetal Alchemist game out there!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/3/11
UltimateCloud
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is one of my favorite games! If you like Fullmetal Alchemist or even if you dont like it, you should get this game. Here are the pros of the game: you have a wide variety of weapons. So, if you are one of those "i don't want to use only one weapon" people, perfect for you. Another one is you will always have a weapon with you. I'm not talking about your hands and feet (which you do always have those) i'm talking about a real weapon, like a sword. I hate those games when you have to travel a long distance just to get a weapon. I'm sure a lot of people do. There is only one con I can think of and that is that this game was made in 2005 or 2006, so it does not have as good graphics as games made in 2010 or 2011. Other than that though this game is perfect!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Fullmetal Alchemist 2: Curse of the Crimson Elixir
LOVE IT(=
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/11
Yuurichi
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
In comparison to it's predecessor, this game is definately a step up. The graphics and gameplay are better and the characters are voiced by their original voice actors. However, every game has its flaws. I wish the soundtrack was better, the lag on Al's command didn't exist, and the amount of accessories able to be equipped at once was more than two... Regardless, it's got me hooked. I'm on my fourth re-play actually. Anyway, it's a good game and worth the cash. GET IT!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10