GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Age of Empires: Age of Kings

Age of Empires: Age of Kings is a strategy game featuring five civilizations, and 50 unique types of units.Age of Empires: The Age of Kings for the Nintendo DS is based on the best-selling PC RTS title of all time: Age of Empires II: The Age of Kings. Players command five different civilizations, build armies and take them on scores of campaigns. Boasting turn-based strategy game play, Age of Empires: The Age of Kings allows players to move from the Dark Ages through the Middle Ages with one goal in mind: domination of the known world.
Average Customer Rating:
8.5
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (6 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 683%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Age of Empires: Age of Kings
Review 1 for Age of Empires: Age of Kings
Almost Better then the PC Version
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/09
Age of Kings
This is a great game, I would not call it a port of the PC Game though. The interface is different but still an outstanding game. The campaigns are incredibly difficult but the empire maps are really enjoyable. Unlike the PC version were the random maps (equivalent to the empire maps on the DS version) can be finished in 20 minutes you can play an empire map for days training units, building, and fighting. The only thing that can be criticized is tech fact that you can only build 4 buildings on a town center plus 4 towers and same with the 4 farms of a mill. There are tons of buildings so you will need multiple town centers in order to get them all. Some train units others just give you things to research. If you liked the PC version and are willing to venture into new territory then I highly recommend this.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Age of Empires: Age of Kings
A Good addicting game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/09
Suicidal Banana
This game is very fun and it is challenging. If you liked the Age of Empires on the PC then you will love this game. One thing is that it doesn't have a lot of different empires to choose from. Another is, unlike the PC version, your infantry can only take a certain amount of steps per "day". The maps could be bigger but over all there are a decent amount of different maps (some you have to buy some maps using bonus points). There is a good amount of different types of different soldiers/knights. The bad thing is that you can only train only one type of soldier/knight per barrack/stable/archery/siege workshop at a time. Another is that you have a civilian max. But over all it is a very fun, very addictive game that anyone will love (probably not old people though).
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Age of Empires: Age of Kings
Pretty Good
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/08
Banana Eater
As you can expect, Age of Empires is a far better game at home on your PC. Although this game was a good attempt at a portable game, I would rate it about 6/10. The controls are very hard to get used to, but they are not complicated. The graphics are pretty good as well. One thing that annoyed me a lot was the sound. Everytime you fight your enemies the war cries and so on get very annoying. I would suggest if you buy the game to not play it with the sound on. The levels are challenging enough that it can be fun. Another annoying thing is that when you play a normal game (non scenario) the poor game takes FOREVER to save. After a while the DS card got corrupted also. I would reccomend this game more for boys than girls, because my brother seemed to enjoy it far more than I did. The game is fun and you don't get tired of it very quickly. If you have a lot of patience this game is for you. Otherwise, stick to the PC version.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Fansrave
Cocoa Beach, Fl
 
Please wait while more information about Fansrave is loaded.
Additional information about Fansrave could not be loaded.
Ok
Posted 11/26/10
I have never played this game but might buy it. I love all the PC games and hope this one is like them! I'll tell you people soon.
Customer Avatar
billybobjoe
 
Please wait while more information about billybobjoe is loaded.
Additional information about billybobjoe could not be loaded.
asome
Posted 9/22/10
this game was asome it was the same as the pc. exept it was a littel hard here and thar. i recamend this game to every one. but game stop should put the 2 one on line
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for Age of Empires: Age of Kings
Amazing Addicting Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/14
Camcongab
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is my childhood. I literally could play this for days and I do. I love everything about this game. The sound is not annoying, and the strategy is amazing. I don't know how it compares to the PC version, but I still love it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Age of Empires: Age of Kings
best medival war game!!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/10
addictgamer
Location: noyb
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is really good and its really addicting but the levels get a bit difficult after a while and it gets a bit boring.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
MAG
8.3 out of 10(563)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Age of Empires: Age of Kings
EPIC GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/12
drencher
Location: O.H
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I LOVE THIS GAME BECAUSE I GOT IT FOR MY COMPUTER AND NOW I CAN PLAY IT ON MY DSI I WISH THERE WAS A 3DSIXL
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dalacow02
 
Please wait while more information about Dalacow02 is loaded.
Additional information about Dalacow02 could not be loaded.
AWESOME!
Posted 6/5/13
this game is the best ds game on the
planet! it is challenging and fun at the same time.i would totally recommend this
game for anyobecause there is no blood whatsoever!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)