GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi

Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi is the only game to combine fighting and flying in wide open, destructible 3D environments. In the air, on the ground or under water, DBZ Budokai Tenkaichi gives players the ability to battle with unprecedented power and freedom and experience the intensity of DBZ fighting in an all-new way by combining melee combat, energy attacks and 3D flight with third-person action in a fully interactive recreation of the Dragon Ball universe. With its intense battles, high-speed flight and deep storyline, DBZ Budokai Tenkaichi offers players a "superhero" experience of epic proportions it's the DBZ game fans have been waiting for.
Average Customer Rating:
7.52
7.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
3
8 stars
5
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
18 out of 2572%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi
Review 1 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi
AWESOME OLD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/13
CH669123
Location: Bossier,LA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Never gets old playing this game will forever love DBZ Budokai Tenkaichi series never stop playing this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi
One Of The Best DBZ Games!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/13
711gogeta
Location: Planet Vegeta
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Its not all random button mashing like in the terrible game Ultimate Tenkaichi. Better than Mortal Combat. The whole Budokai Tenkaichi series is the best Dragon Ball Z games. The 2 & 3 one are better having more characters. This one doesn't have enough characters. Still a great game. The story mode is also great along with just regular matches. But it can be very hard when playing the infamous Survive Until The Time Runs Out, even on the easiest difficulty. The sound is a little dated but still OK. I've played it for a while and its still not getting old! Great overall game!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi
A Okay game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/13
Tyler247
Location: Bradonten FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
My friend let me Have this game! I like it! But it should at least let you play easy mode on story mode! Its hard to try to get through the story! Think before you buy this game! Its a cool game though!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi
this game is just too good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/12
sanji
Location: Temple Hills, MD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i don't understand people who say the second one was better of course it would be better because it's the second one this one is still very impressive since the graphics were awesome best when this came out the second one was just like the first one it just has more characters and fights on it nothing special but the 3rd is personally the best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi
great game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/29/12
bamonkey
Location: Mousiour, Mo
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is amazing every one should play it the story mode is made just like the show if u dont have it buy it nowww
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi
Don't listen to everyone.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/12
Hunterz132
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
I don't see what people are complaining about. I recently bought this, and while the combos could be a bit easier to perform, it is extremely organized, and fun. I would recommend this to fans of the fighting/beat em up style, and fans of dbz. Has quite a few characters, and sagas. Great Game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi
Not as good as the second...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/12
SonicFTW
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is okay, I think the second Budokai Tenkaichi is better. I didn't get some controls. But overall, I recommend this game.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi
kind of sucks but still ok
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/14/12
elikilla
Location: chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
on my ps2 it takes to long to load and doesnt have enough characters plus there are too many stupid controls
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi
best game ever better the bt2 and bt3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/12
gamestoplover12
Location: wapato wa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
ok so you might be wondering why im not recomendint it to a friend that is because its only for me because the game is so COOL awsome best game ever i will recomend to a frend graphics are great sound it great gameplay is good the sagas are awsome this game is the best i hilly recomend this game to every one if you like dbz if you dont like dbz then STOP LOOKING AT DBZ PAGES :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gokussj4
 
Please wait while more information about gokussj4 is loaded.
Additional information about gokussj4 could not be loaded.
Posted 6/7/12
I don't think so man BT3 has way more characters and way better gameplay grapics. I highly recommend you try BT3 and try to compare them
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi
New Style From Budokai
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/11
JakeRocks100
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have played the three budokai games and loved them all. This is a different style game that gives a challenge. It may not live up to Budokai 3 but has been a good new style to play. I had trouble with this game but if you keep playing your gonna most likely beat it. This is good for fans but not new comers. New comers should start out with budokai 3.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi
best action/dragon ballz game i ever played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/11
bonz2000
Location: virginia,va
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i highly recommend this game to all dragon ball z fans and hardcore action gamers and my favorite part is that it has top 100 ranking that completely pulls the game together
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi
Get It, But for Wii
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/11
Infernape48
Location: Annapolis, MD
This game was not good at all. The graphics were lame, the controls was horibble. The sound, you need speakers to hear it well. I think you'll like a game on the Wii. Or at least the 2nd one.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi
This... Game... SUCKED!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/11
codeman367
Location: Albia,IA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I played all the Budokai games and bought this thinking is was going to be awesome. But is sucked! It was in a 3rd person perspective and controls were hard to use. I you have played the other games, you wont like this one. But Budokai Tenkaichi 2 is AWESOME!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi
awesome game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/11
shenron2
Location: midway, ut
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
its really good it will keep you playing for hours. i think people should buy this game if their beginners.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi
yeah
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/11
sasuke123
Location: richmond,VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is the best but number 3 is the bestest i will buy them all
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
porunga
maryland
 
Please wait while more information about porunga is loaded.
Additional information about porunga could not be loaded.
ssj4 goku
Posted 7/22/11
Dragon ball z Budokai Tenkaichi!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi
Great Martial Arts Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/11
LittleAJ
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's not bad of a game. I played it for a few hours and was a little addictive. If you want to switch from something better than the budokai series, then budokai tenkaichi is the perfect choice for you with the 3d graphics.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi
Good Game :)
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/11
DBZFAN12
Location: Murphysboro, IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When i first Saw the DBZ Tenkaichi Series I Was shocked With Amazement.....The first One i saw Was BT3.......And natrually being a major DBZ Fan i decided to get this game (due to the fact i couldin't afford either BT2 or BT3 at the time.....) When my Game arrived in the Mail, I Was Stoked........I Turned on my ps2 & immediatly started kicking some butt. The games controlls are simple to learn i learned every kind of trick & techneque in 2 days...and unlocked every single characters in 3 & a half days.....Overall i think this Game is awesome for DBZ Fans alike..but if you got enough for either bt2 or bt3 get them instead you will be more satisfied with them :3
Gameplay - 6.5 out of 10
Well to Make a Long Story Short....The Controlls Are VERY simple! They also have a tutorial for those who arent as skilled as others :) the minute i started my first match i was already pulling off ultimates & blasts of all kinds :3
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Graphics - 7 out of 10
The reason i give this games Graphics 7 out of 1 is Because this is the best style for any dbz game to date (in my opinion) the cel-shaded graphics combined with very detailed blasts makes this game a must for dbz fans :)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sound - 5 out of 10
The Sound Kinda.....It's Sorta.......Well, I'm just gonna say it....They Pretty Much SUCK!! the Blasts are timed ok but the voices aren't even close to matching the movement of the characters mouths....the music is annoying after about 3 days & the sound ajustment is very picky..and worst of all some moves are said in japanease even on the engilsh setting.........and the subtitles don't always match exactily to wat the character is saying..Overall the sound Bites....
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Lasting Appeal - 7 out of 10:
To sum it Up Quickly This game is good for DBZ Fans alike..but non DBZ Fans are probubly gonna hate this game...For any dbz Fan...i can't say this enough..if you've got the money to buy bt2 or bt3 GET THEM INSTEAD!!!!!.....now heres a List of Pros & Cons....
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Now here's a Short List of the Pros & Cons of this Game...
Pros:
1.Over 60 Characters to Choose From
2.More then 5 Arenas to Choose from
3.Good Overall DBZ Feel....
4.Blasts & Graphics Look Nice :)
5.Destroyable Arenas....Always a Nice Touch ;)
Cons:
1.You Can Not Transform in Game...Your Characters form Must be selected seperately from the Character Select Screen...
2.Very Limited Stage Selection..
3.All 4 of cells Forms use his imperfect voice
4.Horrificly Long & Drug out Story.....
5.The Full Power Volly Attack is Used for WAY to many characters....
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi
One of the best games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/11
Ugotit
Location: Jackson, MS
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It was a great game no doubt in my mind whoever buys this game will be pleased beyond their expectations.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi
third best game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/10
bigjj
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i have had this game for 2 years this has perfect graphics.the game play is cool its like your in the tv fighting.this game is very hard its perfect for hardcore gamers.when you hit somebody and they make a sound its like their right next to you the sagas are very short and fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi
Don't waste your time!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/10
Jameswa21507
Location: IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is a waste of time! Don't even get this game.This game isn't worth it. You'll be better off with budoikai 3, tenkaichi 2 or 3. This game doesn't have enough characters, the attacks aren't good, and you stay normal until the battle is over. So you'll be better of with a different game than this one.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 9 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>