GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Sims 2

Explore the wide-open world of The Sims 2 as you guide your custom Sims in their quest to become a rich and powerful mogul. Build and run your own hotel in Strangetown. Keep the cash coming in by maintaining it and keeping the guests happy. Design paintings for the gallery and record music for the lounge through Touch Screen mini-games. Make sure Strangetown's Sims are happy and you just might uncover their hidden secrets.
Average Customer Rating:
5.731
5.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
3
8 stars
5
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
11 out of 2642%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Sims 2
Review 1 for The Sims 2
not sims
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/13
oohlala
Location: ny
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I bought this game expecting it to be sims, but you don't geet even the same advantages in regular sims!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 2 for The Sims 2
GREAT GAME
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/13
killergamer911
Location: Ashburn,Va
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is great. I played it on most platforms (xbox, PS3, PC, Ds, PSP.) So i mostly know how the game works. I recommend this game for a lot of VG players. So trust me with this review.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for The Sims 2
Underrated Classic
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/12
Reviewsnstuff
Location: Omaha, NE
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Now let me start off by saying, this is not a normal Sims game! Don't expect it to be. In this game you don't build and maintain a house or torture your game character in a small room like other Sims games.You run a hotel in a rundown town and take it from a ghost-town to a vacation hot-spot! You will maintain many odd needs from an awesome bunch of characters that will check into your hotel. This game has a short story-line, but makes it take time by making it so that you can only do some missions at night,morning, Saturday, etc.(This is in real-life time by the way.) This can be inconvenient as it may say you have to play it at midnight on a weekday. (You can always just change the time settings on your DS system, which makes the townspeople in the game angry at you an aliens attack, ha ha!) The graphics are actually really good for a DS game. Anyone who owns a DS should try this game and ignore the other bad reviews because those people just don't like it because it's not what they expected. Part of the reason why I think I like this game so much is because I think normal Sims games are rather boring... It frustrates me how this game is so underrated and I think everyone should give it a chance.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Sims 2
Miss
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/12
hjcbsdajh
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I actually kind of miss how the sims would make there handheld games an adventure story type thing, now they make it how it is on the consoles or the PC when everyone knows that it will never even kind of be like them.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for The Sims 2
Misleading, and kinda sucky.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/12
caliund
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I picked up this game for my Nintendo DSi awhile back before I actually got it for my computer (long story, don't ask). So anyways, I thought it would be the open, legacy feel of the PC Sims 2. I was wrong on so many levels, it was almost painful. In this, you're driving somewhere, when your car farts out in Strangetown. You go to a hotel and things happen. HOTEL. The goal of the game is to become a booming business mogul and have a ginormous hotel and whatnot. Sounds like fun, right? It tanked for me, because I thought I'd be getting a Sims 2 feel (legacy, open, build mode...), not a craptastic Bon Voyage feel (yeah, there's Bigfoot). It just felt really ugly, and it was pretty disturbing. It rained CONSTANTLY for me, and the graphics and the feel just creeped me out for some reason. Not a fan of this one! It's fun and all (for awhile) but it gets really tedious. Oh, and you're Rat(wo)men, too, once you get farther along in the game. DOUBLE FACEPALM!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Sims 2
Creepy, but OK
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/12
ILoveYoshi
Location: Californa, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is fun and all, the song when you outside and kissy stuff is creepy! Including the aliens! Not that the aliens scare me but, it's kind of dumb that they kidnap you for no reason you know. Also this game has WAY too much kissing, romance, and getting naked.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Sims 2
The sims 3 pc is better
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/12
luvmuffin826
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
the sims 2 is okay but the sims 3 is better because: oyu cant have chldren, your own house and you cant get married, etc.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Sims 2
Good for DS
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/11
BlackOps17
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I think it is a good sims game for DS that is. I think sims for the PC is best kind of platform to play on.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Sims 2
OK
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/11
noncheater910
Location: Honolulu,Hawaii
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's start's off good, but over time you stop playing for a long while. Then you go back to play it again.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Sims 2
THIS GAME IS FUN
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/11
CODCRAZY667
Location: PA PITT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
SIMS 2 IS A REALLY FUN GAME. I LIKE ALL OF THE PEOPLE YOU MEET. YOU WILL MEET A ALIEN. THIS GAME IS A VERY FUN GAME! GET IT.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Sims 2
Not bad....
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/11
Xadecas
Location: Lubbock, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The plot of the game can be difficult without skipping ahead in time to find some items you need. You basically just keep the town (which is a boring, boring town that never has anything exciting happening in it) safe from aliens and robots (both easily defeated). You run a hotel (which you got to keep safe from thugs, robots, and aliens...all easily defeated again.) with limited clothing and furniture options. Also, if you work to perfect a room to just how you want it, if you rent it out the customer can change it however they want and screw it up. **a big con is the glitches**. You can walk into a room and suddenly all the colours and basic shapes of everything is GONE and it might take a long time until everything reappears. Also characters might turn into random pixel skeletons and any given time, which is very disappointing. After you beat the game (easily done after you look up a guide) the game gets horribly boring.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Sims 2
Good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/11
Riiyone
Location: Toledo,Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Probably one of my favorite games for The D.S. i loved the game and played it all the time when i first got it and i would recommend it to casual gamers along with little kids, the game looked good for its time, but it just didn't feel like the Sims
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
The Sims 2
9 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Sims 2
My Absolute Favorite Game of All Time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/10
Fifi
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have had this game for the longest time-- in fact, I don't even remember buying it-- but it still entertains me. Like most games for the DS, the gameplay is in storymode. This is the scenario: your character, in the opening video, arrives in a small town (called Strangetown) in the middle of the desert, speeding in a car. Then the actual game begins--your character is trapped in this town, and becomes the owner of the hotel. Your job is to upgrade your hotel, despite a gang leader, a crazy, anceint goth girl, and an evil robot overlord. In addition to being in charge of everyone's sanity, you must also protect them from aliens, rampaging robots, and "goons". Along the way, you become a superhero and meet: a mummy, the Mole King, the alien leader, Sasquasch, and a wild cast of characters. I like this game because of the endless humor and adventure. This game is also partially realistic, but has enough insanity in it to keep it interesting. This game will forever remain in my Top 5 favorite video games, and let me tell you, I have a LOT of video games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
13 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Sims 2
Not the best.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/10
toughgamer98
Location: NC
Okay. This game is pretty much in my opinion like the sims 2 pets for the ds. i mean i liked it at first, but it couldnt hold my attention for too long. I just found it really boring. I love the sims dont get me wrong but i mean really. why dont they stick with the general idea of the computer games, thats irritating.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Sims 2
The Great Loss
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/10
Issy
Location: Bloomington, IN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game so much. I'm getting it again tomorrow! (Hopefully) Anyways, "the great loss" of this story is that me and my brother, Thomas, use to play this game all the time--I mean, who doesn't want to squirt an alien with a water gun? We were stuck to it, and there were many fights & laughs over the exciting game. However, as much as I like it, every game has a flaw. For me, this is just from my point of view, since I was born in a desert (AZ). When playing the game, I found it took place in some sort of desert area. The place looked a dump and you're supposed to fix it up and encourage people to stay and to come. There's only one fancy place, which is the hotel you're staying at in the game. This bothered me, because it was pretty stereotypical, but that's alright. Its nothing serious. The game was fun, and still is! I hope that I'll be able to find one at a Gamestop around here...I'll continue to look if I don't!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Sims 2
Sims 2?? Or just a complete disaster?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/10
Doggie lova
I really didn't like this game that much. If you want to buy a sims game don't get this one. The graphics in this game were terrible, I hated the story line (yes there is a story in this sims game), and it was just all around terrible. At the beginning of the game at the make a sim screan you have few customization choices, and with the few you have they were pretty bad. When you get in the actual game I thought the story was really dull. What's up with the aliens too? I just wanted to play a LIFE game, not a let's take the sims and make it into a complete piece of destruction. The only decent part I found about this game was the controls, and the camera. They functioned (most of the time) very good, and I usually didn't get mad at the game like I usually do with games with terrible cameras. All in all this game was a complete mess and you should never consider getting this game. It's terrible.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Sims 2
Not the best...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/10
Alphagirl101
The sims 2 for ds is definitely not as good as the one for PC. First of all, you can't do all of the things that you can in the PC version, you can't design your sims clothes, you can't have a boyfriend or get married, you have only a few places to go in an otherwise small area, the graphics are not very good, and you don't even live in a house. Plus, you only have one objective in the entire game, to get rich... I thought it was going to be the same thing as the PC version because it had the same title, but it is completely different in a kind of bad way. Not what I expected at all, and I wish that I had not bought it. But there is one good thing, the sound and their funny simlish language. This is my opinion and a warning for all of the gameplayers out there.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for The Sims 2
this game is great!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/10
horsegirl
I love this game. My friend and I love playing it. I let my friend create her own file on my game and she simply loves it. This game is really funny when the characters talk in a different language. We basically remembered each word that they speak. One thing that is kind of a bummer is the graphics. The people's faces look like blobs. Although, my DS says it's from 2005 Nintendo. I guess I can cut them some slack with the graphics. One thing I also don't like is it sometimes freezes on me. Like, after I got the Rat Cave and dress into the Rat- Suit.Sometimes when it freezes it gets really annoying. Maybe it's just my DS or something. If I were you, I'd save after every accomplishment just in case this happens to you. Overall, this game is amazing. It's very addicting. The other nice thing is it has a longer story so you're not finished the day that you get the game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Sims 2
Underrated Gem...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/09
lbyrd13
Me being a hardcore Sims fan and saying that this is one of the better ports out there may speak out to some...or it may not. Anyway, this game is, by all means, seriously underrated. About three years back, I had gambled a copy away from my cousin (I was eleven and we used it as a bet in a game of Go-Fish) and very surprisingly enjoyed it. The gameplay and interface are crisp and clean, making a smooth transition to the DS. Graphics-wise...this game could have used some polish, the character models are fun and original, but the environments suffer from heavy pixelation and repetitiveness. The overall challenge of this game is very puny and could have also used more polish, but don't let these issues get in the way of your experience. Story mode is traditional Sims fare...quirky, yet engaging, nothing to spoil here! Music from the original games is apparent, making a good transition with a wide variety of songs (which are selectable from various Jukeboxes around the game), and you can even mix music at a certain point in the game (after purchasing the Sax Lounge). Overall, I'd highly recommend that any fan (or those interested) of the Sims series give this a try, despite what most reviews say, this is truly a fun and addictive game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for The Sims 2
Okay...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/08
hllstrgrl03
Sims 2 was not the best of the sims line of games. The graphics weren't up to standards and the game got boring after a while. I have played a lot of sims games from sims 2 on the computer to sims pets on PS2 and this game was not my favorite. I really wish the storyline was more exciting. In my game there's a glitch that really needs to be fixed because i can't move on in the storyline. My friends even had to call me up and ask me about what to do next or how to work this. Also when your putting furniture in your rooms you can't put anything against the walls which i totally disagree with. I bought this game hoping it would be pretty close to the sims 2 for computer but it was not what i expected. You can't even have a boyfriend or get married! I would really invest your money in a different sims game.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>