GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Black

In the war on terror there's no time for stealth.Join the world's most brutal and enigmatic strike force. The BLACK tactical squad operates under the cloak of complete anonymity and deniability to protect the US from threats foreign and domestic. It answers to no one, allowing it to carry out brutal and covert operations around the globe. From manipulating politicians to controlling intelligence networks and militaries, BLACK operatives are trained at the highest level in psychological warfare, espionage, and lethal arts. Go deep into the world of clandestine warfare as you use any means necessary to get the job done.
Average Customer Rating:
8.838
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
10 stars
21
9 stars
6
8 stars
4
7 stars
3
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
33 out of 3789%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Black
Review 1 for Black
Decent game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/10
AnonymouslyConfused
Black is a decent game with some nice graphics. It also comes with some great sound. As well it contains an extremely forgettable story but that is fine. I got the game for its gameplay. Which at times is just more or less decent and frustrating. Black is a fun game about 70% of the time and the other 30% is either filled with some odd moments. These odd moments are why does it take a clip to kill an enemy. I think it was their way of making the game more difficult. On the EASY setting you should be able to make it through the game. The emptying a clip into a guy is what brought the score down for me. You will in about every level find a guy up above you on a catwalk or in a window shooting at you with an RPG. Nothing wrong with that but it does get old after every single level. The level designs are mediocre and not really interesting. The only thing interesting about them is the graphics as the graphics do look pretty good. Decent game, worth picking up for a playthrough or 2.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Black
Awesome Shooting Game!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/09
Juliankyo (racer)
Well, this is the first time in...4 years that i try a First person Shooter, yes im telling the truth. The last first person shooter i played was...the second Medal Of Honor. So I'll try to give my best description of it.. The storyline is quite simple, a lot fo talking, basically giving u a vague hint on whats going on. The controls are soooo easy to use, even for an almost "retired" FPS Gamer, The graphics are some of the best i've seen on a PS2 Game, U are always engaged in something, either u are trying to get somewhere, or u are trying not to get killed, the action is so good, u are walking in a cementery, and suddenly u have to take cover immmediately or u will get killed, the difficulty is also well balanced. The only thing i didnt like about this game is that even on a 5.1 sound system...everything sounds exactly the same, contrary to the last MOH that I played where u could actually hear where the bullets where coming from. U will not be dissapointed when buying this game :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Black
Not The Best Game!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/2/10
TexasTerror
This game is rather short ,I wanted this game for a long time and one day I got it ans I was really excited about it and thought the game would be very long and I was On the last level of the game which was kinda hard but, I quit so I played one night and then I beat it and I was All like thats it??? I got real mad so I sold but there is one cool thing about it (Silver Weapons) those things are amazing but i dont like the way the look!!!, The weapons are good but there could have been more of a selection in the game like you use the same guns alot and the guns you like you hardly use them at all.Man The Clips in the game are kind of weird like the ak-47 you know 30 bullets but they make 3x more bigger i not saying it a bad thing its just not normal . The Thing I dont get is when you kill someone with a silencer they still hear you and then start attacking you ,man I wasted My Money But hey thats jus if your still intrested in the game you go head and you buy because im just writng a rreview fro the game!!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Black
Eye Opener!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/11
BigG13
Location: Felton, DE
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is possibly the best shooter on the ps2 in my opinion. The graphics are well above its time on the ps2. The gameplay is never boring and always keeps you on your toes. The world around you in the game is your to swist and turn the way you want if you think you can explode it you probably can! the gun selection is great and and fun to look for when your in short supply there is always a hidden gun somewhere you just have to look if you brave enough.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Black
Really good game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/10/08
Killzoner
Really good game. This game is like a really nice one. The graphics are extremely awesome as is the sound. It is a really weird thing looking at all the detail. it is rockin'. When you shoot a car there are bullet holes. In the first level you have to shoot down a door. It's awesome. If you like Halo, Rainbow 6 Vegas, COD4, Bioshock, Gears of War, Killzone, etc. You will love this game. I bought it, and it was the best thing I ever saw. I love this game (not as much as Killzone, but it's up there with it) so much. If you like blowing stuff up, get this. The weapons, the gameplay, the graphics, the sounds and the controls are all perfect. But this game is really short; only about 6 hours of game play; for a vet I'd say about 4 hours. But this game is so much fun; I play it over and over. I've had it since it came out, and it still doesn't seem repetitive to me. So go get this game. it is so cool!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Black
black: kill em' all
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/09
BLACKOPERATIVE
i was looking for a new game to play and i found BLACK and purchased it. i took it home and began to play it and instantly fell in love with it!! The guns are awesome, the graphics are awesome, the sounds of bullets flying and explosions are awwesome!!! I have played this game so many times that I can't stop!! You know what else is awesome about this game? the silver weapons which are equipped with unlimited ammo. My favorite weopns are the Glock, the Remington shotgun, the SPAZ 12 shotgun, the M16A12, the MP5, the Magnum, the Sniper rifle, and the Heavy machine gun. I heard a rumor that there was going to be a sequel and I hope it turns out to be true! The missions may be long but this game is well worth buying. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Black
Darn good game for PS2!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/10
Vsmith
Location: South Carolina
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Id reccomend this game to anyone who likes shooter games. I may be a girl but I loved it! Every free chance i got i was on that thing trying to beat the bext level! Definitely a good investment!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Black
Black Review
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/14
KillsreakXd977
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Black was a fun FPS and it showed off what the PS2 can do. First is the Graphics they were fantastic for 2006 and the PS2, it absolutely pushed it to it's limits, there are bullet holes everywhere and from every shot, there where sunlight rays from cracks in the walls it looked very realistic for a PS2 game and I was impressed. The Game play was very fun almost everything was destructible or explosive and that is something that will please any FPS lover, I liked the live action cut scenes they were original and actually well acted just wish they offered more than to people talking at a table, the only problems were weapon accuracy and button layout/mechanics, the game didn't allow you to aim down the sights like most FPS's and the buttons were a bit weird and hard to learn. Another thing I didn't like was the health bar you seemed to loose health way too quick and limited health packs made playing sometimes a challenge. . The sound was good a bit fuzzy at times along with not the best script, but nothing too bad with the live action cut scenes, just again needs more intelligent dialogue. The lasting appeal is decent the story is short and not very appealing, your just a Black ops agent who is sent to defeat a terrorist group run by a former member of your squad, the two big things that save it from being bad are that there is a good twist at the end and the destructibility of everything was addicting, I only wished it would have gotten a sequel.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 9 for Black
mind blowing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/10
1transformer
Location: sanantonio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
ok so my brother in law had got the game and im like it looks boring i dont know who would play this but once he let me play i did not want to let go of the controller it was awesome the graphics were good the guns were awwesome so were the levels so if your a guy who really likes to make a hole in a guys head buy this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Black
AWESOME GAME FOR PS2!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/10
Wesker
Location: Umbrella Inc.
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Its A Really Great Game For PS2! Great Graphics And Gameplay! I Would Strongly Recommend This Game To Any One Who Loves A Good FPS! Also A Great Price For Such A Great Game!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RAGE121
NONE YOUR BIZ LOL
 
Please wait while more information about RAGE121 is loaded.
Additional information about RAGE121 could not be loaded.
Quite....Mmm...how should i say it........AWESOME!
Posted 9/17/11
This Game "Black" as they call it, This game has everything a shooter fan would want, the accuracy, adrenaline pumping, non-stop shooting.....but one thing missing BLOOD and GORE, dont deny it we all like seeing something go SPLAT* but this game does not have it kinda lame right?! I know right.....the Campaign is from the point of view of an Ex-Black Ops Cadet that is now in custody of the Government and now he will tell everything, every mission that you have done, its quite entertaining, This game has lots of guns and everywhere you go you will find something to shoot that will go BOOM!!!!!! That BOOM will destroy buildings and enemy units near by the explosion, Each mission is quite long and packed with BOOMS and BULLETS, I think you will find it quite entertaining and FUN if you have read this far....So Buy it give it a try if not bring it back and get your cash Which I doubt you will want back after the first MIssion....So come on GET UP and BUY IT What u Waiting for?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Black
Great game not perfect
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/11
XxTheJesterxX
Location: California,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is good how ever it's hard to shoot ome guns are accurate however some are not. Each missions are like 20 or an hour long and you can't save only check points so don't reset the console if you want to start all over it's really frustrating that I need to start all over again so I recommend to playing when you have a time to spare.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Black
BEASTLY!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/08
extreem critic
best game EVA!! this game is just like a simpler version of any tom clancy game(controls i meen). theres no tutorial, but u dont need one!! the game is so hard, im only on level 5 and i got it like 4 days ago!! the story is kinda hard to follow, but o well, i bought this game to shoot ppl, not follow a story. the guns in this game r amazing...ak47, rpg, spas 12, sniper rifle, uzi...well, anyway...the missions are so challenging u have to play em like 5 times to finally beet em. the only problem is that u have to shoot ppl like five times in the chest to kill em...well then again, they r wearing bulletproofs. and the way u get helth in this game is so unique, but i aint tellun u how its unique. the graphix are reely good but not the best, but big woop! but ya, i totally recomend this to ANYONE who wants a challenging war game w/ simple controls!! THIS GAME KILLS(litterally)!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Black
behold the power of the ps2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/11
gamefan4564
Location: shelbyville mi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is one of the best ps2 games. this looks almost as good as resistance fall of man, the battles are great, and the shooting is really good. I just wish there was regenerating health though. but this is one of the few games that uses live action video. you need to try this
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Black
YES! YES! YES!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/09
WarFreak1020
If your looking for non-stop action you, you MUST buy this game! It's on PS2 but it looks like a PS3 game! Everything (except the length) is awesome about this game! The guns, (which are sick) the graphics, the sound, and especially the explosions! It may not be "FROSTBITE " like "Battlefield Bad Company" but it is definently something great for PS2! If you are a crazy shooter gamer (like me) and can't afford th PS3 for it's graphics, this is just like a demo and is definitely worth your money and time. The only 2 downsides of this game is there is no online gameplay, (which would make this the best video game of all time), second, the storyline is only about 8 missions (but the missions each take about an hour and a half to finish) but it doesn't bother me much. If I had 10 thumbs, I'd put them all up for this game. The only thing I gave lower than an 8, was storyline!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hoverboard
 
Please wait while more information about hoverboard is loaded.
Additional information about hoverboard could not be loaded.
worth buying PRE-OWNED
Posted 12/1/10
I want to start out with that this game was great for the 9 bucks i spent on it pre-owned. I wanted a great shooter and I got it. Graphics to me was suprisingly awesome to me for a PS2 game. Sounds GREAT, the best part of the game is explosions. But the ending sucked, storyline could have been better, and there was non stop shooting. I mean you couldn't go 10 seconds without having to shoot someone. It was hard killing the guys with shields (unless with grenade or magnum) because it takes up to 10 shots in the head to kill them!!! I went through more than 10,000 bullets in normal campaign!!! I killed only 2,000 people!!!!!!!! If you want a good shooter, with awesome guns and explosions, i would reccomnd buying this game used. Its not worth new. Its short, (8 levels) and the ending was VERY DISSAPOINTING TO ME!!!!!! But it was fun shootin` everyong up!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Black
Excellent First Person Shooter!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/08
Former Marine
This is what a first person shooter should be like. The game starts with your pistol in hand in a locked room, YOU first have to figure out how to get out of the room! YOU have to figure out the mission as you go along. Yes there are goals and objectives. BUT YOU have to figure them out as you go along, searching EVERY room and corner! Then you emerge in the midile of a east european street firefight! Word of advice, practice head shots as EVERYONE wears body armour and helmets!! There are no directions or instructions, it's up to you to figure out how to get through each level and scene. The scenes get harder and harder, I am now paranoid of open spaces!! The bad guys sometimes appear out of seemingly nowhere!The plot will throw you for a loop at the end, when all is explained! I'm 51 y/o cop and I got this for christmas after severly breaking my leg and having to sit still for 4 months. I played this game for hours at a time and was never bored. I've had this game for almost 2 years and made it completely through 2 levels of the game! I'm working through the "Hard" level now and then there's the "Black" level. I can only imagine what that' level is like, someday maybe... The graphics are great the AI is scary, the enemy WILL come after you hard and fast. You fight through woods, tunnels, buildings, factories, farms, prepared defensive positions and underground bunker complexes. Sometimes you have team mates, mostly your on your own. The fights can take you through several enviroments in one level. When you think your done, you emerge into another fight. Fights end just as dramatic, you walk through a door way and it's over! There are some great battles just crossing open areas. there's a bridge battle that is one long death trap as you fight above and below the bridge. The silver weapons function, gives you unlimited ammo AFTER you complete an entire game level. Sometimes you run out of ammo, sometmes you run out of health packs. BOTH can be fatal, as on higher levels Health packs get harder and harder to find. I still play this game and it is still exciting to fight my way across a battellfield or through a building.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Black
Great Game Even Greater Price !!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/25/11
Aureatia
Location: Central Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've seen very little bad reviews for this game and for good reason. This game is AWESOME !! I've had this game for well over a year now and was able to beat the game within 6 months of purchasing it. Probably would have been sooner had I the time to spend playing all day and night, but I don't know of anyone who truly has the time for that While I can understand the frustration of the reviewers who posted poor reviews about the game. The things being described as reasons they don't like the game are things that aren't very accurately described. The game is designed to be difficult and that makes it even better, in my opinion. So I have to ask what's the point in playing a game that is easy to beat or that can be run through in 5 mins or less per chapter ?? My answer is there isn't any, which I'm sure most will agree but some may not.
If it's your first time playing the game and you've read all the reviews and are thinking that the game may be worth trying. Keep in mind this game is NOT designed to be another "Call of Duty", "SOCOM", "Brothers In Arms", or "Ghost Recon" game. So, it is best to keep an open mind and that there are a couple areas in the game that can take over an hour to complete if not an avid gamer. The story line isn't forgettable as has been mentioned but can see how some would skip the storyline to continue playing therefore making the storyline forgettable.
I saw that one reviewer posted that they started playing the game and while he thought the concept of the game was great they didn't like the game. They claimed it took them " I unloaded THREE AK-47 clips into a guy before he died. At least ten shots were in the head. Not only that, but he goes and hides behind a tree every few seconds." I can tell you that's NOT the case. It does take more than a few of rounds of ammo to kill some of the enemies in the game. Especially if you are not shooting them in the head which usually kill them the first time but not always but does NOT take 10 shots. The only way I can see it taking 10 rounds to kill one of the enemy is if you aren't using the scope in order to make sure you're recticle is pointed at the head of the enemy. The scope feature does work as a sort of zoom feature on weapons that are not scoped and it does help make you're shots accurate killing enemy in 1 or 2 shots. The most shots I've had to fire for a headshot is 3 and that's on the masked enemies with shotguns that are in "heavy" armor. The same reviewer also posted " Not only that, but he goes and hides behind a tree every few seconds. If I tried to rush him, he would put six bullets in my leg and I would die. Another problem is not being able to change the responsiveness of looking around." The only thing I can say to that is If you were being shot at wouldn't you move to cover in order to attempt to keep from being killed ? I know I would and it screams to me that they really tried to make the game realistic. An enemy is NOT going to just space their shots in a way that will just allow you to walk up and kill them, or run off while shooting because you're coming at them.
Therefore, if you're crazy enough to rush the enemy on any game you should expect to die. The whole point of the game is to try to make it through the chapters without being seen, which is impossible to do but the guy in the storyline didn't make it without being seen either.
As for the responsiveness of the character, it is not as bad as this guy makes it out to be and while it could use to be faster it's not as bad as say Red Faction's responsiveness when set at the center of the responsiveness bars (x and y axises). The biggest thing I noticed is that the reviewer kept comparing the game to Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 and to me that's screaming that Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 isn't near are difficult to play as Black which if true would be a complete let down.
Lastly the reviewer also stated " One thing I really hate about this game is how you can only go one way around a level. There's just one narrow path carved out. Maybe there will be a fork in the road, but they don't effect attack plans and always come to the same point. Something that would make this game better is if there was a something like a free mode. In this mode, you could just run around without worrying about dying or running out of ammo. You just go and blow stuff up. In general, Black is a great idea. But when it comes to actually playing the game, you turn off your system feeling like you wasted your money and all those bullets on one bad guy."
So really to me the reviewer doesn't want to take the time to beat the game their self which is more satisfying in my opinion than having a free mode on a game which totally and completely defeats the purpose of having a game like black. They just want a way to basically cheat their way through the game in a free mode so that you can beat it easily. Really ?!! I personally feel this game wasn't designed to allow you to learn the game in an "invincible" mode and that was done so as to weed out the "men from the boys" so to speak. Not that I'm saying that applies to the reviewer. Only that they basically seem to be mad because once they found out the game was harder than they'd expected they wanted to have an option to be able to go through the game without being killed. That way they could then go back and beat the game without having any challenge other than finishing the objectives which are the easiest part of the game in my opinion.
Another Reviewer said the following, 'This game is rather short ,I wanted this game for a long time and one day I got it ans I was really excited about it and thought the game would be very long and I was On the last level of the game which was kinda hard but, I quit so I played one night and then I beat it and I was All like thats it??? I got real mad so I sold but there is one cool thing about it (Silver Weapons) those things are amazing but i dont like the way the look!!!, The weapons are good but there could have been more of a selection in the game like you use the same guns alot and the guns you like you hardly use them at all.Man The Clips in the game are kind of weird like the ak-47 you know 30 bullets but they make 3x more bigger i not saying it a bad thing its just not normal . The Thing I dont get is when you kill someone with a silencer they still hear you and then start attacking you ,man I wasted My Money But hey thats jus if your still intrested in the game you go head and you buy because im just writng a rreview fro the game!!!!" I find that hard to believe that they beat the game in 1 night, but I guess if you played the game all day and night without doing much other than eating and taking rest room breaks I could possibly see that happening. The guns are more realistic than most and I do agree that there could have been more weapon options available, but again you are part of the storyline of the game and are basically re-enacting the things the guy in the storyline went through. As for the weapon magazines/"clips" anyone who has been around weapons and AK-47's knows that there are several different magazine sizes. The standard magazine in Real Life is 30 rounds but there are also 20, 40 5, 10, 75 (drum/banana), 50, and 100 round capacity magazines in existence. So yes there are some that are much bigger and I'm not sure exactly what the problem is with the AK-47 having the standard 30 round magazine in the game but whatever, to each their own. Yes if you shoot someone with the silencer they do attack you because even in real life a "silencer" is not silent. A Silencer is nothing more than a suppressor to which yes it does help to reduce the noise BUT it will NOT eliminate the noise completely.
In all, yes there are guys with RPGs in all chapters of the game. Yes, it does take more than 1 bullet to kill an enemy but I haven't seen 1 game made where that happens. Plus you can kill most of the enemies with 1 shot to the head, throw grenades and shot them to kill enemies use the "stuff you blow up" to kill enemies, blow up the enemies with RPG launchers by shooting their RPG. The best advice I can give anyone wanting to give this game a try is be sure not to just run wildly through the game doing the "spray and pray" technique as it doesn't work. You actually do have to point and keep the recticle of the weapon on your enemy. This is the most realistic of any of the SOCOM, Killzone, Call To Duty, Ghost Recon, and Brothers In Arms type of games I've played. Having said that though there could still use to be some more realism added to the game, more weapon options for missions, more chapters would be great, and more variety between each level of completion. By levels of completion I mean each time you "master" a skill level there needs to be new variables added so the game doesn't become overly redundant.
Great game that I would recommend to anyone who likes the shooter style games. Plus, I would love to play a sequel if one happens to be made for PS2 but the likelihood of any new game being made for PS2 is very unlikely with the PS3 being available, but those of us who can't afford to spend $400 on a new gaming system can dream.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
connoisuerdetravesuras
Dallas, TX
 
Please wait while more information about connoisuerdetravesuras is loaded.
Additional information about connoisuerdetravesuras could not be loaded.
Mad Kudos
Posted 6/15/11
From start to finish your review is legit. I like it and appreciate it very much. I was lookin to recover this masterpiece to possibly share with a friend. However I let my cousin borrow it and unfortunately I'm not too certain if it is still the way it was when I lent it to him. Luckily I have enough money to let him enjoy the experience this time around. Oh and the game you was thinkin about is 007 Goldeneye (N64)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Black
Great.. but not all that great...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/09
Anonymous
I bought this game as one of my first for the PS2, and was truly amazed by it. Pros: Control is good. Gameplay is good, but the scope could be a little better... adding scope to the guns would have been nice... The story was pretty good. Just 2 guys sitting a room talking about the dude fighting in the war... Cons: Reasoning... Seriously.. that one guy took on all of those people... by himself?? Um. no.... There wasn't even any recon or help in the game at all... The AI is a little dull... I shoot someone.. they don't come towards me or even stand behind a tree and try to fire.. they just run away... even in groups... I was like... The second and last levels were the only difficult ones. No checkpoint saves in the middle of chapters??? I'm sorry.. I didn't know that this was 1985.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Black
BEST SHOOTING GAME EVER!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/08
Fudgemonk
this is the best shooting game ever made! the guns and the graphics are just godly. the guns have all the right stuff to make a great shooting game. they have the firepower and the stopping power that you need. the levels can get a little bit on the long side of things but they make up for it in the fact that they are so intense that you dont actually notice that youve been playing for five hours. the difficulty can be a little ADHD. it can be exetremly hard and then become a walk down easy street. but its still a very good game. the storyline on the game is a little bland. there's just not much to it.....this is still one of the best first person shooting games i own. and i own a lot of them. the only real drawback to this game is that as great as it is, its only one player...which kinda sucks. but BUY THIS GAME. YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for Black
Good game!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/09
McLovin!!
EA did an amazing job with this game . i went out with $20 looking for any game because i beat every other game i played . so i saw Black and i decided to try it out because i loveee shooters . THIS GAME BLEW MY MIND!!!!!! The weapons , the story , the entire game in general was absolutely astounding . Levels like the asylum , the final stage , the foundry , and that place where everyone dies were possibly the most amazing levels ive ever played in a game . i can honestly say that this is the best game ive ever played . granted , im a sucker for shooters but thats besides the point . the only downside about this game is that while you're having soo much fun , the game is shorter than expected . it took me about 2 weeks to beat and i was looking for more . but other than that i would highly recommend buying this game . plus , its sooo cheap
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Black
A good solid shooter for the PS2
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/11
MrStromnas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought this game back when it first came out, and today I found it lying around near where I keep some of my older games and decided to write a review. This game is superb, the graphics are excellent for being on the ps2 and the game play never has a dull moment. A more advanced feature in my opinion is the destructible environment and the modeling, you can shoot through the smallest hole in the wall, or have your cover blown away from in front of you, and on the scale that this is done, its fairly impressive for the ps2. There's an impressive array of weaponry in the game as well, from the beefy spas-12 to the standard ak47. The game handles well for its age, (granted it isn't THAT old) and has a fairly good replay value, with higher difficulty levels and unlockables such as silver and golden guns. The replay value I would say, is higher for the more hardcore fps player, where as someone who plays them occasionally would probably give it a quick play through and be mostly done. One of the few problems this game does have, is lengthy un-skippable cut scenes, but its a minor inconvenience. All in all this game was top notch, good story telling, action packed, intense gameplay, and great graphics all add up to create one of the best shooter experiences on the playstation 2, and even compared to the shooters of today, Black still stands strong. I would definately buy this game, its a definate bargain at this point, and any shooter fan would be robbing themselves of a good time were they not to buy this masterpiece of a game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>